Streamer wish list, exist? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-19-2011, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am wondering if a streamer exists that will do the following with it's current implementation. If the bug currently exists then it is a no.

Required
1. Play mkv blu-ray rips over a network connection.
2. Able to play truehd and dts hd
3. Have a decent front end interface with movie info and cover art.
4. Skip to next chapter easily with one button push.
5. Easy to use: wife can use with little training.
6. Less than $350 us

Optional
1. Has netfix, facebook etc.
2. Can play iso files with bd navigation
3. Good grouping functionality for series/episodes so they are easily identified.
stepmback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-20-2011, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stepmback
I am wondering if a streamer exists that will do the following with it's current implementation. If the bug currently exists then it is a no.

Required
1. Play mkv blu-ray rips over a network connection.
2. Able to play truehd and dts hd
3. Have a decent front end interface with movie info and cover art.
4. Skip to next chapter easily with one button push.
5. Easy to use: wife can use with little training.
6. Less than $350 us

Optional
1. Has netfix, facebook etc.
2. Can play iso files with bd navigation
3. Good grouping functionality for series/episodes so they are easily identified.
Bump.. Anyone?
stepmback is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-20-2011, 06:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 578
"...2. Can play iso files with bd navigation.."

That makes the list very short. I personally like the C200 over the Dunes, especially since they added NMJ which creates a database for you automatically of your movies with coverart, info etc..
Of course many people also prefer the Dunes over the C200. But The C200 also has a bunch of internet apps. Not Netflix though. but you really can't go wrong with either one it's just a matter of what you want out of the media player.

Although I mainly use my Boxee Boxes now and my C200 for when I want full BD navigation or for those discs that will not play properly with simple BD navigation.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-20-2011, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt
"...2. Can play iso files with bd navigation.."

That makes the list very short. I personally like the C200 over the Dunes, especially since they added NMJ which creates a database for you automatically of your movies with coverart, info etc..
Of course many people also prefer the Dunes over the C200. But The C200 also has a bunch of internet apps. Not Netflix though. but you really can't go wrong with either one it's just a matter of what you want out of the media player.

Although I mainly use my Boxee Boxes now and my C200 for when I want full BD navigation or for those discs that will not play properly with simple BD navigation.
The iso play back with bd navigation is option or a good to have. I am asking these questions because I have pch 210 on order and want to make sure I am getting the right product. Mkv is my main format.. Best Audi and video is the critical piece.
stepmback is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-21-2011, 01:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
high_definitely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There won't be a picture or audio quality difference between the C200 and A210, since both are based on the same Sigma SoC and SDK.
high_definitely is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-21-2011, 05:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by high_definitely View Post

There won't be a picture or audio quality difference between the C200 and A210, since both are based on the same Sigma SoC and SDK.

It looks like I am making the right decision then. Thanks.
stepmback is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off