Ripping Blu-Rays - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 145 Old 04-17-2011, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
agogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ok, before I jump head first into the realm of NAS and media players, I wanted to know the best way to rip Blu Ray. I have two different rooms with different needs. One room is my home theater which has a Pioneer SC-05 that can decode all audio formats. I'd like to have my receiver do the decoding and get the best audio possible. The other room is the great room where I have surround sound (not great) but an older Pioneer Elite receiver that can't decode HD Audio. So I need a media player to decode them or rip the BR to some file already decoded. HTPC guys recommended ripping the BR as ISO files, but it seems here that most media players can't handle that.

Suggestions?

P.S. I'm presently thinking of using a CineRaid H458 as my NAS with 4x1TB drives and then using Dune or Boxee media players.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
agogley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 145 Old 04-17-2011, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


I wanted to know the best way to rip Blu Ray.

Depends on your needs...

Do yo require BD menus and extras? If so a 1:1 rip using AnyDVD HD and ImgBurner will do the trick.

If you just want HD audio, video and subtitles without all the extras... AnyDVD HD and ClownBD... works perfectly... This is the method I use to achieve perfect payback on my Dune.

In my experience with over 1000 DVD/BDs... ISO work best.

The great thing about the Dune Max/Duo (as well as the less expensive Prime/Base units if you can still get) one is that it can bitstream and decode HD Audio formats... and send them via HDMI or 7.1 Analog. So if your older Pioneer has 7.1 or 5.1 analog inputs... you can take advantage of HD audio either way.

PS... I am nut sure what your budget it is... but you might consider building a custom WHS... 2TB drives have come way down in price... If you are interested I can give you links to a highly recommended system.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #3 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 02:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

Depends on your needs...

Do yo require BD menus and extras? If so a 1:1 rip using AnyDVD HD and ImgBurner will do the trick.

If you just want HD audio, video and subtitles without all the extras... AnyDVD HD and ClownBD... works perfectly... This is the method I use to achieve perfect payback on my Dune.

+1 I use AnyDVD HD + Clown_BD for all my BluRays and never have issues. Playback works great on the Dune.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #4 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 03:26 AM
Member
 
jcfay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also use AnyDVD HD with Clown for some, but not all rips. Clown is fantastic but it doesn't allow you the option of compressing data. I'm not sure if you want lossy rips at all, but I choose to do some depending on the film. Inception, obviously, I'd want lossless, which many other films I introduce some compression as it can be nearly impossible to see in some instances and saves a great deal of space. As a result, my BR rips end up anywhere from 40+ GB to down to as low as 4GB.

I use Dvdfab blu-ray ripper to introduce compression. It gives you lots of options to do so and flexibility, as well. It also doesn't require AnyDVD HD to run. On DVDs, I will use AnyDvd and handbrake. I know many folks also like the simplicity of MakeMKV as well. So there are a few options depending on what sort of rips you want.

As far as players go, I've got 2 popcorn hours myself. They are fantastic.
jcfay is offline  
post #5 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
teddystacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia PA USA
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use "Makemvk" to rip all the titles to .mvk , then use handbrake (Vidcoder) to compress them.The main movie I usually rip at 15gig , which turns out realy top quality.Then all the Extras I compress a little more.When you think abiut it , many extras on a BR disk are usually SD anyway.
If you do rip to un-compressed BR.iso , you are going to get very few rips on a 4tb server , considering you would have to use 2tb of that as a mirror incase one of the disks fail.
Even 4tb wil not store that many 50gig BR .iso's.

MG-35 & MG-45 Yahoo
Support Group:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
teddystacker is offline  
post #6 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
drcos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: right next to the Gulf coast of FLA
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVDFab + ClownBD (the package has tools you can use) + MakeMKV (MKVToolnix)

I'll stop ripping my BDs when I can put them in and watch the movie without trailers, warnings, cutesy menus...
drcos is offline  
post #7 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 07:17 AM
Member
 
lifevicarious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post



PS... I am nut sure what your budget it is... but you might consider building a custom WHS... 2TB drives have come way down in price... If you are interested I can give you links to a highly recommended system.

I'm not the OP but I would be interested in the links the the system. Thinking of dipping my toe in this area and not sure the best place to start.
lifevicarious is offline  
post #8 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
MakeMKV - no compression -stored directly to unRAID server

The unRAID drives are nfs mounted to Synology NAS which allows me to utilize the Syno excellent DiskStation Manager.
mbryanr is offline  
post #9 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 07:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

MakeMKV - no compression -stored directly to unRAID server

The unRAID drives are nfs mounted to Synology NAS which allows me to utilize the Syno excellent DiskStation Manager.

Hey, so you use an unRAID server as well as a Synology NAS?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #10 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 08:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here is a parts list if you are interested... Thanks to AVS user BlackSSR.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...115&Tpk=SA76G2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-141-_-Product X2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...D=3136390&SID=
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-473-_-Product X16
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-712-_-Product Can be picked up on ebay dirt cheap!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134636
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136181
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136195
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...0019&CatId=672 Watch for Sales... you can pick WHS for around $69


of course if cash is tight... you can start with one TR8M-B and less drives... the system is fully upgradeable.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #11 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
hps70w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

FYI - I think all but 2 or 3 of the items in that list are noted as "Deactivated" (out of stock and may not be restocked) on Newegg.
hps70w is offline  
post #12 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcfay View Post

I also use AnyDVD HD with Clown for some, but not all rips. Clown is fantastic but it doesn't allow you the option of compressing data. I'm not sure if you want lossy rips at all, but I choose to do some depending on the film. Inception, obviously, I'd want lossless, which many other films I introduce some compression as it can be nearly impossible to see in some instances and saves a great deal of space. As a result, my BR rips end up anywhere from 40+ GB to down to as low as 4GB.

I use Dvdfab blu-ray ripper to introduce compression. It gives you lots of options to do so and flexibility, as well. It also doesn't require AnyDVD HD to run. On DVDs, I will use AnyDvd and handbrake. I know many folks also like the simplicity of MakeMKV as well. So there are a few options depending on what sort of rips you want.

As far as players go, I've got 2 popcorn hours myself. They are fantastic.

Why would you compress a Bluray? What is the point of it, if you want lossy just get the DVD.

40 GB down to 4 GB must look horrible..WTF?
blackssr is offline  
post #13 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
dbone - don't have the DS1511 to provide a backup solution for the unRAID, but my simple setup provides the functionality of the Synology with the storage capacity of unRAID.

DS-210j (primarily wife's files, Transmission (torrent) machine) 2TB
DS-411 (my stuff/web server/photo station/audio station) 4TB
unRAID (movies, TV shows, music library, photos, backups) 14TB

Various rsync and backup tasks between each server and the laptops. I may use crashplan to backup my movies as that can be added to unRAID. I could get most of what I need from the unRAID server, but the interface is much better through the Synology.

Edit:
Example:
8 unRAID drives nfs mounted to the 210j and -411.
Various unRAID "user shares" nfs mounted to each Synology NAS.
"Movies" unAID user share smb mount to Boxee Box.

Some shares are under the "music" or "photos" drive of the Syno, which allows the use of each Syno App (photo station, audio station). I could also map the drives to the Syno "video" folder to utilize the uPnP server, but not required anymore. I had the movies setup that way when I was using the WDTV Live.

Just to clarify further why I use the Syno functionality instead of unRAID:
Overall: easier for me to troubleshoot if a problem did occur with the unRAID system, and unRAID is a media storage device for me only.

Transmission: integrated as part of Syno, download package for unRAID with a separate console.
I've tested this on unRAID and it works well, but I like to keep my active torrents separate from my movie files.

UPS support: Installed on both the Syno (integrated) and unRAID (apcupsd package download). I could run the unRAID as a slave of the Syno, but I have the unRAID server on a separate UPS.

Audio Server: Integrated on Syno, download package (Subsonic) for unRAID.

Media Server: Integrated on Syno (photos and video), PS3Mediaserver or Twonky can be installed on unRAID. I've never attempted to install on unRAID, well because I don't have much use for it.

File Station/Browser: Ingregrated on Syno, basic functionality on unRAID only - (read/view files), otherwise required to use Windows PC/Explorer.

DynDNS Remote Access: Integrated on Syno with security, unRAID is not secure, but could be set up for Remote Access (with no security). I've tested the DynDNS package with unRAID and it does work well.

rsync: Integrated on syno, script file needs to be added to the unRAID config.

Web Server: integrated on syno, package for unRAID but no security.

Audio Station: Integrated on Syno, requires install of subsonic or similar media player for unRAID.

Network backup: Integrated on Syno, crashplan can be installed on unRAID.

I'm a complete noob with Linux, but unRAID doesn't require in-depth knowledge.
mbryanr is offline  
post #14 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by hps70w View Post

FYI - I think all but 2 or 3 of the items in that list are noted as "Deactivated" (out of stock and may not be restocked) on Newegg.

Sorry about that... All links are now current except for the CPU... you can pick that up on ebay...

Here is a parts list if you are interested... Thanks to AVS user BlackSSR.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...115&Tpk=SA76G2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-141-_-Product X2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...D=3136390&SID=
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-473-_-Product X16
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-712-_-Product Can be picked up on ebay dirt cheap!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134636
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136181
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136195
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...0019&CatId=672 Watch for Sales... you can pick WHS for around $69


of course if cash is tight... you can start with one TR8M-B and less drives... the system is fully upgradeable.

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #15 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 10:02 AM
Member
 
RGHoover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

Why would you compress a Bluray? What is the point of it, if you want lossy just get the DVD.

40 GB down to 4 GB must look horrible..WTF?

I use DVDFab and store them on a WHS and playback via a Dune. (Not always for the weak at heart. The set up and maintance is not without some effort.) I prefer ISOs and can usually strip the non-essentials and get under 25G with out compression. This way I can always burn a back up copy to a BD25 and take with me on vacation if I want. (There's a BD player and big screen at the beach house where the family vacations) Kids can't be trusted with original disks!

I'm not sure what a movie would look like compressed from 25G or more down to 4G. Probably a lot like a DVD and DVDs don't look so good on a 110 inch screen. But hey, DVDs look great smaller screens. It all depends on your set-up and your personal taste. My $0.02

ÂA respectable amount of bourbon to pour in a glass is about two fingers worth. Lucky for me I have big fingersÂ
RGHoover is offline  
post #16 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 10:18 AM
Member
 
bouchardino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You might be surprised how well BDs can look when compressed down to smaller sizes. A movie <2 hours will probably have very few artifacts at 8-10GB, and if you convert to 720p 4GB will normally look quite good. I don't normally compress them, but it's a viable option if necessary.
bouchardino is offline  
post #17 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bouchardino View Post

You might be surprised how well BDs can look when compressed down to smaller sizes. A movie <2 hours will probably have very few artifacts at 8-10GB, and if you convert to 720p 4GB will normally look quite good. I don't normally compress them, but it's a viable option if necessary.

Why bother, just get the DVD.
blackssr is offline  
post #18 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

Why bother, just get the DVD.

I agree. For the price of the blank BD-r disk, you could get a used DVD. Even better, buy an extra Dune and pop a hard drive in with your movies on it. That gives you a backup. You can just move the hard drive between locations then.
mlknez is offline  
post #19 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

Depends on your needs...

Do yo require BD menus and extras? If so a 1:1 rip using AnyDVD HD and ImgBurner will do the trick.

If you just want HD audio, video and subtitles without all the extras... AnyDVD HD and ClownBD... works perfectly... This is the method I use to achieve perfect payback on my Dune.

In my experience with over 1000 DVD/BDs... ISO work best.

The great thing about the Dune Max/Duo (as well as the less expensive Prime/Base units if you can still get) one is that it can bitstream and decode HD Audio formats... and send them via HDMI or 7.1 Analog. So if your older Pioneer has 7.1 or 5.1 analog inputs... you can take advantage of HD audio either way.

PS... I am nut sure what your budget it is... but you might consider building a custom WHS... 2TB drives have come way down in price... If you are interested I can give you links to a highly recommended system.

thanks for your input here. I'm new to this (DVD/BD ripping stuff). When you guys ripp a particular DVD or BD are all the contents (video, audio, menu's, etc.,..) burned to a single "container"? Or do you end-up with a set of discrete files representing a single title?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #20 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 12:58 PM
Member
 
jcfay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

thanks for your input here. I'm new to this (DVD/BD ripping stuff). When you guys ripp a particular DVD or BD are all the contents (video, audio, menu's, etc.,..) burned to a single "container"? Or do you end-up with a set of discrete files representing a single title?

In general, most opt to have everything in a single file (container). So you'd end up with a single .mkv, or .m2ts, or .iso file. It's up to you to figure out what you want in that container. I, personally, don't want menus, chapters, or special features, and I also often like to compress the files a bit so I use .mkv most of the time. As mentioned above (I think), there is a lot of great software to work with .mkv too, like makeMKV, mkvmerge, ClownBD, etc.

But yes, most of us end up with a single file. Life's much easier that way...
jcfay is offline  
post #21 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Bley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL. USA
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

Why bother, just get the DVD.

I agree, I don't understand why people bother getting the Blu-Ray disc and then want it compressed. I thought we were fighting for higher bit rates and dual layer 50 gig discs and now people want to take it and compress the heck out of it or convert it to 720p? I guess I could understand using the rip for a take with you smaller file size solution but, I want to rip Blu-Rays to watch in my theater room and only the best will do. I'm trying to figure out everything I need to do that via this thread. Sounds like I'll need lots of storage for 85 Blu-rays so far.
Tom Bley is offline  
post #22 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 01:15 PM
Member
 
RGHoover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bley View Post

I'm trying to figure out everything I need to do that via this thread. Sounds like I'll need lots of storage for 85 Blu-rays so far.

You could probably do it with 2TB of storage if you lose all the extra stuff and I did the math right. Not really a lot in todays world.

ÂA respectable amount of bourbon to pour in a glass is about two fingers worth. Lucky for me I have big fingersÂ
RGHoover is offline  
post #23 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 01:39 PM
Member
 
jcfay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bley View Post

I agree, I don't understand why people bother getting the Blu-Ray disc and then want it compressed.

Well, to each his own, of course, but I compress many BR discs. What I won't compress are those titles that are the most breath-taking (e.g. inception, saving private ryan, avatar, etc.), but some other titles I think are just fine with compression. Titles like Grind House and Death Proof (both shot to resemble old grainy-style film) are obvious choices as you lose nothing in resolution when you compress them a bit. Some other titles (some dramas, etc.) also don't suffer at all, IMO, when compressed a bit. Again, too much and it's going to suffer, but I think when you're talking about 8GB rip versus a 30GB rip, for many films you would be very hard pressed to tell the difference.

I just don't need a lossless copy of Dinner for Schmucks, for instance. I'd rather save the drive space for something that will use it better. Just my 2 cents
jcfay is offline  
post #24 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 01:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcfay View Post

In general, most opt to have everything in a single file (container). So you'd end up with a single .mkv, or .m2ts, or .iso file. It's up to you to figure out what you want in that container. I, personally, don't want menus, chapters, or special features, and I also often like to compress the files a bit so I use .mkv most of the time. As mentioned above (I think), there is a lot of great software to work with .mkv too, like makeMKV, mkvmerge, ClownBD, etc.

But yes, most of us end up with a single file. Life's much easier that way...

Generally I would say either an mkv or a BluRay folder rip are to the two popular choices with BluRays. I have a mix of both but of late I prefer just to use BluRay folders. I only rip the main movie and use AnyDVD + Clown_BD. I don't put into an ISO as I find this just adds an extra unnecessary step for an HTPC

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #25 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I am sorry for speaking out of turn... or against what others may do...

But if the OP is considering the Dune... IMO nothing beats ISOs or BD folder structure.

MKVs are great if you don't mind the lack of chapter support... And I am not sure if it has been truly addresses by HDI... but MKVs (may) still have lip sync problems.

I think that ISOs are a neatly packaged version of what most people would want... HD audio and video with subtitle and chapter support... not to mention the cool OSD for the most common features of BDs... Loading, Play, Fast Forward... etc.

Now if only HDI would implement resume play on BDs... that would be !

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #26 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGHoover View Post

You could probably do it with 2TB of storage if you lose all the extra stuff and I did the math right. Not really a lot in todays world.

this is good to know this quantity of (full HD rez) titles can fit on 2TB of storage. I'm setting-up a new 2TB WD MyBookLive unit to function as NAS. I think I'll add a few more 2TB unit's
WestCoastD is offline  
post #27 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcfay View Post

In general, most opt to have everything in a single file (container). So you'd end up with a single .mkv, or .m2ts, or .iso file. It's up to you to figure out what you want in that container. I, personally, don't want menus, chapters, or special features, and I also often like to compress the files a bit so I use .mkv most of the time. As mentioned above (I think), there is a lot of great software to work with .mkv too, like makeMKV, mkvmerge, ClownBD, etc.

But yes, most of us end up with a single file. Life's much easier that way...

thanks for this info, a big help! I'd like to eliminate the physical stack of DVD/BD collection and archive onto drives.

It gets to the point where do I provide more storage shelves, or do I move everything to disc?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #28 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 02:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Litlgi74 View Post

I am sorry for speaking out of turn... or against what others may do...

But if the OP is considering the Dune... IMO nothing beats ISOs or BD folder structure.

MKVs are great if you don't mind the lack of chapter support... And I am not sure if it has been truly addresses by HDI... but MKVs (may) still have lip sync problems.

I think that ISOs are a neatly packaged version of what most people would want... HD audio and video with subtitle and chapter support... not to mention the cool OSD for the most common features of BDs... Loading, Play, Fast Forward... etc.

Now if only HDI would implement resume play on BDs... that would be !

Completely agreed. For the dune bd folder rips/ isos are the best choice

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #29 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Bley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL. USA
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGHoover View Post

You could probably do it with 2TB of storage if you lose all the extra stuff and I did the math right. Not really a lot in todays world.

Really? I would loose the extras to get a bit for bit rip and save some space. Then you need double that to have a back up, correct?
Tom Bley is offline  
post #30 of 145 Old 04-18-2011, 02:29 PM
Member
 
jcfay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bley View Post

Really? I would loose the extras to get a bit for bit rip and save some space. Then you need double that to have a back up, correct?

Remember, the "strict" backup folks will say that you need an off-site backup, etc... But 85 bluray discs, in a 2TB drive, you generally only get 1.8 or useable space, leaves you about 21GB per rip. I'd have no problem with that, myself.
jcfay is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off