post #4141 of 6489 Old 10-21-2013, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan J View Post

If I'm not in the correct forum, Please inform which forum would be preferred....

I have a BluRay and DVD copying question.... With specific needs.

I make my own BluRay and DVD videos..
I don't bother copy protecting them because I don't want to be bothered by it... Simple as that... If client wants to copy it--fine by me!
So, I create my own media, and when I get done with a project I have a Master Disc... That has been viewed as good and 'approved'..
I then want to take this master and make copies of it for the person....

I'm trying to save money on media cost.... DVD's are not an issue, they are cheap enough that media cost is not an issue, So I use DVD-R for everything DVD related...My dilemma is with BluRay: To save media costs while revisions are being made.... I use BD-RE (Erasable) Blu Ray Media, so I can re-use the BR media, until I get a finished project, a "Master Disc".

However... When I make copies, I'd like to use BD-R (Non-Eraseable) media because it is less expensive than BD-RE.

I don't want to have to go through Authoring a BD-R Disc, because of the time to Render, Burn, and Verify media, when I already had a 'good' Master disc that was verified and 'approved'.

I have tried 3 different programs, and each of them will Read and Write to same media, but on Read of BD-RE and Write to BD-R media it does a test write to the BD-R disc (rendering it un-useable for anything else) and then it rejects it and asks for more media...

I've tried 3 programs, and they all destroy BD-R media on write from a BD-RE 'read'......

Therefore.... I'm looking for a BluRay & DVD copy program that will allow me to Read a BR-RE disc, and write to a BD-R disc....