Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 231 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6901 of 6917 Old Yesterday, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 112
So I just finished ripping my first blu ray disc and boy did it take a while. I should have probably chosen an easier disc from my collection but instead I went with with Avatar 3D. I unchecked 3D and everything else except for all the english subtitles and audio and the whole thing still came at 30.5GB. It took about an hour and 35 mins to rip the whole thing.

I used MakeMKV and now have my 5TB HDD hooked up to my Oppo 103D and man it looks amazing. It was completely worth it.

Any suggestions on what I can do to rip a movie faster the next time I jump right back in ? I'm using a USB 3.0 Asus external blu ray burner hooked up to my Dell laptop's corresponding USB 3.0 port. My laptop has 8GB of RAM and my toshiba external hard drive is also USB 3.0.

I want to Thank everyone here for all the helpful advice which has been a lot of help especially for someone like me who's not as computer savvy to begin with
Chere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6902 of 6917 Old Yesterday, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post
So I just finished ripping my first blu ray disc and boy did it take a while. I should have probably chosen an easier disc from my collection but instead I went with with Avatar 3D. I unchecked 3D and everything else except for all the english subtitles and audio and the whole thing still came at 30.5GB. It took about an hour and 35 mins to rip the whole thing.

I used MakeMKV and now have my 5TB HDD hooked up to my Oppo 103D and man it looks amazing. It was completely worth it.

Any suggestions on what I can do to rip a movie faster the next time I jump right back in ? I'm using a USB 3.0 Asus external blu ray burner hooked up to my Dell laptop's corresponding USB 3.0 port. My laptop has 8GB of RAM and my toshiba external hard drive is also USB 3.0.

I want to Thank everyone here for all the helpful advice which has been a lot of help especially for someone like me who's not as computer savvy to begin with
Yes. Get a real computer. You'll never get great speed reading from an external drive and writing back to one. Good job for what you have though.
olyteddy is offline  
post #6903 of 6917 Old Yesterday, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,039
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 112
^^ Hmm, not sure what you mean but I have a high end laptop with very good specs. Anyways I just ripped my 2nd bluray (Skyfall) and it only took 26 minutes

The only thing I did different this time is use the opposite ends (left and right) of my laptop's USB 3.0 ports to hook up the external blu ray burner and the external hard drive instead of next to each other. My Avatar BD included both the 2D and 3D versions too so maybe that's why it took longer although I only chose the 2D rip.
Chere is offline  
post #6904 of 6917 Old Today, 12:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post
Yes. Get a real computer. You'll never get great speed reading from an external drive and writing back to one. Good job for what you have though.
It depends. If you get a decent enclosure and stick a drive in there you can get similar speeds to when connected to an internal SATA port. At least that has been my experience with the drives I have put in external enclosures.

For instance when I got my Pioneer BD rom drive I took out my LG UH12NS29/30 and put it in an exclosure. I then tried one of the titles I had tested ripping speeds with last week. I got similar speeds with it in the external enclosure. It was only around 20 seconds slower. They both hit over 6x speeds with the dual layer disc. I need to try it with a full 50GB disc to try and max it out. I do only h ave USB 2.0 enclosures so that will limit how high it can go. I really should get a USB 3.0 enclosure for this LG drive since it is faster than the other drives I have in external enclosures.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; Today at 12:14 AM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #6905 of 6917 Old Today, 04:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post
Yes. Get a real computer. You'll never get great speed reading from an external drive and writing back to one. Good job for what you have though.

Are you saying that an optical drive can saturate usb 3.0?
DotJun is offline  
post #6906 of 6917 Old Today, 06:55 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... SOON!
Posts: 25,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post
Yes. Get a real computer. You'll never get great speed reading from an external drive and writing back to one. Good job for what you have though.

Are you saying that an optical drive can saturate usb 3.0?
I think he's citing an urban myth.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #6907 of 6917 Old Today, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post
^^ Hmm, not sure what you mean but I have a high end laptop with very good specs. Anyways I just ripped my 2nd bluray (Skyfall) and it only took 26 minutes ...
Yes, but you are depending on an external bus to bring the data into that laptop and simultaneously output that data over that same bus.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Are you saying that an optical drive can saturate usb 3.0?
No, and I'm also not saying ripping is at all a CPU intensive task. All I'm saying is that a BD drive on SATA feeding a HD on SATA is going to be fastest and most dependable.
olyteddy is offline  
post #6908 of 6917 Old Today, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I originally posted this in the Theater Construction forum, but it might be better suited here. Can anyone answer this question?


Do any of you guys add things to your bluray bdmv rips?
I was thinking about manually adding one of those Dolby countdown/intros to each of my movies, (because I LOVE it when the theater plays one of those clips before a movie starts.) So I would like to have the same thing in my home theater. Some bluray releases already have those clips, but most don't. Would it be difficult to add one of those streams/clips to a ripped bluray that's already in bdmv folder format?
Essentially I would like to start the movie on my media player, let the Dolby countdown play, then the movie starts.
the_abbot is offline  
post #6909 of 6917 Old Today, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_abbot View Post
I originally posted this in the Theater Construction forum, but it might be better suited here. Can anyone answer this question?


Do any of you guys add things to your bluray bdmv rips?
I was thinking about manually adding one of those Dolby countdown/intros to each of my movies, (because I LOVE it when the theater plays one of those clips before a movie starts.) So I would like to have the same thing in my home theater. Some bluray releases already have those clips, but most don't. Would it be difficult to add one of those streams/clips to a ripped bluray that's already in bdmv folder format?
Essentially I would like to start the movie on my media player, let the Dolby countdown play, then the movie starts.
You could certainly use a video editing program to do it.

I am thinking, though, that if you can grab the countdown clip, it could be joined/remuxed into any other .mkv file with MKVMerge much more quickly and without re encoding everything. It wouldn't be a smooth fade in, but I guess it depends on what you are trying to accomplish.
smitbret is online now  
post #6910 of 6917 Old Today, 10:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitbret View Post
You could certainly use a video editing program to do it.

I am thinking, though, that if you can grab the countdown clip, it could be joined/remuxed into any other .mkv file with MKVMerge much more quickly and without re encoding everything. It wouldn't be a smooth fade in, but I guess it depends on what you are trying to accomplish.
I am just curious if there is an easy way to add a .m2ts file to the bdmv format. And once added, what do else do you have to edit in the folder for the additional stream to play before the actual main movie.
the_abbot is offline  
post #6911 of 6917 Old Today, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_abbot View Post
I am just curious if there is an easy way to add a .m2ts file to the bdmv format. And once added, what do else do you have to edit in the folder for the additional stream to play before the actual main movie.
For .m2ts files you can use TSMuxer to join the header clip to the main movie.m2ts file.
the_abbot likes this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6912 of 6917 Old Today, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
For .m2ts files you can use TSMuxer to join the header clip to the main movie.m2ts file.
Aha! Thank you so much!
Adding these dolby/dts intros will add to the theater atmosphere in my room.
Edit: Oh man... now I am thinking about creating MEGA bluray's for my collection. Merging multiple movies into one and creating a menu to make each movie selectable. Hmmm.......

Last edited by the_abbot; Today at 10:54 AM.
the_abbot is offline  
post #6913 of 6917 Old Today, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
For .m2ts files you can use TSMuxer to join the header clip to the main movie.m2ts file.
Whoops, should have noted that he was in BDMV format. My bad. Same concept, but Kelson is correct.
smitbret is online now  
post #6914 of 6917 Old Today, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitbret View Post
Whoops, should have noted that he was in BDMV format. My bad. Same concept, but Kelson is correct.
Thanks guys.
For those who are curious, this is what I am trying to do:
-I have downloaded about 20 of those short Dolby/DTS/THX intro clips. They are all in .mt2s format (bluray).
-I have some of my bluray movies already ripped to bdmv folder structure.
-I want to incorporate the external .mt2s file into the existing bluray bdmv stream structure.
-I would like to be able to press play on my media player, then have the short clip play before the main movie starts.
-Once the intro clips ends, I would like the main movie stream to automatically play next.
the_abbot is offline  
post #6915 of 6917 Old Today, 02:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post
Yes, but you are depending on an external bus to bring the data into that laptop and simultaneously output that data over that same bus.



No, and I'm also not saying ripping is at all a CPU intensive task. All I'm saying is that a BD drive on SATA feeding a HD on SATA is going to be fastest and most dependable.
USB has been just as dependable for me over the years. When I first started ripping my BD collection in 2009 I had four or five BD drives in external enclosures attached to my WHS. They were very dependable. All I needed to do was put the discs in . The WHS created the folder, picked the coverart and fan art and after ripping the disc ejected. Then I would stick more titles in. And I did that for several weeks until my collection was finally ripped. Ove rthe last 5+ years of ripping BDs, whether internal or external, the drives have been just as dependable.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6916 of 6917 Old Today, 04:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 476
What is more important than the interface is whether or not the drive has been rip-locked.

Load a BD disk to the drive, start ImgBurn and select the "Create Image File from Disk" tool. In the info window on the right you will see an entry for "Supported Read Speeds". That entry will show you the maximum rip speed of your drive -- if it is rip-locked that max speed will be well below what the drive is advertised as.

One of my burners is an LG WH10LS30. When I first got it, I used MediaCodeSpeedEdit to eliminate the rip-lock and get a max rip speed of 10X. The other day I discovered there had been a firmware update (v1.02) to the drive. I downloaded it and updated the drive -- this replaced the rip-lock -- my WH10LS30 was now limited to a max rip speed of 4X. This is what was listed in ImgBurn and I did a rip of a BD-R to confirm it to be the case.

I then ran MediaCodeSpeedEdit on the v1.02 firmware file to remove the rip-lock and reloaded the firmware to the drive. My max rip speed was back up to 10X and I did another rip on the same BD-R to verify that -- it rips the first layer of an unprotected BD-R in 12:35, hitting 10X at the outer edge of the disk.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6917 of 6917 Old Today, 05:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,165
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
What is more important than the interface is whether or not the drive has been rip-locked.

Load a BD disk to the drive, start ImgBurn and select the "Create Image File from Disk" tool. In the info window on the right you will see an entry for "Supported Read Speeds". That entry will show you the maximum rip speed of your drive -- if it is rip-locked that max speed will be well below what the drive is advertised as.

One of my burners is an LG WH10LS30. When I first got it, I used MediaCodeSpeedEdit to eliminate the rip-lock and get a max rip speed of 10X. The other day I discovered there had been a firmware update (v1.02) to the drive. I downloaded it and updated the drive -- this replaced the rip-lock -- my WH10LS30 was now limited to a max rip speed of 4X. This is what was listed in ImgBurn and I did a rip of a BD-R to confirm it to be the case.

I then ran MediaCodeSpeedEdit on the v1.02 firmware file to remove the rip-lock and reloaded the firmware to the drive. My max rip speed was back up to 10X and I did another rip on the same BD-R to verify that -- it rips the first layer of an unprotected BD-R in 12:35, hitting 10X at the outer edge of the disk.
When I use imgBURN with my Pioneer drive or with a rip lock FOX disc, it will still show 8X max or 12x max. It will get up to 2.4x or so and then drop to 2X.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off