*Official* WD TV Live Hub Thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 12:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

The unofficial source is correct. I just finished photographing the internals of the unit for my 'official' review. Now, got to get back to my review in time for the NDA lifting

so no high def audio here. HDMI 1.3 is making it ready for 3D i guess.
zoro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 01:22 AM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post

Things are moving away from physical drives altogether.

philip

No more physical drives? Replaced by spiritual drives?
mzaur is offline  
post #213 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 01:27 AM
Member
 
mzaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roodkopje View Post

Here is what i read from an unofficial source:
box has same ram, same chipset, and same amount of nand as live/plus. the only differences are:
- 1TB 2.5" WD scorpio blue sata drive
- rtl gigE chip
- HDMI 1.4

So no surprise with the bad ethernet transfer speeds thanks to the old sigma processor.

nand?

Old chip :/ I don't know anything about these chips but I don't like old! I want new! Damn it WD! At least it's not a Realtek, right? I read that Sigmas are the better variety. How's this particular chipset?

Looking at specs for the Sigma 8654, there's no support for HDMI 1.4 so it really can't be the same chipset. How's that possible?
mzaur is offline  
post #214 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 03:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzaur View Post

No more physical drives? Replaced by spiritual drives?

Yes, spiritual drives that are silent and ageless.

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #215 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 03:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgvroadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzaur View Post

nand?

Old chip :/ I don't know anything about these chips but I don't like old! I want new! Damn it WD! At least it's not a Realtek, right? I read that Sigmas are the better variety. How's this particular chipset?

Looking at specs for the Sigma 8654, there's no support for HDMI 1.4 so it really can't be the same chipset. How's that possible?

Also the current available Sigma 8654/8655/8642/8643 all do not support Gigabit ethernet...unless they're the new 8656/8646s?

Cheers!

Cameron
sgvroadster is offline  
post #216 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 04:02 AM
Member
 
roodkopje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
That is why it might have the Realtek gigE chip. But i guess transfer speeds get limited by the Sigma8655 if i am correct
roodkopje is offline  
post #217 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
art13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NDA lifting !!!!!
art13 is offline  
post #218 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Review done:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3990/w...ive-hub-review

Wasted time on the purported NAS capabilities.. Got to get some power consumption and noise figures in.. That will be down the road in the comments section probably

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #219 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 05:40 AM
Member
 
bigdave914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Official Presser:

http://wdc.com/en/company/releases/P...e-08ed7dc68099

And its $199 USD:
http://store.westerndigital.com/stor...catid.13742300

I see newegg and amazon, when they get them, might be cheaper.

-Dave
bigdave914 is offline  
post #220 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 05:41 AM
Newbie
 
kluris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
great review. thanks!!!
kluris is offline  
post #221 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
For those that care:

The Metadata comes from themoviedb.org
WDFan1970 is online now  
post #222 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 06:59 AM
Member
 
keenan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Barrington, IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

Review done:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3990/w...ive-hub-review

Wasted time on the purported NAS capabilities.. Got to get some power consumption and noise figures in.. That will be down the road in the comments section probably

Very nice review! Glad I moved forward with the Dune H1, it's only $39 more and has full HD audio bitstreaming. That was the biggest nightmare I had with the WD TV Live Plus.
keenan9 is offline  
post #223 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Techaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdave914 View Post

Official Presser:

http://wdc.com/en/company/releases/P...e-08ed7dc68099

And its $199 USD:
http://store.westerndigital.com/stor...catid.13742300

I see newegg and amazon, when they get them, might be cheaper.

-Dave

Wd site says in stock ready to ship today!!!!!
Techaholic is offline  
post #224 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Ferdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

For those that care:

The Metadata comes from themoviedb.org

Will the metadata/movie posters/cover art remain permanently tagged on the file (say a mkv file)? So everytime I turn the WD TV Live Hub On I will see all the cover art from all my mkv files together.
Ferdie is offline  
post #225 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdavet View Post

Hey wow, look at me...

so a bit more time playing with the thing.
I upgraded the firmware, but my home city no longer comes up in the AccuWeather thing. Also, it no longer displays the temperature with the time in the top right corner. Pity, I liked that.

I noticed no other major changes. Firmware is now 2.02.15.

To answer some questions:
There is no wireless included with this unit.
There is no web browser, just the 'services' listed before.
Netflix: I'm in Canuck-land, Netflix is new here, and apparently CDN-Netflix hasn't been enabled on WD devices.
I haven't found a way to create folders from within the WDTV.

For a bunch of the other stuff, I only have limited MKV files, and nothing with HD-Audio.

When playing files, there is an option button on the remote. For most files, it's just Play mode / Audio / Zoom & Pan / Delete.
There are more options for MKV:


With cover art in the folder, things look pretty good:


-Dave

So it's possible to create a disk as an Iso and It will play menus and everything?
Scarpad is offline  
post #226 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Nice review Ganesh. Having owned the original WD TV and the Live, I don't see much else beside the nicer UI and internal hard drive added to the Live Hub. If they had a hard drive-less box at about $100 (all my media is on a WHS), I'd probably buy it for my family room as it looks user-friendly enough for the wife and kids to operate. But, for the same $200, the Boxee Box and Netgear NeoTV 550 look to be far better products.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #227 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 09:10 AM
Member
 
Nogib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roodkopje View Post

box has same ram, same chipset, and same amount of nand as live/plus. the only differences are:
- 1TB 2.5" WD scorpio blue sata drive
- rtl gigE chip
- HDMI 1.4

With that being the case, could we see WD porting this new interface to the Live Plus? I for one would love it.
Nogib is offline  
post #228 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
... doubtful they'd port it.

There's too many dependencies on the local storage (the entire UI, for one thing, is on the hard drive.)

The media library is also stored on local storage.

To get these things to work with EXTERNAL storage would likely require a significant re-write....
WDFan1970 is online now  
post #229 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferdie View Post

Will the metadata/movie posters/cover art remain permanently tagged on the file (say a mkv file)? So everytime I turn the WD TV Live Hub On I will see all the cover art from all my mkv files together.

I don't think they are tagged on the file, but they are stored separately. So, everyime you turn on, the cover art would remain. You can rescan / delete the tagged info any time you want.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #230 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
crenninger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the WDTV hub can act as a Webserver to host a home website?
Just Plain HTML content, no need for CGI etc...
crenninger is offline  
post #231 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan9 View Post

Very nice review! Glad I moved forward with the Dune H1, it's only $39 more and has full HD audio bitstreaming. That was the biggest nightmare I had with the WD TV Live Plus.

Wouldn't the upcoming NTV 550 be a better bet? The Dune H1 also doesn't have 1 TB storage, but that probably doesn't influence your decision

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #232 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarpad View Post

So it's possible to create a disk as an Iso and It will play menus and everything?

Yes, DVD ISOs play with menus and 'everything'

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #233 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Nice review Ganesh. Having owned the original WD TV and the Live, I don't see much else beside the nicer UI and internal hard drive added to the Live Hub. If they had a hard drive-less box at about $100 (all my media is on a WHS), I'd probably buy it for my family room as it looks user-friendly enough for the wife and kids to operate. But, for the same $200, the Boxee Box and Netgear NeoTV 550 look to be far better products.

As I indicated in my review, this is probably not the choice for the tech savvy AVS Forum member. More as a gift you would give to your parents who have no need for bitstreaming etc., but just need a player with all their memories (photos / videos etc.) loaded internally, and with a little room to grow.

Personally, I feel that the upcoming holiday season for the geek crowd will basically be a tussle between the NTV 550 and the Boxee Box. However, we actually form a minor part of the consumer base (compared to our 'marketshare', say, 5 years back), so no wonder that lot of devices are getting introduced now which don't cater to our whims and fancies

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #234 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:34 AM
Member
 
jjchambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Nice review Ganesh. Having owned the original WD TV and the Live, I don't see much else beside the nicer UI and internal hard drive added to the Live Hub. If they had a hard drive-less box at about $100 (all my media is on a WHS), I'd probably buy it for my family room as it looks user-friendly enough for the wife and kids to operate. But, for the same $200, the Boxee Box and Netgear NeoTV 550 look to be far better products.

Brajesh, in you opinion what is better about the 550 or Boxee than the Live Hub. Thinking about getting the Live Hub (since it looks like it plays .iso files) but trying to explore all my options.

Thanks,

J
jjchambers is offline  
post #235 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

... doubtful they'd port it.

There's too many dependencies on the local storage (the entire UI, for one thing, is on the hard drive.)

The media library is also stored on local storage.

To get these things to work with EXTERNAL storage would likely require a significant re-write....

I am quite sure that the UI code is on the NAND flash. I 'formatted' the internal hard disk many times with no loss of functionality. Also, the media library is stored along with the media file (so it won't work if the USB device with the movie in it is write protected). If WD wants, I feel that they should be able to transfer across the UI with minimal fuss (but that is not what they have had a history of doing)

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #236 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by crenninger View Post

Does the WDTV hub can act as a Webserver to host a home website?
Just Plain HTML content, no need for CGI etc...

It has a web server, and it can do what you want it to. However, it would involve messing around with the NAND flash. B-rad is your best bet here. I think that you are one amongst the very few who would want to do this, though

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #237 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The MOCHI UI is in flash (which there is a LOT of flash on this box compared to the Live)

The Downloadable ones are on the HD, and can be modified to your heart's content.

I've done it already; it's pretty sweet.
WDFan1970 is online now  
post #238 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
>>>> Also, the media library is stored along with the media file

How are you determining that? All of my Movies are on Read-Only NAS, and the media library works fine.

For me, it's all stored on the local HD in the .wd_tv folder in a metadata.xml file.
WDFan1970 is online now  
post #239 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

>>>> Also, the media library is stored along with the media file

How are you determining that? All of my Movies are on Read-Only NAS, and the media library works fine.

For me, it's all stored on the local HD in the .wd_tv folder in a metadata.xml file.

I inferred it from the fact that the user guide claims that a 'read-only USB drive' will not work for metadata. It is possible that contents on a NAS are 'media libraried' on the internal HD, but it is definitely not the case for a connected USB drive.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #240 of 2247 Old 10-26-2010, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Ah. Ok, fair enough. I've yet to need to use the USB for anything.
WDFan1970 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off