*Official* WD TV Live Hub Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2252 Old 10-19-2010, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
video321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
As the owner of a few Live units, I understand why owners of the previous model were fed up with WD. There is just too much competition out there to choose WD again.
video321 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2252 Old 10-19-2010, 06:11 AM
Member
 
Ferdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z1pr8g7rCTo

Looking forward to seeing the UI in action.
Ferdie is offline  
post #93 of 2252 Old 10-19-2010, 09:52 AM
Member
 
Nogib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post

What do you mean by multiple subtitles? Several streams in an idx/sub? In case you already posted something about this please show me the link so I can include it in my upcoming posting on the WD forums listing all subtitle issues of the LIVE.

For instance, look at the following:



Both the dialogue and location are being subtitled within the same single subtitle track in the MKV container. The WDTV Live (and Plus) both are unable to display both simultaneously (often times only doing signs and skipping any dialogue line(s) that were at the same time) nor do they take positional queues from the subtitle track either (everything displayed on the same single line at the bottom of the screen). If enhanced subtitle support ever came along I'd be using my WDTV Live Plus a whole lot more than I am now.
Nogib is offline  
post #94 of 2252 Old 10-20-2010, 09:29 AM
Member
 
bigdave914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Looks like a UI video has been posted!

bigdave914 is offline  
post #95 of 2252 Old 10-20-2010, 10:40 AM
Member
 
treefrog100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey79 View Post

Read through all the posts in the thread; and I may have missed it, but did anyone confirm if this unit can play Blu-ray & DVD ISO with FULL Menu Support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

It won't.

I'm a newbie to ISO so bare with me.. Even though the WDTV Hub won't have disc menu functionality, will it have the ability to:

1. Play DVD movie files within an ISO rip located on the network?
2. Play BD movie files within an ISO rip on the network?
3. What is the simplest way to rip and manage DVD/BD movie files on a network drive: manage multiple M2TS files or a single ISO if space were not an issue. One ISO file seems the easiest to rip and manage as long as the WD Hub can play it.
4. Can cover art programs like My Movies be run on a directory of M2TS directories or ISO directories and add cover art that the WDTV Live HUB can pull down?

I would like "one box to rule them all" in my living room and will cave on full menu support if I can at least play the files and view by cover art. I am especially attracted to the gigabit speed which is more responsive for viewing 12MP photos over the network. Thanks!
treefrog100 is offline  
post #96 of 2252 Old 10-20-2010, 12:43 PM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdave914 View Post

Looks like a UI video has been posted!

Thanks for posting. This looks great... it needs to come out already!
mzaur is offline  
post #97 of 2252 Old 10-20-2010, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
sandolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anybody wants one of these you can try what I did - I got the Best Buy page from google cache and clicked add to cart- it worked. Then I did an in store pick up and it was waiting for me when I got there. This was in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia. They even had one on the shelf - I guess the stores didn't get the memo.
sandolph is offline  
post #98 of 2252 Old 10-20-2010, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,897
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Can you use an external USB hub to expand the number of connected external hard drives? This was a real limitation of previous generations of WDTVs that hopefully has been addressed with this new box. I already have two 2TB USB drives filled and connected by my WDTV Live. These contain mostly rips of my own collection of BDs, and I would really like to add another 2TB USB drive rather than having to stream from a network server. If the new box will let me do that, them I'm sold. Also it would really great if the new box would play rips of Blu-ray 3Ds (at least in one format).

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #99 of 2252 Old 10-20-2010, 06:13 PM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandolph View Post

If anybody wants one of these you can try what I did - I got the Best Buy page from google cache and clicked add to cart- it worked. Then I did an in store pick up and it was waiting for me when I got there. This was in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia. They even had one on the shelf - I guess the stores didn't get the memo.


That only works for Canada unfortunately.. you can't add a US address on the BestBuy.ca site (unless I'm wrong). I did print out that cached page and went to a local BB and they didn't have it.


For those considering the Hub, what do you guys think of it vs a Seagate FreeAgent Theater+ (or GoFlex TV since they are the same player) and getting a Seagate hard drive which docks inside? In terms of features, they seem very similar. I'm looking for NAS/media player and can't decide between the two. I do need component video or I would highly consider the Fusion HD.

Really excited about the Hub though because the UI looks really cool, way better vs. the Seagates (which also has a crappy remote to boot). I'm hoping that WD fixed most of the issues that the Live had, and that the Hub will turn out to be a really solid unit.
mzaur is offline  
post #100 of 2252 Old 10-20-2010, 06:27 PM
Member
 
mrdavet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Google cache of BB.ca page


-Dave
mrdavet is offline  
post #101 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 01:36 AM
Member
 
roodkopje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:


Can you use an external USB hub to expand the number of connected external hard drives? This was a real limitation of previous generations of WDTVs that hopefully has been addressed with this new box. I already have two 2TB USB drives filled and connected by my WDTV Live. These contain mostly rips of my own collection of BDs, and I would really like to add another 2TB USB drive rather than having to stream from a network server. If the new box will let me do that, them I'm sold. Also it would really great if the new box would play rips of Blu-ray 3Ds (at least in one format).

I dont know if it is posible with the live hub but with b.rad's custom firmware it was possible for the previous generations
roodkopje is offline  
post #102 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
sandolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Couple of quick things I've noticed (coming from a WDTV Live): I can now stream a bluray M2TS file over my network without stuttering. Also the WDTV hub will also pick up a TRUEHD audio track from either the M2TS or an mkv.
sandolph is offline  
post #103 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 04:15 PM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandolph View Post

Couple of quick things I've noticed (coming from a WDTV Live): I can now stream a bluray M2TS file over my network without stuttering. Also the WDTV hub will also pick up a TRUEHD audio track from either the M2TS or an mkv.

Thanks for the update. How are you liking the player otherwise? Any negatives? Did you get a wifi adapter too? (curious if the same wifi adapters that worked with Live will work with the Hub)
mzaur is offline  
post #104 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 06:13 PM
Member
 
colin.p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears it's back up on the Buy More site (sorry can't resist).
http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/...a074231b56en02
colin.p is offline  
post #105 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
Craigatitus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandolph View Post

Couple of quick things I've noticed (coming from a WDTV Live): I can now stream a bluray M2TS file over my network without stuttering. Also the WDTV hub will also pick up a TRUEHD audio track from either the M2TS or an mkv.

Sandolph....any chance you can test out a video with DTS-HD Audio? There was a link posted with some test files in post #67.

Thanks.
Craig.
Craigatitus is offline  
post #106 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 07:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigatitus View Post

Sandolph....any chance you can test out a video with DTS-HD Audio? There was a link posted with some test files in post #67.

Thanks.
Craig.

same request from me too! still down mixing or at least passing through high def audio 9or giving us lpcm, same bit rate?
zoro is offline  
post #107 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

same request from me too! still down mixing or at least passing through high def audio 9or giving us lpcm, same bit rate?

The capability is the same as that of the WDTV Live Plus. No passthrough definitely. I will try to garner more info and post on Monday (if I recv the review unit in time).

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #108 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 07:15 PM
Newbie
 
Craigatitus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm...I didn't think the Live Plus could do TrueHD from an mkv so that is one step further.

I could be wrong though...I only have a Live.
Craigatitus is offline  
post #109 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 07:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

The capability is the same as that of the WDTV Live Plus. No passthrough definitely. I will try to garner more info and post on Monday (if I recv the review unit in time).

great! In that case I wont upgrade my WDTVLIVE !

I'll look/wait for some around $100 solution for this feature though.
zoro is offline  
post #110 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

great! In that case I wont upgrade my WDTVLIVE !

I'll look/wait for some around $100 solution for this feature though.

After perusing the specs in detail, I think the target market is something else. They are retaining / fixing all the supported features of Live+, but adding the 1TB hard drive + NAS / media server functionality.

As CharlesR pointed out previously, this device is a game changer of sorts for WD (they are coupling their storage and media player business finally) because of the media server functionality.. To my knowledge, there is no other streamer which can do this effectively.

How effective is the new functionality? We will know only after playing with it for a little while... I also hope to test out one unadvertised feature, which, if it works correctly, will be another first in this market

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #111 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
mike50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can you connect(via USB) a DVD drive to this unit and play DVD data discs?

mike50
mike50 is offline  
post #112 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 07:53 PM
Member
 
mrdavet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I also hope to test out one unadvertised feature, which, if it works correctly, will be another first in this market

It slices, it dices....


A 2nd firmware update today, the unit has only been known about for a week, and is only in the hands of a lucky few. Maybe the WD boys are busy fixing bugs. Odd, I haven't seen any real bugs yet.


A bit of bad news though, most of my media is in a Mediasonic 4-bay USB drive bay, which has a single USB connection. The WDTV Hub only sees one drive if it's connected directly. That means I still need a PC as an intermediary device to share out the drives. Too bad. If the Hub could see all 4 drives, I wouldn't have to run the PC. I haven't tried connecting multiple drives via a USB-hub yet.

-Dave
mrdavet is offline  
post #113 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdavet View Post

It slices, it dices....


A 2nd firmware update today, the unit has only been known about for a week, and is only in the hands of a lucky few. Maybe the WD boys are busy fixing bugs. Odd, I haven't seen any real bugs yet.


A bit of bad news though, most of my media is in a Mediasonic 4-bay USB drive bay, which has a single USB connection. The WDTV Hub only sees one drive if it's connected directly. That means I still need a PC as an intermediary device to share out the drives. Too bad. If the Hub could see all 4 drives, I wouldn't have to run the PC. I haven't tried connecting multiple drives via a USB-hub yet.

-Dave

Well, you know the official PR is not out yet

And no, it doesn't cook you dinner, but you already knew that, didn't you

Btw, is Blockbuster On Demand available in Canada ? I saw somewhere that the Live Hub has that enabled...

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #114 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 09:51 PM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by colin.p View Post

It appears it's back up on the Buy More site (sorry can't resist).
http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/...a074231b56en02

This needs to come out in the US already...
mzaur is offline  
post #115 of 2252 Old 10-21-2010, 10:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzaur View Post


This needs to come out in the US already...

Lol, it is made in California bay area, and sold in Canada what the heck
zoro is offline  
post #116 of 2252 Old 10-22-2010, 12:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Lol, it is made in California bay area, and sold in Canada what the heck

I sm sure you can hold on for 3 - 4 days. The PR and offiicial details for the US market are going to come out early next week. (Can't give out much beyond that because the NDA hasn't lifted yet)

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #117 of 2252 Old 10-22-2010, 04:24 AM
Newbie
 
profets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A HDD-less version of this would be nice, as I really wouldnt make use of the disk. And I'm sure it would help with the price too.
profets is offline  
post #118 of 2252 Old 10-22-2010, 06:26 AM
Member
 
mrdavet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mrdavet is offline  
post #119 of 2252 Old 10-22-2010, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,470
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 891 Post(s)
Liked: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by profets View Post

A HDD-less version of this would be nice, as I really wouldnt make use of the disk. And I'm sure it would help with the price too.

Wouldnt that just be the WDTV Live Plus? That is unless you are talking about the upgraded UI....
Ph8te is online now  
post #120 of 2252 Old 10-22-2010, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
sandolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigatitus View Post

Sandolph....any chance you can test out a video with DTS-HD Audio? There was a link posted with some test files in post #67.

Thanks.
Craig.

No luck with DTS-MA I'm afraid.
sandolph is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off