Boxee Box Owner's Thread - Reviews, tips, tricks, bugs and feature requests - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stew4msu View Post

I'm amazed at how many people still use the remotes that come with equipment.

Let me go grab that universal I bought with the keyboard ...

Raistlin_HT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Now that folks are getting their Boxee Box can we kill the anticipation thread, never seen so much whining and conspiracy theories lol

Until the press event tonight, with it's announcement of streaming partners/apps, the whining will not stop.
Raistlin_HT is offline  
post #33 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 02:11 PM
Member
 
flynn337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Haynes View Post

I agree but the thing with Boxee is the RF remote so trying to learn IR commands on your universal remote is going to be a challenge

What's the challenge? Boxee (via IR) just takes the same kind of discrete codes used by the PC software, doesn't it? left, right, up, down, enter, backspace, page up, page down, etc. Very similar to media center.
flynn337 is offline  
post #34 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 02:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 715
I'll have to dig up one of my old USB IR receivers to see if it will work with the Boxee Box.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #35 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Christmas?!!?

that's a long time to be without the WHS.

Raistlin_HT is offline  
post #36 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 02:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sequoia, CA
Posts: 30,249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 534
@Aaron, I'll be up and running on it before Christmas. Maybe this weekend.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working.
rogo is offline  
post #37 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
uncola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My boxee box just got delivered. I'm in Hawaii, too so.

Gear list: Main setup - Kef Q900, Svs sb12-nsd subwoofer, onkyo 609 receiver, epson 8350 projector, elitescreens sable 92" screen, mac mini htpc
bedroom setup: PSB Image B5, maverick tubemagic a1 amplifier, hifimediy sabre9023 dac, ZMF Fostex T50RP modded headphones
preordered gear: Light Harmonic Geek Pulse X dac and headphone amp
uncola is offline  
post #38 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 06:43 PM
Member
 
mark_in_2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I just set up my Box, and overall I'm not that impressed.

Firstly, my fan is definitely audible, with a slow whirring sound as if it's a bad fan (which it maybe). I'm sure I wouldn't be able to hear it during movie watching but just browsing through menus, etc, it's there.

2nd, the menu's just aren't that snappy. I was expecting something like the PC Boxee app in smoothness, but it just isn't there on the Box.

3rd, streaming MKV's over a wired connection required a few seconds of buffering, something that my dedicated HTPC with XBMC Live doesn't have to do half as long.

I'm going to give the Boxee team some time to get it updated, and hopefully 1.0 out tonight will solve some speed issues.
mark_in_2k is offline  
post #39 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 06:49 PM
Newbie
 
taigebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hum... I think my box is already not working anymore...
Was watching some content over Youtube in HD and then freeze... No more nothing...
Tried to restart (even in 'restauration' mode) and now I have no more video (or sound)...
taigebu is offline  
post #40 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Tripps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far here is my take, and I am reserving any/all judgement and review until 1.0 comes out. This is merely a quick take.

1. Menu's can be a bit choppy at times, but not horrible, definitely noticeable.

2. This thing has a fan? If I put my ear right to it, I can barely hear it. When playback of 1080p content (Avatar BD ISO) I have absolutely no audible noise, this is with audio muted, from 5 feet away. Fan = Non-issue.

3. Playback: Played everything I have thrown at it without a single hitch. Yes, there is a slight buffer time on video playback, but its rather quick. 40GB m2ts files buffer within a second.

4. Heat. After watching a 3 hour 1080p BD, I felt the box and while it was warm, it was not close to hot. I can handle that.

5. Standby power-on time is pretty much instant, and I don't notice my power fluctuating leaving it in standby..

6. Interface currently is identical to the latest released PC build. I'm sure things will change immensely with the 1.0 release. Amazon beat these out the door a day earlier than Boxee had anticipated, thus the reason 1.0 was not available yet.

All-in-all, it's a solid streamer right now, and I figure it will be even better with the 1.0 update. Netflix, Hulu down the road soon and a full HTML5 webkit browser. Good stuff.
Tripps is offline  
post #41 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:28 PM
Member
 
anthonykappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As per my post in the anticipation thread, I'd love to know how it handles files with 5.1 aac audio; specifically, can it output that as 5.1 pcm?

If anyone could test this I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
anthonykappa is offline  
post #42 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonykappa View Post
As per my post in the anticipation thread, I'd love to know how it handles files with 5.1 aac audio; specifically, can it output that as 5.1 pcm?

If anyone could test this I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
You will definitely find that in our review, but that will be within the next 5 - 7 days. (Just in case no one else responds to your question.)

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jakmal is offline  
post #43 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:39 PM
Newbie
 
vuud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For me, 1080p bd rips made with makemkv are unwatchable, always buffering and skipping. The boxee box is wired to my network. Those same rips plays perfectly with Boxee on my macbook pro over wifi.

As for fan noise, It's barely audible, you really have to focus on it to hear it when it's quiet. Quieter than my 360 slim for sure.

As of now, I had 2 crash with the box that needed a reboot.
vuud is offline  
post #44 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:45 PM
Member
 
anthonykappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post
You will definitely find that in our review, but that will be within the next 5 - 7 days. (Just in case no one else responds to your question.)
Awesome thanks jakmal. Looking forward to the review.
anthonykappa is offline  
post #45 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
uncola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So I have a kill-a-watt power measuring device and I measured how much power the boxee box was using.. it uses 15 watts when booting up, 15 watts when idling in a menu, 15 watts when playing a 720p mkv file and 15 watts when on standby mode :P
So far I'm satisfied with the boxee box.. except some 1080p mkv files make it reboot the UI. It's sort of like how explorer.exe crashes sometimes in windows.. it restarts itself right away.. but it seems to happen every time on the same files at the same positions. I'm optimistic this will be fixed by 1.0 when it updates tomorrow.. If not, I'll be pretty upset, but I'll still keep teh boxee box. All I really wanted out of it was to be like a popcorn hour but have a good ui. The ui is pretty fast, not as fast as my core 2 duo HTPC but there's no annoying delays or anything. Also the fan is quiet, which was a relief to me.
update: the remote keyboard is REALLY nice.. you won't accidentally press any keys and so far I've typed in user/passes for three different network shares and it worked great


DSC01596 by the.uncola, on Flickr

Gear list: Main setup - Kef Q900, Svs sb12-nsd subwoofer, onkyo 609 receiver, epson 8350 projector, elitescreens sable 92" screen, mac mini htpc
bedroom setup: PSB Image B5, maverick tubemagic a1 amplifier, hifimediy sabre9023 dac, ZMF Fostex T50RP modded headphones
preordered gear: Light Harmonic Geek Pulse X dac and headphone amp
uncola is offline  
post #46 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I will reserve judgement on speed until it finished scraping. part of the issue some might be seeing like me is that its busy scraping in the background and the CPU and I/O are already being utilized. BD rips were playing back fine (which are highly HW assisted) regular ole DVD playback is very slow which I hope will disapear when scraping is done.

Good News:
Setup was easy
overscan setup is easy and done well for both simple and advanced
HTPC keyboard and mouse plugged in and worked fine
talking to my readyNAS no issues
Got DTS-MA to Bitstream
haven't crashed or hung it yet

Bad News:
no netflix
no youtube?
no hulu?
TrueHD BD rip plays back with AC-3 not TrueHD
the keyboard is very very difficult to use in low light
fancast.com videos did not load at all

have not tried my USB IR dongle and my harmony yet

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #47 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
so how do you launch the browser?

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #48 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
mine has 0.9.2.1.something or other on it. not 1.0

hopefully it will get 1.0 tommorow.

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #49 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 07:59 PM
Member
 
darcilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_w_smith View Post
so how do you launch the browser?

Sean
I'm not sure it's available in the pre-1.0 version.
darcilicious is offline  
post #50 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncola View Post
So I have a kill-a-watt power measuring device and I measured how much power the boxee box was using.. it uses 15 watts when booting up, 15 watts when idling in a menu, 15 watts when playing a 720p mkv file and 15 watts when on standby mode :P
So far I'm satisfied with the boxee box.. except some 1080p mkv files make it reboot the UI. It's sort of like how explorer.exe crashes sometimes in windows.. it restarts itself right away.. but it seems to happen every time on the same files at the same positions. I'm optimistic this will be fixed by 1.0 when it updates tomorrow.. If not, I'll be pretty upset, but I'll still keep teh boxee box. All I really wanted out of it was to be like a popcorn hour but have a good ui. The ui is pretty fast, not as fast as my core 2 duo HTPC but there's no annoying delays or anything. Also the fan is quiet, which was a relief to me.
update: the remote keyboard is REALLY nice.. you won't accidentally press any keys and so far I've typed in user/passes for three different network shares and it worked great


DSC01596 by the.uncola, on Flickr
yeah I was looking for my kill-a-watt earlier but couldn't find it. need to find it in the day light.

and I agree on the fan. it does have a fan buts is pretty damn quiet. lately I'm more annoyded but the HD noise on my 1TB drives in my DVR more than anything. nowhere near as loud as an xbox or ps3. I'm sure it will ire some folks but I think most should find it tolerable.

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #51 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 08:05 PM
Member
 
crashdumy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone comment on the range of the remote?

My current setup has a bare wall with the TV mounted, which means the equipment is downstairs below. IR transmitter works for everything else, but obviously won't for boxee. I have my doubts that the small battery in this remote will power the signal through a floor.
crashdumy is offline  
post #52 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
shftup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just picked one up from futureshop.
Waiting for is scan my media folders
I will post more as I test a few high bit rate files in mkv, iso, m2ts, etc.....
shftup is offline  
post #53 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My buddy bought one local and I went over his house. Any small type video file played ok. Any high bit rate type file skipped and chopped too much. Even crashed the unit a couple of times. Since I would never pay for a pay service like Netflix or Hulu this isn't a box for me, but I still don't think anything special about it. Good luck with yours.
Opentoe is offline  
post #54 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 08:49 PM
Member
 
tennisbgc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do the new 3tb harddrives work on the bb?
tennisbgc is offline  
post #55 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 09:10 PM
Member
 
oneway23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: RVC, NY
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

My buddy bought one local and I went over his house. Any small type video file played ok. Any high bit rate type file skipped and chopped too much. Even crashed the unit a couple of times. Since I would never pay for a pay service like Netflix or Hulu this isn't a box for me, but I still don't think anything special about it. Good luck with yours.

Why not wait for the official firmware before casting it aside?
oneway23 is offline  
post #56 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 09:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Boy-what a bunch of crybabies-if it isn't perfect it's no good-this isn't a Popbox ya know.
zrdb is offline  
post #57 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashdumy View Post

Can anyone comment on the range of the remote?

. . . I have my doubts that the small battery in this remote will power the signal through a floor.

The coin-cell battery will not be a problem.

An IR transmitter needs a boat-load more energy than an RF transmitter. When transmitting, it is about 30 milliamp for IR as opposed to about less than a milliamp for RF. The transmit time is also much shorter for RF, tens of microseconds for RF as opposed to many milliseconds for IR.

One of the advantages of RF is how frugal it can be with battery-power.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #58 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
shftup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well my scraping is finished now. I tested a few files and watched cpu, never got more that 60% with nothing queing, no scraping, no other activities in the background.

Will post tomorrow after I Do some more testing.
shftup is offline  
post #59 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Everyone should temper their expectations until version 1.0 goes live tomorrow. The date on the last beta on the BBox is from September so it is quite old. I would imagine they've put some bug fixes in along with all the additional goodies for 1.0.

Then, after we find out what's missing and broken in that we can start pestering them for an update schedule!

jmpage2 is offline  
post #60 of 9720 Old 11-10-2010, 10:01 PM
Member
 
darcilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

Then, after we find out what's missing and broken in that we can start pestering them for an update schedule!


Tee hee! Good luck with *that*
darcilicious is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
The Boxee Box By D Link Hd Streaming Media Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off