*Official* WD TV Live Hub Thread - Page 62 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2012, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
To copy from a USB disk, browse to the item or folder(s) you want to copy, and press OPTIONS -- COPY.
Then select the internal drive as the destination and it will copy it to the internal drive.
WDFan1970 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2012, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kingpcgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Not quite. As Telemike indicated, you can also copy from a USB disk attached to the WD. You don't have to use a network to copy files.


Before you correct me you might want to reread what I wrote. the only way to copy from laptop to the WD internal drive is via a network connection

TiVo Elite, TiVo 4, Seven TiVo Minis, TiVo Stream, Roku 3, Two Amazon Fire Sticks, Google Chromecast, Cox Cable, Sonos
kingpcgeek is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingpcgeek View Post

Before you correct me you might want to reread what I wrote. the only way to copy from laptop to the WD internal drive is via a network connection

D'oh! My bad. Mea culpa! Corrected.
WDFan1970 is online now  
Old 02-21-2012, 06:41 PM
Newbie
 
mikegski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had the WD Live Hub for a while now and all seems to work just fine, but recently I decided to set up Netflix on it. Everything went fine got through all the start pages and setups without any issues. Searched movies and decided to play a Movie tonight, clicked play and all seem to start just fine but there was no picture......Sound is perfectly fine movie seems to load fine but the TV screen is completely black!

I can play videos and all other services without issue, netflix seems to be the only service that will not work properly! I called Netflix and they dont have a clue, i didnt expect much from them anyways.

Has anyone else experienced this issue with the WD Live Hub when trying to use Netflix? Any idea's??
mikegski is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does your display support HDCP?
msgohan is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeBoy73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Just curious if anyone was running this projector setup (CIH) and have you used the "subtitle shift" feature? Does it help? Trying to decide between 16:9 and 2:35 screens!
JoeBoy73 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Rudy_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post

Does your display support HDCP?

Read this might be useful. http://www.hdfury.com/hdmi-hdcp/hdcphdmi-definition/
Rudy_P is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
mikegski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post

Does your display support HDCP?

My TV is brand new just bought it 2 months ago, I would think it should be compliant wouldnt it? Its an LG 60pv250 plasma???
mikegski is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 03:59 PM
Newbie
 
mikegski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy_P View Post

Read this might be useful. http://www.hdfury.com/hdmi-hdcp/hdcphdmi-definition/

My TV is an LG 60pv250 which i jsut bought 2 months ago new! THe more i read about this I am thinking it is the HDCP thing WTF is LG doing making a new TV that is not compliant????
mikegski is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Rudy_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikegski View Post

My TV is an LG 60pv250 which i jsut bought 2 months ago new! THe more i read about this I am thinking it is the HDCP thing WTF is LG doing making a new TV that is not compliant????

I am sure it is compliant. Try to use component cable, and if it works then panic.
Rudy_P is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 08:42 AM
Member
 
znutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Need a bit of help. Trying to use a wired Ethernet connection to connect WD Live Hub to home network. Setup network connection automatically and connection test checks out. I am able to see the WD Live hub from my home pc under network devices. Problem is, I can't login to my home network from the WD Live Hub. I keep getting the error "incorrect username and password." Nothing on my network is password protected other than the wireless key. I am using a Linksys E3000 as a router. Any help would be appreciated!
znutz is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 09:09 AM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
^^^^
Check your Workgroup/Domain setting on the server and WDTV just to make sure they are the same.
LVS is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 09:47 AM
Member
 
znutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^^^

Thanks for the quick response. Found the solution!!! Linksys E3000 router has NAS capability. Was acting as a "master broswer" by taking over the Workgroup name. Changed Linksys default workgroup name to "failgroup" and this allowed windows to control the workgroup "workgroup." More detail here if others are experiencing the same issue with this particular router.
http://homecommunity.cisco.com/t5/Wi.../false#M197008
znutz is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Folks, in case you have New Firmware Detection turned off, WD released a new firmware today.
WDFan1970 is online now  
Old 02-29-2012, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kingpcgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
What's in this update? Release 3.03.13 (2/29/2012)

Supports Skitter TV internet television service.
Supports MLB.TV.
Resolved Get Content Info conflict caused by folders with similar names.
Resolved mp4 video freezing, audio sync and "Unsupported Message" issues.
Resolved unable to play MOV videos.
Resolved MKV video with FLAC audio does not play audio issue.
Resolved Vorbis audio in MKV container audio spikes during playback issue.
Resolved issue AAC and MP3 2CH audio outputs 7CH via HDMI pass-through to AV receiver.
Resolved VUDU HDX quality does not pass-through 7.1 audio to the receiver.
Resolved MP3 audio playback issue in FLV video container.
Resolved Picasa downscaling photo resolution issue.
Resolved issue with 2CH+ PCM outputted as 2CH PCM only.
Resolved remote shortcut keys conflict with the onscreen keyboard during search.
Resolved movie thumbnail extremely grainy and pixilated.
Resolved rescan media library after every reboot.
Resolved rescan Get Content Info does not refresh thumbnail issue.
Resolved movie backdrops do not display without network connection or after network disruption.
Resolved several Spotify user interface and translation issues.
Resolved Spotify popping and glitching sounds when skipping tracks issue.
Resolved Spotify tracks do not play when sharing playlist.
Resolved Yota Music intermittently hangs issue.
Resolved YouTube Leanback rebooting issue.
Resolved PlayJam unable to un-mute issue.
Resolved ComedyTime Pause and Play will not work after FFW or RWD several times.
Resolved several language translation issues.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
General info:
Blockbuster video download service will no longer be supported on the WD TV as of 3/31/2012. You will still be able to watch your purchased videos.
Mediafly will no longer be supported as of 3/31/2012.


How about HBOGO Western Digital?

TiVo Elite, TiVo 4, Seven TiVo Minis, TiVo Stream, Roku 3, Two Amazon Fire Sticks, Google Chromecast, Cox Cable, Sonos
kingpcgeek is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am now like three or four firmwares back. I was on the latest version but had way too many issues staying connected to my network. The version I am on now is stable and plays all my files just fine.

I do not see anything on the list of updates that makes me want to update. However I may give it a go on one of my hubs just to see. I can always roll back.
stepmback is offline  
Old 03-01-2012, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
EricRobins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Holly Springs, North Carolina
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am happy to see that we should be able to get MLB.TV on our LiveHubs.

Before I switch from the EI subscription via Directv to MLB.TV, I really want to know what the DVR functionality is like. For example, I am not sure I can live w/o the 30-second skip that I am used to on my D* DVR's.

Can anyone tell me what to expect?
EricRobins is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Rudy_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Folks, in case you have New Firmware Detection turned off, WD released a new firmware today.


One big problem for me with new firmware 3.03.13. Videos from my camcorder Panasonic HDC-TM900 in the original format (1080p , 60 frames per second , 25k bitrate, .m2ts) are not playing right. Video is very jerky and every few seconds it breaks up. My second unit still on 3.01.19 firmware plays ok.
Rudy_P is offline  
Old 03-04-2012, 04:56 AM
Member
 
billpan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated to the latest fw and i still cant understand why the hub cant output AAC 5.1 audio as PCM 5.1,just like the PS3...Also does anyone know if WD will add cinavia?
billpan is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 05:05 PM
Member
 
kevinf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: nova scotia
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to rip my concert blu rays and play them back with DTS-MA on my hub is this possible ?
kevinf is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
csrini1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinf View Post

I would like to rip my concert blu rays and play them back with DTS-MA on my hub is this possible ?

you will get only dts core.
csrini1 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 05:13 PM
Member
 
kevinf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: nova scotia
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by csrini1 View Post

you will get only dts core.

Thanks for the quick response I guess I will have to wait for an update .
kevinf is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kingpcgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinf View Post

Thanks for the quick response I guess I will have to wait for an update .

There will be no update for DTS-MA

TiVo Elite, TiVo 4, Seven TiVo Minis, TiVo Stream, Roku 3, Two Amazon Fire Sticks, Google Chromecast, Cox Cable, Sonos
kingpcgeek is offline  
Old 03-08-2012, 05:49 AM
Member
 
Loubut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinf View Post

Thanks for the quick response I guess I will have to wait for an update .

I think its greed, rather than ability (ie, somebody who owns a 'right' wants to be paid big amounts of money to allow WD to do this)
Loubut is offline  
Old 03-09-2012, 08:20 AM
Member
 
tim1_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The latest firmware seems to have fixed the movie thumbnail issue with pictures not showing up properly for your movie library. This may have been addressed in a previous firmware release, but I updated a few months ago and had to roll-back in order to get my thumbnails to work properly. Anyway, I don't have any issues with the latest firmware.
tim1_2 is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:06 AM
Member
 
famous600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just hooked up an external drive for the first time. Any idea how I can get content info for the movies on the external? Seems like its only an option on the internal drive.
famous600 is offline  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
It's the exact same process with USB disks as the internal drive...
WDFan1970 is online now  
Old 03-10-2012, 03:14 PM
Member
 
cabinguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just in the process of setting up the Live/Hub and I'm sorry if this has been asked before but I searched with no result.

My problem is I can't seem to find a way to show music listed by artist without it lumping all of the "The" bands together. IE The Band, The Clash, The Rolling Stones are all listed under the letter T.

I know I can just rename the folders and have the "The Rolling Stones" listed under "Rolling Stones" but somehow "The Church" listed under "Church" just does not seem right.
cabinguy is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 06:30 AM
Member
 
tim1_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A two-part question regarding the built-in Twonky server for the Live Hub:

1) Do people have much success with this? I want to enable the Twonky server on the Hub, and then watch my media on a different TV, through a Sony Blu-Ray Player. I haven't set this up yet, but I understand that the Sony BR player is compatible with Twonky.

2) Has anyone enabled the Twonky server on their hub, and then used an App on an iPhone or iPad to access their media? I'm guessing this likely isn't possible? According to App Store reviews, the official Twonky app stinks, but it looks like PlugPlayer may do the trick? http://www.plugplayer.com/

That's it for now, thanks.
tim1_2 is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim1_2 View Post

A two-part question regarding the built-in Twonky server for the Live Hub:
(snip)...

Keep in mind the Twonky Server does not transcode. So the media Twonky is serving must be compatible with the app or device that's receiving it.

So if your Sony BD player can play the files you have via DLNA, then you'll be fine.

I've used Buzz Player for the iPad on occasion... It does work, but again, the original files must be 100% iPad compliant (meaning MP4 / h.264 video and AAC or MP3 audio in either a MOV or MP4/M4V container.)
WDFan1970 is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off