Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 209 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6241 of 6675 Old 08-01-2014, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Ok so I encoded the same title (Thomas' King of the Railway) with x264 (QSV) and the file size was 5.26GB with a total bitrate of 12Mbps. The HEVC encoded version is 1.26GB with a total bitrate of 2.9Mbps.

QSV encoded with high profile via hanbrake took me about 18 minutes to encode.

HEVC encoded with mostly default settings via handbrake took me about 5-6 hours.

Video quality looks equal (I cannot tell a difference). I want to know what the benefit is simply due to the fact that I do a lot of streaming. I still have not been able to find a definitive answer as to whether or not it is easier to transode a movie that has been encoded versus a full BD rip. I would think the former simply because that is what the internet movie providers like Netflix and Vudu do.

Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6242 of 6675 Old 08-09-2014, 11:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Ok so I encoded the same title (Thomas' King of the Railway) with x264 (QSV) and the file size was 5.26GB with a total bitrate of 12Mbps. The HEVC encoded version is 1.26GB with a total bitrate of 2.9Mbps.

QSV encoded with high profile via hanbrake took me about 18 minutes to encode.

HEVC encoded with mostly default settings via handbrake took me about 5-6 hours.

Video quality looks equal (I cannot tell a difference). I want to know what the benefit is simply due to the fact that I do a lot of streaming. I still have not been able to find a definitive answer as to whether or not it is easier to transode a movie that has been encoded versus a full BD rip. I would think the former simply because that is what the internet movie providers like Netflix and Vudu do.

Those numbers look promising for hvec! Two questions for you about it if you please?

1. How's the grain retention?

2. Can you do both psnr and ssim optimized encodes for both 264 and 265 and either post or pm me the results?
DotJun is offline  
post #6243 of 6675 Old 08-10-2014, 12:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Those numbers look promising for hvec! Two questions for you about it if you please?

1. How's the grain retention?

2. Can you do both psnr and ssim optimized encodes for both 264 and 265 and either post or pm me the results?
Grain was a tough comparison due to only encoding an animation thus far. Tomorrow I'll try a grainy film.

I'll try man of steel and try to encode with and post those results.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #6244 of 6675 Old 08-10-2014, 02:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Ripping Blu-Rays II

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
Grain was a tough comparison due to only encoding an animation thus far. Tomorrow I'll try a grainy film.



I'll try man of steel and try to encode with and post those results.

A better test would be saving private Ryan or the hurt locker. Man of steel had very fine grain and not as much of it, which is easier to compress.

*Try and pick a bright static scene.
jhughy2010 likes this.

Last edited by DotJun; 08-10-2014 at 02:50 PM. Reason: addition
DotJun is offline  
post #6245 of 6675 Old 08-10-2014, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Grain retention is much improved with psy-rdoq but it's a cutting edge feature that will need a lot of optimization.
elario is online now  
post #6246 of 6675 Old 08-10-2014, 09:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by elario View Post
Grain retention is much improved with psy-rdoq but it's a cutting edge feature that will need a lot of optimization.

Ahh, but it's high grain retention along with higher compressibility that is key [emoji4]

Also, can you make sure that all settings are exact between the two? For instance, having decimation on for one but not the other will have a huge impact on final file size.
DotJun is offline  
post #6247 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 12:30 AM
Senior Member
 
StratmanX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
For instance, having decimation on for one but not the other will have a huge impact on final file size.
Is that Roman Empire decimation (kill one out of every 10 men, ie 10%) or more modern day decimation (great destruction such as by plague)?
DotJun likes this.
StratmanX is offline  
post #6248 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Divergent Redbox Rental

Seriously? 300 possible playlists and lossy audio. I wonder how long before we get a 1000 possible playlists and no sound at all? LOL!
Correct playlist

9) 00810.mpls, 2:19:40
[525+522+523+508+516+504+506+510+511+518+512+503+50 1+517+509].m2ts
- Chapters, 16 chapters
- h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
- AC3, English, multi-channel, 48kHz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48kHz
- AC3, Spanish, multi-channel, 48kHz

Last edited by blackssr; 08-11-2014 at 11:27 AM.
blackssr is offline  
post #6249 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 11:32 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
A Blu-ray without lossless audio is not a Blu-ray.
rakstr and DotJun like this.
pepar is online now  
post #6250 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
A Blu-ray without lossless audio is not a Blu-ray.
I have several pressed blu-ray discs that don't contain a lossless track.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
post #6251 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
A Blu-ray without lossless audio is not a Blu-ray.
It's getting more common with rentals -- both Redbox and Netflix.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6252 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
It's getting more common with rentals -- both Redbox and Netflix.
Seems Lionsgate is leading the charge on this. Some corporate idiot thinks this will increase sales I guess. The playlist thing I find very amusing. It slows things down a bit but in reality has no impact on the ripping outcome whatsoever. Once the correct playlist is found it is posted on all the relative forums and crushed like a cockroach.
blackssr is offline  
post #6253 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 01:03 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
I have several pressed blu-ray discs that don't contain a lossless track.
pepar is online now  
post #6254 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 01:06 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Seems Lionsgate is leading the charge on this. Some corporate idiot thinks this will increase sales I guess. The playlist thing I find very amusing. It slows things down a bit but in reality has no impact on the ripping outcome whatsoever. Once the correct playlist is found it is posted on all the relative forums and crushed like a cockroach.
I think it is their biz model to cripple and obfuscate the rental and, at least in part, to incent some to purchase the title after renting. Plus it gets the rental rippers riled up. Not that there are any of those here.

Jeff
jhughy2010 likes this.
pepar is online now  
post #6255 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I think it is their biz model to cripple and obfuscate the rental and, at least in part, to incent some to purchase the title after renting. Plus it gets the rental rippers riled up. Not that there are any of those here.

Jeff
I am always riled up!
blackssr is offline  
post #6256 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 01:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
I have several pressed blu-ray discs that don't contain a lossless track.
I have seen that in the past but not recently. It was for several titles that were packaged as DVD-only, BD-only or BD+DVD. The BD-only packaging did not have HD audio on the disk. In order to get HD audio you had to buy the "deluxe" combo package of DVD+BD.

I for one do not understand why, when I browse disks at a store, that they are sold as DVD-only or DVD+BD combo packs. I almost never see BD-only packaging in stores any more. If BD is supposed to be gaining in popularity and market share, how come they feel they can't sell it unless they bundle it with a DVD copy.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6257 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 01:36 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I have seen that in the past but not recently. It was for several titles that were packaged as DVD-only, BD-only or BD+DVD. The BD-only packaging did not have HD audio on the disk. In order to get HD audio you had to buy the "deluxe" combo package of DVD+BD.

I for one do not understand why, when I browse disks at a store, that they are sold as DVD-only or DVD+BD combo packs. I almost never see BD-only packaging in stores any more. If BD is supposed to be gaining in popularity and market share, how come they feel they can't sell it unless they bundle it with a DVD copy.
Them selling the combo is based on their needs and not ours, the consumers. You can only buy your hamburger with a slice of cheese ... for a nominal amount of $$ over the cost of just the hamburger ... which of course they won't sell you alone.

Jeff
mike_carton likes this.
pepar is online now  
post #6258 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I have seen that in the past but not recently. It was for several titles that were packaged as DVD-only, BD-only or BD+DVD. The BD-only packaging did not have HD audio on the disk. In order to get HD audio you had to buy the "deluxe" combo package of DVD+BD.

I for one do not understand why, when I browse disks at a store, that they are sold as DVD-only or DVD+BD combo packs. I almost never see BD-only packaging in stores any more. If BD is supposed to be gaining in popularity and market share, how come they feel they can't sell it unless they bundle it with a DVD copy.
Agreed, but it seems to be slightly more common than that. Here's the subset of my ~400 title collection that don't have lossless audio (release date is included here, and the total size in GB, so clearly many of these titles have plenty of room for more audio options):

mike_carton and jhughy2010 like this.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
post #6259 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 02:07 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,073
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Agreed, but it seems to be slightly more common than that. Here's the subset of my ~400 title collection that don't have lossless audio (release date is included here, and the total size in GB, so clearly many of these titles have plenty of room for more audio options):
I have more than few of those titles myself. However, other than a PBS documentary, they are all at least fours yrs old. And at 2010, one of the two are IMAX. Beyond that, the titles are all 5, 6 or 7 yrs old.

So isn't this more of a phenomenon of the early days of the format?

Jeff
pepar is online now  
post #6260 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
agogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I think it is their biz model to cripple and obfuscate the rental and, at least in part, to incent some to purchase the title after renting. Plus it gets the rental rippers riled up. Not that there are any of those here.

Jeff
I purposefully don't buy Lionsgate movies because of this. I don't rip any of my rentals and play them on a regular BD player. I want HD audio.
agogley is offline  
post #6261 of 6675 Old 08-11-2014, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
A better test would be saving private Ryan or the hurt locker. Man of steel had very fine grain and not as much of it, which is easier to compress.

*Try and pick a bright static scene.
Ok good to know. How are you able to determine this?

I tried encoding "Man of Steel" with H.265 (x265) video codec using x265 tune: Psnr. The encode began by saying that its estimated time of completion was 12 hours. I came back about 6 hours later, discovering that is was only about 10% complete and the estimated time of completion was 18 hours.

Anyhow, it was incredibly hot and the AC was running all day so I didn't want to contribute to my inflated electricity bill for experimentation purposes so it looks like I'll be trying it on my laptop at work sometime soon.

I was using my HTPC to encode (i5-4440) and my laptop is an i7-4700... I'm wondering if I'll get significantly better results on my laptop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
A Blu-ray without lossless audio is not a Blu-ray.
Yes, I just received "God's Not Dead" on Blu Ray from Netflix and noticed there was no lossless tracks available. DD surround did sound good though and I really didn't have much complaint regarding it. A few months ago I received a RedBox version of the new Hunger Games movie that wasn't Lossless either.

Theater set-up:  

AVR:  Pioneer VSX-820

Speakers:  5.1 consists of four NHT Classic Two bookshelf and an NHT TwoC center

Sub:  PSA-XV15

HTPC - ridiculously over-the-top, home-built gaming PC that I tinker with daily!

OTA antenna:  Winegard HD7698P

HDTV:  Sharp LC-60SQ15U

jhughy2010 is offline  
post #6262 of 6675 Old 08-12-2014, 03:50 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post

I tried encoding "Man of Steel" with H.265 (x265) video codec using x265 tune: Psnr. The encode began by saying that its estimated time of completion was 12 hours. I came back about 6 hours later, discovering that is was only about 10% complete and the estimated time of completion was 18 hours.
I would just encode short samples.
elario is online now  
post #6263 of 6675 Old 08-12-2014, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by elario View Post
I would just encode short samples.
Oh yeah good point I forgot that Handbrake had that feature.

Will try this morning.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #6264 of 6675 Old 08-12-2014, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Well I meant to just cut your own samples. If you are in any way interested in video encoding you should keep a folder full of short samples for testing purposes. Use MVKMerge to (for example) cut a 60 second clip from Saving Private Ryan beach scene.

It would be nuts to encode a full movie every time you want to try a different setting or check a new revision.
jhughy2010 likes this.
elario is online now  
post #6265 of 6675 Old 08-16-2014, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
That's great! You might not need to buy MakeMKV. Currently they are in the beta stage and offer their current key here for when your trial expires.

A NAS can be a great idea, however, I have heard somewhere that it is not the greatest at transcoding. It was recommended to install the server on an HTPC or perhaps a dedicated server. If you are looking for a playback device, perhaps building a small micro HTPC with an Intel i3 would suffice. That way you can put the server on the HTPC (mediabrowser, plex, etc.)

That is just my thought process on the whole subject of server and transcoding. I can tell you that when my HTPC's i5-4440 is transcoding to my phone over the cellular network (I experimented) all the cores of the i5 were maxed out at 100%. This shouldn't be the case over the home network though. But to my dismay it is in regards to transcoding to my laptop (just checked). The thought was that UNC paths reduced server resources but that obviously is not the case. Anyhow, there is no transcoding when I am watching movies on my HTPC so I'm too concerned.

Just remember... a NAS is just that... a Networked Attached Storage. Lots here may argue that it is capable of "acting" like a server. I would argue the contrary only because of my experience with Mediabrowser server on my HTPC. Since you do have a NAS though, you have an opportunity to build an extremely small HTPC in the ITX form factor especially since you'll have no storage requirements. You can really get creative here. I would recommend an i3 or i5 on an ITX z87 or z97 motherboard (simply because of the support in turbo boost). 8GB of memory and a 120GB SSD should suffice.



I hate to say this but you left this kind of vague. Where are you suggesting the server be on? What is a DMC?

Like I said, I think the idea of a NAS for simply storing the media, an HTPC with Windows 7 or 8.1 for housing the server and home theater playback, plus a Roku or perhaps a NUC in the other rooms for media playback (transcoding from the server) is a pretty bulletproof idea. Mediabrowser now supports Roku and other Samsung smart devices. I personally would enjoy a NUC because I love the Mediabrowser app on my Windows 8.1 laptop (I don't have a Roku to attest to its functionality with MB3).
Hello Again.... MakeMKV finally got to where it wanted a key and that link you provided worked and I'm happy about that.

As far as progress in general... I hope I don't jinks myself for saying so but I don't imagine anything could have possibly gone smoother. My goal was a DIY version of something like kaliedescape and presto .. easily done, with pretty much off the shelf stuff: LG external Blu drive, Lenovo NAS, WDLive... done.

For my use, the NAS solution seems perfect. I don't want to do any transcoding whatsoever. The WDTV seems nearly perfect also. It can't serve my audio needs because it lacks gapless playback but that just means I end up with a Video server and an Audio server and that's fine really. It also doesn't do 3D so my 3D blus will be the last for me to deal with and that's fine too as they are only 10% of stuff that I have.

I suppose if I get to where I want the 3D I may replace the WDLive with Medi8or or HTPC but that's a ways off for the moment.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #6266 of 6675 Old 08-16-2014, 05:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Well it can't do True 3D but it can do 3D side to side
Otter0911 is offline  
post #6267 of 6675 Old 08-16-2014, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Well it can't do True 3D but it can do 3D side to side
I haven't really thought about the 3D since I have a thousand non-3D discs to start with.

I imagine there isn't a simple way to encode my 3D blus into Side by side ... right?... It's going to take me a while to afford enough hard drives to get to where I need to think about the 3D. At that point I think it may be time to use a HTPC. Something to look forward too.
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #6268 of 6675 Old 08-16-2014, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
anam8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Palm
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi everyone. My membership just ran out on AnyDvd HD and for another 2 years it's almost $90. Does anyone have any suggestions on a more permanent solution for ripping a 1:1 BDMV folder format (playing on PCH c-200)? I do like that Slysoft updates all the time with new codes but $100 every 2 years is pretty steep.

Thanks !!!
anam8tr is offline  
post #6269 of 6675 Old 08-16-2014, 06:24 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 365
MakeMKV has a backup mode for BDMV folders. Not for DVD.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #6270 of 6675 Old 08-16-2014, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
I haven't really thought about the 3D since I have a thousand non-3D discs to start with.

I imagine there isn't a simple way to encode my 3D blus into Side by side ... right?... It's going to take me a while to afford enough hard drives to get to where I need to think about the 3D. At that point I think it may be time to use a HTPC. Something to look forward too.
I used DVDFab. Can't remember the steps right now... If you google 3D and WD it will come up.
Brian Hampton likes this.
Otter0911 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off