Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 206 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6151 of 6156 Old Yesterday, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I'm officially annoyed. I'm able to encode MKV to MKV (it plays fine via MPC-HC) but still no encode from MKV to MP4 (error code). It was working this morning but gave up on me. Any ideas?

Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6152 of 6156 Old Yesterday, 07:29 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm officially annoyed. I'm able to encode MKV to MKV (it plays fine via MPC-HC) but still no encode from MKV to MP4 (error code). It was working this morning but gave up on me. Any ideas?
There is a free utility called mediainfo. Get the text output for (1) the original MKV file, (2) the MKV from HandBrake, and (3) the MP4 from HandBrake.

I believe mkvmerge will accept MP4 input and produce MKV output. It would be interesting to see if the resulting MKV plays. That would indicate a problem with the MP4 container, or lack of support for certain codecs or options in that container.

-Bill
jhughy2010 likes this.
wmcclain is online now  
post #6153 of 6156 Old Yesterday, 07:39 PM
Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm officially annoyed. I'm able to encode MKV to MKV (it plays fine via MPC-HC) but still no encode from MKV to MP4 (error code). It was working this morning but gave up on me. Any ideas?
How big are the .mp4 files when you are done? If they are lager than 4GB, then you'll have to enable large file support or they won't playback on anything.
jhughy2010 likes this.
smitbret is offline  
post #6154 of 6156 Old Yesterday, 09:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
There is a free utility called mediainfo. Get the text output for (1) the original MKV file, (2) the MKV from HandBrake, and (3) the MP4 from HandBrake.

I believe mkvmerge will accept MP4 input and produce MKV output. It would be interesting to see if the resulting MKV plays. That would indicate a problem with the MP4 container, or lack of support for certain codecs or options in that container.

-Bill
Thanks for your response but I'm thinking smitbret hit the nail on the head.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smitbret View Post
How big are the .mp4 files when you are done? If they are lager than 4GB, then you'll have to enable large file support or they won't playback on anything.
Thank you thank you. This has to be the solution (tried encoding on my HTPC vs laptop with same results).

Avatar was 10GB and Man of Steel was 9GB. Perhaps I can try to get smaller? (What setting do I adjust on handbrake?)
jhughy2010 is online now  
post #6155 of 6156 Old Today, 01:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Thanks for your response but I'm thinking smitbret hit the nail on the head.
As mentioned previously by Bill. Please run your 'problem' .MP4 file through an application called MediaInfo set to text mode. And post what it reports, IN FULL as a text (.txt) file?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #6156 of 6156 Old Today, 05:44 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Thanks for your response but I'm thinking smitbret hit the nail on the head.



Thank you thank you. This has to be the solution (tried encoding on my HTPC vs laptop with same results).

Avatar was 10GB and Man of Steel was 9GB. Perhaps I can try to get smaller? (What setting do I adjust on handbrake?)
There is a Large File MP4 checkbox in Handbrake. The problem is described in the FAQ: https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/SupportFAQ#fourgb

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off