*Official* WD TV Live Hub Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 2247 Old 10-17-2010, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

The price for WDTV Live + on sale here in the US is $119, and the 1 TB hard drive from Newegg (2.5" model) is also $119. The cost of this unit appears to be cheaper than the total cost of those two components. Also, note that the price in USD might be cheaper than what it is in CAD.

Fry's has the WD TV Live Plus for $99 (regular in store price) but you need to keep in mind you are also getting a media server. So the way I look at it you are getting local storage, media player and media server. I believe you can plug in additional storage but if you want to upgrade your media player or server down the road you can't individually.
Charles R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2247 Old 10-17-2010, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
hal90002010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Flash Lite is a development technology implemented at the client-side, or user interface layer. Recent changes to ActionScript allow Flash Lite to better integrate with and even compete with device-layer technologies like Java ME and BREW. Flash Lite should not be considered a mobile operating system like Symbian OS, Windows Mobile, iOS (iPhone OS), or Android: it is a technology for developing applications that run on a mobile operating system."

"Flash Lite 1.1 supports Flash 4 ActionScript. Flash Lite 2.0, based on Flash Player 7, supports Flash 7's newer ActionScript 2.0. Both versions also support the World Wide Web Consortium's Standard SVG Tiny, a mobile profile of the consortium's Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG) recommendation. Unlike SVG, Flash Lite can add audio and interactive elements without the use of other technologies such as JavaScript. As with Flash, Flash Lite is able to read and redraw external XML content. Flash Lite 3 is based on Flash 8, which brings closer the gap between mobile and desktop content by supporting H.264 video standard, as well as On2 VP6 and Sorenson video codecs. It also introduces the support to FLV video content. Flash Lite 4.0 supports ActionScript 3, and will be a browser plugin, not a standalone player.

Flash Lite 3.0 which is based on Flash Player 8 supports FLVs like the ones used on Youtube and Google Video. Flash Lite 2.0 and 2.1 do not have FLV support."(wiki)

Hal90002010 Conquerer of the Great Barrier
hal90002010 is offline  
post #63 of 2247 Old 10-17-2010, 05:57 PM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I don't know what good Flash Lite support is unless they implement a web browser.
mzaur is online now  
post #64 of 2247 Old 10-17-2010, 06:16 PM
Member
 
fullmetalZERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The UI seems somewhat like Boxee based on the screenshots from the packaging and the photos posted. Any idea what it's running -- something proprietary?
fullmetalZERO is offline  
post #65 of 2247 Old 10-17-2010, 06:28 PM
Newbie
 
jwhazel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzaur View Post

Yeah I don't know what good Flash Lite support is unless they implement a web browser.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fullmetalZERO View Post

The UI seems somewhat like Boxee based on the screenshots from the packaging and the photos posted. Any idea what it's running -- something proprietary?

I would wager that the UI and apps (or "Services" as WD is calling them) are what use Flash Lite just like the Tivo Premiere. I'm interested to see if they make an "app store" sort of similar to Roku so that content can be added later. At minimum if it can be hacked there may be some good potential there.
jwhazel is offline  
post #66 of 2247 Old 10-17-2010, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
originalsnuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do we know whether this will support bitstreaming of hd adio?

Some posts here imply "no"; but I do not think that this has been confirmed.

Also, I wonder if it will downconvert hd audio for output to optical spdif?

Overall, looks like a nce machine.
originalsnuffy is offline  
post #67 of 2247 Old 10-17-2010, 09:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
liquidmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could you please try HD audio? Files are here:

http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/hi...n-trailers.php

if you need them.
liquidmetal is offline  
post #68 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 12:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,061
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 382
It's funny that people think Google provides firmware updates for Android phones, when they do absolutely no such thing.

Google updates the core Android OS. Phone manufacturers and / or carriers decide whether or not there are firmware upgrades on your phone. Yes, rooted phones can sometimes run more recent versions of Android than the carrier or phone mfr. provides. Of course, this in no way applies to the question of who will provide updates for the Revue. The answer is: Logitech, a statement I can make with near certainty.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #69 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 12:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How is this diff from popcorn a110 or acryan with HD installed?
zoro is offline  
post #70 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 01:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

How is this diff from popcorn a110 or acryan with HD installed?

Netflix support, for one. HDMI 1.4 support, from the spec viewpoint (A110 and ACRyan are bother HDMI 1.3). We will know more details after the unit gets in the hands of the general public / reviewers.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #71 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 02:15 AM
Newbie
 
onegoodlogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two questions, if anyone who's found this bad boy is gracious enough to answer:

What are the dimensions (or a close approximation thereof) of the hub?

If your media is properly meta-tagged, can you turn off the viewing of file extensions?
onegoodlogan is offline  
post #72 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 06:50 AM
Member
 
didapipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzaur View Post

Yeah that's true about the Fusion, and they are trying to get Netflix on there. That's why I'll wait a month and see how the Hub goes. Maybe it won't need much in the way of fixes. And I think WD has been pretty decent with WD Live right? I've never had a WD product before. Mainly I want to get this because it has internal HD and component. Don't know of other media players that have that.

About pricing.. 1 CAD is 1 USD pretty much, but I do hope you are right


I still own WDTV hd (first generation), and now is plugged to my kid's Hdtv, it is still running without a hitch, connected to a small 500GB passport usb drive.
I gotta tell you, i have a lot respect for this tough tiny box.It went to 3 different continents , i plugged it to Hotel's tv sets ( Thanks to PAL/NTSC)
I spent 0 dollar maintaining/fixing this WD box for more? than 2 or 3 years. I Can't even remember when we got it at first. And i will probably buy another WD product without hesitation.
didapipo is offline  
post #73 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mickey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Read through all the posts in the thread; and I may have missed it, but did anyone confirm if this unit can play Blu-ray & DVD ISO with FULL Menu Support? And if it can passthrough DTS-HD 7.1 & Dolby TrueHD 7.1?

Been waiting on Dune Smart D1 ... want to compare to it.

Thanks!

7.1: Polk RTi12 Fronts, RTi8 Surrounds, Monitor70 Surround Backs, CSi A6 Center + Outlaw LFM-1 EX Subwoofer.
Yamaha RX-A2000 AVR
Epson 5010 3D Projector
Intel Sandy Bridge 3D HTPC / Blu-ray Player
mickey79 is offline  
post #74 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey79 View Post

Read through all the posts in the thread; and I may have missed it, but did anyone confirm if this unit can play Blu-ray & DVD ISO with FULL Menu Support?

It won't.
Charles R is offline  
post #75 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
JayKittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it have a web browser and keyboard/mouse compatibility?

If not, boxee box still takes gold from me- I don't mind having an external hooked up to it.
JayKittle is offline  
post #76 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
Nicnac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arswhat View Post

And I think WD has proven they are very slow to fix bugs, and generally don't want to add new stuff (they want you to buy the next version)

Bingo! Why get excited about his box. It will come out with bugs that may or may not be fixed and when it's just approaching being decent, the next box will be out and support for this one will cease...

Look, it seems nice, good UI, good feature set, but where is the net scraping for cover art, imdb reviews? Should we wait for Boxee?
Nicnac is offline  
post #77 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What are the main differences between this and the WD Live Plus?

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #78 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburbs View Post

What are the main differences between this and the WD Live Plus?


1. 2.5" 1 TB hard disk bundled within the unit
2. HDMI 1.4 support (not sure what the actual advantages would be, maybe 3D playback, but not confirmed yet)
3. GbE port (faster network access)

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #79 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

1. 2.5" 1 TB hard disk bundled within the unit
2. HDMI 1.4 support (not sure what the actual advantages would be, maybe 3D playback, but not confirmed yet)
3. GbE port (faster network access)

For me the biggest difference is it's a media server not just a player.
Charles R is offline  
post #80 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 12:20 PM
Member
 
pbusado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some questions:

1) Do you have the ability to play your media clips (photos, songs, videos) one after the other, or will it menu between each clip?

2) Do you have the ability to play your media clips (photos, songs, videos) in random order?

3) Do you have the ability to delete your clips after or while you're viewing/listening?

4) NMT implementation allows you to use your keypad to skip by percentages when playing video clips. IE, press 5 and you go 50% into the file. Can you do that with this?

Thanks so much for the info!!
pbusado is offline  
post #81 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnwcookjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Papillion, Ne
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears to be one ATSC tuner short of a six pack.

Come on WD where's the record off air capability to that huge internal drive?

Building our dream theater one component at a time.. Thanks AVS for years of great advice and support!

Come visit The Pit
http://members.cox.net/home-theater/
johnwcookjr is offline  
post #82 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
Bob64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd also like to know how well it does with soft-subs - specifically the more advanced options with the ASS subtitle standard - fonts, colors, positioning, etc.
Bob64 is offline  
post #83 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 06:47 PM
Member
 
tennisbgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post

It's funny that people think Google provides firmware updates for Android phones, when they do absolutely no such thing.

Google updates the core Android OS. Phone manufacturers and / or carriers decide whether or not there are firmware upgrades on your phone. Yes, rooted phones can sometimes run more recent versions of Android than the carrier or phone mfr. provides. Of course, this in no way applies to the question of who will provide updates for the Revue. The answer is: Logitech, a statement I can make with near certainty.

Why is that so funny, if you bought a dell computer with microsoft windows on it well dell doesnt supply the updates its microsoft in other words the software. Im not trying to start anything im just saying it would make sense.
tennisbgc is offline  
post #84 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 06:50 PM
Member
 
tennisbgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what chip is this thing using?
tennisbgc is offline  
post #85 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
csrini1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennisbgc View Post

So what chip is this thing using?

I am guessing same chipset as the prev version 8642 Sigma chipset
csrini1 is offline  
post #86 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 07:52 PM
Member
 
keenan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Barrington, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by csrini1 View Post

I am guessing same chipset as the prev version 8642 Sigma chipset

Don't think so. That chipset doesn't support HDMI 1.4 or GbE.

I am interested in the chipset as well. Has anyone cracked one open yet?
keenan9 is offline  
post #87 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 07:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan9 View Post


Don't think so. That chipset doesn't support HDMI 1.4 or GbE.

I am interested in the chipset as well. Has anyone cracked one open yet?

So it is diff chip set from live plus?
zoro is offline  
post #88 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 07:59 PM
Member
 
keenan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Barrington, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

So it is diff chip set from live plus?

It would have to be. The Sigma 8642 is HDMI 1.3, and only 10/100 Ethernet.

http://www.sigmadesigns.com/uploads/...ray8642_br.pdf
keenan9 is offline  
post #89 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzaur View Post

Yeah I don't know what good Flash Lite support is unless they implement a web browser.

I've already answered that.
Raistlin_HT is offline  
post #90 of 2247 Old 10-18-2010, 08:26 PM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
True. Didn't see that.

I'm looking at other options for me and the Seagate FreeAgent Theater+ Solution looks promising. You can get it for $100 and then get a 1TB Seagate Freeagent Go hard drive for another 100 which attaches to the player for a total of $200. This is a very realistic alternative to the Hub. Has anyone tried this thing out?

What's kind of cool about the FreeAgent is that the hard drive is removable. Might be a good buy. If anything goes wrong with the HD inside the WD Hub, is it possible to replace it? Having a removable drive might prove useful, especially when comparing two products that have virtually identical specifications between them (though I'm not sure about that, have to research more)
mzaur is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off