*Official* Popcorn Hour PCH-C200 Owners Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 561 Old 08-03-2011, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadget-zilla View Post

In researching and reading, I came across an older post regarding PCH so wanted to run it by the PCH veterans - if this still holds true ?

HTTP
After much searching and lots of failed attempts, I discovered that high bitrate files really need to be transferred over HTTP, rather than SMB. Apparently the SMB implementation on the PCH is limiting and can't handle high bitrates, like those found in uncompressed BluRay fiels with HD audio.

I tried a few of them, but finally settled on Apache 2.2. You just run the Apache HTTP server on your media server to stream media to the PCH. The PCH has a built-in HTTP client, and there doesn't appear to be any special protocol going on. I set it up on port 8001 just because this is where the previous HTTP server was setup, and I didn't want to change anything else.

Anyway, I've had 100% success streaming all forms of HD media at very high bitrates through Apache to the PCH, and these same files would stutter and fail using SMB. Additionally, with the other servers I tried (most notably LLink), I would regularly get stuttering and have to restart the server process.

Does not apply anymore. If you are having issues with smb it is worth trying nfs or http (such as myihome). I have zero issues with smb and high bitrate (and I believe there are issues with http and folder rips)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 561 Old 08-03-2011, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Slavikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure whats wrong but every time I try to access my external hard drive connected to the A-200 I get a white screen. I kinda sorta have it all setup like I want (still have to get it to recognize the new Karate Kid movie, not the 80's version, among other things) I installed YAMJ earlier this morning and it was working fine until now. Hard drive works fine when connected to my computer upstairs or my Oppo 93. Any suggestions?
Slavikk is offline  
post #363 of 561 Old 08-03-2011, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Does not apply anymore. If you are having issues with smb it is worth trying nfs or http (such as myihome). I have zero issues with smb and high bitrate (and I believe there are issues with http and folder rips)

Agreed. That was true back with the A-110 but not the 200 series boxes....

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #364 of 561 Old 08-03-2011, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slavikk View Post

Not sure whats wrong but every time I try to access my external hard drive connected to the A-200 I get a white screen. I kinda sorta have it all setup like I want (still have to get it to recognize the new Karate Kid movie, not the 80's version, among other things) I installed YAMJ earlier this morning and it was working fine until now. Hard drive works fine when connected to my computer upstairs or my Oppo 93. Any suggestions?

Sorry never used a external USB drive on mine....

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #365 of 561 Old 08-03-2011, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_w_smith View Post

Agreed. That was true back with the A-110 but not the 200 series boxes....

Sean

Actually it applied with the 200 boxes when first released. When the C200 was released smb was an absolute mess and you have to use HTTP for any hope of playback of high bitrate content. That C200 launch was a nightmare lol...

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #366 of 561 Old 08-03-2011, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
gadget-zilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Damian & Sean for the feedback.

As of now, I'm not quite there to test any of the available options, I'm still building my NAS.

Within the next two to three days I'll be in the position to test each protocol (SMB / NFS / HTTP).

While awaiting, I was reading and researching and came across that info so thought to ask.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Does not apply anymore. If you are having issues with smb it is worth trying nfs or http (such as myihome). I have zero issues with smb and high bitrate (and I believe there are issues with http and folder rips)

gadget-zilla is offline  
post #367 of 561 Old 08-04-2011, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
gadget-zilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey All,

For organizational purposes, I'm considering the following structure on the NAS. Would YAMJ and other jukeboxes work OK with this or is there a preferred way to organize that is "jukebox" friendly ?

The main path would be \\\\diskstation\\media


\\media

\\media\\movies
\\media\\movies\\dvd_iso
\\media\\movies\\dvd_all
\\media\\movies\\bluray_iso
\\media\\movies\\bluray_all


\\media\\animation
\\media\\animation\\dvd_iso
\\media\\animation\\dvd_all
\\media\\animation\\bluray_iso
\\media\\animation\\bluray_all

\\media\\foreign
\\media\\foreign\\dvd_iso
\\media\\foreign\\dvd_all
\\media\\foreign\\bluray_iso
\\media\\foreign\\bluray_all

\\media\\musicvideo
\\media\\musicvideo\\dvd_iso
\\media\\musicvideo\\dvd_all
\\media\\musicvideo\\bluray_iso
\\media\\musicvideo\\bluray_all

\\media\\documentary
\\media\\documentary\\dvd_iso
\\media\\documentary\\dvd_all
\\media\\documentary\\bluray_iso
\\media\\documentary\\bluray_all

\\media\ vshows
gadget-zilla is offline  
post #368 of 561 Old 08-04-2011, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadget-zilla View Post

Hey All,

For organizational purposes, I'm considering the following structure on the NAS. Would YAMJ and other jukeboxes work OK with this or is there a preferred way to organize that is "jukebox" friendly ?

The main path would be \\\\diskstation\\media


\\media

\\media\\movies
\\media\\movies\\dvd_iso
\\media\\movies\\dvd_all
\\media\\movies\\bluray_iso
\\media\\movies\\bluray_all


\\media\\animation
\\media\\animation\\dvd_iso
\\media\\animation\\dvd_all
\\media\\animation\\bluray_iso
\\media\\animation\\bluray_all

\\media\\foreign
\\media\\foreign\\dvd_iso
\\media\\foreign\\dvd_all
\\media\\foreign\\bluray_iso
\\media\\foreign\\bluray_all

\\media\\musicvideo
\\media\\musicvideo\\dvd_iso
\\media\\musicvideo\\dvd_all
\\media\\musicvideo\\bluray_iso
\\media\\musicvideo\\bluray_all

\\media\\documentary
\\media\\documentary\\dvd_iso
\\media\\documentary\\dvd_all
\\media\\documentary\\bluray_iso
\\media\\documentary\\bluray_all

\\media\ vshows

That should work. My breakout is not as expanded as yours but similar:

\\\\Server\\Videos\\Movies HD
\\\\Server\\Videos\\Movies SD
\\\\Server\\Videos\\Movies Family HD
\\\\Server\\Videos\\Movies Family SD
\\\\Server\\Videos\\Music Videos
\\\\Server\\Videos\\TV Shows

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #369 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
gadget-zilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just some feedback, based on my experience so far:

As an ongoing effort towards my installation, PCH can now steam files through the NAS. So far, I've been very impressed with both hardware components.

I did an interesting benchmark. Using a Windows PC with two drives connected to it, one through SATA, the other through USB3.0 - I initiated the file transfer of .MKV files from both drives onto the NAS share.

While the copying was going on from both drives onto the NAS, using PCH, I tested streaming one of the MKV files, which is a bluray rip. There was absolutely no stuttering or audio dropouts or anything of the sort. The movie played flawlessly, the 10 mins that I watched.

Question:
I wanted to play around with NMJ - The built in jukebox - just wondering, where does it store the movie graphics and the downloaded content ? I would like to delete that and use YAMJ or Oversight. My internal drive is only a 4Gb kingston memory stick. My guess it that it is stored somewhere on that.

Thanks,
gadget-zilla is offline  
post #370 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadget-zilla View Post

Just some feedback, based on my experience so far:

As an ongoing effort towards my installation, PCH can now steam files through the NAS. So far, I've been very impressed with both hardware components.

I did an interesting benchmark. Using a Windows PC with two drives connected to it, one through SATA, the other through USB3.0 - I initiated the file transfer of .MKV files from both drives onto the NAS share.

While the copying was going on from both drives onto the NAS, using PCH, I tested streaming one of the MKV files, which is a bluray rip. There was absolutely no stuttering or audio dropouts or anything of the sort. The movie played flawlessly, the 10 mins that I watched.

Question:
I wanted to play around with NMJ - The built in jukebox - just wondering, where does it store the movie graphics and the downloaded content ? I would like to delete that and use YAMJ or Oversight. My internal drive is only a 4Gb kingston memory stick.

Thanks,

NMJ can use a network share, an internal drive, or an attached drive

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #371 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 12:13 PM
Member
 
jcfay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

NMJ can use a network share, an internal drive, or an attached drive

That's good to know. I've always had my NMJ database stored on the NAS, but one of the things that bugs me about NMJ is that every 250 or so titles that I scroll through I have to wait (about 5-10 secs) while NMJ loads the new poster art, etc. I wonder if I moved the NMJ db to my internal thumb drive (I've got an 8GB inside) if that behavior would stop? Does everyone get this delay as you scroll up and down the movie wall? Or is it just because I have NMJ on my NAS?
jcfay is offline  
post #372 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 12:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

NMJ can use a network share, an internal drive, or an attached drive

So you can tell it where to store this info? Where are the options for that?

Mine has always stored it on the share where the content was. So right now I have several shares that my c200 looks at, between my WHS, unRAID, Intel NAs and Dlink NAS. So each share has a folder named NMJ database that stores the info for that specific share.

I didn't know i could store the NMJ content on the local C200 hard drive. Or am I mis-understanding your reply?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #373 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

So you can tell it where to store this info? Where are the options for that?

Mine has always stored it on the share where the content was. So right now I have several shares that my c200 looks at, between my WHS, unRAID, Intel NAs and Dlink NAS. So each share has a folder named NMJ database that stores the info for that specific share.

I didn't know i could store the NMJ content on the local C200 hard drive. Or am I mis-understanding your reply?

I dont think thats possible. you end up with N NMJ Jukeboxes for N different shares. There is no unfication like with YAMJ nor is there any ability to make it put its jukebox data other than on the share the content is on but I could be missing something.

NMJ is ok for small single share movie libs in my opionion. After that it falls down....

It doesn't like 800 movies libraries and it never actually completed scanning my 42K songs.
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #374 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
gadget-zilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
same here, I see the delay (with db on the NAS). I was thinking the same, about being able to move the db on the 8gb memory stick.

I've read that with YAMJ, there isn't any lag as it reads static pages. I will installing that next to see its performance.



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcfay View Post

That's good to know. I've always had my NMJ database stored on the NAS, but one of the things that bugs me about NMJ is that every 250 or so titles that I scroll through I have to wait (about 5-10 secs) while NMJ loads the new poster art, etc. I wonder if I moved the NMJ db to my internal thumb drive (I've got an 8GB inside) if that behavior would stop? Does everyone get this delay as you scroll up and down the movie wall? Or is it just because I have NMJ on my NAS?

gadget-zilla is offline  
post #375 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadget-zilla View Post

same here, I see the delay (with db on the NAS). I was thinking the same, about being able to move the db on the 8gb memory stick.

I've read that with YAMJ, there isn't any lag as it reads static pages. I will installing that next to see its performance.

Eversion and YAMJ Static are both faster and provide richer meta data IMO than NMJ. NMJ is the newbie on the scene. YAMJ was around and stable and feature rich for years before NMJ existed. This is Syabas we are talking about here. It only took em 18 months to get the basic features adverstised to work. Give NMJ a year and it might be 1/2 as good as YAMJ was 3 years ago.

I recommend if just starting out with YAMJ then try this....

http://www.networkedmediatank.com/sh....php?tid=42467

I also love eversion and use it everyday.

Easiest way to get YAMJ up and running is with an all in one package like this....

http://www.dentedboxes.com/doku.php/...stall_packages

you should try a static skin and eversion but I think most will end up preferring eversion.

The eversion all in one is very easy to setup. Let us know if you need help crafting a library.xml or understanding how the network paths are formed in that file (biggest source of problems for folks).

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #376 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Slavikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the difference between installing YAMJ using http://code.google.com/p/moviejukebo...pByStepInstall vs http://www.dentedboxes.com/doku.php/...stall_packages Don't understand the difference between YAMJ and JAMJ+Eversion.
Slavikk is offline  
post #377 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slavikk View Post

What is the difference between installing YAMJ using http://code.google.com/p/moviejukebo...pByStepInstall vs http://www.dentedboxes.com/doku.php/...stall_packages Don't understand the difference between YAMJ and JAMJ+Eversion.

Eversion uses YAMJ, it is a Flash based skin that replaces the stock YAMJ skin. YAMJ is still the guts that gathers t he metadata/artwork to create the jukebox

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #378 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Slavikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Eversion uses YAMJ, it is a Flash based skin that replaces the stock YAMJ skin. YAMJ is still the guts that gathers t he metadata/artwork to create the jukebox

Nice. I just installed YAMJ but will now try Eversion when I get home. My 5 year old (setting this up for him) doesn't understand whats taking so long (one of the JAMJ files somehow got corrupted on my external hard drive and had to start from scratch) and is asking me how bout if I just tell you which movie I want to see? Now not sure if Im now doing this for him and his friends or for me!
Slavikk is offline  
post #379 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Slavikk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was looking at the Eversion Requirements.

Popcorn Hour A200, A210 or C200 Player
POPBox 3D Player
AsiaBox

YAMJ Version: R2251 or newer (2.4 beta version or 2.4 stable)
Highly recommended Version: R2533 (2.5 beta Version)
720 or 1080 HD resolution configured in your hardware player.

Why would one need a POPBox 3D player and an AsiaBox?
Slavikk is offline  
post #380 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slavikk View Post

Was looking at the Eversion Requirements.

Popcorn Hour A200, A210 or C200 Player
POPBox 3D Player
AsiaBox

YAMJ Version: R2251 or newer (2.4 beta version or 2.4 stable)
Highly recommended Version: R2533 (2.5 beta Version)
720 or 1080 HD resolution configured in your hardware player.

Why would one need a POPBox 3D player and an AsiaBox?

These are just other players, just like an A210 or C200. I have a Popbox as well, no clue what an Asia Box is

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #381 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post


Eversion uses YAMJ, it is a Flash based skin that replaces the stock YAMJ skin. YAMJ is still the guts that gathers t he metadata/artwork to create the jukebox

I have YAMJ working great for shares from a WHS. For now, YAMJ lives on my Shuttle which is a win7 machine. Can I easily add Everson as a skin and revert if I don't care for it? Eventually I will move everything to the WHS.

Philip
pmcd is offline  
post #382 of 561 Old 08-05-2011, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post

I have YAMJ working great for shares from a WHS. For now, YAMJ lives on my Shuttle which is a win7 machine. Can I easily add Everson as a skin and revert if I don't care for it? Eventually I will move everything to the WHS.

Philip

Yes you can. To be on the safe side I would make a copy of your YAMJ folder and store it elsewhere. Worse case if things get messed up just simply put the original YAMJ folder back. I do this all the time when testing

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #383 of 561 Old 08-06-2011, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Eversion uses YAMJ, it is a Flash based skin that replaces the stock YAMJ skin. YAMJ is still the guts that gathers t he metadata/artwork to create the jukebox

and the all in one packages include a 3rd party tool called media info, sometimes a setup gui, and usually some tweaks customized for the skin they are running...

Its easiest to try and AEON and Eversion to understand the differences.

Eversion has progressed so much I dont use AEON at all any more. at least for the last month

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #384 of 561 Old 08-06-2011, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Yes you can. To be on the safe side I would make a copy of your YAMJ folder and store it elsewhere. Worse case if things get messed up just simply put the original YAMJ folder back. I do this all the time when testing

Another benefit of local NFO data is that if something gets corrupted on my end I can just blow away the whole YAMJ jukebox and re-run YAMJ and in 15 minutes I am done. it takes hours when it has to scrape on the internet but when all the art work and metadata is cached locally then its very very fast.

I'm still loving ember revisited. Whats the equivalent program you are using on the dune side dbone?

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #385 of 561 Old 08-06-2011, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_w_smith View Post

Another benefit of local NFO data is that if something gets corrupted on my end I can just blow away the whole YAMJ jukebox and re-run YAMJ and in 15 minutes I am done. it takes hours when it has to scrape on the internet but when all the art work and metadata is cached locally then its very very fast.

I'm still loving ember revisited. Whats the equivalent program you are using on the dune side dbone?

Sean

Also, if you are new to YAMJ best bet would be to just run the stock YAMJ to make sure it is working correctly, pulling in proper metadata, etc...

For the Dunes I use Zappiti which I actually prefer to YAMJ + on the PCH. There is also My Movies and yaDIS

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #386 of 561 Old 08-06-2011, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is anyone using zappiti on their pch? Is it available as a complete application or just as a skin? Looking for impressions when comparing to the dune version of zappiti.
stepmback is offline  
post #387 of 561 Old 08-06-2011, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by stepmback View Post
Is anyone using zappiti on their pch? Is it available as a complete application or just as a skin? Looking for impressions when comparing to the dune version of zappiti.
Just a skin like any other skin for YAMJ

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #388 of 561 Old 08-06-2011, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_w_smith

Another benefit of local NFO data is that if something gets corrupted on my end I can just blow away the whole YAMJ jukebox and re-run YAMJ and in 15 minutes I am done. it takes hours when it has to scrape on the internet but when all the art work and metadata is cached locally then its very very fast.

I'm still loving ember revisited. Whats the equivalent program you are using on the dune side dbone?

Sean
I started using Ember recently. Very move. I have it set up to generate nfo files, but it seems my various XBMC players all have minds of their own and I don't get this uniform collection. Do I disabled scraping on XBMC? I have everything in one movie per folder, so the nfo should be in that folder? How do I force XBMC to use only it? I tried to add an XBMC player to Ember in one of the modules, but I ended up with duplicate entries on the XBMC player.

Ideally all XBMC players would have the same scraped data and the order would be identical ( order added). I keep watching the same movies since I feel they haven't been watched as they keep changing when they were added to the Library. Very confused about all of this. No wonder I keep going back to Oversight

Philip
pmcd is offline  
post #389 of 561 Old 08-06-2011, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026

Just a skin like any other skin for YAMJ
I use aeon, how does it compare? I am looking for a change and interested to hear about other skins/applications.
stepmback is offline  
post #390 of 561 Old 08-06-2011, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Also, if you are new to YAMJ best bet would be to just run the stock YAMJ to make sure it is working correctly, pulling in proper metadata, etc...

For the Dunes I use Zappiti which I actually prefer to YAMJ + on the PCH. There is also My Movies and yaDIS
I get the Zappiti <-> YAMJ relationship but is there an equivalent editor like Ember or YANFOE?

is there support for some standard for metadata XML?

I disagree on recommending stock YAMJ for novices. The all in ones get the novice user scraping and better GUI with less frustration quicker. For more technical users understanding how to get there is 1/2 the fun so thats another story. They both have their place.

Sean

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Popcorn Hour C 200 Networked Media Tank Black

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off