Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 202 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > Ripping Blu-Rays II

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

fatherom's Avatar fatherom
08:07 PM Liked: 32
post #6031 of 6809
06-17-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
If you play em on a BD player, just make a BD9 @ 1080p and put that on a DVD with Imgburn. It'll play on a BD player, all you need is a DVD9 to burn it to, and it still looks and sounds good. You could also go cheaper and do BD5 @ 720p and get decent results as well.
Yikes...compressing a ~45GB movie down to 8GB to fit on a DVD-9? That would look terrible on my 100" screen.
hogger129's Avatar hogger129
08:26 PM Liked: 38
post #6032 of 6809
06-17-2014 | Posts: 194
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Yikes...compressing a ~45GB movie down to 8GB to fit on a DVD-9? That would look terrible on my 100" screen.
Try it and see what you think.
techflaws's Avatar techflaws
11:06 PM Liked: 28
post #6033 of 6809
06-17-2014 | Posts: 1,039
Joined: Oct 2008
People are actually still burning to disc?
Gary J's Avatar Gary J
04:59 AM Liked: 97
post #6034 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 7,651
Joined: Mar 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
Try it and see what you think.
On my 100" I can tell you if it is bit-for-bit or mkv almost every time.
bigbarney's Avatar bigbarney
06:25 AM Liked: 56
post #6035 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 2,613
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
If you play em on a BD player, just make a BD9 @ 1080p and put that on a DVD with Imgburn. It'll play on a BD player, all you need is a DVD9 to burn it to, and it still looks and sounds good. You could also go cheaper and do BD5 @ 720p and get decent results as well.
It works and this was great when BD was first out and everything was expensive, but there is really no reason for that today. BD media and burners are cheap.

The dvd media is really being pushed to the limit when used for the cheap man's blu ray, and the bd player must use the red laser to play this media which means more heat.
fatherom's Avatar fatherom
06:27 AM Liked: 32
post #6036 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Apr 2004
For me, it's full ISOs all the way. Why sacrifice quality when I don't have to.
bigbarney's Avatar bigbarney
06:27 AM Liked: 56
post #6037 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 2,613
Joined: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
Try it and see what you think.
I made tons of these when BD and HD DVD first came out. The difference is pretty easy to spot. You also have to downgrade the audio something awful to maximize room for the video.
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
06:44 AM Liked: 833
post #6038 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 22,060
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
If you play em on a BD player, just make a BD9 @ 1080p and put that on a DVD with Imgburn. It'll play on a BD player, all you need is a DVD9 to burn it to, and it still looks and sounds good. You could also go cheaper and do BD5 @ 720p and get decent results as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Yikes...compressing a ~45GB movie down to 8GB to fit on a DVD-9? That would look terrible on my 100" screen.
It looks terrible even on a 40" screen.
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
06:45 AM Liked: 465
post #6039 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 10,469
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
On my 100" I can tell you if it is bit-for-bit or mkv almost every time.
The two are not mutually exclusive. The software apps that package the streams into MKV containers don't automatically re-encode or otherwise tamper with the primary AV streams. They can be exactly the same as they appear on the original BD in the .m2ts container.
fatherom's Avatar fatherom
06:46 AM Liked: 32
post #6040 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It looks terrible even on a 40" screen.
I remember back in 2003 (or so) creating 3 SVCDs (burned on CD-Rs) for movies. Now THAT was quality.
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
06:50 AM Liked: 465
post #6041 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 10,469
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
If you play em on a BD player, just make a BD9 @ 1080p and put that on a DVD with Imgburn. It'll play on a BD player, all you need is a DVD9 to burn it to, and it still looks and sounds good. You could also go cheaper and do BD5 @ 720p and get decent results as well.
LOL, well it has been a couple months since the last "let's compress them BluRays" debate which goes nowhere. Might as well kick off the next one with a provocatively outrageous claim like this one.

Let the posturing begin.
fatherom's Avatar fatherom
06:53 AM Liked: 32
post #6042 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
LOL, well it has been a couple months since the last "let's compress them BluRays" debate which goes nowhere. Might as well kick off the next one with a provocatively outrageous claim like this one.

Let the posturing begin.
Yeah, maybe it's best just to ignore people when they claim stuff like this.

You want a ridiculous debate...go to the "Mastered in 4K blu-ray" thread where a guy claims that scanning Ghostbusters at 4K can't do any good, because you're watching it on a 1080p display. Then he says "And ghostbusters was shot on FILM...you can't get digital from analog!".

My head hurts.
Gary J's Avatar Gary J
08:24 AM Liked: 97
post #6043 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 7,651
Joined: Mar 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
The two are not mutually exclusive. The software apps that package the streams into MKV containers don't automatically re-encode or otherwise tamper with the primary AV streams. They can be exactly the same as they appear on the original BD in the .m2ts container.
My mistake. I thought that much went without saying.
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar SeeMoreDigital
12:07 PM Liked: 71
post #6044 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 1,819
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
I'm about to embark on the ripping of about 450 blu-ray discs, totalling around 16 TB. Before I start the process, I want to keep an open mind and make sure I know how I want to rip (AnyDVD, ImgBurn, various settings, etc) before I start.

I will most likely strip copy protection using AnyDVD and rip full ISOs. Since my Oppo and Dune can play ISOs with full menu support and I want to save time, this is the best option for me. But, as I mentioned, before I start ripping 100s of discs, I just want to consider all the variables.
Personally, I prefer to create 1:1 back-ups of the 'main movie' section of my disc's. Along with the audio and subtitle tracks I require and the chapters.

I don't see the point of backing up loads of audio and subtitle tracks I don't need. And having menus that navigate to other useless stuff... I just want to access and watch 'the movie' with as little fuss as possible
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
01:30 PM Liked: 465
post #6045 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 10,469
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Personally, I prefer to create 1:1 back-ups of the 'main movie' section of my disc's. Along with the audio and subtitle tracks I require and the chapters.

I don't see the point of backing up loads of audio and subtitle tracks I don't need. And having menus that navigate to other useless stuff... I just want to access and watch 'the movie' with as little fuss as possible
Same here. I rip the main title, the HD audio track and the main subtitle track. The size of the resulting BD.m2ts file varies widely from movie to movie -- in my collection I go from 16GB to 40GB. The external storage on my server is built around 3TB drives and I average 105-109 titles/drive. So I would expect his 450 titles to fit in a little more than 12 TB of disk space.
fatherom's Avatar fatherom
01:45 PM Liked: 32
post #6046 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Same here. I rip the main title, the HD audio track and the main subtitle track. The size of the resulting BD.m2ts file varies widely from movie to movie -- in my collection I go from 16GB to 40GB. The external storage on my server is built around 3TB drives and I average 105-109 titles/drive. So I would expect his 450 titles to fit in a little more than 12 TB of disk space.
Yeah, I hear what you guys are saying.

I'm a bit of an archivist/completist, so I'm being insane and ripping the full disc, partially to have a backup of everything in case the disc fails, as it's currently my only copy.

I've only just started, but I've ripped 27 disc ISOs so far, totalling 948GB. That's about 35GB per ISO, on average. My current estimate puts me at around 16TB for my blu-ray collection. I'm also ripping the extras discs and such.
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
01:46 PM Liked: 833
post #6047 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 22,060
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post


.............................I'm about to embark on the ripping of about 450 blu-ray discs, totalling around 16 TB. ................
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Yeah, I hear what you guys are saying.

I'm a bit of an archivist/completist, so I'm being insane and ripping the full disc, partially to have a backup of everything in case the disc fails, as it's currently my only copy.

I've only just started, but I've ripped 27 disc ISOs so far, totalling 948GB. That's about 35GB per ISO, on average. My current estimate puts me at around 16TB for my blu-ray collection. I'm also ripping the extras discs and such.
I do full BD ISO rips 99% of time. My average ISO file size has pretty consistently been around 31GB. It was around there at 1000 rips and was still around there at 1500 rips.
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar SeeMoreDigital
02:18 PM Liked: 71
post #6048 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 1,819
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
... to have a backup of everything in case the disc fails, as it's currently my only copy.
Hmmm...

I dare say that if your original Blu-ray disc's are stored correctly they will out live your HDD's. Indeed, for greater security you should keep your movie back-ups on multiple HDD's
fatherom's Avatar fatherom
02:46 PM Liked: 32
post #6049 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Hmmm...

I dare say that if your original Blu-ray disc's are stored correctly they will out live your HDD's. Indeed, for greater security you should keep your movie back-ups on multiple HDD's
Yep. For sure.

Don't worry about me. I've been doing data archiving since my Commodore 64 days, and have never lost anything. I keep doubly (sometimes triply) redundant backups of anything, and I keep offsite copies.

But with blu-rays, I am using some common sense too. If I have a rip of a common movie and the drive dies, I re-rip it. No biggie. If the disc is bad, if it's a common movie, I'll just get it again.

Some of this is for the convenience of having all my audio and video media on a single 32TB array.
Gary J's Avatar Gary J
03:03 PM Liked: 97
post #6050 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 7,651
Joined: Mar 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
32TB array.
I wonder how many viewing hours this represents not to mention time and expense.

Just glad it's not me.
fatherom's Avatar fatherom
04:24 PM Liked: 32
post #6051 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 985
Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
I wonder how many viewing hours this represents not to mention time and expense.

Just glad it's not me.
Last time I checked, this IS my primary hobby.
Gary J's Avatar Gary J
05:03 PM Liked: 97
post #6052 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 7,651
Joined: Mar 2000
It better be!!
antisuck's Avatar antisuck
08:52 PM Liked: 80
post #6053 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 387
Joined: Feb 2010
Quick question about subtitles, sorry if it's been addressed and I missed it.

With forced subtitle flags seeming to be less than 100% reliable in blu-ray discs, is there a better practice than "watch the whole movie and see if there is any foreign dialog" to determine whether any of the sometimes multiple subtitle tracks need to be included in a rip and flagged as forced for optimum viewing experience? A welcome resource would be one that, for each English language movie, indicates whether there should be forced subs and approximately where they are first displayed for quick checking. Is there anything like that, or some other resource somewhere that could be used to at least check and see if forced subs are needed at all?

I am using makemkv to create feature-only files, mkvmerge gui to manipulate tracks as needed, and viewing with XBMC.

Thanks for looking.
ScottJ's Avatar ScottJ
09:01 PM Liked: 75
post #6054 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 1,503
Joined: Dec 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by antisuck View Post
With forced subtitle flags seeming to be less than 100% reliable in blu-ray discs, is there a better practice than "watch the whole movie and see if there is any foreign dialog" to determine whether any of the sometimes multiple subtitle tracks need to be included in a rip and flagged as forced for optimum viewing experience? A welcome resource would be one that, for each English language movie, indicates whether there should be forced subs and approximately where they are first displayed for quick checking. Is there anything like that, or some other resource somewhere that could be used to at least check and see if forced subs are needed at all?
See this thread, which has links to a couple of Google spreadsheets that maintain a list of discs with forced subs.

Since even that is not 100% reliable, I extract all English subs and manually look through each of them as part of my ripping process.
shortcut3d's Avatar shortcut3d
09:56 PM Liked: 29
post #6055 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 479
Joined: Aug 2011
I am having trouble with forced subs on Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit. The subtitles are displayed too quickly. How can I adjust the speed and duration of the subtitles? I ripped the Blu-ray to mkv. The playback issue is present in VLC (mkv) and also with the forced subs burned using Handbrake (m4v).
techflaws's Avatar techflaws
10:15 PM Liked: 28
post #6056 of 6809
06-18-2014 | Posts: 1,039
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post
but there is really no reason for that today. BD media and burners are cheap.
Actually with cheap media players and HDDs, there's no reason today to burn to BD.


Quote:
Originally Posted by antisuck View Post
is there a better practice than "watch the whole movie and see if there is any foreign dialog" to determine whether any of the sometimes multiple subtitle tracks need to be included in a rip and flagged as forced for optimum viewing experience?
There's no alternative to parsing the entire disc since some items at the end of the movie could be flagged.
DotJun's Avatar DotJun
04:34 AM Liked: 58
post #6057 of 6809
06-19-2014 | Posts: 967
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post
Sure... why stop now at pulling rubbish out of the air

You're grasping at straws and making wild (unsubstantiated) guesses. Compressing takes very little time... (relatively speaking) and they only have to compress ONCE on the master. There is also virtually no difference in the price of 25 and 50 gig discs at the commercial level.

The animated movie "Cars" took 11.5 hours to render a SINGLE frame (there are something on the order of (100 minute long film, 24 frames per second), 1,656,000 frames). In order to avoid about 189 years worth of rendering they used MANY machines. In fact a total of 12,500 cores.
There are better ways to save money than nickel and diming on something pretty minor as compression.

To top the whole thing off, the price of the media is simply passed off to the consumer anyway.

Do you have any proof of what you are suggesting?
Telling me that using render farms to render out whole scenes is not a good analogy. You would have been better off saying that you paid extra for the animator to make a scene use x amount of frames less while looking as smooth as it did with more.

I don't understand why it's so hard for you to grasp that most people aren't going to do extra work for nothing (look at Microsoft code). I never once said anything about the time it takes to press a disc. What I said was the amount of time you are paying someone for their skills to determine where and how much to compress by.

We did the same type of practices when making video games back in the day. Have 600 Meg's of space to work with? To hell with waiting for this file to compress before I go home for the day, set it on fast since we have space to burn.

One last thing. You can keep going on about how I'm just making things up until I prove it to you. How exactly do you want that to happen, take a trip with me to sony pictures? As I've asked before, why does one disc get 2 episodes while another gets 13?
DotJun's Avatar DotJun
04:42 AM Liked: 58
post #6058 of 6809
06-19-2014 | Posts: 967
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Hmmm...

I dare say that if your original Blu-ray disc's are stored correctly they will out live your HDD's. Indeed, for greater security you should keep your movie back-ups on multiple HDD's
Lots of info out there stating that cheap discs last somewhere between 5-10 years before the glue that binds them start to come apart.

All I know is I have some cd's older than that which were kept in my car for a large amount of their lives and they are still functioning 😊

Btw, I do keep my backups on hdd. When they fill up I put them in static free containers and take them offsite. Every two years I spin them up and do a checksum.
antisuck's Avatar antisuck
07:39 AM Liked: 80
post #6059 of 6809
06-19-2014 | Posts: 387
Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
See this thread, which has links to a couple of Google spreadsheets that maintain a list of discs with forced subs.

Since even that is not 100% reliable, I extract all English subs and manually look through each of them as part of my ripping process.
Thanks Scott.
shortcut3d's Avatar shortcut3d
06:07 PM Liked: 29
post #6060 of 6809
06-19-2014 | Posts: 479
Joined: Aug 2011
I'm looking for assistance and haven't been able to find any so far. I recently ripped Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit with subtitles for the Russian speaking parts. The trouble is the subtitles are displayed to quickly. How can I adjust the duration in the mkv or when I encode with Handbrake?
Tags: Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player

Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3