*Official* WD TV Live Hub Thread - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 2247 Old 12-30-2010, 10:46 PM
Member
 
shadow_cruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm found a temporary fix until WD addresses this issue. You can see the fix here (last post)

http://community.wdc.com/t5/WD-TV-Li...es/td-p/100820
shadow_cruiser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 2247 Old 12-30-2010, 11:03 PM
Senior Member
 
hal90002010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://community.wdc.com/t5/WD-TV-Li...es/td-p/100820


Re: Live Hub won't see updated shares
Options

"2 weeks ago

I had the same problem, the easiest way to make it see the changes is to go into the network settings, go to the workgroup, go in, dont do any changes and click on submit, it will restart the network stack on the Hub and all is good."

That is a slick fix.

Hal90002010 Conquerer of the Great Barrier
hal90002010 is offline  
post #903 of 2247 Old 12-30-2010, 11:33 PM
Member
 
zamzickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post
New FW just came out... 2.03.24. User provided XML works!!!! Weeee!!
OK, i'll throw my noobie arms up in a surrender jesture. I get the impression
we should we able to implement great things with XML support. I just know what. Gurus unite and ~splain whats new!!!!

Tanks alot.
zamzickles is offline  
post #904 of 2247 Old 12-30-2010, 11:39 PM
Senior Member
 
hal90002010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Custom Made Movie Sheets to start with,

XML
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
XML XML.svg
Filename extension .xml
Internet media type application/xml,[1] text/xml[2] (deprecated in an expired draft[3])
Uniform Type Identifier public.xml
Developed by World Wide Web Consortium
Type of format Markup language
Extended from SGML
Extended to Numerous, including:
XHTML, RSS, Atom
Standard(s) 1.0 (Fifth Edition) November 26, 2008; 2 years ago (2008-11-26)
1.1 (Second Edition) August 16, 2006; 4 years ago (2006-08-16)
Open format? Yes
Extensible Markup Language (XML) Current Status Published
Year Started 1996
Editors Tim Bray, Jean Paoli, C. M. Sperberg-McQueen, Eve Maler, François Yergeau, John Cowan
Related Standards XML Schema
Domain Data Serialization
Abbreviation XML
Website XML 1.0

Extensible Markup Language (XML) is a set of rules for encoding documents in machine-readable form. It is defined in the XML 1.0 Specification[4] produced by the W3C, and several other related specifications, all gratis open standards.[5]

XML's design goals emphasize simplicity, generality, and usability over the Internet.[6] It is a textual data format with strong support via Unicode for the languages of the world. Although the design of XML focuses on documents, it is widely used for the representation of arbitrary data structures, for example in web services.

Many application programming interfaces (APIs) have been developed that software developers use to process XML data, and several schema systems exist to aid in the definition of XML-based languages.

As of 2009[update], hundreds of XML-based languages have been developed,[7] including RSS, Atom, SOAP, and XHTML. XML-based formats have become the default for most office-productivity tools, including Microsoft Office (Office Open XML), OpenOffice.org (OpenDocument), and Apple's iWork.[8]

You did ask,

It gives us a platform to make a web paged located in/on the HUB itself to tell us info about our files in or associated with THE HUB!

But that is only the start. We can make a GUI to control any DLNA device connected to our home net. No mater who makes the device.

Example use the hub remote to control the TV, or a bluray player or play a web based game on the hub, Play HULU (don't tell hulu).

But I am very very sure that most of us will just use it to create, MOVIE SHEETS.

I can't believe it, the HUB has not even been out Three months yet.

Hal90002010 Conquerer of the Great Barrier
hal90002010 is offline  
post #905 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 05:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: the area formerly known as Black Forest
Posts: 4,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Mkv's containing a Dolby TrueHD track still won't stream to the Hub with the new firmware.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #906 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 06:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,441
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 654
I have one of these... I really should hook it up and learn to use it.

What can you do with it ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #907 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Looks like the Best Buy exclusive has ended... my local Fry's has roughly two dozen on hand (same price $199).
Charles R is offline  
post #908 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
ptsenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlittlejeans View Post

Mkv's containing a Dolby TrueHD track still won't stream to the Hub with the new firmware.

This statement is too generic.

Have you tried to go deeper: what codec used as opposed to m2ts's? What load on you network? Maybe your mkv is too taxing for your network.
ptsenter is offline  
post #909 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 11:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: the area formerly known as Black Forest
Posts: 4,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 192
I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "what codec used as opposed to m2ts's". I use Clown_BD and mkvmerge to create the mkv's. All are rips of my bluray collection and the problem exists on every one that contains a TrueHD track regardless of the video codec in the file (VC-1 or MP4). The problem doesn't exist for any other mkv's that do not contain a Dolby TrueHD track and the mkv's themselves play fine if saved on the internal drive. If I use Clown_bd and txmuxer to create an m2ts file with the same underlying files as made the mkv, the file will stream fine. There was a suggestion to use DVDFab to create the mkv which yielded the same results.

The network can handle the traffic. It is a full gigabit network. The files play fine on my Dune D1's. Much higher bit rate files that do not contain a Dolby TrueHD track like Saving Private Ryan stream perfectly to the Hub.

Thanks for your assistance. I would like to figure out this problem. If you have any mkv's that contain a Dolby TrueHD source, could you try to stream them to your Hub and see if they play?

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #910 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 01:13 PM
Member
 
zamzickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Hal90002010"

Thanks for the info. I understand both the concept and implementation of XML since I have written web pages in HTML (it's lesser cousin). The are many scrapers and collection management programs that implement xml. Since 'moki' already does it's own scraping, how and where is the new xml and images placed to override and replace the internal mode of menus and images.

That's the meat of the question.
zamzickles is offline  
post #911 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 01:49 PM
Member
 
98_1LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the limited experience I have since updating to the new FW last night, the xml for mkv are put in the same folder. If you have multiple mkv's in a folder; it expects the jpg and xml in the same folder.

For DVD folder structure backups, it puts them in the top level directory, with the AUDIO_TS & VIDEO_TS folders.

For BD folder structure backups, it puts them in the BDMV/STREAM folder, naming them the same as the m2ts file.


Some examples:
DVD
root@unraid:/mnt/user/xXx# ls | fmt -1
AUDIO_TS/
VIDEO_TS/
xXx.jpg*
xXx.xml*



MKV
root@unraid:/mnt/user# ls -l | grep -v ^d
total 165323661
-rwx------ 1 root root 32792 Dec 31 07:40 BRUNO.jpg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 16709938948 Dec 14 13:28 BRUNO.mkv
-rwx------ 1 root root 2281 Dec 31 07:40 BRUNO.xml*
-rwx------ 1 root root 41258 Dec 31 07:46 CLASH\\ OF\\ THE\\ TITANS\\ (2010).jpg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 19483242840 Dec 13 22:23 CLASH\\ OF\\ THE\\ TITANS\\ (2010).mkv
-rwx------ 1 root root 4933 Dec 31 07:46 CLASH\\ OF\\ THE\\ TITANS\\ (2010).xml*
-rwx------ 1 root root 32276 Dec 31 08:03 HOT\\ TUB\\ TIME\\ MACHINE\\ (2010).jpg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 27769644474 Dec 13 22:10 HOT\\ TUB\\ TIME\\ MACHINE\\ (2010).mkv
-rwx------ 1 root root 3789 Dec 31 08:03 HOT\\ TUB\\ TIME\\ MACHINE\\ (2010).xml*
-rwx------ 1 root root 35105 Dec 31 08:07 IRON\\ MAN\\ 2\\ (2010).jpg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 31589335274 Dec 13 17:22 IRON\\ MAN\\ 2\\ (2010).mkv
-rwx------ 1 root root 9011 Dec 31 08:07 IRON\\ MAN\\ 2\\ (2010).xml*
-rwx------ 1 root root 36621 Dec 31 08:19 ROLE\\ MODELS.jpg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 25628183722 Dec 14 01:49 ROLE\\ MODELS.mkv
-rwx------ 1 root root 3411 Dec 31 08:19 ROLE\\ MODELS.xml*
-rwx------ 1 root root 38771 Dec 31 08:21 SHERLOCK\\ HOLMES.jpg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 22897580721 Dec 14 02:15 SHERLOCK\\ HOLMES.mkv
-rwx------ 1 root root 4043 Dec 31 08:21 SHERLOCK\\ HOLMES.xml*
-rwx------ 1 root root 34301 Dec 31 08:33 TAKEN.jpg*
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 25048015393 Dec 14 02:03 TAKEN.mkv
-rwx------ 1 root root 4219 Dec 31 08:33 TAKEN.xml*



BD
root@unraid:/mnt/user# find GET\\ SMART\\ \\(2008\\)/
GET SMART (2008)/
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/JAR
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BDJO
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/META
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/STREAM
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/STREAM/00700.m2ts
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/STREAM/00700.jpg
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/STREAM/00700.xml

GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/PLAYLIST
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/PLAYLIST/00000.mpls
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/index.bdmv
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/AUXDATA
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/CLIPINF
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/CLIPINF/00700.clpi
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/MovieObject.bdmv
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP/JAR
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP/BDJO
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP/PLAYLIST
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP/PLAYLIST/00000.mpls
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP/index.bdmv
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP/CLIPINF
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP/CLIPINF/00700.clpi
GET SMART (2008)/BDMV/BACKUP/MovieObject.bdmv
GET SMART (2008)/CERTIFICATE
GET SMART (2008)/CERTIFICATE/BACKUP

My home theater, 16 years and growing in the making (bought the main 5.5's new in 1995)
98_1LE is offline  
post #912 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 02:36 PM
Member
 
zamzickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
98_1LE,

Very well constructed examples. I haven't had the opportunity to play around with it yet, but now I understand the concept. (despite the unix commands).

Thanks,
zamzickles is offline  
post #913 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
hal90002010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
zamzickles,

Hey Took a shot in the dark, could not tell from the post that this info would make you a fairly dangerous man.

The owners manual Describes the manual way to do this in great detail.

Hal90002010 Conquerer of the Great Barrier
hal90002010 is offline  
post #914 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
hal90002010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal90002010 View Post

USER MANUAL!!!!!!!!!

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...779-705046.pdf

Hello again.

Hal90002010 Conquerer of the Great Barrier
hal90002010 is offline  
post #915 of 2247 Old 12-31-2010, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
hal90002010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
+

Hal90002010 Conquerer of the Great Barrier
hal90002010 is offline  
post #916 of 2247 Old 01-01-2011, 10:00 AM
Member
 
proliance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the Live Hub for about 24 hrs now and it doesn't look like it fits my needs for watching recorded TV.

I record over-the-air TV to my main pc (Win7 pro) and they are moved automatically to my Windows Home Server. I've seen the work arounds to get the Live Hub to recognize .wtv files on Win7, but I need them to be read from my WHS box.

Converting them to .dvr-ms is a poor substitute because my server is a low-powered dual Atom processor box. It takes about 30 minutes or longer to convert an hour long show recorded in HD. It takes about 6-7 minutes to convert a tv show on my pc.

This was bought to replace an older xbox 360 which works ok. Since my server doesn't do Windows Media Center I have to turn on my Win7 pc, my server, and my clunky xbox360. Its a little slow, noisy, power hungry and non-hdmi, but it works. If I have to convert every TV show before I can watch it using the WD TV Hub its not going to be worth the time and effort.

I'm feeling a little grumpy this morning because I thought this was going to work. I love the internal storage, the interface and the way it streams my dvd's from my server. But it looks like the best choice may be to trade this in for an xbox 360 for the same price.

*heading over to xbox 360 forum to get their opinions
proliance is offline  
post #917 of 2247 Old 01-01-2011, 11:59 AM
Member
 
reecycup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
down loaded the new firmware and installed it
Lost all my down loaded pics
2600 dvds and blu-rays
reecycup is offline  
post #918 of 2247 Old 01-01-2011, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
hal90002010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98_1LE View Post

If you have your media on a NAS, make it read write before updating to the 2.03.24 firmware. If you do not, your media library will be discarded. If you do, it will be migrated from the medadata folder to the folders the movies are in.

hope this helps

Hal90002010 Conquerer of the Great Barrier
hal90002010 is offline  
post #919 of 2247 Old 01-01-2011, 06:27 PM
Member
 
farnlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have this player that I am using to connect an external HD with .mkv files on it. Last night I was watching one of my movies and about an hour into the movie it stuttered then froze completely to the point that I had to unplug the unit. I started it back up and started at the chapter BEFORE the freeze and the movie played just fine so I know the encode is fine. Is this common for this player? Is there anything I can do differently?

I'm also in the process of ripping my HD-DVD collection to .mkv and some movies are fine and others have severe stuttering. I read somewhere to mux? it to .ts file, but when I do that the stuttering goes away but it's like the movie is in fast forward mode at like 1.1 times speed, just fast enough to notice...


Can anyone help??
farnlc is offline  
post #920 of 2247 Old 01-01-2011, 06:34 PM
Member
 
98_1LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That happened to mine once when new, and it has never happened since. It has been streaming 1080p for several hours straight now and hasn't skipped a beat.

My home theater, 16 years and growing in the making (bought the main 5.5's new in 1995)
98_1LE is offline  
post #921 of 2247 Old 01-01-2011, 07:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: the area formerly known as Black Forest
Posts: 4,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Do the mkv's that severely stutter happen to contain Dolby TrueHD tracks while the ones that don't have a TrueHD track play fine?

.ts and .m2ts files are much larger than the equivalent .mkv so I use .mkv's. The problem I have found is that any .mkv's that have a Dolby TrueHD track as an available soundtrack stutter severely when not played off of the internal hard drive.

.m2ts files play fine though if they contain a Dolby TrueHD track although you shouldn't have a speed issue there unless it was burned with a different frame rate parameter. Maybe it was remuxed as 25fps?

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #922 of 2247 Old 01-01-2011, 08:49 PM
Member
 
shadow_cruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that the live hub supports user generated metadata, can someone recommend a program for WDTV's XML format. I tried Thumbgen but after comparing the XML from Thumbgen to Live Hub, they are very much different
shadow_cruiser is offline  
post #923 of 2247 Old 01-01-2011, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
hal90002010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A wild shot in the dark try DVDFAB for all you MKV needs .

Wash Rinse Repeat.

Hal90002010 Conquerer of the Great Barrier
hal90002010 is offline  
post #924 of 2247 Old 01-02-2011, 12:47 AM
Member
 
just_visiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: 604 area
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow_cruiser View Post
My hub has been collecting dust for a few months now, mainly due to one thing. The hub does not auto-refresh your library like the WDTV Live. Lets say I add a movie to my drive. I have to unplug the hub, plug it back it in and it will do a forced refresh. On the Live, I can just exit the shares to the homescreen, go back into my shares and I will see the new file. Anyone know when they will implement this feature from the Live?
I have the same problem. I'm thinking of getting the new Oppo 95 to replace this WD Hub in the spring. It'll replace my BD player too.
just_visiting is offline  
post #925 of 2247 Old 01-02-2011, 05:28 AM
Member
 
reecycup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hal90002010 View Post
hope this helps
made sure first, seen it here

Plus it still has hidden files, cause you still cant change the name
reecycup is offline  
post #926 of 2247 Old 01-02-2011, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I can't make a specific recommendation, Shadow, but from what I've seen, there's only ONE difference between NFO and the Hub format: NFO uses the tag PLOT, and Hub wants it to be OVERVIEW.

All the Other stuff is just ignored, so it poses no danger.

I wrote my own program to scrape data from TheTVDB.com and convert it, but it's in Perl and most people don't have any idea how to use Perl... (I've never written a UI in my life, so it's kludgy, but it pulled 1800 some-odd records in about 20 minutes... )
WDFan1970 is online now  
post #927 of 2247 Old 01-02-2011, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by just_visiting View Post

I have the same problem. I'm thinking of getting the new Oppo 95 to replace this WD Hub in the spring. It'll replace my BD player too.

The Oppo will never support .iso files, only reason I keep my WD-LIVE+.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #928 of 2247 Old 01-02-2011, 11:11 AM
Member
 
shadow_cruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

I can't make a specific recommendation, Shadow, but from what I've seen, there's only ONE difference between NFO and the Hub format: NFO uses the tag PLOT, and Hub wants it to be OVERVIEW.

All the Other stuff is just ignored, so it poses no danger.

I wrote my own program to scrape data from TheTVDB.com and convert it, but it's in Perl and most people don't have any idea how to use Perl... (I've never written a UI in my life, so it's kludgy, but it pulled 1800 some-odd records in about 20 minutes... )

The problem is, I have 1100 .mkv files, I can't imagine how long it will take to change every single XML from PLOT to OVERVIEW.

I wanted to use the "Get Content Info" for each file but the Live Hub renames the files after the XML is created. All my files are named "Big Lebowski, The". As you can see, this will disorganize my collection. Ah, these are the times I wish I knew script writing:S
shadow_cruiser is offline  
post #929 of 2247 Old 01-02-2011, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Shadow: Unfortunately, the User-Generated XML will NOT replace the title. The Title Tag is there, but the hub ignores it right now... I'm hoping they change that behavior... but it sounds like it would actually do you a favor by not replacing it...
WDFan1970 is online now  
post #930 of 2247 Old 01-02-2011, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
pjtgrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any experience in using this with a large music library? As in 20,000+ files? I currently have the WD TV Live (not hub) and find the music navigation clunky in terms of speed of navigation, interface when playing, visualization options etc. Thus I find myself going back to my original Xbox with XBMC.

Does WD TV Live Hub support smart/dynamic playlists, Random play on all music files? Multiple visualization options? Preferences to prevent screen burn (for those with older tv's)? Is navigation screaming fast AND smooth without any "hold on - reading from disc" indicators? Can you navigate folder structure effectively and elegantly (I tend to avoid library modes - I know where my stuff is)?

I looked all over youtube and can't find anyone showing the interface during music playback (other than one dude who had like 5 albums) and scrolling through hundreds of folders. I know Squeezebox and Sonos are the kings in this area for true audiophiles but I can't quite see dropping $300 for an audio streamer only. I know Boxee Box music playback is basic now with a "promise" that it may get better in the indeterminate future. Looking into this as a potential option.
pjtgrizzly is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off