Challenge! build a 4 HDTV tuners to distribute to 4 HDTV for $1000 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 12-03-2010, 08:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nohk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Challenge! build a 4 HDTV tuners to distribute to 4 HDTV for $1000

I would like to challenge the experts in this forum to come up with a solution for
- distributing 4 HD live tuners to 4 HDTVs
- DVR that can be shared amongst the 4 TVs
- 4 independent remote control.
- do it all for around $1000

Assuming the following:
- Coax and Network wireing are in location where the TVs are located
- Comcast HD subscription available
- TVs are located in different rooms
- have access to Window Home Server software
- 1st Cable Card is free, 2nd is $1.50/month
nohk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 12-03-2010, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Question: Is cable-card required? If not, then:

$200 Sage HD300 / Server bundle
$450 3x Sage HD300 ($150 each)
$300 2x HDhomerun Dual ($150 each)
-----
$950 Not counting the computer
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 12-03-2010, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nohk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for your contribution.

I definitely know that you can do this setup at higher price point. But I want the whole setup for $1000.00 that including the server, server hardware, client boxes with remotes.

Monthly cost for Comcast Channel feed and Cable Card excluded.
I also have access to Windows OSes.

If anyone know other forum to post this question, please let me know.
nohk is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 12-03-2010, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
rdb4133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wouldn't the best solution be a Ceton InfiniTV in a decent PC and then get 3 or 4 Xbox 360 consoles as the client devices for each TV? There always seem to be sales 360's especially if you are willing to get a refurb or used one.
rdb4133 is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 12-03-2010, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I agree with rdb4133
mlknez is online now  
post #6 of 26 Old 12-03-2010, 09:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nohk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your contribution.

I have look into Ceton InfiniTV tuner card.

Ceton InfiniTV 4-channels: $400
Server PC: $400-$500 = Core i5 750, 4G memory, 2T HD
Each XBox 360 console (used): $100-$150 = $400-$600

$1200 - $1500
nohk is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 12-04-2010, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by nohk View Post

Thanks for your contribution.

I have look into Ceton InfiniTV tuner card.

Ceton InfiniTV 4-channels: $400
Server PC: $400-$500 = Core i5 750, 4G memory, 2T HD
Each XBox 360 console (used): $100-$150 = $400-$600

$1200 - $1500

start saving your schmeckles because thats the only way you are going to do what you want. you have a pretty ambitious dream for that low of a budget.

either get stuff for free or readjust your dream.
Aero 1 is online now  
post #8 of 26 Old 12-04-2010, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nohk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Sure, it might be a dream for me because I have not come up to a solution. But as you are aware, technology is always changing; new and alternative solutions as well as competition do help drive down the overall cost.

Looking at alternative solutions:
Perhaps a solution without a dedicated PC can help reduce the cost. We may see newer competitions for your money in digital tuner and digital media receiver. Since retailers like to sell all in one solution, perhaps we see them partnering to offer package deals to lower the price point.

That is why this is a challenge question and not a dream. I know that there are plenty of smart people in the forum and the opinions you and other share will help us all.

I am posting this topic to see if I have miss something out there. If I should wait for newer products in the channel.

Ideal Setup:
(1) PC Server: $400-$500
(1) Ceton InfiniTV: $400
(4) SageTV HD Theater 300: $600
--------------------------
Total $1400-$1500

Looking at the numbers, if we can lower the price to
(1) PC Server: $350-$450
(1) 4 tuners: $250
(4) digital receiver boxes: $400
--------------------------
New total: $1000-$1050

A Reality (coming soon) or just a Dream?
nohk is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 12-04-2010, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dogmanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just get U-Verse and use the left over money for beer.
dogmanky is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 12-04-2010, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nohk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogmanky View Post

Just get U-Verse and use the left over money for beer.

Thanks, I would like to keep the monthly cost as low as possible. My current monthly cost is around $80 with hdtv cable and Internet, how much would U-Verse with rental equipments run?
nohk is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 12-04-2010, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dogmanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nohk View Post

Thanks, I would like to keep the monthly cost as low as possible. My current monthly cost is around $80 with hdtv cable and Internet, how much would U-Verse with rental equipments run?


Although I was just ribbin ya ... sort of. Since you ask, it may actually be worth getting a quote. In my neighboorhood, they have been beating on doors every 4 weeks or so.. price matching or better to get people to switch over. I've got 4 kids with cable in thier rooms and then 3 more cable runs, so they have limitations that I can't really deal with ... but your scenario .. it may actaully be worth looking in to.
dogmanky is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 12-04-2010, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nohk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for dogging me! but will take a look. delaying the solution might be a good choice since technology always drives down the price point
nohk is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 12-05-2010, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't U-Verse still limited to two simultaneous live HD streams, and the rest have to be SD?
jhue is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 12-06-2010, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhue View Post

Isn't U-Verse still limited to two simultaneous live HD streams, and the rest have to be SD?

Yes
mlknez is online now  
post #15 of 26 Old 12-07-2010, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
Kbowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post

Yes

actually no. It depends on your distance from the vrad. If you are close there are actually new 4hd feed profiles. I currently was upgraded to 3hd feeds at 2000ft from the vrad.
Kbowman is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 12-07-2010, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

Question: Is cable-card required? If not, then:

$200 Sage HD300 / Server bundle
$450 3x Sage HD300 ($150 each)
$300 2x HDhomerun Dual ($150 each)
-----
$950 Not counting the computer

actually I would change that a bit...
$200 Sage HD300+Server Bundle
$450 3x Sage HD300's
$210 2x WinTV-HVR-2250
$220 eMachines EL1333-11f AMD 1.6GHz Desktop PC
$1080 Total
maybe find a cheaper tuner, or only support 2 'live' HD streams since everyone else could/would be watching movies/recorded shows and you are under $1K...

ditch cable, it is evil, and save $80 a month... actually ditching cable would pay for the setup above in just 13 months... that is a pretty good ROI....

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 12-07-2010, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
According to you, you would ditch, all premium channels as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Somewhatlost View Post

actually I would change that a bit...
$200 Sage HD300+Server Bundle
$450 3x Sage HD300's
$210 2x WinTV-HVR-2250
$220 eMachines EL1333-11f AMD 1.6GHz Desktop PC
$1080 Total
maybe find a cheaper tuner, or only support 2 'live' HD streams since everyone else could/would be watching movies/recorded shows and you are under $1K...

ditch cable, it is evil, and save $80 a month... actually ditching cable would pay for the setup above in just 13 months... that is a pretty good ROI....

mlknez is online now  
post #18 of 26 Old 12-07-2010, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post

According to you, you would ditch, all premium channels as well.

yup... they are less needed now...
exhibit A: you can have hard drives full of movies, your very own "on Demand" filled with stuff you like...
exhibit B: Netflix
exhibit C: Hulu
exhibit D: other sites "That Shall not Be Named"

there is a whole world of content out there that more than makes up for the loss of a few "premium channels"
I cut the cord years ago... never looked back, never been happier...

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 12-07-2010, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Somewhatlost View Post

actually I would change that a bit...
.
.
$210 2x WinTV-HVR-2250
.
$1080 Total

Ah . . . WinTV-HVR-2250, $105 at NewEgg. $52.50 per tuner. A good find.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 12-08-2010, 07:19 AM
Member
 
takagari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never knew these existed,

Will the sagetv hd theatre300 allow you to do the same? if you had that ceton tuner in a powerfull enough pc. could you control pvr functions off the little unit they sell?
takagari is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 12-09-2010, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
For anyone that may get the wrong impression, SageTV *does not* support the Ceton Cablecard tuner. The closest approximation for Sage is an HD PVR 1212 hooked up with a cable/sat box (regular box, doesn't need to be a DVR box.)

Personally, I agree with the notion put forth by Somewhatlost. Dump cable, and fill your watching habits with other means. Assuming you haven't been watching exceedingly large sums of content for the last couple years, it's highly likely that you can find a backlog of TV series available at Netflix (either On Demand or in disc form) that will help you fill in the void that may be caused when you dump cable and lose a couple of cable shows (until they come out on disc less than a year later.)

Although it is an admittedly grey activity, a person can bump their Netflix plan up to 3 discs at a time for a month or two and fill up a large buffer worth of TV series or movies quickly by ripping and returning them. Then watching and deleting at their leisure. Add OTA, Netflix On Demand, free hulu and the ocasional Amazon VOD and you get a lot of content.

The above works out well if you tend to watch normal levels of TV. If you're parking it on the couch for vast stretches of time and usually consume 4 or more hours of content a day, day in and day out, you'll probably run out of content in short order. In that case, the endless feedbag of mindless cable/sat is probably the best option for a person.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 12-09-2010, 08:32 PM
Member
 
takagari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So sage Tv wont support streaming of live tv?

I sort of wanted to bring in a single or two hd sat receivers into a single pc and be able to watch from multiple locations depending.

Hmm
takagari is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 12-10-2010, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by takagari View Post

So sage Tv wont support streaming of live tv?

I sort of wanted to bring in a single or two hd sat receivers into a single pc and be able to watch from multiple locations depending.

Hmm

Yes, Sage supports live TV (and DVR/timeshifting) it *doesn’t* support Cablecard (encrypted cable) tuners.

In Sage you can have multiple OTA (over the air) broadcast tuners, you can have multiple Clear QAM (un-encrypted cable) tuners, and you can have multiple Hauppauge HD PVR 1212 capture devices (physically records the component output of any device you plug into it namely a sat/cable box.) But you can’t use the Ceton 4ch Cablecard tuner (or the older, discontinued ATI cablecard tuner.)

In your instance, you would buy two HD PVR 1212 boxes, plug the output of two sat boxes into them, then plug them into your PC running SageTV. Then you can watch/DVR two channels at a time from that computer, or any other computer on your LAN running a sageTV client license, or any computer anywhere in the world running a SageTV Placeshifter license, or any TV in the world connected to an HD300 hardware extender.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 12-14-2010, 01:44 PM
Member
 
Chris Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll throw in another vote for U-Verse. I'm 3000 feet from the VRAD and can get 3HD/1SD to the quad-tuner DVR. It is so much nicer than my old 120 GB, dual-tuner DVR from Comcast. The third HD tuner really makes a big difference and the ability of STBs to access all of your content rocks.

I've spent the last 10 years (not to mention thousands of dollars) trying to recreate the basic U-Verse install. I started with DirecTivos and RF modulators, but then HDTV had to come along and ruin everything I built a HTPC with an AccessDTV card as my first HD DVR, then moved over to a MythTV based system. In the end, it could never quite do what I wanted.

The biggest lessen I learned is to not build a HTPC to save money. You need to view it as a hobby to build and maintain, as you will likely invest hundreds of hours of your free time. Even at minimum wage, you could buy a couple of lifetime HD Tivos instead! Or in my case, save a couple of bucks (at least the first year) and switch from cable to U-Verse...

Chris
Chris Fox is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 12-14-2010, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
GhostXtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdb4133 View Post

Wouldn't the best solution be a Ceton InfiniTV in a decent PC and then get 3 or 4 Xbox 360 consoles as the client devices for each TV? There always seem to be sales 360's especially if you are willing to get a refurb or used one.

Better yet, get 4 boxee box ($199) instead of xbox 360.
GhostXtreme is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 12-14-2010, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXtreme View Post

Better yet, get 4 boxee box ($199) instead of xbox 360.

So you are saying that the boxee box can act as a windows media center extender and use the ceton cards ability to tune 4 hd premium shows at once? News to me...
mlknez is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off