*Official* Popcorn Hour PCH-C200 Owners Thread - Page 20 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #571 of 580 Old 02-15-2015, 05:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
teddystacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia PA USA
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestewman View Post
Make sure you do the second part of #3 and power off and UNPLUG all NMT units you do not want to synch

1. Attach the provided antenna to the RF antenna port at the rear panel of your NMT.
2. Remove the batteries from the RF remote control.
3. Power ON your NMT and wait for it to complete its loading process.
(Power OFF and unplug the power cord of all other NMTs that you do not intend to
synchronize in this synchronization exercise.)
4. Re-insert the batteries into the RF remote control. By inserting the batteries, the RF
remote control will now synchronize with any RF-compatible NMT that is active.
5. The RF remote control and NMT is now synchronized and will function properly.
Thanks very much for the info - worked a treat - very grateful..

teddystacker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 580 Old 02-15-2015, 06:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,461
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1209 Post(s)
Liked: 895
Doesn't Cloud Media still sell the Power Supplies for the C200? I had a spare one sitting around for many years, but I never needed it until last year when my C200 was almost five years old.

53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3--32TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #573 of 580 Old 02-16-2015, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddystacker View Post
Simple - Resale value , does not look to good with a mod.

Putting it back "stock" will be much better..

Also I hate to just throw stuff away for the sake of a few $ repair.
wrong on every level.
Gary J is online now  
post #574 of 580 Old 02-16-2015, 06:14 AM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddystacker View Post
Simple - Resale value , does not look to good with a mod.

Putting it back "stock" will be much better..

Also I hate to just throw stuff away for the sake of a few $ repair.
Anyone who does a modicum of research before buying a c200 would be THRILLED to that you replaced the power supply as it is not an "if" it will fail, but a "when".
And I feel that shipping and time involved to repair the old pos psu is quite a bit more than a "few $ repair".
mecmec is online now  
post #575 of 580 Old 02-16-2015, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
teddystacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia PA USA
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help guys..

Hopefully someone will come along with a suggestion as to a repair source ,rather than arguing the pros and cons.

Seemed to have turned into a ethics question..

My fault for asking such a stupid and silly request... Clearly I have no idea what I am doing here.. Gone are the days at forums where peioople were friendly , and did not just try to shoot everyone down.. I will retire to my own silly world..

teddystacker is offline  
post #576 of 580 Old 02-16-2015, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
teddystacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia PA USA
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Doesn't Cloud Media still sell the Power Supplies for the C200? I had a spare one sitting around for many years, but I never needed it until last year when my C200 was almost five years old.
Debateable to be honest , been out of stock for over a month.. Since Cloudmedia took over Stbas , things have been very hit and miss , as to any type of support.

teddystacker is offline  
post #577 of 580 Old 02-16-2015, 03:36 PM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddystacker View Post
Thanks for your help guys..

Hopefully someone will come along with a suggestion as to a repair source ,rather than arguing the pros and cons.

Seemed to have turned into a ethics question..

My fault for asking such a stupid and silly request... Clearly I have no idea what I am doing here.. Gone are the days at forums where peioople were friendly , and did not just try to shoot everyone down.. I will retire to my own silly world..
Sure, take the blown power supply to any reputable electronics repair shop. They will happily do a diagnostic on it to find out what is wrong. I had two quotes from reputable places in my area. The cost would have been diagnostic time of about $50 plus the actual time worked on the repair plus the cost of the parts needed. Both places said it would be about $100 give or take.
The power supplies are not overly complicated devices and nearly any reputable electrician should be able to diagnose and repair them.

Hope that is helpful enough for you...
mecmec is online now  
post #578 of 580 Old 02-16-2015, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
it would be about $100 give or take.
Pocket change when you have an emotional attachment to your PS.
Gary J is online now  
post #579 of 580 Old 02-16-2015, 03:49 PM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary j View Post
pocket change when you have an emotional attachment to your ps.
lol!
mecmec is online now  
post #580 of 580 Unread Today, 03:11 PM
Member
 
N2VWZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
C200 Power Supply Repair is not difficult - You can do it yourself

Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
Sure, take the blown power supply to any reputable electronics repair shop. They will happily do a diagnostic on it to find out what is wrong. I had two quotes from reputable places in my area. The cost would have been diagnostic time of about $50 plus the actual time worked on the repair plus the cost of the parts needed. Both places said it would be about $100 give or take.
The power supplies are not overly complicated devices and nearly any reputable electrician should be able to diagnose and repair them.

Hope that is helpful enough for you...
I have 2 C200 players. The power supply failed on one of them. I repaired the failed supply for under $2.00 in parts cost. In my case, 3 capacitors had failed. This is a very common failure. To identify failed capacitors, remove the power supply from the C200 and take off the cover. Then look for domed or leaking capacitors. They are cheap and available from Digikey. You'll need soldering skills and appropriate tools to do this yourself, but it's not difficult job. It helps if you have an understanding and familiarity with electronic circuits (or a friend with these skills).

For additional help, do a Google search for "popcornhour C200 power supply repair" There are videos and photos available. Some places are even selling repair parts kits
N2VWZ is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Popcorn Hour C 200 Networked Media Tank Black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off