Xtreamer Prodigy - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 187 Old 02-23-2011, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Ferdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another Xtreamer on the market. This looks a serious contender...Xtreamer Prodigy

http://www.xtreamer.net/prodigy/

A/V Out
Composite Audio / Video
Y/ Pb / Pr Video
SPDIF coaxial (digital audio)
SPDIF Optical TOSLink (digital audio)

Storage Supported
Internal hard disk drive (3.5 SATA up to 3TB)
External USB mass storage devices (USB2.0 or 3.0)
(hard drives, flash drives)
Media Cards
USB sticks and other USB mass
storage devices

BUILT-IN Storage Supported
EZ-Drive slot - 3.5 SATA/SATA2 HDD up to 3TB

Media Cards Supported
SD, SDHC (SD High Capacity), MMC,
MS, MSPro

USB Supported
USB 3.0 and 2.0 Interfaces
Add ports with USB hubs, USB card readers
2x USB 2.0 (USB-A)
1x USB 3.0 Slave Port (USB-B)

External File System Supported
FAT, FAT32, NTFS, EXT3, HFS+

Network - Wired Gigabit
RJ-45 10/100/1000

Network - Wireless
(Optional)
Wireless WLAN 802.11b/g/n 300Mbps via USB WLAN adaptor (optional, not incl.)
Supports WLAN security WEP, WPA
Supports WLAN Peer-to-Peer (connects wireless without router)

DVB-t Tuner
(Optional)
Video Formats Supported
AVI / MKV / TS / TP / TRP / M2TS / MPG /
MP4 / MOV / M4V / VOB / ISO / DVD-ISO
/ IFO / DAT / WMV / ASF / RM / RMVB / / BD-ISO
FLV resolution up to 720p / 1080i / 1080p

Video Codec's Supported
MPEG-1 / MPEG-2 / MPEG-4 SP/ASP/AVC
(H.264 | x264) / XviD / DivX / WMV9 (VC-1)
/ RealVideo 8/9/10 (up to 720P)

Video Output Supported
PAL / NTSC / 480p / 576p / 720p / 1080i
50Hz / 1080i 60Hz / 1080p 50Hz / 1080p
60Hz / 1080p 24FPS

Audio Formats Supported
MP3 / MP2 / WMA / AAC / FLAC / WAV /
OGG Vorbis / PCM / LPCM / MS-ADPCM /
LC-AAC / HE-AAC / COOK / RA-Lossless

Audio Output Supported
Stereo
Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 (passthrough & downmix to stereo)
Dolby Digital Plus 7.1 (passthrough)
Dolby TrueHD 7.1 (passthrough & downmix to stereo)
DTS Digital Surround 5.1 (passthrough & downmix to stereo)
AAC 7.1 (passthrough & downmix to stereo)
FLAC

Image Formats Supported
JPEG, HD JPEG, BMP, GIF, TIF, PNG

Subtitles Format Supported
SRT, SMI, SSA, IDX/SUB, SUB

Character Sets Supported (Needed for Subtitles)
Unicode (UTF8), BIG5 (Traditional Chinese), Western, Turkish, Central European,
Greek, Cyrillic, SE European, Russian, Hebrew, Arabic, Japanese, Thai
Cooling
50mm Low-Noise Fan (for HDD Cooling)
Passive Cooling Kit (Optional)
Ferdie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 187 Old 02-23-2011, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 47
First thought is Realtek and issue-free HD audio 7.1 bitstreaming. Haven't kept with with the Xtreamer Pro/Sidewinder stuff, but don't they (and other Realtek-based players) still have bitstreaming issues?

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #3 of 187 Old 02-23-2011, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Ferdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I've been reading...yes...let's wait and see...they'll be at ceBIT 2011 which is next week. Can't wait to see some videos!!
Ferdie is offline  
post #4 of 187 Old 02-23-2011, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jerndl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea on cost in US$?
jerndl is offline  
post #5 of 187 Old 02-23-2011, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 73
This got my attention. I love my Dune but it looks like they (or Sigma) can't get colorspace issues ironed out) and I already know from my original Xtreamer that the Realtek chip did it correctly. All other issues aside, since these things are primarily for streaming video, getting that part right is a pretty big deal.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #6 of 187 Old 02-23-2011, 08:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgvroadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From doing research on this device...

I found on this forum link that it is around 115Euros?

http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=26494

Also some one uploaded some screen shots show firmware version 2.6.0 when the bottom of the GUI bar is show firmare version 3.0?? Mistake or photoshop?

Cheers!

Cameron
sgvroadster is offline  
post #7 of 187 Old 02-23-2011, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
It also supports AirPlay which is very interesting.

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #8 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 12:54 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The specs do not even mention DTS-HD MA, so at least this time they are not promising something they don't deliver..

I'd be surprised if they sell it at 115 Euro. I've found no reference to price but the player is essentially identical (OK, with some small software differences and not made in China - as they point out multiple times) to the PlayOn HD2, which retails at 169 Euro.

If I had to guess I'd say 149 Euro.

iboum.com
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
iboum is offline  
post #9 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 01:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Ferdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
119?!?! Am I missing something here?
Ferdie is offline  
post #10 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 02:11 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
119 Euro. I see it now. Good value and makes the pricing of the ACRyan units look very high.

iboum.com
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
iboum is offline  
post #11 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 02:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If this is 119 euros, I can't imagine why AC Ryan has 169 Euros for the same model (hardware wise, there is nil difference).

This looks like the ideal 1185 player, but let us hope Xtreamer can deliver on its advertising (they hype up too much and don't deliver is what I understand). It is also a pity that they got off on the wrong foot with a majority of the consumers.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jakmal is offline  
post #12 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 03:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Ferdie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xtreamer need to pull there socks up because from what I've been reading they don't "deliver the goods". Let's hope with the Ultra & Prodigy they do everything right so to bring back the trust in them.
Ferdie is offline  
post #13 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 04:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
high_definitely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Expect the new Realtek streamer street prices to hit the below 100 EUR mark soon after they are released by more companies, especially the chinese ones. The AC Ryan is overpriced currently, as there is no direct competition yet.

I have to admit that I'm rather predjudiced when it comes to Realtek products. A long history of rather painful experience with various Realtek products, ranging from network adapters to audio chips and streamers, is the reason for that. It would take a lot to convince me otherwise.

At least they seem to get the NICs right these days, more or less. Still avoid them if possible, which is kinda difficult since almost all motherboards have Realtek network chips these days...
high_definitely is offline  
post #14 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 11:55 AM
Member
 
adrian ballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iboum View Post

The specs do not even mention DTS-HD MA, so at least this time they are not promising something they don't deliver..

but the logo is displayed on their page...
hhhmmmmmm...
adrian ballard is offline  
post #15 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
DraZtiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian ballard View Post

but the logo is displayed on their page...
hhhmmmmmm...

you are correct.


Quote:


The Xtreamer Prodigy supports DTS-HD Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD multi-channel lossless audio codecs with upto 7.1 CH passthrough. The result is your media streamer will be able to play bitstream that can carry up to 14 discrete sound channels. Sample depths up to 24 bits/sample and audio sample rates up to 192 kHz are supported.

DraZtiK is offline  
post #16 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 01:21 PM
Member
 
panasifix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since this is Xtreamer this is a no-go for me. But I'm still undecided about a realtek based player or the NeoTV550. It seems that both Sigma and Realtek has their problems.
panasifix is offline  
post #17 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 47
No problems with Sigma-based PCH A200/210/C200 or Dune.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #18 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 01:35 PM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
No problems with Sigma-based PCH A200/210/C200 or Dune.
not true on the Dune unless, as mentioned, you don't mind the colorspace issue that dropzone7 has had...
streamerlover is offline  
post #19 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
rishi76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

No problems with Sigma-based PCH A200/210/C200 or Dune.

No such thing as no problems on ANY streamer! Ex, Dune - no MKV chapter support.
rishi76 is offline  
post #20 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Yes, nothing is perfect, but PCH does now support MKV chapters.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #21 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just bought a new TV that can display everything and I don't know where to begin to look into to see if my colorspace is correct.

This device has a Realtek chipset in it. Something that I think is inferior to Sigma.
Opentoe is offline  
post #22 of 187 Old 02-24-2011, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mayhem13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 3,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Airplay AND Pandora AND 3TB AND.......looks like a winner for zone 4 for me.
mayhem13 is offline  
post #23 of 187 Old 02-25-2011, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 73


I'm sure this drop down menu includes 4:2:2 and if it works like my original Xtreamer then I know that this device will handle colorspace the way I want it to. If it has stutter-free BD-ISO playback with menus then I might give it a try. I'm just really going to have to wait for some reviews this time.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #24 of 187 Old 02-25-2011, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dropzone7 View Post



I'm sure this drop down menu includes 4:2:2 and if it works like my original Xtreamer then I know that this device will handle colorspace the way I want it to. If it has stutter-free BD-ISO playback with menus then I might give it a try. I'm just really going to have to wait for some reviews this time.

Is the Dune still the only player that does full BD menu support?
Opentoe is offline  
post #25 of 187 Old 02-25-2011, 12:38 PM
Member
 
adrian ballard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
nope
NeoTV550
adrian ballard is offline  
post #26 of 187 Old 02-25-2011, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem13 View Post

Airplay AND Pandora AND 3TB AND.......looks like a winner for zone 4 for me.

It certainly sounds great on paper. I wish they had skipped the fan part but at least there is an option ...

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #27 of 187 Old 02-25-2011, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

Is the Dune still the only player that does full BD menu support?

What about the PCH-C200?

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #28 of 187 Old 02-26-2011, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post
What about the PCH-C200?

philip
Not full menu.

More and more BD are coming out and that will be the norm, if it isn't already. It should be about time these player's start supporting the full BD structure!!
Opentoe is offline  
post #29 of 187 Old 02-26-2011, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post
Not full menu.

More and more BD are coming out and that will be the norm, if it isn't already. It should be about time these player's start supporting the full BD structure!!
Hmm ... since it can play Blu-ray disks and has a full license what is it missing?

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #30 of 187 Old 02-27-2011, 02:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the C200 support full menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post
Not full menu.

More and more BD are coming out and that will be the norm, if it isn't already. It should be about time these player's start supporting the full BD structure!!
cHarOn99 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off