Connecting my Samsung LED TV to my PC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 04-19-2011, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cyanide911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I bought a crossover ethernet cable, and connected my Laptop to my TV. Then I set the IPs up such that now my laptop and my TV can now both ping each other well.

The question is what next? How do I access files on my Laptop on my TV? All guides about this on the internet stop at configuring the network (which I've done).

My TV is a UA37C5000 (or UN37C5000). Laptop is running Windows 7.

There *has* to be some kind of an interface on the TV to access my Laptop's shared files, I can't figure out how to reach it. I've installed Samsung's media server on my Laptop.
cyanide911 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 04-20-2011, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
mbrodie617's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would get a wireless mouse and keyboard with dongle. Plug the dongle into the laptop and then you should be able to control the PC from your couch as you use the TV as a second monitor.

Gaming doesn't kill people! Crazy, pent up, overly agressive, repressed, gun wielding people kill people.

PSN ID: Mbrodie617
mbrodie617 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 04-20-2011, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cyanide911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But that would defeat the purpose wouldn't it? My laptop doesn't play HD as well as my TV of course. I want to use my TV's rendering power to watch.

I just need to figure out how to access the 'AllShare' feature of my TV.
cyanide911 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 04-20-2011, 10:12 AM
Member
 
sebtarta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can use Serviio or Mezzmo. You can then use the DLNA feature from the TV to view your files.

I use Mezzmo, as it is a straight forward software, have had no issues on my UN46C6500 TV
sebtarta is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 04-20-2011, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cyanide911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@sebtarta: Yeah but my question is, *how* do I do that? I cannot find the interface in the TV to do that! Fine I install Mezzmo or something similar, but I obviously need to select 'Allshare' (DLNA) in the TV. I just cannot find that interface.
cyanide911 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-20-2011, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cyanide911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mean look at this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SqEZO...tailpage#t=25s
(They've shown it for sharing between a phone and a TV, but that's besides the point)

As you will see, to access the AllShare(DLNA) interface in the TV, they go to the 'Application menu', then select 'Content View'.

Now if my my TV, I go to the Application Menu, there's two things, one, AnyNet and two, MediaPlay.
Anynet is for controlling different devices with the same remote, and MediaPlay is for playing files from a USB Drive.
Where is content view?!

This is driving me insane.




I have one idea, my place had a sudden power outage a few days back which caused my TV to reset it's settings. Maybe I've to set something in the service menu?
cyanide911 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-20-2011, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 22
U are getting waaaay too complicated.

Read the TV's manual under "PC Share Manager" it will explain everything.

Now since you have both devices directly connected, your IP static settings must be manually and correctly entered. As long as u know your IP ur good.
MrBobb is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 04-21-2011, 02:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cyanide911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heh I think I'm not able to get my point across.
The network is fine! My PC and TV can ping each other!
I just need to know how to access the AllShare interface in the TV! I can't find it in the menu.
cyanide911 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-21-2011, 05:00 AM
Member
 
scoosdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From Samsung's website regarding your TV (in the fine print at the bottom of the main product page):

"To use Samsung’s Internet@TV and AllShare features, a Samsung Wireless LAN Adaptor (RRP $79) is required. Click here to learn more. "

When you click there, you go to the page for their WIS09ABGN adapter and it says there:

"By connecting your wireless LAN adapter into the TV, you can instantly access many of your TV’s key features such as Internet@TV, AllShare and Samsung’s Touch Remote Control. In addition to the features, you’ll also be able to enjoy content from your compatible multimedia devices (PCs, cameras, Blu-ray disc players, mobile phones) without the hassle of messy cables or wires. * In order to use internet@TV and AllShare feature, your TV must be connected to wireless IP sharer."

Sounds to me this is saying that AllShare feature is only available when you plug in their optional wireless dongle. Something about the presence of their adapter must activate the feature in the set. That makes no sense to me if you say there is already a direct LAN connection on the set and you've connected to it already, but that's not unheard of.

I see various comments in a Google search saying that you must also download and install Samsung's PC Media Manager to get ALLshare to work.
scoosdad is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 04-21-2011, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Kevin BC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Push the button on your remote that's labelled Media.P and you should see the server?
Kevin BC is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 04-21-2011, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanide911 View Post

The network is fine! My PC and TV can ping each other!

That's your problem. You don't pay attention.

PC SHARE MANAGER!
MrBobb is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 05-04-2011, 05:36 PM
Member
 
sebtarta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok sorry I dropped the ball here.


Basically once you have Mezzmo running, and configured the media server, go to TV, press "Mode" (where you can switch between TV, HDMI etc) you should see DNLA Mezzmo in the menu as well.

If you have any problems, let us know.
sebtarta is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 08-22-2011, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
emmanueltech3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can download the AllShare Application from Samsung's website.
emmanueltech3 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 03-09-2012, 11:45 PM
Newbie
 
MasterT1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I have the same problem.
I have an UE40D5500 connected to hone network by wired Lan. TV is working on the internet, but refuses to work with allshare. I called samsung and they said it has to be connected to wireless for the allshare to work. Has anyone found a way to make it work on wired lan?
MasterT1031 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off