Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 206 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > Ripping Blu-Rays II

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
06:36 PM Liked: 102
post #6151 of 7560
07-11-2014 | Posts: 1,088
Joined: Jan 2014
I'm officially annoyed. I'm able to encode MKV to MKV (it plays fine via MPC-HC) but still no encode from MKV to MP4 (error code). It was working this morning but gave up on me. Any ideas?
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
08:29 PM Liked: 421
post #6152 of 7560
07-11-2014 | Posts: 18,108
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm officially annoyed. I'm able to encode MKV to MKV (it plays fine via MPC-HC) but still no encode from MKV to MP4 (error code). It was working this morning but gave up on me. Any ideas?
There is a free utility called mediainfo. Get the text output for (1) the original MKV file, (2) the MKV from HandBrake, and (3) the MP4 from HandBrake.

I believe mkvmerge will accept MP4 input and produce MKV output. It would be interesting to see if the resulting MKV plays. That would indicate a problem with the MP4 container, or lack of support for certain codecs or options in that container.

-Bill
smitbret's Avatar smitbret
08:39 PM Liked: 70
post #6153 of 7560
07-11-2014 | Posts: 559
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm officially annoyed. I'm able to encode MKV to MKV (it plays fine via MPC-HC) but still no encode from MKV to MP4 (error code). It was working this morning but gave up on me. Any ideas?
How big are the .mp4 files when you are done? If they are lager than 4GB, then you'll have to enable large file support or they won't playback on anything.
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
10:34 PM Liked: 102
post #6154 of 7560
07-11-2014 | Posts: 1,088
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
There is a free utility called mediainfo. Get the text output for (1) the original MKV file, (2) the MKV from HandBrake, and (3) the MP4 from HandBrake.

I believe mkvmerge will accept MP4 input and produce MKV output. It would be interesting to see if the resulting MKV plays. That would indicate a problem with the MP4 container, or lack of support for certain codecs or options in that container.

-Bill
Thanks for your response but I'm thinking smitbret hit the nail on the head.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smitbret View Post
How big are the .mp4 files when you are done? If they are lager than 4GB, then you'll have to enable large file support or they won't playback on anything.
Thank you thank you. This has to be the solution (tried encoding on my HTPC vs laptop with same results).

Avatar was 10GB and Man of Steel was 9GB. Perhaps I can try to get smaller? (What setting do I adjust on handbrake?)
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar SeeMoreDigital
02:46 AM Liked: 101
post #6155 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 1,971
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Thanks for your response but I'm thinking smitbret hit the nail on the head.
As mentioned previously by Bill. Please run your 'problem' .MP4 file through an application called MediaInfo set to text mode. And post what it reports, IN FULL as a text (.txt) file?
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
06:44 AM Liked: 421
post #6156 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 18,108
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Thanks for your response but I'm thinking smitbret hit the nail on the head.



Thank you thank you. This has to be the solution (tried encoding on my HTPC vs laptop with same results).

Avatar was 10GB and Man of Steel was 9GB. Perhaps I can try to get smaller? (What setting do I adjust on handbrake?)
There is a Large File MP4 checkbox in Handbrake. The problem is described in the FAQ: https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/SupportFAQ#fourgb

-Bill
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
10:31 AM Liked: 102
post #6157 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 1,088
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
As mentioned previously by Bill. Please run your 'problem' .MP4 file through an application called MediaInfo set to text mode. And post what it reports, IN FULL as a text (.txt) file?
Thanks for your help, however, the large file checkbox did the trick.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
There is a Large File MP4 checkbox in Handbrake. The problem is described in the FAQ: https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/SupportFAQ#fourgb

-Bill
Thanks for your advice... this is precisely what was the issue. Avatar compressed nicely down to 10GB from 37GB. I'm thinking that is a very huge encode, however, the video looks decent so I may keep it for my tablets.
techmattr's Avatar techmattr
11:12 AM Liked: 184
post #6158 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 613
Joined: Aug 2013
What version of Handbrake are you using? I haven't seen that Large File check box in quite a few releases. A lot of those configurations are done automatically now. If you're running v 0.9.9 or newer I'd be confused as to why you have that check box and I don't...
smitbret's Avatar smitbret
04:40 PM Liked: 70
post #6159 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 559
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by techmattr View Post
What version of Handbrake are you using? I haven't seen that Large File check box in quite a few releases. A lot of those configurations are done automatically now. If you're running v 0.9.9 or newer I'd be confused as to why you have that check box and I don't...
It's there, right below the Destination field, v0.9.9.5530.
Colby66's Avatar Colby66
04:52 PM Liked: 10
post #6160 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2008
Newbe to the forum and am looking for information/experiences/reviews on the "Open Blu-ray ripper 2" software. I assume it would be in this forum but doing a search of such produced nothing. Is there a better forum I should be looking in?
Thanks
techmattr's Avatar techmattr
05:18 PM Liked: 184
post #6161 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 613
Joined: Aug 2013
I had the nightly builds installed on my C: drive and I uninstalled and installed 0.9.9.5530 yesterday. Apparently when I did that some or all of the settings/GUI configuration carried over from the nightly. I uninstalled and reinstalled a couple times and still didn't have the Large File check box. I uninstalled and installed to D: instead and there it is. I see the check box now. Very strange considering it deletes everything out of the program files folder. So it's just the nightly builds that don't have that check box. Sorry for the confusion
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
10:02 PM Liked: 102
post #6162 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 1,088
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by techmattr View Post
I had the nightly builds installed on my C: drive and I uninstalled and installed 0.9.9.5530 yesterday. Apparently when I did that some or all of the settings/GUI configuration carried over from the nightly. I uninstalled and reinstalled a couple times and still didn't have the Large File check box. I uninstalled and installed to D: instead and there it is. I see the check box now. Very strange considering it deletes everything out of the program files folder. So it's just the nightly builds that don't have that check box. Sorry for the confusion
I'm just curious but why did you opt to not use the nightly build? So far it is working ok for me I am on my third encode using H264 QSV. Only "Life of Pi" failed on me but I'm not sure why that happened. Trying it again soon (it's now at the end of my queue).
johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
10:23 PM Liked: 27
post #6163 of 7560
07-12-2014 | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Is there any free software that allows you to identify discs that have seamless branching files? I used to use dvdfab passkey with bdinfo but the passkey was only a 30 day trial. Bdinfo wont work without software like slysoft anydvd. It helps to streamline ripping if i know there are multiple m2ts files before i rip. Thanks
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
05:14 AM Liked: 421
post #6164 of 7560
07-13-2014 | Posts: 18,108
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
Is there any free software that allows you to identify discs that have seamless branching files? I used to use dvdfab passkey with bdinfo but the passkey was only a 30 day trial. Bdinfo wont work without software like slysoft anydvd. It helps to streamline ripping if i know there are multiple m2ts files before i rip. Thanks
Is it enough to see that the playlist has multiple M2TS files? MakeMKV will do that. You click on the various components of the title and it will display info about them.

-Bill
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
05:27 AM Liked: 421
post #6165 of 7560
07-13-2014 | Posts: 18,108
Joined: May 2006
Try here: Ripping Blu-Rays II

-Bill
johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
07:23 AM Liked: 27
post #6166 of 7560
07-13-2014 | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Is it enough to see that the playlist has multiple M2TS files? MakeMKV will do that. You click on the various components of the title and it will display info about them.

-Bill
Didnt know makemkv will do that. Gotta give it another look. Thanks
Colby66's Avatar Colby66
09:02 AM Liked: 10
post #6167 of 7560
07-13-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Try here: Ripping Blu-Rays II

-Bill
Thanks
techmattr's Avatar techmattr
01:40 PM Liked: 184
post #6168 of 7560
07-13-2014 | Posts: 613
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm just curious but why did you opt to not use the nightly build? So far it is working ok for me I am on my third encode using H264 QSV. Only "Life of Pi" failed on me but I'm not sure why that happened. Trying it again soon (it's now at the end of my queue).
I use the nightly builds for most things but it has some weird banding issue with VC-1. So I switched back to the .9.9 release to re-encode VC-1. I typically use Ripbot for VC-1 content but didn't have it setup.
DotJun's Avatar DotJun
09:07 PM Liked: 68
post #6169 of 7560
07-13-2014 | Posts: 1,112
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by techmattr View Post
I use the nightly builds for most things but it has some weird banding issue with VC-1. So I switched back to the .9.9 release to re-encode VC-1. I typically use Ripbot for VC-1 content but didn't have it setup.
Do either of those apps allow you to encode to 10bit? That will help out your banding issue.
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar SeeMoreDigital
02:24 AM Liked: 101
post #6170 of 7560
07-14-2014 | Posts: 1,971
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Do either of those apps allow you to encode to 10bit? That will help out your banding issue.
Personally, I would not recommend doing this...

If at some time, you decide to play your 10-bit encodes using a hardware media player (ie: STB, Blu-ray player, Smart TV, etc) - they wont work.

EDIT: Any software media player which offers GPU decoding, won't decode 10-bit encodes using the GPU. They will decode using the CPU.
techmattr's Avatar techmattr
08:54 AM Liked: 184
post #6171 of 7560
07-14-2014 | Posts: 613
Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Do either of those apps allow you to encode to 10bit? That will help out your banding issue.
No idea. They are still working out issues with the decoder. Not a concern since I should be using Ripbot for VC-1 anyway.
hifiaudio2's Avatar hifiaudio2
09:08 AM Liked: 78
post #6172 of 7560
07-16-2014 | Posts: 2,773
Joined: Oct 2001
Anyone looked at Grand Budapest? Makemkv reports 4 titles with different "angles" to choose from. All are the same MPLS file but different segment maps. Makemkv chose the first one by default and unchecked the others. Normally it doesn't uncheck anything for me by default. How do I know what to choose?
ScottJ's Avatar ScottJ
09:32 AM Liked: 85
post #6173 of 7560
07-16-2014 | Posts: 1,559
Joined: Dec 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post
Anyone looked at Grand Budapest? Makemkv reports 4 titles with different "angles" to choose from. All are the same MPLS file but different segment maps. Makemkv chose the first one by default and unchecked the others. Normally it doesn't uncheck anything for me by default. How do I know what to choose?
I ripped this last night using ClownBD. It lists the m2ts files that make up each angle. I looked for where the files differed, and played those m2ts files to see. The angles are used for different languages for the on-screen text (credits, newspaper headlines). The first one is English.

This is the first movie I've seen with multiple angles like that, and I've ripped 1400+. Usually (Disney) they use multiple playlists instead of one playlist with multiple angles.
hifiaudio2's Avatar hifiaudio2
09:38 AM Liked: 78
post #6174 of 7560
07-16-2014 | Posts: 2,773
Joined: Oct 2001
Perfect, thanks!
thehun's Avatar thehun
06:11 PM Liked: 92
post #6175 of 7560
07-16-2014 | Posts: 7,506
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by kneedragger View Post
Been ripping my DVD and Blu-rays for years and went back to re-rip my Blu-ray so i can have the HD track. Does anyone know if it's possible to have everything unchecked after it initially reads the disc with makeMKV?
Yes
jhughy2010's Avatar jhughy2010
06:55 PM Liked: 102
post #6176 of 7560
07-16-2014 | Posts: 1,088
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by kneedragger View Post
Been ripping my DVD and Blu-rays for years and went back to re-rip my Blu-ray so i can have the HD track. Does anyone know if it's possible to have everything unchecked after it initially reads the disc with makeMKV?
Since you only got a simple "yes" answer I'll provide the instructions

http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=1377
kneedragger's Avatar kneedragger
07:04 PM Liked: 12
post #6177 of 7560
07-16-2014 | Posts: 811
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Since you only got a simple "yes" answer I'll provide the instructions

http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=1377
Thanks!
DotJun's Avatar DotJun
12:08 AM Liked: 68
post #6178 of 7560
07-17-2014 | Posts: 1,112
Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Personally, I would not recommend doing this...

If at some time, you decide to play your 10-bit encodes using a hardware media player (ie: STB, Blu-ray player, Smart TV, etc) - they wont work.

EDIT: Any software media player which offers GPU decoding, won't decode 10-bit encodes using the GPU. They will decode using the CPU.

I'm pretty sure he breaks hardware compatibility with his choice of encoding parameters anyway so he might as well go 10 bit to make it look even better while also compressing even more.
Brian Hampton's Avatar Brian Hampton
07:04 AM Liked: 111
post #6179 of 7560
07-19-2014 | Posts: 7,117
Joined: Apr 2000
Having recently put all my CDs losslessly onto a hard drive, I thought I would investigate doing this with my blus.

However, I have 1200 blus and I find new ones that I want just about every week.

So am I right to think if I wanted to do this I would need 40Tb of hard drives and it would take countless hours and after putting say $2000 into it I would have ,... Well,... More or less pretty much what I had to begin with.

I'm interested but it really doesn't seem worth it.
pepar's Avatar pepar
08:01 AM Liked: 186
post #6180 of 7560
07-19-2014 | Posts: 25,310
Joined: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Having recently put all my CDs losslessly onto a hard drive, I thought I would investigate doing this with my blus.

However, I have 1200 blus and I find new ones that I want just about every week.

So am I right to think if I wanted to do this I would need 40Tb of hard drives and it would take countless hours and after putting say $2000 into it I would have ,... Well,... More or less pretty much what I had to begin with.

I'm interested but it really doesn't seem worth it.
If you look at it as a task that must be started and completed, then that is daunting indeed. But assemble the server and then rip your new purchases as they are acquired. And rip your existing titles just in advance of you wanting to watch them. Or do 10-20 at a time ... from your go to titles that you watch repeatedly. Aren't there *some* titles that you never or rarely watch? If so, rip them last or not at all until you want to watch them. IOW, break down the daunting task into smaller easy to digest bites and prioritize.

Or sequester yourself in your room with several cartons of K-cups and don't come out until you are done.

Jeff
Tags: Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player

Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3