*Official* WD TV Live Hub Thread - Page 25 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > *Official* WD TV Live Hub Thread

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

cmf's Avatar cmf
08:02 PM Liked: 10
post #721 of 2259
12-08-2010 | Posts: 443
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmf View Post

1) Does the WD TV Live Hub serve up content from its HDD to a WD TV Live (or Live Plus) elsewhere on the same network fairly easily and reliably?

2) Can the Live Hub serve up music to a Squeezebox ecosystem (receivers/Booms/etc.) on the same network?

Anyone?
wayneniamat's Avatar wayneniamat
11:16 PM Liked: 10
post #722 of 2259
12-08-2010 | Posts: 57
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmf View Post


Anyone?

Gladly.

Twonkyserver DLNA can't be as fast as pulling the movie from network attached storage am I right? Yet I can stream a movie from the hub drive with the Twonky server via gigabit Ethernet with rates between 14-22Mbps and that's fast, but that's between two gigabit (10/100/1000) DLNA devices. Look at the specs on the wdlive and you'll see ETHERNET as a feature while hubs spec is GIGABIT Ethernet. I returned a liveplus for the hubs gigabit capability and all the horrid stomach wrenching lag stopped. I think if you play a really rich media file with 1080p video you will have stuttering during playback.
co boner's Avatar co boner
06:12 AM Liked: 10
post #723 of 2259
12-09-2010 | Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
I saw a reaction here with a photo that it has a subtitle only with .mkv files but i'm dutch and i like to watch my movies(i have alot of avi's,etc) with dutch subtitles. So can it also play subtitles on avi files?
velocci's Avatar velocci
07:11 AM Liked: 10
post #724 of 2259
12-09-2010 | Posts: 380
Joined: Oct 2006
Rudy_P are you sure the site is www.tehparadox.com? i went there and it doesn't seem to be a site to download movies. I went to www.theparadox.com and that site is under construction.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy_P View Post
Forget the bit torrent. Not to safe any more. Try tehparadox.com. It is safer. I find that 720P is acceptable compromise to 1080P in quality,and file size. The monthly bandwidth from your internet provider could only support few 1080P movies,especially using bit torrent. For example the movie Avatar(1080p) at 11 Gigs in .Mkv format is of excellent quality. Use 1080P only for blockbuster movies.

drkashner's Avatar drkashner
07:42 AM Liked: 10
post #725 of 2259
12-09-2010 | Posts: 200
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
Rudy_P are you sure the site is www.tehparadox.com? i went there and it doesn't seem to be a site to download movies. I went to www.theparadox.com and that site is under construction.
Worked for me. What you saw was a popup ad. close it in the upper right hand corner. It kept popping up ads everytime I went to a different page on the site. Full of popups.
velocci's Avatar velocci
07:45 AM Liked: 10
post #726 of 2259
12-09-2010 | Posts: 380
Joined: Oct 2006
ok i got it now thanks. so can i download movies from here free?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drkashner View Post
Worked for me. What you saw was a popup ad. close it in the upper right hand corner. It kept popping up ads everytime I went to a different page on the site. Full of popups.

pm123's Avatar pm123
10:38 AM Liked: 10
post #727 of 2259
12-09-2010 | Posts: 204
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmf View Post

Originally Posted by cmf View Post
1) Does the WD TV Live Hub serve up content from its HDD to a WD TV Live (or Live Plus) elsewhere on the same network fairly easily and reliably?

2) Can the Live Hub serve up music to a Squeezebox ecosystem (receivers/Booms/etc.) on the same network?


Yes to # 1. I have a WD TV Live Hub in one room, and a WD Live TV in another. I can watch HD video from the Live Hub across the wired network on the Live TV.

Can't answer #2
hal90002010's Avatar hal90002010
03:37 PM Liked: 10
post #728 of 2259
12-09-2010 | Posts: 238
Joined: Dec 2003
Local library has over 500 Blurays.

The Godfather full iso is 42.7 gig, rewraped to mkv no compression single Audio and subs 34.2 gig.
Enchantment full iso is 42.4 gig , rewraped to mkv no compression single Audio and subs 16.9 gig.
Using DVDFAB.

cmf yes to both.

wayneniamat, DLNA is smoking fast have used twonky and wild media server with XP, and twonky with Windows 7 and my network is only 100 mps.
check this out http://community.wdc.com/t5/General-...e-it/td-p/5722

co boner, put the subs and the avi in a folder together will play fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

in my case it would be the WD Live hub. so if i'm watching tv and there is a live video playing upstairs on my computer using internet explorer, how would i be able to view it on my TV?

Flingo will work with most websites not hulu thou.
hal90002010's Avatar hal90002010
05:23 PM Liked: 10
post #729 of 2259
12-09-2010 | Posts: 238
Joined: Dec 2003
I love the HUB, have filled the drive and wraped it up for my 2nd son. Planed to pick up another when the microcenter ad arrived.

Zotac
ZBOX ZBOXHD-AD01-U Desktop Barebone System with 1.5 GHz AMD Athlon Neo X2 L325 and ATI Radeon™ HD 3200 graphics processor

http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0348724

"Experience eye-popping high definition video playback with the ZOTAC ZBOX HD-AD01 mini-PC powered by an ATI Radeon™ HD 3200 graphics processor with ATI Avivo™ HD technology. High definition video playback is a breeze with the ZOTAC ZBOX HD-AD01 mini-PC thanks to a Unified Video Decoder that accelerates decoding of Blu-ray titles using the graphics processor and ATI™ Stream technology that ensures smooth playback of streaming high definition Internet video for smooth and seamless video playback of all high definition video formats for stunning clarity and exceptional compatibility.

Building a system around the powerful ZOTAC ZBOX HD-AD01 mini-PC is quick and easy with only two thumb screws keeping you away from mastering the mini-PC. Inside the ZOTAC ZBOX HD-AD01 mini-PC is space for one 2.5-inch hard drive and a 200-pin DDR2-667 memory module while USB 2.0 ports, a 6-in-1 memory card reader (SD/SDHC/MS/MS Pro/xD/MMC) and eSATA port grace the exterior for a perfect blend of internal and external expansion and compatibility to form the perfect mini-PC. "


A-Data
ADATA 2GB DDR2-800 (PC2-6400) CL5 SO-DIMM Memory Module
http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0334407


OCZ Technology
SSD Onyx OCZSSD2-1ONX32G 32GB SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive
http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0334090

Total $339.97 / $289.97 after rebates.

Will pick up on the 15th and will check out with XP, windows7, Linux, XBMC, boxee and report back.

There is no limit(256) to the number of usb drives you can hook up. Wanted hulu without paying playon every year or using a second cpu as a media server. Boots as fast as a wdtv. It will also do netflix of course.

I have always stated I dont do amd but this is a very powerfull CPU and I have used atis since 97.
The atom Ion version is hobbled campared to this one.
Rudy_P's Avatar Rudy_P
07:10 PM Liked: 10
post #730 of 2259
12-09-2010 | Posts: 40
Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post

ok i got it now thanks. so can i download movies from here free?


Absolutely. with some patience you can download all the movies. sometime you can have multiple downloads at the same time from different links provided. works great and there is no upload wasted bandwidth.
mrdavet's Avatar mrdavet
01:31 AM Liked: 10
post #731 of 2259
12-10-2010 | Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by cose View Post
Now if I can use iPhone to push/play audio files on HUB without having to turn on TV (HUB would be hooked up to home theatre receiver) that would be ideal.
Today I came across ZappoTV.
It's a free app from itunes, let's you browse your media content on the iphone/touch, then push it to the WDTV products.

It works with my Hub.

EDIT: but it does gave a bug or two

See also: http://www.zappo.tv



-Dave
solaris72's Avatar solaris72
08:37 AM Liked: 10
post #732 of 2259
12-10-2010 | Posts: 81
Joined: Nov 2010
I got one unit from Best Buy for 199.00 yesterday. When i checked at home, the box is not sealed and there are no manuals, and batteries are inside remote and i have seen some 40 videos uploaded on the internal drive (Vietnamese movie videos)? Is that i got a used one? I'm returning this to bestbuy today. Anyone know where i can buy this item other than bestbuy/WD?
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
10:21 AM Liked: 36
post #733 of 2259
12-10-2010 | Posts: 1,113
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by solaris72 View Post

I got one unit from Best Buy for 199.00 yesterday. When i checked at home, the box is not sealed and there are no manuals, and batteries are inside remote and i have seen some 40 videos uploaded on the internal drive (Vietnamese movie videos)? Is that i got a used one? I'm returning this to bestbuy today. Anyone know where i can buy this item other than bestbuy/WD?

Yes, take it back to BB and demand a gift card for illegally selling you an open-box item "as new."
pm123's Avatar pm123
10:54 AM Liked: 10
post #734 of 2259
12-10-2010 | Posts: 204
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal90002010 View Post

I love the HUB, have filled the drive and wraped it up for my 2nd son. Planed to pick up another when the microcenter ad arrived.

Zotac
ZBOX ZBOXHD-AD01-U Desktop Barebone System with 1.5 GHz AMD Athlon Neo X2 L325 and ATI Radeon™ HD 3200 graphics processor

Interesting box. I've been looking for something like this for myself. There's lots of good content that you can only access via web pages (NFL.com highlights for one)

I think you'd also need an operating system, and some sort of keyboard / pointing device.

There are wireless keyboards with touch pads available.
drkashner's Avatar drkashner
12:08 PM Liked: 10
post #735 of 2259
12-10-2010 | Posts: 200
Joined: Oct 2004
does anyone have a recommendation for a network hard drive to use with the hub? Now might be a good time to get one with Christmas specials going on. Probably a 2 tb one.
jon0966's Avatar jon0966
04:12 PM Liked: 10
post #736 of 2259
12-10-2010 | Posts: 35
Joined: Dec 2008
Will this support a 3TB USB Drive formatted to NTFS? I tried calling crappy WD's India based support and "Jim" had no clue. I asked to be transferred to USA Engineer but was hung up on twice.
hal90002010's Avatar hal90002010
04:39 PM Liked: 10
post #737 of 2259
12-10-2010 | Posts: 238
Joined: Dec 2003
yes.
98_1LE's Avatar 98_1LE
12:00 AM Liked: 10
post #738 of 2259
12-12-2010 | Posts: 149
Joined: Mar 2008
I haven't tried to track down the common unsupported thread, but the following BD copies (mainmovie dvdfab) still in bdmv folder structure do not play correctly on my hub:
Role Models
Iron Man 2
Sherlock Holmes
Spiderman 2
Taken
Gone Baby Gone
Hot Tub Time Machine

The same images played fine on another streamer, so it is a Hub issue.
hal90002010's Avatar hal90002010
11:14 AM Liked: 10
post #739 of 2259
12-12-2010 | Posts: 238
Joined: Dec 2003
Re wrap to mkv will play fine. Takes 20 min each with DVDFAB.

What streamer a computer?

This is a known issue about the way those blurays were authored.

Are they starting in the middle?
98_1LE's Avatar 98_1LE
11:26 AM Liked: 10
post #740 of 2259
12-12-2010 | Posts: 149
Joined: Mar 2008
Yes they start in the middle, play out of order, and the audio is messed up.

Files are being served from a Netgear NAS (Ultra 4).
cstu's Avatar cstu
03:48 PM Liked: 10
post #741 of 2259
12-12-2010 | Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 2004
Love mine. It's not the perfect unit but it's a better than the WDTV Live and works for me. I copy files to a USB stick and transfer them that way way to the Hub (~15MB/s). From my computer I manage the files on the Hub over wireless.
jabw9's Avatar jabw9
11:51 PM Liked: 10
post #742 of 2259
12-12-2010 | Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2007
I have a new wdtv live hub with the latest firmware.

Is there a way to force the wdtv live hub to do sync to a shared network folder?
It performs a sync at some pre-determined interval or when the device is at rest, but I want to be able tell it to "wake up" from time to time and sync with the network share.

THanks ....
tim1_2's Avatar tim1_2
12:01 PM Liked: 10
post #743 of 2259
12-13-2010 | Posts: 92
Joined: Dec 2010
Stupid question time. Sorry. I know diddly-squat about DLNA, etc etc. I have an older 55" Sony LCD rear-projection TV (1080i).

Will the WDTV Live Hub play all of it's files on my TV, even if my TV doesn't support DLNA? Or would I have to somehow stream these through my Blu-Ray player?

Thanks!
cstu's Avatar cstu
12:31 PM Liked: 10
post #744 of 2259
12-13-2010 | Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim1_2 View Post

Stupid question time. Sorry. I know diddly-squat about DLNA, etc etc. I have an older 55" Sony LCD rear-projection TV (1080i).

Will the WDTV Live Hub play all of it's files on my TV, even if my TV doesn't support DLNA? Or would I have to somehow stream these through my Blu-Ray player?

Thanks!

It should be able to play on any TV.
tim1_2's Avatar tim1_2
12:47 PM Liked: 10
post #745 of 2259
12-13-2010 | Posts: 92
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstu View Post

It should be able to play on any TV.

That's what I figured, but then I read in the specs somewhere that it needed a DLNA-compliant device, so that got me a little worried. Thanks for your quick response.
98_1LE's Avatar 98_1LE
12:53 PM Liked: 10
post #746 of 2259
12-13-2010 | Posts: 149
Joined: Mar 2008
The TV doesn't have to be DLNA compliant; only a media server that you plan to serve content from, using DLNA (which I suggest against for other reasons).

I am not using DLNA anywhere, it is turned off everywhere, and the Hub plays movies from my NAS (using SMB, Windows file sharing protocol) or from its internal hard drive, just fine.
vadergr's Avatar vadergr
02:14 PM Liked: 10
post #747 of 2259
12-13-2010 | Posts: 111
Joined: Dec 2007
Some questions, maybe answered here but there are so many pages!!!


1)No hd audio?At least true hd->DD 5.1 and dts ma->dts core?
2)Can it play/read bd rips and bd iso?
3)Does it play multichannel high bitrate flac's ?

Thanks in advance.
jerome8283's Avatar jerome8283
02:50 PM Liked: 10
post #748 of 2259
12-13-2010 | Posts: 491
Joined: Sep 2005
I realize the Netgear NeoTV 550 is not released in the US yet however I've been considering the 550 until I came across the WD TV Live Hub. I'd be interested to know opinions from those familiar with both, based on the specs.

A few questions about the WD TV Live Hub...

> Which Netflix plan does the WD TV Live Hub work with?
> Which Blockbuster plan does the WD TV Live Hub work with?
> Can I view Divx movies with the WD TV Live Hub?
> If necessary, can the internal HDD be upgraded at a later point?

Also same questions as vadergr above.
hal90002010's Avatar hal90002010
03:24 PM Liked: 10
post #749 of 2259
12-13-2010 | Posts: 238
Joined: Dec 2003
vadergr,

1. Will play DD5.1 and DTS core, if bluray is HD audio just re-wrap to mkv will remove HD and leave DD5.1 or core.
2. yes
3. yes

jerome8283,

1. any
2. any
3. yes, divx, xvid, mkv, mts, vob, ISO ......
4. yes but they say netfix and blockbuster wont work if you do. Dont know of anyone who has done it yet.
vadergr's Avatar vadergr
03:28 PM Liked: 10
post #750 of 2259
12-13-2010 | Posts: 111
Joined: Dec 2007
thanks a lot hal90002010.
It uses sigma chipset so i guess it has no issues with 23.976 right?

Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3