Boxee Box Owner's Thread - Reviews, tips, tricks, bugs and feature requests - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 12:11 AM
Senior Member
 
elisemory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone,

Make sure you update to version 1.0 when it's out. The current 0.9 version is not good for anything beside updating to the final 1.0 Most of the problems I see here are already solved.

Eli.
elisemory is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 12:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,401
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 624
Is there a manual somewhere that I'm missing?

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
post #63 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 01:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

The coin-cell battery will not be a problem.

An IR transmitter needs a boat-load more energy than an RF transmitter. When transmitting, it is about 30 milliamp for IR as opposed to about less than a milliamp for RF. The transmit time is also much shorter for RF, tens of microseconds for RF as opposed to many milliseconds for IR.

One of the advantages of RF is how frugal it can be with battery-power.

Thank you for this information. This makes the battery choice seem even more reasonable.

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #64 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 03:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Bozzeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@elisemory
Do you know if its possible to get any virus when surfing the web with boxee box?
What kind of protection does the system has for these kind of attacks preventing something to spread inside the network?
Bozzeta is offline  
post #65 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 03:46 AM
Senior Member
 
elisemory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozzeta View Post

@elisemory
Do you know if its possible to get any virus when surfing the web with boxee box?
What kind of protection does the system has for these kind of attacks preventing something to spread inside the network?

Hi Bozzeta,

That's an interesting question. I hope the box will be so successful that virus programmers will make an effort...
elisemory is offline  
post #66 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 05:21 AM
Member
 
btomasie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

Boxee seems pretty cocky with this:

Quote:


We eat codecs

The world of digital video is a gory mess. There are numerous codecs, video formats, audio formats, subtitle standards and people to mix them all together. The result is that your hard drive is likely filled with some weird Frankenstein files that make other devices choke.

Not all media players are made the same. We put some crazy hours going through a checklist of videos we thought the Boxee Box should be able to play. In Boxee playback you can trust. We think we have the best and most exhaustive player.

MKV, SSA, PGS, AC3, VC1, TS, H264, FLV, ASS, AVI, OGG, ISO, M2TS, VOB, SRT, AAC, FLAC, may be (should be) meaningless acronyms for some of the people reading this post, but they matter a lot when you click on a file and want play it rather than get an error message.


What I want to know though... is how is specifically handles BD ISO files? Did they somehow pull off a nice surprise and give us full menu support to compete with the Netgear NeoTV 550?? If not full menu support, is it an intelligent "lite" menu system that understands the true order of all the chapters?

jakmal, I have a request for your review please! When you test a BD ISO in your review... can you use Gladiator Sapphire Edition (or, Funny People... this is the other movie off the top of my head) to see if it is indeed intelligent enough to start the movie at the beginning or not? Right now, on boxes like the Seagate or any of the WD boxes, playing either of these results in playing ones of the add-on/extended scenes first, not chapter 1. So I really need to be sold on this box by the way they handle these type of BD ISO's.

I would seriously be willing to ship you the Gladiator disc if you guys there don't have have a copy (but c'mon, it's Gladiator, ALL guys have this movie in their collection, right?)

Thanks!
Brian
btomasie is offline  
post #67 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 05:26 AM
Member
 
samukas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Acording to the other thread, it will suport BD-ISO, but no menus. Once you "play the ISO", you will be presented with a simple list of titles and you choose which one you want to play.

Title #1 - 1h40m30s
Title #2 - 5min30s
and so on...
samukas is offline  
post #68 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by btomasie View Post

jakmal, I have a request for your review please! When you test a BD ISO in your review... can you use Gladiator Sapphire Edition (or, Funny People... this is the other movie off the top of my head) to see if it is indeed intelligent enough to start the movie at the beginning or not? Right now, on boxes like the Seagate or any of the WD boxes, playing either of these results in playing ones of the add-on/extended scenes first, not chapter 1. So I really need to be sold on this box by the way they handle these type of BD ISO's.

I don't have either of the movies you mention, but, if this is a case of branched M2TS which have to be seamlessly played together, I have 'A Bugs Life' Blu-Ray which is a test case for that.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #69 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
trondmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the Boxee Box play silverlight videos with DRM?
trondmm is offline  
post #70 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
csrini1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by elisemory View Post

Hi Everyone,

Make sure you update to version 1.0 when it's out. The current 0.9 version is not good for anything beside updating to the final 1.0 Most of the problems I see here are already solved.

Eli.

Finally you came back!! It felt good hearing your name from your boss at the Event!! Good Job!!. NO, i was not there in NY, but was watching the live feed
csrini1 is offline  
post #71 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 06:12 AM
Member
 
Slates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So... I am impatient... anyone seen the 1.0 update come through yet?!?!
Slates is offline  
post #72 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
uncola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
No, 1.0 hasn't been pushed yet, just checked 30 minutes ago

Gear list: Main setup - Kef Q900, Svs sb12-nsd subwoofer, onkyo 609 receiver, epson 8350 projector, elitescreens sable 92" screen, mac mini htpc
bedroom setup: PSB Image B5, maverick tubemagic a1 amplifier, hifimediy sabre9023 dac, ZMF Fostex T50RP modded headphones
preordered gear: Light Harmonic Geek Pulse X dac and headphone amp
uncola is offline  
post #73 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
arswhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_in_2k View Post

Firstly, my fan is definitely audible, with a slow whirring sound as if it's a bad fan (which it maybe). I'm sure I wouldn't be able to hear it during movie watching but just browsing through menus, etc, it's there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripps View Post

2. This thing has a fan? If I put my ear right to it, I can barely hear it. When playback of 1080p content (Avatar BD ISO) I have absolutely no audible noise, this is with audio muted, from 5 feet away. Fan = Non-issue.


Hm... so you either have different ears or different fans?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

You will definitely find that in our review, but that will be within the next 5 - 7 days. (Just in case no one else responds to your question.)

Won't be available here for another week - so take your time

If a carpenter makes a door he should get money every time someone uses it - he's also an "artist".
arswhat is offline  
post #74 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 06:44 AM
Member
 
mark_in_2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping that 1.0 improves the smoothness of the UI. As others have stated, it is from Sept, so there should be a good deal of improvements.

Also, going by what others have said, it seems I have a defective fan as it's quite loud. I'll put it through it's paces a little more after work.

Finally, I'm guessing there hasn't been any reviews from the tech sites (Engadget et al) due to 1.0 not being ready on launch day.
mark_in_2k is offline  
post #75 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
rob_silva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I may have the same issue with my fan. I do find it a little loud at times. Perhaps it is defective...not sure. I can definitely here it when I am just browsing through the menus sitting about 8 feet away from the unit. However, it does disappear into the background when I am actually watching something.

I will have to do more testing tonight but I feel like returning it for another unit.
rob_silva is offline  
post #76 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 811
So 1.0 isn't out yet?

Did they say when it would go live?

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #77 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
iFixit has posted a teardown guide to the Boxee Box in the event someone has a need to disasemmble it for servicing, etc.

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Boxee...eardown/4109/1
jmpage2 is offline  
post #78 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

iFixit has posted a teardown guide to the Boxee Box in the event someone has a need to disasemmble it for servicing, etc.

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Boxee...eardown/4109/1

I didn't see whether they said it had the CE4100, the CE4130, or the CE4150.

Did I miss it?

Edit: nevermind. I see they show a CE4110

I've never even seen the CE4110 mentioned before. Only the 4100, 4130 and 4150.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #79 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,825
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I didn't see whether they said it had the CE4100, the CE4130, or the CE4150.

Did I miss it?

Edit: nevermind. I see they show a CE4110

Intel CE4110

http://www.engadget.com/2010/11/11/b...ok-at-that-he/
Ph8te is online now  
post #80 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:22 AM
Member
 
mark_in_2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

iFixit has posted a teardown guide to the Boxee Box in the event someone has a need to disasemmble it for servicing, etc.

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Boxee...eardown/4109/1

Maybe I can replace my (possibly defective) noisy fan now!

Whoa, big heatsink in there too!

mark_in_2k is offline  
post #81 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9,825
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

So 1.0 isn't out yet?

Did they say when it would go live?

No they jsut said sometime today it should go live.....

For those having problems just relax until 1.0 is out...as Eli has said most of the issues people are having will be fixed with 1.0.
Ph8te is online now  
post #82 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

Intel CE4110

http://www.engadget.com/2010/11/11/b...ok-at-that-he/

I'm guessing it's the CE4100 series and whenver they mentioned the CE4100 it was really a CE4110.

So if the info posted online is correct, the CE4110 should have a graphics core frequency of 200Mhz while the CE4150 has a graphics core frequency of 400Mhz.(Assuming when everything posted was talking about the CE4100 it was really the CE4110)

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #83 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

No they jsut said sometime today it should go live.....

For those having problems just relax until 1.0 is out...as Eli has said most of the issues people are having will be fixed with 1.0.

C'mon, you have been following the anticipation thread, some of these people have no idea how to relax...

I think Fed Ex is supposed to deliver mine today, so hopefully I should have it when I get home from work later today and start messing around with. Hope to have my review up at some point next week.

I just get the feeling I am not going to bother ever reviewing my Popbox lol

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is online now  
post #84 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:38 AM
Member
 
darcilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post

Is there a manual somewhere that I'm missing?

The online User's Guide should be available today or tomorrow. It will be similar to the User's Guide and Quick Start links, etc on the right side of this page:
http://boxee.zendesk.com/forums for the existing Boxee software but updated for v1.0 etc.
darcilicious is offline  
post #85 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Anyone want to buy a PopBox (I don't think I'll need more than two now)

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #86 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Good luck with that one Aaron ! So far, the Boxee appears to be doing most things opposite of Syabas, which is refreshing.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #87 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Anyone want to buy a PopBox (I don't think I'll need more than two now)

Based on the love it gets on this forum, I'll give you $20 for it.
Vcook is offline  
post #88 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:45 AM
Member
 
btomasie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Acording to the other thread, it will suport BD-ISO, but no menus. Once you "play the ISO", you will be presented with a simple list of titles and you choose which one you want to play.

Title #1 - 1h40m30s
Title #2 - 5min30s
and so on...


So, in the case of movies with 15-30+ chapters that are all 10 min or so long...

a.) how do you identify the chapter for the start of the movie?
b.) does it then know which is the next chapter for the proper movie sequence?
c.) am guessing that special edition and/or unrated editions which have a different scene replacing the original, would not be able to be selected at the start of the movie, so that it slips in all those chapters instead?


thanks,
Brian
btomasie is offline  
post #89 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by btomasie View Post

So, in the case of movies with 15-30+ chapters that are all 10 min or so long...

a.) how do you identify the chapter for the start of the movie?
b.) does it then know which is the next chapter for the proper movie sequence?
c.) am guessing that special edition and/or unrated editions which have a different scene replacing the original, would not be able to be selected at the start of the movie, so that it slips in all those chapters instead?


thanks,
Brian

You are asking questions to which answers are not available until firmware 1.0 goes live later today.

It has already been reported by Eli though that there will be no "identifier" other than track length and number of chapters for figuring out what you want to play within a bd-iso file.

If you have a bd-iso with many small playlists as you describe it might make more sense to rip each episode to MKV, if you plan to use the Boxee Box as BD full menu navigation is not a current feature.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #90 of 9720 Old 11-11-2010, 07:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Anyone want to buy a PopBox (I don't think I'll need more than two now)

Ummm...I was planning on selling mine to you

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
The Boxee Box By D Link Hd Streaming Media Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off