Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 270 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8071 of 8093 Old 08-30-2015, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
antisuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Ok I see what you are doing now. All makes sense now that I see you example haha

I'm curious, when you do it this way, does mkvmerge demux the files temporarily before remuxing? I'd assume so as even makemkv works that way and its makemkv is just a different GUI for mkvmerge.
Mkvmerge creates and starts writing to the new file immediately, not 100% sure if that means no intermediate steps but that's what I've been thinking. Works well for me regardless, and as I posted earlier I also use mkvmerge to strip out unneeded subtitle tracks (after determining which track represents english foreign language "forced" subs) so it's an easy workflow for me.

However I see that the standalone mkvmerge gui app is scheduled to be deprecated in an upcoming release, with those features rolled into a new mktvtooolnix gui. So, another program to learn, and those screenshots I posted will probably not be much good in a few weeks lol.
antisuck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8072 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 05:34 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,341
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 486
This thread has been rolled back to the most recent on-topic post. Some legitimate posts may have been lost in the rollback. For that, I apologize.

Stay on topic, please.
ellisr63 and jhughy2010 like this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #8073 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 06:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,558
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1224 Post(s)
Liked: 764
For you Handbrake aficionados:
I'm experimenting with converting HDTV MPEG-2 captures from my TiVo's into H.264/AVC. The TiVo transfer software, kmttg has the option to decrypt and run Handbrake on the file to do it all in 1 shot from a single batch interface. kmttg runs Handbrake from the CLI and so the various Handbrake encoding "profiles" available in kmttg are just text strings of the Handbrake command line parameters. I can modify or create my own kmttg Handbrake "profiles".

Questions:
  • What is the directionality of the CRF factor? The profile I'm experimenting with has CRF=21 and appears to over-compress the source. If I want better quality with less compression do I increase or decrease the CRF.
  • If I install and run the Handbrake GUI to set up a bunch of parameters, can I get the CLI parameter string out of the GUI without actually running Handbrake, so I can use it to create my own kmttg profile?

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #8074 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 209
^^The lower to 0 the higher quality. 0 is placebo. I usually go with 20 for x264 blu ray rips and 18 for x265 blu ray rips.

Right now I'm re-encoding to x265 for the most part.

Not sure about the second Q.
Kelson likes this.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #8075 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
  • If I install and run the Handbrake GUI to set up a bunch of parameters, can I get the CLI parameter string out of the GUI without actually running Handbrake, so I can use it to create my own kmttg profile?
You can get the CLI parameters by starting an encode in Handbrake, then cancel it after it runs for a few seconds. The parameters will be listed in the encode log.
Kelson likes this.
Ken.F is offline  
post #8076 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 11,558
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1224 Post(s)
Liked: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
^^The lower to 0 the higher quality. 0 is placebo. I usually go with 20 for x264 blu ray rips and 18 for x265 blu ray rips.

Right now I'm re-encoding to x265 for the most part.

Not sure about the second Q.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
You can get the CLI parameters by starting an encode in Handbrake, then cancel it after it runs for a few seconds. The parameters will be listed in the encode log.
Thank you to you both.

I see Handbrake can really give your processor a workout. It pegged all 8 processors of my i7 and made the machine unresponsive to anything else. Meanwhile the CPU fan cranked itself up to a dull roar.
jhughy2010 likes this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; 08-31-2015 at 11:07 AM.
Kelson is offline  
post #8077 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Thank you to you both.

I see Handbrake can really give your processor a workout. It pegged all 8 processors of my i7 and made the machine unresponsive to anything else. Meanwhile the CPU fan cranked itself up to a dull roar.
Yep! I kind of like that it gives my i7 a workout. I feel like it is utilizing the i7 to its full abilities. A few months ago I bought an NZXT x61 to get a little more headroom with the 4790k. I was able (only recently with a newer mobo) to get 4.6Ghz stable with a 1.275 core voltage. I only manipulated the multiplier in the BIOS too. Very east to OC in my opinion. Anyhow, the water cooler keeps it under 77C during those long x265 re encodes. The results are amazing though... I'm able to put my entire ~9TB collection on a 2TB external (only half full right now) all with 224Kb AC3 audio.

I'm all for x265 at this point. Granted, all my playback sources are laptops.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #8078 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 132
OOC, how long does it take Handbrake to downsize a Blu-Ray ripped MKV file? My old 2.4 GHz Intel I7 takes about 45 minutes... Anyone with a faster PC can tell me how long it takes now? I am considering getting a sixth gen 4.0 GHz i7 computer and was wondering how much faster it would be....

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #8079 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
OOC, how long does it take Handbrake to downsize a Blu-Ray ripped MKV file? My old 2.4 GHz Intel I7 takes about 45 minutes... Anyone with a faster PC can tell me how long it takes now? I am considering getting a sixth gen 4.0 GHz i7 computer and was wondering how much faster it would be....
That's kind of hard to answer. Changing a few settings can make a big difference in processing time.
Ken.F is offline  
post #8080 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
OOC, how long does it take Handbrake to downsize a Blu-Ray ripped MKV file? My old 2.4 GHz Intel I7 takes about 45 minutes... Anyone with a faster PC can tell me how long it takes now? I am considering getting a sixth gen 4.0 GHz i7 computer and was wondering how much faster it would be....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
That's kind of hard to answer. Changing a few settings can make a big difference in processing time.
Very true! Nearly impossible to determine "length" of re encode. Movies with grain take much longer. Reducing profile makes things much faster.

If you're i7 is a 2nd Gen then a 6th Gen would be worth the upgrade. 3rd and 4th might not be worth the upgrade.

Perhaps Haswell-E would be worth the upgrade?
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #8081 of 8093 Old 08-31-2015, 11:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,356
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by antisuck View Post
Mkvmerge creates and starts writing to the new file immediately, not 100% sure if that means no intermediate steps but that's what I've been thinking. Works well for me regardless, and as I posted earlier I also use mkvmerge to strip out unneeded subtitle tracks (after determining which track represents english foreign language "forced" subs) so it's an easy workflow for me.



However I see that the standalone mkvmerge gui app is scheduled to be deprecated in an upcoming release, with those features rolled into a new mktvtooolnix gui. So, another program to learn, and those screenshots I posted will probably not be much good in a few weeks lol.
I like the new mkvmerge GUI more than the old one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Thank you to you both.

I see Handbrake can really give your processor a workout. It pegged all 8 processors of my i7 and made the machine unresponsive to anything else. Meanwhile the CPU fan cranked itself up to a dull roar.

Put handbrake on low priority. It'll still peg your CPU to 100% but it will give other apps you are currently using more processing time.
DotJun is offline  
post #8082 of 8093 Old 09-01-2015, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 132
I got Handbrake on high priority... It pegs my CPU at 100% and everything else crawls... My CPU fan also ramps up in speed as well...


I think I will get the 6th gen 4.0 GHz I7 CPU when prices stabilize... The retail is $350 but market price is $600... ouch...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #8083 of 8093 Old 09-01-2015, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
I got Handbrake on high priority... It pegs my CPU at 100% and everything else crawls... My CPU fan also ramps up in speed as well...


I think I will get the 6th gen 4.0 GHz I7 CPU when prices stabilize... The retail is $350 but market price is $600... ouch...
It has not been released yet. Any retailer selling them prior to Intel giving them the green light isn't a retail worth your business.

It's available for pre order at B&H.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #8084 of 8093 Old 09-01-2015, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
I got Handbrake on high priority... It pegs my CPU at 100% and everything else crawls... My CPU fan also ramps up in speed as well...
Have you tried using the "H.264 (Intel QSV)" video codec in Handbrake?
Ken.F is offline  
post #8085 of 8093 Old 09-01-2015, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
Have you tried using the "H.264 (Intel QSV)" video codec in Handbrake?
Yes... If I remember, I have a 2.66 GHz Intel i7-920 LGA1366 processor... It may be a second gen chip...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #8086 of 8093 Old 09-01-2015, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
Yes... If I remember, I have a 2.66 GHz Intel i7-920 LGA1366 processor... It may be a second gen chip...
I don't think that one is QSV capable.
Ken.F is offline  
post #8087 of 8093 Unread 09-01-2015, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,130
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
Yes... If I remember, I have a 2.66 GHz Intel i7-920 LGA1366 processor... It may be a second gen chip...
That chip doesn't have QuickSync. I have a 3rd gen i3 that does QSV at a couple hundred frames per second.
olyteddy is offline  
post #8088 of 8093 Unread Yesterday, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 132
I have decided to upgrade to a Intel I7 Skylake computer... I will be buying the components (once the processor price gets stable) and build it to my specs...


Intel I7 Skylake 4.0 GHz processor
32 GB RAM
2 BR optical drives
1 TB SSD primary drive
2 2TB secondary drives


I figure cost overall will be about $2000... Since I don't do gaming, the video card is not that important, just getting a middle of the road $250 ATI card.


I have not decided on a case or power supply... I don't want anything "blingy" with LEDs and such. I just want it to look plain Jane...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
post #8089 of 8093 Unread Yesterday, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
I have decided to upgrade to a Intel I7 Skylake computer... I will be buying the components (once the processor price gets stable) and build it to my specs...


Intel I7 Skylake 4.0 GHz processor
32 GB RAM
2 BR optical drives
1 TB SSD primary drive
2 2TB secondary drives


I figure cost overall will be about $2000... Since I don't do gaming, the video card is not that important, just getting a middle of the road $250 ATI card.


I have not decided on a case or power supply... I don't want anything "blingy" with LEDs and such. I just want it to look plain Jane...
I'm just wondering what the main purpose of this PC will be?

First and foremost, why Skylake? Haswell-E represents a better value in my opinion especially for re-encoding via Handbrake. Also, why such a huge SSD?

If you aren't going to game then you should be looking at a video card in the $100 range. Why spend more for a card that will be under utilized.



Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center), PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby)
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U
My DIY subwoofer build

Last edited by jhughy2010; Yesterday at 08:47 PM.
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #8090 of 8093 Unread Yesterday, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 209
The i7-5820k has a slight edge over the newer Skylake part. It can be had right now for $380.

Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center), PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby)
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U
My DIY subwoofer build
jhughy2010 is offline  
post #8091 of 8093 Unread Today, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Honestly with no plans on gaming why get a dedicated video card at all?

Bill
pepar likes this.
mrfattbill is online now  
post #8092 of 8093 Unread Today, 10:43 AM
Member
 
cnelson87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone successfully ripped Insurgent (blu-ray US retail version) with AnyDVD & Clown_BD? The seamless branching isn't the issue, I have the correct playlist from AnyDVD. I'm getting an error on the HD audio track (I'm at work and don't have it in from of me but I can post it later if that helps). It seems eac3to (I have latest v3.2.9) is choking on the Atmos 7.1 audio. My Clown_BD default setting is to use the unconverted HD audio track. But I've also tried other settings: to extract just the core, and to downmix to AC3. Same error every time.
If anyone has successfully ripped it, please share your settings, what version of eac3to you're using, and/or anything else pertinent. Thanks.
cnelson87 is online now  
post #8093 of 8093 Unread Today, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
I'm just wondering what the main purpose of this PC will be?

First and foremost, why Skylake? Haswell-E represents a better value in my opinion especially for re-encoding via Handbrake. Also, why such a huge SSD?

If you aren't going to game then you should be looking at a video card in the $100 range. Why spend more for a card that will be under utilized.

Well, it now appears I will have to buy a computer sooner than later.... My PC bit the dust last night... I am thinking of getting a Intel i7-4790 4.0 GHz computer. I usually want to get a PC that is higher end because I tend to keep them for a while (I found out my current one is actually a first gen i7-920 and I had it for 7-8 years)...


I can transfer my three one TB hard drives over or just buy a couple of two TB drives. Right now I am in the process of ripping my entire collection of movies and music. My CDs alone took up 500GB in FLAC. I ripped over 1200 videos and it used up three terabytes. I put the movies and music on a drive attached to my router so I can access them throughout the house...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
3d blu-ray , blu ray , copier , Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player , home cinema , ripper
Gear in this thread - blu by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off