Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 271 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old Today, 10:38 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 25,464
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 366 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Sure, and mine bitcoins in the background!
pepar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Today, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
What do you plan to use this PC for? Be specific... is it for HTPC, re-encoding, ripping media, server purposes, gaming, etc... ?

If you are specific maybe we can help you build the perfect solution.
I use the PC to convert BR discs to MKV files... I then copy the files to a network drive so I can stream. I also use it for some work purposes as needed. I do not use it for HTPC or for gaming.

I already purchased a new PC... Intel i7-6700 4.0 GHz LGA-1151 Skylake processor, 16 GB RAM, one TB WD Caviar Black HDD, AMD R7 370 Radeon 2 GB video card, LG B-R recorder, full size tower case,800 PS and Windows 10 Professional for $1300. My old PC took about 45-60 minutes to transcode a BR file to a 2GB MKV file... My guess is that the new PC should be about 50-60% faster. The motherboard supports RAID so I will use the HDD from the old computer to use in a raid array for data and add a 250-500GB SSD for the boot files...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
Old Today, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
I use the PC to convert BR discs to MKV files...
A NUC with an external BD drive could do this...

Quote:
I also use it for some work purposes as needed. I do not use it for HTPC or for gaming.
Having that in mind... the PC you just bought is incredibly overkill...

Quote:
I already purchased a new PC... Intel i7-6700 4.0 GHz LGA-1151 Skylake processor, 16 GB RAM, one TB WD Caviar Black HDD, AMD R7 370 Radeon 2 GB video card, LG B-R recorder, full size tower case,800 PS and Windows 10 Professional for $1300.
Quote:
My old PC took about 45-60 minutes to transcode a BR file to a 2GB MKV file...
What do you mean by transcoding? I think you meant to say re-encoding? Is this done via Handbrake?

Pioneer VSX-1124-K, NHT Classic Three (L/R), Classic Two (rear) TwoC (center), PSA V1500 (x2)
HTPC/server (Emby)
OTA Winegard HD7698P
Sharp LC-60SQ15U
My DIY subwoofer build
jhughy2010 is offline  
Old Today, 02:56 PM
Member
 
cnelson87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
I used MakeMKV in conjunction with AnyDVD HD. Worked without a hitch.
Cool, thanks, I'll try that. I usually prefer ripping the main movie to a blu-ray folder structure, but only because that's what I've always done and I'm used to it. I'll give .mkv format a try.
cnelson87 is offline  
Old Today, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhughy2010 View Post
A NUC with an external BD drive could do this...

Having that in mind... the PC you just bought is incredibly overkill...

What do you mean by transcoding? I think you meant to say re-encoding? Is this done via Handbrake?
Yes, Handbrake... Remember, I plan to keep this computer for several years unless something great comes along... My wife uses laptops and have replaced them about every 18 months... Her latest laptop, a HP Scepter with an Intel i7 finally was as fast as my older PC.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
Old Today, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
Yes, Handbrake... Remember, I plan to keep this computer for several years unless something great comes along... My wife uses laptops and have replaced them about every 18 months... Her latest laptop, a HP Scepter with an Intel i7 finally was as fast as my older PC.
Gotcha. It's worth it for Handbrake.
jhughy2010 is offline  
Old Today, 10:24 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 25,464
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 366 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Jon, the SSD will make as much of a speed improvement as the newer CPU and associated architecture, i.e. bus speeds. I have an Intel 400GB PCIe NVMe as my boot and it is stupid fast. Also have several SATA SSD that i use for bouncing BD rips around during ClownBD processing.

Jeff

Last edited by pepar; Today at 10:30 PM.
pepar is online now  
 

Tags
3d blu-ray , blu ray , copier , Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player , home cinema , ripper
Gear in this thread - blu by PriceGrabber.com
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off