Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 112 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > Ripping Blu-Rays II

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Gary J's Avatar Gary J
04:41 PM Liked: 97
post #3331 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 7,659
Joined: Mar 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Htpc

We have several forums on it here.

-Bill

Oh yeah, now I remember - from last century.
stefuel's Avatar stefuel
05:11 PM Liked: 13
post #3332 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 5,887
Joined: Apr 2001
OK, last question for tonight. I have to keep telling MakeMKV where to send the processed file. It tries to make a different folder for each movie. I have a folder simply named MKV that I am sending them to. First, is one folder OK and if yes how do I make it the default destination?
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
05:18 PM Liked: 846
post #3333 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 22,123
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

$85-ish for the Green 2TB, but would pull the trigger at $90. Looking for six of them now.

Interested in the EARX not EZRX.

Jeff

Newegg had the 2TB drives on sale recently for $80. I picked up one when I was getting some other things. But I was really hoping for some more 3TB drives on sale. I picked up half a doze in the SPring for $109 on sale at Newegg but I haven't seen them at that price recently.
L33TX43RT's Avatar L33TX43RT
05:19 PM Liked: 18
post #3334 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 206
Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

OK, last question for tonight. I have to keep telling MakeMKV where to send the processed file. It tries to make a different folder for each movie. I have a folder simply named MKV that I am sending them to. First, is one folder OK and if yes how do I make it the default destination?

View > Preferences > Video > Custom > [path]
blipszyc's Avatar blipszyc
07:57 PM Liked: 37
post #3335 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 2,650
Joined: Aug 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

As already discussed.... the 3tb were around $75~$80 pre-flood and the 2tb greens were closer to $50. I think the invoice I posted a few weeks ago were 2tb greens @ $59.99 regularly priced and I thought that was steep at the time.
I must have missed the sales you got because my last two 2tb drives were $79 right before the floods. I never saw 3tb drop below $100. Either way, I don't think we'll see 3tb sub $100 prices again for a while.
stefuel's Avatar stefuel
08:24 PM Liked: 13
post #3336 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 5,887
Joined: Apr 2001
And my vote for the disc that requires the most manual labor to prep for processing,
Hancock.
pepar's Avatar pepar
08:42 PM Liked: 165
post #3337 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 25,157
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Newegg had the 2TB drives on sale recently for $80. I picked up one when I was getting some other things. But I was really hoping for some more 3TB drives on sale. I picked up half a doze in the SPring for $109 on sale at Newegg but I haven't seen them at that price recently.

Yeah, they keep trying to temp me with Hitachi or Seagate when I am only interested in the WD Green drives.

Jeff
pepar's Avatar pepar
08:49 PM Liked: 165
post #3338 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 25,157
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post

I must have missed the sales you got because my last two 2tb drives were $79 right before the floods. I never saw 3tb drop below $100. Either way, I don't think we'll see 3tb sub $100 prices again for a while.

Interesting that companies that did not lose production due to the flood raised their prices along with those who did. Instead of going for market share, they went mostly for margin expansion. I was dumbfounded; right in the midst of PCs moving to SSD, they raised their prices. Unfortunately, some of the buying public needed to keep on buying hard drives. If it would have been up to me, they all could have choked on their drives. Putting them where the sun don't shine would have been fine as well.

I am not in a rush to build a media server, so I wait.

Jeff
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
10:16 PM Liked: 846
post #3339 of 6847
07-06-2013 | Posts: 22,123
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Interesting that companies that did not lose production due to the flood raised their prices along with those who did. Instead of going for market share, they went mostly for margin expansion. I was dumbfounded; right in the midst of PCs moving to SSD, they raised their prices. Unfortunately, some of the buying public needed to keep on buying hard drives. If it would have been up to me, they all could have choked on their drives. Putting them where the sun don't shine would have been fine as well.

I am not in a rush to build a media server, so I wait.

Jeff

Because their margins were razor thin before the flood. I'm sure they made more money by selling less at a higher price than selling more at a low price.

I know I grabbed a couple dozen hard drives near pre flood prices so I could sell them at a nice profit.
comicguy's Avatar comicguy
01:34 AM Liked: 17
post #3340 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 458
Joined: Sep 2012
Less than two weeks ago I picked up 5 3tb wd drives from newegg for $79 each shipped. The deals are out there if you are willing to.look
pepar's Avatar pepar
06:05 AM Liked: 165
post #3341 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 25,157
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by comicguy View Post

Less than two weeks ago I picked up 5 3tb wd drives from newegg for $79 each shipped. The deals are out there if you are willing to.look

Green Green Green, WD Green. 5400rpm, Intellipower. There are NO deals. I HAVE looked and I continue to look.

Jeff
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
07:04 AM Liked: 846
post #3342 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 22,123
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by comicguy View Post

Less than two weeks ago I picked up 5 3tb wd drives from newegg for $79 each shipped. The deals are out there if you are willing to.look

eek.gif I must have missed that! I would have jumped on it.
djc11369's Avatar djc11369
08:00 AM Liked: 22
post #3343 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 494
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

eek.gif I must have missed that! I would have jumped on it.

Yes, comicguy needs to share his secret for finding these great deals. Just the other day he said he missed a deal on Newegg for an Asus router that I haven't seen much below $180 for $120 and I'd been watching it for awhile and checking daily at least a couple of times a day. Do these deals last 5 minutes and does he have some tracking app to find it at the right moment? Let us in on the secret smile.gif
Gary J's Avatar Gary J
08:23 AM Liked: 97
post #3344 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 7,659
Joined: Mar 2000
You mean you don't use Camelizer?
djc11369's Avatar djc11369
08:35 AM Liked: 22
post #3345 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 494
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

You mean you don't use Camelizer?

Nope, never heard of it until now but I will now. biggrin.gif

Just installed it and tried it out but something is still amiss. According to the add on the router I was referring to never fell below $179.99 so he/she must have been mistaken unless talking refurbs which the add on doesn't have info for.

By the way, thanks for the tip.
comicguy's Avatar comicguy
08:44 AM Liked: 17
post #3346 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 458
Joined: Sep 2012
The drives I picked up were external wd's but actually had 5400 green drives inside of them. It was a newegg purchase.
Funny enough the Asus router was an open box fro newegg as well.
I troll slick deals a lot.....
djc11369's Avatar djc11369
08:49 AM Liked: 22
post #3347 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 494
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by comicguy View Post

The drives I picked up were external wd's but actually had 5400 green drives inside of them. It was a newegg purchase.
Funny enough the Asus router was an open box fro newegg as well.
I troll slick deals a lot.....


Ahhh, that explains it. Thanks.
blipszyc's Avatar blipszyc
09:19 AM Liked: 37
post #3348 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 2,650
Joined: Aug 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by comicguy View Post

The drives I picked up were external wd's but actually had 5400 green drives inside of them.
I hope you have better luck than I did with those external drives. Purchased a couple 2tb externals a few years ago and had them both fail within the first 6 months or so. (about 20 days apart, so it wasn't a catastrophe) Since the enclosure wasn't supposed to be opened, no warranty for me. frown.gif I knew the risks at the time and had previous luck with other brands, but learned my lesson the hard way. Fortunately, I didn't lose any data thanks to WHS's duplication.
comicguy's Avatar comicguy
10:43 AM Liked: 17
post #3349 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 458
Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post

I hope you have better luck than I did with those external drives. Purchased a couple 2tb externals a few years ago and had them both fail within the first 6 months or so. (about 20 days apart, so it wasn't a catastrophe) Since the enclosure wasn't supposed to be opened, no warranty for me. frown.gif I knew the risks at the time and had previous luck with other brands, but learned my lesson the hard way. Fortunately, I didn't lose any data thanks to WHS's duplication.
I cracked them open ran a stress test on them. They seem to be fine and they show a valid warranty as a bare drive as well. That is an added bonus. I always purchase with my amex card as they add an extra year of warranty as well, so have that covered as well. Amex is absolutely fantastic about their extended warranty protection. In the last 10 years I have had, literally, thousands of dollars of credits to my amex card for failed electronics, and only.once was required to send anything in. And that was when.my stupid ass dropped a projector from the ladder I was on...
We all know that hard drives fail, it's just a matter of WHEN. As this is only for non critical blu Ray rips I only worry about price. The last time I bought a bunch of 3TB drives was back.in November 2012. Newegg and Amazon had Seagate 3Tb 7200 drives for $89. Those were retail boxed drives..
stefuel's Avatar stefuel
06:37 PM Liked: 13
post #3350 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 5,887
Joined: Apr 2001
Kinda stuck.....again.....not sure what I'm doing wrong here The hardware 80 GB HDD for the OS and other applications (drive C:) Then I have a raid 5 array (drive M:).
Used MakeMKV to rip 6 movies to a folder on drive M: called simply " MKV". I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit. I set the path to M:\\MKV.
I borrowed a WD media player to test the setup Windows Media player has two short sample videos that I can view on the WD player but I can't seem to find M:\\MKV at the player. I'm sure I'm missing something stupid here and I'm getting bug-eyed looking at it. This is my first time working with multiple drives, raid and Win 7. Can someone bail my a$$ out
/
mrfattbill's Avatar mrfattbill
06:55 PM Liked: 63
post #3351 of 6847
07-07-2013 | Posts: 832
Joined: Aug 2009
Make sure that the shared folder has "EVERYONE" listed in both the sharing (advanced sharing) AND the security settings.

Bill
DotJun's Avatar DotJun
12:08 AM Liked: 59
post #3352 of 6847
07-08-2013 | Posts: 975
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

Make sure that the shared folder has "EVERYONE" listed in both the sharing (advanced sharing) AND the security settings.

Bill
The Homegroup feature is pretty nice for those that don't need added security.
stefuel's Avatar stefuel
04:05 AM Liked: 13
post #3353 of 6847
07-08-2013 | Posts: 5,887
Joined: Apr 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

Make sure that the shared folder has "EVERYONE" listed in both the sharing (advanced sharing) AND the security settings.

Bill

Found it in advanced sharing bit not security settings. For some reason AVS search function is not working this AM.
Pyrophoric's Avatar Pyrophoric
01:43 PM Liked: 10
post #3354 of 6847
07-08-2013 | Posts: 279
Joined: Sep 2006
Wow, long thread to go through.

Would anyone mind terribly pointing me in a direction here? Would MakeMKV be the best for my situation or should I look at something else?

My goal is to rip/compress my Blu-Ray library, as quickly and easily as possible, to any format for storage on my NAS, with a file size below 10GB (720p OK for most, 1080p for some). I'll be using a WD TV Live for playback but can pursue alternatives if it would make a huge difference.

System:
- i7 950 oc to 3.69GHz
- 12GB DDR 3 Corsair Vengeance Ram (1600MHz, 9-9-9-24)
- 2x GTX 580 SLI w/GTS 450 (additional monitor/PhysX)
- 256 GB Crucial M4 SSD
- AnyDVD HD

-QNAP TS-459 Pro+ w/latest v3 firmware (haven't upgraded to v4 beta yet)

Thanks for any direction/help!! smile.gif
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
02:00 PM Liked: 386
post #3355 of 6847
07-08-2013 | Posts: 17,755
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrophoric View Post

Wow, long thread to go through.

Would anyone mind terribly pointing me in a direction here? Would MakeMKV be the best for my situation or should I look at something else?

My goal is to rip/compress my Blu-Ray library, as quickly and easily as possible, to any format for storage on my NAS, with a file size below 10GB (720p OK for most, 1080p for some). I'll be using a WD TV Live for playback but can pursue alternatives if it would make a huge difference.

System:
- i7 950 oc to 3.69GHz
- 12GB DDR 3 Corsair Vengeance Ram (1600MHz, 9-9-9-24)
- 2x GTX 580 SLI w/GTS 450 (additional monitor/PhysX)
- 256 GB Crucial M4 SSD
- AnyDVD HD

-QNAP TS-459 Pro+ w/latest v3 firmware (haven't upgraded to v4 beta yet)

Thanks for any direction/help!! smile.gif

You need two steps: (1) rip, (2) compress. MakeMKV does not compress.

HandBrake is free and compresses, but does not rip.

DVDFab is an all-in-one solution, but is not free.

AnyDVD HD rips. You can compress the results from it or MakeMKV with HandBrake.

-Bill
Pyrophoric's Avatar Pyrophoric
04:46 PM Liked: 10
post #3356 of 6847
07-08-2013 | Posts: 279
Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

You need two steps: (1) rip, (2) compress. MakeMKV does not compress.

HandBrake is free and compresses, but does not rip.

DVDFab is an all-in-one solution, but is not free.

AnyDVD HD rips. You can compress the results from it or MakeMKV with HandBrake.

-Bill

Would you say DVDFab is faster than the other two options?
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
04:52 PM Liked: 386
post #3357 of 6847
07-08-2013 | Posts: 17,755
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrophoric View Post

Would you say DVDFab is faster than the other two options?

No, probably not. Compression is the resource-intensive task and the different utilities are doing much the same work.

Speed is also determined by parameters you choose. Higher quality = bigger files = longer processing.

I use DVDFab for decoding and HandBrake for compression. I like HandBrake; it's great for batch jobs.

-Bill
fritzi93's Avatar fritzi93
06:04 PM Liked: 39
post #3358 of 6847
07-08-2013 | Posts: 428
Joined: Dec 2007
DVDFab is fine for decrypting/ripping, not so good for encoding.

The most important thing about Handbrake is that it uses the x264 encoder. Ripbot and BDRebuilder are two more that use it. Personally, I use BDRebuilder for backup to BD25, and Ripbot for encoding MKVs.

Here's one way to approach this:

Insert original BD, run AnyDVDHD in the background and open Ripbot. Navigate to the STREAM folder on the BD and click on any m2ts file. Ripbot will automatically choose the largest titleset, and list the next largest couple titlesets, so you can select a different one if necessary. Allow Ripbot to analyze and demux the main movie to the Ripbot working folder you specified in the INI file. (BTW, you're decrypting and demuxing in one go here, skipping a separate step to rip the disc).

Ripbot will identify any forced subtitles if present. Hit properties of the video stream and select subtitles -> build in picture. If there are any you can hardcode the forced subtitles if you want. Or, for that matter, any subtitle stream.

As to encoding, you can encode to target size, or use quality-based encoding, which has many advantages. Once you settle on a quality level that's adequate for you and your display, you can use that setting and be assured you're not over-compressing or under-compressing. Movies vary greatly as to "compressibility". Clean animation can be re-encoded to a far smaller file size without apparent loss of quality, than can a grainy, noisy source.

In Ripbot, quality levels are expressed as CRF levels. 20 is a good starting point to begin testing, and should be good enough for most people. You can drop down to 19, 18, etc. if you need higher quality. File size will be unpredictable, but you still realize substantial space saving until you get down to about CRF16. You can vary the speed of the encoding process by selecting a different profile: e.g. placebo, slowest, slow, default, fast, faster, superfast, ultrafast. The faster the preset, the larger the output file for the same CRF setting. BTW, quality based encoding is one-pass rather than the usual two-pass for encoding to target size.

Choose an audio option, specify where to output the file, give it a name, and start the encode.

Lots of other ways to do this though. Good luck.
DotJun's Avatar DotJun
11:54 PM Liked: 59
post #3359 of 6847
07-08-2013 | Posts: 975
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrophoric View Post

Wow, long thread to go through.

Would anyone mind terribly pointing me in a direction here? Would MakeMKV be the best for my situation or should I look at something else?

My goal is to rip/compress my Blu-Ray library, as quickly and easily as possible, to any format for storage on my NAS, with a file size below 10GB (720p OK for most, 1080p for some). I'll be using a WD TV Live for playback but can pursue alternatives if it would make a huge difference.

System:
- i7 950 oc to 3.69GHz
- 12GB DDR 3 Corsair Vengeance Ram (1600MHz, 9-9-9-24)
- 2x GTX 580 SLI w/GTS 450 (additional monitor/PhysX)
- 256 GB Crucial M4 SSD
- AnyDVD HD

-QNAP TS-459 Pro+ w/latest v3 firmware (haven't upgraded to v4 beta yet)

Thanks for any direction/help!! smile.gif
Rip with anydvdhd then compress using handbrake if you want the easiest route. If you want finer control then use megui or cli.

My suggestion to you though, since you asked for easy, use handbrake with a device profile (I do not know the dxva parameters for your WD TV live) compatible with your player. Tell it to use x264 preset slow with tuning set to film and crf of 20 to start. You'll probably also want to resize to 720 seeing as most blurays don't use the full 1080 resolution, but that's up to you. If working with DVD content I suggest crf 18 or lower.

The slower settings will improve quality and compression. Lowering the crf will improve quality but will normally make the file size larger.
LastButNotLeast's Avatar LastButNotLeast
06:38 AM Liked: 293
post #3360 of 6847
07-09-2013 | Posts: 4,881
Joined: Feb 2007

Excellent review of handbrake's quality options by renethx:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1471737/guide-for-adding-back-in-subtitles-to-bluray-mkvs-that-have-been-through-handbrake#post_23313507


Tags: Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player

Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3