Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 130 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 551Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2013, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Here is your subs exported showing up on my MKV track...



And my original sub track on my MKV video track...

Killroy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2013, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

What version of BDSup2Sub are you using? Mine is blank and I get WARNING: Problems during RLE decoding of picture OBJ at offset 0x003e1c0e when viewing the blank frames.

Version 4.0.0
Killroy is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Version 4.0.0

That's it... it's the damn version. BDSup2Sub 5.0.0 and earlier work perfectly. 5.1.0, 5.1.1 and the ++ version are all broken. Thanks for the help guys. I'm going to e-mail the developer this info.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
That's why I don't upgrade apps unless there is something broken.
Killroy is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 05:43 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Just checked and mine is 4.0.0; it is the one that came in the Clown BD "package."

It will be interesting to see what's up with the ++ versions ...

Jeff
pepar is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 05:48 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 282
I loaded itznfb's Avatar subs and got this. Did I do something wrong?

pepar is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

I'm still struggling with this Avatar forced subs rip. Has anyone ripped Avatar successfully while maintaining forced subs only with the original Na'vi font? If so, how did you do it? The closest I've come is MakeMKV which at first I though ripped them correctly. However upon second look it actually ripped a time frame of where the Na'vi subs appear. So there are subtitles that show up saying (Speaking Na'vi). The mkv I have re-encoded with Handbrake and burned in forced subs works perfect but I'd like to figure out the process for doing this manually.
I have the .srt if you are interested. I extracted them myself with eac3to then processed the forced stuff with suprip.
DotJun is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

I loaded itznfb's Avatar subs and got this. Did I do something wrong?


That's normal. Certain timings and graphics give the app the fritz.
Killroy is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ogbuehi View Post

I am new to this so please forgive my questions if they seem noobish. I have a collection o f BR’s I would like to transfer to a HDD. I would like to be able to play the files with iTunes (mp4 if possible). But I’ll settle if the file will be playable by VLC or Cyberlink. I don’t need any of the menus or any of the extras. I’ve perused the thread but it’s fairly large at this point. From what I have been able to gather, I need a combination of software; AnyDVD and ClownBD? I’m getting a PC built by Origin to handle the horsepower, so if you have any advice on spec’s of the hardware, that would be appreciated as well. Thanks in advance.
1. Start anydvdhd
2. Start tsmuxer
3. Select your bd drive and then the correct mpls or m2ts file (usually the largest m2ts file)
4. Select what tracks you want to keep and choose either ts or m2ts for output type then hit start.
DotJun is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevans64 View Post

If you want to ruin the PQ/AQ of your movie, then you will need something like Handbrake.

*sigh*
DotJun is offline  
Old 08-21-2013, 07:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

That's why I don't upgrade apps unless there is something broken.

I'm never upgrading anything ever again. biggrin.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Just checked and mine is 4.0.0; it is the one that came in the Clown BD "package."

It will be interesting to see what's up with the ++ versions ...

Jeff

I think the ++ are a fork of the original BDSup2Sub but they seem pretty buggy. The ones I was using kept freezing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post

I have the .srt if you are interested. I extracted them myself with eac3to then processed the forced stuff with suprip.

Thanks but once I downgraded my BDSup2Sub version it's been working great.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post

*sigh*

indeed

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Here is another question for the Clown_BD and mkvmerge group. How do you process LPCM audio? It appears tsMuxer may be capable of this and then remux via ffmpeg? Though I can't find anything in Clown_BD that allows you to save the original LPCM file. It seems to always convert it automatically. mkvmerge will officially never support LPCM according to the author.

I wonder what MakeMKV uses to mux LPCM since it seems to have no issue. I'm guessing ffmpeg?

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 134
When using makemkv, is there a way to get it to change the order of the soundtracks?

I'ld like to keep the lossless track, the lossy track, and a PCM track but I'd like the order to be lossy, PCM then lossless as I have several devices that can't play the lossless track and I don't want the kids to have to fiddle with it.
artur9 is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post

When using makemkv, is there a way to get it to change the order of the soundtracks?

I'ld like to keep the lossless track, the lossy track, and a PCM track but I'd like the order to be lossy, PCM then lossless as I have several devices that can't play the lossless track and I don't want the kids to have to fiddle with it.

I've never used the feature but here's a post from author: http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4566

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

I've never used the feature but here's a post from author: http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4566

Wow! Thanks, I already have a profile for my device so this should be easy.
artur9 is offline  
Old 08-24-2013, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

I've never used the feature but here's a post from author: http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4566

Worked great! I just went the my device's profile and adjusted the track weights. Now, a question about replacing the subtitles.

Right now I'm using this command to remove existing subtitles and adding a new one. Is it necessary to include the .sub or is using the .idx enough?

mkvmerge -S -o Big_Trouble_In_Little_China_t00.mkv Big_Trouble_In_Little_China_t00.mkv.old x17577.sub x17577.idx
artur9 is offline  
Old 08-24-2013, 03:41 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,585
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1580 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post

Worked great! I just went the my device's profile and adjusted the track weights. Now, a question about replacing the subtitles.

Right now I'm using this command to remove existing subtitles and adding a new one. Is it necessary to include the .sub or is using the .idx enough?

mkvmerge -S -o Big_Trouble_In_Little_China_t00.mkv Big_Trouble_In_Little_China_t00.mkv.old x17577.sub x17577.idx

Either way. If you just specify the .idx mkvmerge is smart enough to find the .sub.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 08-24-2013, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

Here is another question for the Clown_BD and mkvmerge group. How do you process LPCM audio? It appears tsMuxer may be capable of this and then remux via ffmpeg? Though I can't find anything in Clown_BD that allows you to save the original LPCM file. It seems to always convert it automatically. mkvmerge will officially never support LPCM according to the author.

I wonder what MakeMKV uses to mux LPCM since it seems to have no issue. I'm guessing ffmpeg?
I'm guessing eac3to? Honestly I dont know smile.gif I usually convert PCM to flac.
DotJun is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 01:41 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Is MediaInfo the preferred app to analyze .m2ts and report audio and video specs?

Jeff
pepar is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 01:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,194
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Is MediaInfo the preferred app to analyze .m2ts and report audio and video specs?

Jeff
I don't know about preferred, but it gives a full suite of information.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 02:37 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

I don't know about preferred, but it gives a full suite of information.
Thanks!
pepar is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 04:35 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Using Clown BD and converting some ISOs into M2TS, I noticed Se7en's DTS-HD MA being listed as "7.1 (strange setup)." Googling that gets me to, among other places, Doom9's eac3to forum/thread and something about "strange setups" not mapping correctly. I haven't watched the movie for a while, maybe never from the 7.1 Blu-ray, so I have no experience with incorrect mappings.

Anybody know anything about this? Perhaps I did something wrong when I originally ripped the BD and I should go back and redo it?

Jeff
pepar is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Using Clown BD and converting some ISOs into M2TS, I noticed Se7en's DTS-HD MA being listed as "7.1 (strange setup)." Googling that gets me to, among other places, Doom9's eac3to forum/thread and something about "strange setups" not mapping correctly. I haven't watched the movie for a while, maybe never from the 7.1 Blu-ray, so I have no experience with incorrect mappings.

Anybody know anything about this? Perhaps I did something wrong when I originally ripped the BD and I should go back and redo it?

Jeff

Don't worry about it. The worst that will happen is that the center channel audio seems a little lower or the over all audio is about 10-15% lower than non-strange-setup 7.1.
Killroy is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 317 Post(s)
Liked: 184
lol And that's acceptable? I still don't get why people spend any time on this 3rd party crap.
Gary J is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

lol And that's acceptable? I still don't get why people spend any time on this 3rd party crap.
Try tsmuxer.
DotJun is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 05:44 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post

Try tsmuxer.

Don't feed the ...
DotJun likes this.
pepar is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 05:45 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Don't worry about it. The worst that will happen is that the center channel audio seems a little lower or the over all audio is about 10-15% lower than non-strange-setup 7.1.

The Doom9 thread said something about surrounds/rear surrounds not mapping correctly. I'll re-read the posts ... and then pop the disc in and check how it sounds.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

The Doom9 thread said something about surrounds/rear surrounds not mapping correctly. I'll re-read the posts ... and then pop the disc in and check how it sounds.

Jeff

I've tested that bug and I was never ever able to re-produce it. I am able to reproduce the 7.1 FLAC bug in the Dunes that swap the rear-surrounds with the surrounds. But that is a bug in the Dunes not eac3to. The fix was actually quite easy and ingenious on my part...but that's for another thread.
Killroy is offline  
Old 08-26-2013, 06:00 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,579
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

I've tested that bug and I was never ever able to re-produce it. I am able to reproduce the 7.1 FLAC bug in the Dunes that swap the rear-surrounds with the surrounds. But that is a bug in the Dunes not eac3to. The fix was actually quite easy and ingenious on my part...but that's for another thread.

Maybe DTS decoders remap on the fly? If eac3to can tell it's "strange" so could the decoders.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
Old 08-29-2013, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
GPBURNS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 210
I am wanting to rip my Dark Knight movies to a constant 2:35 aspect Ratio - basically looking to crop the IMAX screens - I have a CIH setup.
just wondering if anybody has done this and what software you have used. Thanks

15400 Watts of Seaton Power -Quad SubMersived
GPBURNS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
3d blu-ray , blu ray , copier , Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player , home cinema , ripper
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off