Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 202 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6031 of 6716 Old 06-17-2014, 07:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
If you play em on a BD player, just make a BD9 @ 1080p and put that on a DVD with Imgburn. It'll play on a BD player, all you need is a DVD9 to burn it to, and it still looks and sounds good. You could also go cheaper and do BD5 @ 720p and get decent results as well.
Yikes...compressing a ~45GB movie down to 8GB to fit on a DVD-9? That would look terrible on my 100" screen.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6032 of 6716 Old 06-17-2014, 07:26 PM
Member
 
hogger129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Dark Side Of The Moon
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Yikes...compressing a ~45GB movie down to 8GB to fit on a DVD-9? That would look terrible on my 100" screen.
Try it and see what you think.
hogger129 is offline  
post #6033 of 6716 Old 06-17-2014, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
People are actually still burning to disc?

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #6034 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
Try it and see what you think.
On my 100" I can tell you if it is bit-for-bit or mkv almost every time.
fatherom and guffman like this.
Gary J is offline  
post #6035 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
If you play em on a BD player, just make a BD9 @ 1080p and put that on a DVD with Imgburn. It'll play on a BD player, all you need is a DVD9 to burn it to, and it still looks and sounds good. You could also go cheaper and do BD5 @ 720p and get decent results as well.
It works and this was great when BD was first out and everything was expensive, but there is really no reason for that today. BD media and burners are cheap.

The dvd media is really being pushed to the limit when used for the cheap man's blu ray, and the bd player must use the red laser to play this media which means more heat.
bigbarney is offline  
post #6036 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
For me, it's full ISOs all the way. Why sacrifice quality when I don't have to.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #6037 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
Try it and see what you think.
I made tons of these when BD and HD DVD first came out. The difference is pretty easy to spot. You also have to downgrade the audio something awful to maximize room for the video.
bigbarney is offline  
post #6038 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 05:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 790 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
If you play em on a BD player, just make a BD9 @ 1080p and put that on a DVD with Imgburn. It'll play on a BD player, all you need is a DVD9 to burn it to, and it still looks and sounds good. You could also go cheaper and do BD5 @ 720p and get decent results as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Yikes...compressing a ~45GB movie down to 8GB to fit on a DVD-9? That would look terrible on my 100" screen.
It looks terrible even on a 40" screen.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #6039 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 05:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
On my 100" I can tell you if it is bit-for-bit or mkv almost every time.
The two are not mutually exclusive. The software apps that package the streams into MKV containers don't automatically re-encode or otherwise tamper with the primary AV streams. They can be exactly the same as they appear on the original BD in the .m2ts container.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; 06-18-2014 at 05:52 AM. Reason: spelling error
Kelson is offline  
post #6040 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It looks terrible even on a 40" screen.
I remember back in 2003 (or so) creating 3 SVCDs (burned on CD-Rs) for movies. Now THAT was quality.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #6041 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 05:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
If you play em on a BD player, just make a BD9 @ 1080p and put that on a DVD with Imgburn. It'll play on a BD player, all you need is a DVD9 to burn it to, and it still looks and sounds good. You could also go cheaper and do BD5 @ 720p and get decent results as well.
LOL, well it has been a couple months since the last "let's compress them BluRays" debate which goes nowhere. Might as well kick off the next one with a provocatively outrageous claim like this one.

Let the posturing begin.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6042 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
LOL, well it has been a couple months since the last "let's compress them BluRays" debate which goes nowhere. Might as well kick off the next one with a provocatively outrageous claim like this one.

Let the posturing begin.
Yeah, maybe it's best just to ignore people when they claim stuff like this.

You want a ridiculous debate...go to the "Mastered in 4K blu-ray" thread where a guy claims that scanning Ghostbusters at 4K can't do any good, because you're watching it on a 1080p display. Then he says "And ghostbusters was shot on FILM...you can't get digital from analog!".

My head hurts.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #6043 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
The two are not mutually exclusive. The software apps that package the streams into MKV containers don't automatically re-encode or otherwise tamper with the primary AV streams. They can be exactly the same as they appear on the original BD in the .m2ts container.
My mistake. I thought that much went without saying.
Gary J is offline  
post #6044 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 1,753
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
I'm about to embark on the ripping of about 450 blu-ray discs, totalling around 16 TB. Before I start the process, I want to keep an open mind and make sure I know how I want to rip (AnyDVD, ImgBurn, various settings, etc) before I start.

I will most likely strip copy protection using AnyDVD and rip full ISOs. Since my Oppo and Dune can play ISOs with full menu support and I want to save time, this is the best option for me. But, as I mentioned, before I start ripping 100s of discs, I just want to consider all the variables.
Personally, I prefer to create 1:1 back-ups of the 'main movie' section of my disc's. Along with the audio and subtitle tracks I require and the chapters.

I don't see the point of backing up loads of audio and subtitle tracks I don't need. And having menus that navigate to other useless stuff... I just want to access and watch 'the movie' with as little fuss as possible

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 06-18-2014 at 11:12 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #6045 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,311
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Personally, I prefer to create 1:1 back-ups of the 'main movie' section of my disc's. Along with the audio and subtitle tracks I require and the chapters.

I don't see the point of backing up loads of audio and subtitle tracks I don't need. And having menus that navigate to other useless stuff... I just want to access and watch 'the movie' with as little fuss as possible
Same here. I rip the main title, the HD audio track and the main subtitle track. The size of the resulting BD.m2ts file varies widely from movie to movie -- in my collection I go from 16GB to 40GB. The external storage on my server is built around 3TB drives and I average 105-109 titles/drive. So I would expect his 450 titles to fit in a little more than 12 TB of disk space.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6046 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 12:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Same here. I rip the main title, the HD audio track and the main subtitle track. The size of the resulting BD.m2ts file varies widely from movie to movie -- in my collection I go from 16GB to 40GB. The external storage on my server is built around 3TB drives and I average 105-109 titles/drive. So I would expect his 450 titles to fit in a little more than 12 TB of disk space.
Yeah, I hear what you guys are saying.

I'm a bit of an archivist/completist, so I'm being insane and ripping the full disc, partially to have a backup of everything in case the disc fails, as it's currently my only copy.

I've only just started, but I've ripped 27 disc ISOs so far, totalling 948GB. That's about 35GB per ISO, on average. My current estimate puts me at around 16TB for my blu-ray collection. I'm also ripping the extras discs and such.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #6047 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 12:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 790 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post


.............................I'm about to embark on the ripping of about 450 blu-ray discs, totalling around 16 TB. ................
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Yeah, I hear what you guys are saying.

I'm a bit of an archivist/completist, so I'm being insane and ripping the full disc, partially to have a backup of everything in case the disc fails, as it's currently my only copy.

I've only just started, but I've ripped 27 disc ISOs so far, totalling 948GB. That's about 35GB per ISO, on average. My current estimate puts me at around 16TB for my blu-ray collection. I'm also ripping the extras discs and such.
I do full BD ISO rips 99% of time. My average ISO file size has pretty consistently been around 31GB. It was around there at 1000 rips and was still around there at 1500 rips.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme


Last edited by aaronwt; 06-18-2014 at 12:52 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #6048 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 1,753
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
... to have a backup of everything in case the disc fails, as it's currently my only copy.
Hmmm...

I dare say that if your original Blu-ray disc's are stored correctly they will out live your HDD's. Indeed, for greater security you should keep your movie back-ups on multiple HDD's
Boxozaxu likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #6049 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Hmmm...

I dare say that if your original Blu-ray disc's are stored correctly they will out live your HDD's. Indeed, for greater security you should keep your movie back-ups on multiple HDD's
Yep. For sure.

Don't worry about me. I've been doing data archiving since my Commodore 64 days, and have never lost anything. I keep doubly (sometimes triply) redundant backups of anything, and I keep offsite copies.

But with blu-rays, I am using some common sense too. If I have a rip of a common movie and the drive dies, I re-rip it. No biggie. If the disc is bad, if it's a common movie, I'll just get it again.

Some of this is for the convenience of having all my audio and video media on a single 32TB array.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #6050 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
32TB array.
I wonder how many viewing hours this represents not to mention time and expense.

Just glad it's not me.
Gary J is offline  
post #6051 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
I wonder how many viewing hours this represents not to mention time and expense.

Just glad it's not me.
Last time I checked, this IS my primary hobby.
ellisr63 likes this.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #6052 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 94
It better be!!
fatherom likes this.
Gary J is offline  
post #6053 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
antisuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quick question about subtitles, sorry if it's been addressed and I missed it.

With forced subtitle flags seeming to be less than 100% reliable in blu-ray discs, is there a better practice than "watch the whole movie and see if there is any foreign dialog" to determine whether any of the sometimes multiple subtitle tracks need to be included in a rip and flagged as forced for optimum viewing experience? A welcome resource would be one that, for each English language movie, indicates whether there should be forced subs and approximately where they are first displayed for quick checking. Is there anything like that, or some other resource somewhere that could be used to at least check and see if forced subs are needed at all?

I am using makemkv to create feature-only files, mkvmerge gui to manipulate tracks as needed, and viewing with XBMC.

Thanks for looking.
antisuck is online now  
post #6054 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by antisuck View Post
With forced subtitle flags seeming to be less than 100% reliable in blu-ray discs, is there a better practice than "watch the whole movie and see if there is any foreign dialog" to determine whether any of the sometimes multiple subtitle tracks need to be included in a rip and flagged as forced for optimum viewing experience? A welcome resource would be one that, for each English language movie, indicates whether there should be forced subs and approximately where they are first displayed for quick checking. Is there anything like that, or some other resource somewhere that could be used to at least check and see if forced subs are needed at all?
See this thread, which has links to a couple of Google spreadsheets that maintain a list of discs with forced subs.

Since even that is not 100% reliable, I extract all English subs and manually look through each of them as part of my ripping process.
ScottJ is offline  
post #6055 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I am having trouble with forced subs on Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit. The subtitles are displayed too quickly. How can I adjust the speed and duration of the subtitles? I ripped the Blu-ray to mkv. The playback issue is present in VLC (mkv) and also with the forced subs burned using Handbrake (m4v).
shortcut3d is offline  
post #6056 of 6716 Old 06-18-2014, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post
but there is really no reason for that today. BD media and burners are cheap.
Actually with cheap media players and HDDs, there's no reason today to burn to BD.


Quote:
Originally Posted by antisuck View Post
is there a better practice than "watch the whole movie and see if there is any foreign dialog" to determine whether any of the sometimes multiple subtitle tracks need to be included in a rip and flagged as forced for optimum viewing experience?
There's no alternative to parsing the entire disc since some items at the end of the movie could be flagged.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #6057 of 6716 Old 06-19-2014, 03:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post
Sure... why stop now at pulling rubbish out of the air

You're grasping at straws and making wild (unsubstantiated) guesses. Compressing takes very little time... (relatively speaking) and they only have to compress ONCE on the master. There is also virtually no difference in the price of 25 and 50 gig discs at the commercial level.

The animated movie "Cars" took 11.5 hours to render a SINGLE frame (there are something on the order of (100 minute long film, 24 frames per second), 1,656,000 frames). In order to avoid about 189 years worth of rendering they used MANY machines. In fact a total of 12,500 cores.
There are better ways to save money than nickel and diming on something pretty minor as compression.

To top the whole thing off, the price of the media is simply passed off to the consumer anyway.

Do you have any proof of what you are suggesting?
Telling me that using render farms to render out whole scenes is not a good analogy. You would have been better off saying that you paid extra for the animator to make a scene use x amount of frames less while looking as smooth as it did with more.

I don't understand why it's so hard for you to grasp that most people aren't going to do extra work for nothing (look at Microsoft code). I never once said anything about the time it takes to press a disc. What I said was the amount of time you are paying someone for their skills to determine where and how much to compress by.

We did the same type of practices when making video games back in the day. Have 600 Meg's of space to work with? To hell with waiting for this file to compress before I go home for the day, set it on fast since we have space to burn.

One last thing. You can keep going on about how I'm just making things up until I prove it to you. How exactly do you want that to happen, take a trip with me to sony pictures? As I've asked before, why does one disc get 2 episodes while another gets 13?

Last edited by DotJun; 06-19-2014 at 03:45 AM.
DotJun is offline  
post #6058 of 6716 Old 06-19-2014, 03:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Hmmm...

I dare say that if your original Blu-ray disc's are stored correctly they will out live your HDD's. Indeed, for greater security you should keep your movie back-ups on multiple HDD's
Lots of info out there stating that cheap discs last somewhere between 5-10 years before the glue that binds them start to come apart.

All I know is I have some cd's older than that which were kept in my car for a large amount of their lives and they are still functioning 😊

Btw, I do keep my backups on hdd. When they fill up I put them in static free containers and take them offsite. Every two years I spin them up and do a checksum.
DotJun is offline  
post #6059 of 6716 Old 06-19-2014, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
antisuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
See this thread, which has links to a couple of Google spreadsheets that maintain a list of discs with forced subs.

Since even that is not 100% reliable, I extract all English subs and manually look through each of them as part of my ripping process.
Thanks Scott.
antisuck is online now  
post #6060 of 6716 Old 06-19-2014, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I'm looking for assistance and haven't been able to find any so far. I recently ripped Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit with subtitles for the Russian speaking parts. The trouble is the subtitles are displayed to quickly. How can I adjust the duration in the mkv or when I encode with Handbrake?
shortcut3d is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off