Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 280 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 550Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2015, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 173
If anyone wanted to try H.265 video compression, I can give you a few things that i have learned....

I have been playing around with H.265 compression using Handbrake. I can tell you right now that H.265 is a lot better than H.264.... There is no or very little video compression artifacts in dark scenes which has always plagued H.264. The image is also noticeably sharper than H.264, and this is on a 50" screen using a two GB MKV file. The picture quality is near if not at the original BD disc quality.

Drawbacks are: It takes forever to convert a file to H.264, about 400% longer. I can rip a 120 minute movie in H.264 in 30 minutes, H.265 can take as long as two hours. This is using a brand new Intel I7-6700K computer running at 4.00 GHz, which is one of the fastest Intel processors right now.

The primary drawback is there are very few devices that can playback H.265 video. AFAIK, only the NVidia Shield, Roku 4 and newer smart UHD televisions can playback the file. Another issue is that the playback device has to have a pretty strong processor otherwise the video decoding can be rather jerky.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2015, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 57
So, why use H.265 then? If the only thing you gain is HDD space which is getting cheaper every day, why all the fuss?
Kelson and mrfattbill like this.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
Old 11-11-2015, 10:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 25,358
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2691 Post(s)
Liked: 1442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
If anyone wanted to try H.265 video compression, I can give you a few things that i have learned....

I have been playing around with H.265 compression using Handbrake. I can tell you right now that H.265 is a lot better than H.264.... There is no or very little video compression artifacts in dark scenes which has always plagued H.264. The image is also noticeably sharper than H.264, and this is on a 50" screen using a two GB MKV file. The picture quality is near if not at the original BD disc quality.

Drawbacks are: It takes forever to convert a file to H.264, about 400% longer. I can rip a 120 minute movie in H.264 in 30 minutes, H.265 can take as long as two hours. This is using a brand new Intel I7-6700K computer running at 4.00 GHz, which is one of the fastest Intel processors right now.

The primary drawback is there are very few devices that can playback H.265 video. AFAIK, only the NVidia Shield, Roku 4 and newer smart UHD televisions can playback the file. Another issue is that the playback device has to have a pretty strong processor otherwise the video decoding can be rather jerky.
Two hours!?!? And that is with an i7-6700K at 4Ghz!?!?
My Popcorn Hour VTEN can play back H.265 video files. But I couldn't imagine encoding it myself with only a core i5 running at 3.4 Ghz.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 07:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,183
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post
So, why use H.265 then? If the only thing you gain is HDD space which is getting cheaper every day, why all the fuss?
I would agree. I view H.265 as the codec du jour for 4K BluRay -- whenever that appears -- the way H.264 is for 2K BluRay and MPEG-2 is for DVD. Storage is cheap (as you note) and re-coding takes enormous time for dubious benefit. I don't bother re-coding my DVD's to H.264 and I don't see a need to re-code my BD's to H.265.

Right now there is little commercial content coded as H.265 so I'm not surprised that only a few devices, targeted at playing this content, support H.265. When 4K disks hit the market, you can expect to see the explosion of hardware players supporting H.265. Unlike the "3D experiment", 4K has mainstream written all over it.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I like H.265 over H.264 because of the cleaner image. There is a lot less compression artifacts on H.265, in most cases almost nil. I do not plan to use H.265 except for exceptional reference Blu-Rays... The only ones I have done so far are the new 4K Mastered Leon, the Professional, the remastered Apollo 13, the 4K Mastered Battle: Los Angeles, Gravity, Interstellar, Guardians of the Galaxy and Pacific Rim.

Most of these movies have a lot of dark scenes which the H.265 really shines over the H.264.

The only other movies I am considering recoding are the Harry Potter movies... My H.264 versions all exhibit horrible compression artifacts since most of the movies are filmed at night...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Is there a simple tutorial anywhere for backing up my blu rays to my hard drive that anyone can recommend?

Sent from my SD4930UR using Tapatalk
Stoney Jackson is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 12:39 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post
Is there a simple tutorial anywhere for backing up my blu rays to my hard drive that anyone can recommend?

Sent from my SD4930UR using Tapatalk
Read post #1 ?
pepar is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Read post #1 ?
Yeah, sorry, I just meant something simple, free, and one step. Guess not.

Sent from my SD4930UR using Tapatalk
Stoney Jackson is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post
Yeah, sorry, I just meant something simple, free, and one step. Guess not.

Sent from my SD4930UR using Tapatalk
Free is asking too much but -

click on Rip Video Disc to Harddisk in AnyDVD HD. Done.
Gary J is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stoney Jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Free is asking too much but -

click on Rip Video Disc to Harddisk in AnyDVD HD. Done.
Great! Thanks a lot.

Sent from my SD4930UR using Tapatalk
Stoney Jackson is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 01:13 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoney Jackson View Post
Yeah, sorry, I just meant something simple, free, and one step. Guess not.

Sent from my SD4930UR using Tapatalk
It's not simple at all. There are several paths to the end goal ... each end goal, of which there are a few. If you read the first post, and then the last two week's worth you will get the jist.
pepar is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkB49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Speaking of Hard Drives...


It seem's the going rate on Portable 2 TB is 89.00 these days.


Did notice on the Best Buy BF ad, a WD 4TB Book for 99.99. That gets us in the
25 buck range per Terra Bite!!


So Stock up if you can. Check Amazon also on those sale days .


MarkB
MarkB49 is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkB49 View Post
Speaking of Hard Drives...


It seem's the going rate on Portable 2 TB is 89.00 these days.


Did notice on the Best Buy BF ad, a WD 4TB Book for 99.99. That gets us in the
25 buck range per Terra Bite!!


So Stock up if you can. Check Amazon also on those sale days .


MarkB
I've bought numerous 8TB drives for about $183 shipped after various coupons and deals, most notably on Jet.com. I know some people are going to poo poo the SMR Seagates but I am not running them in raid and simply using them to back up discs. They sit is a hard drive case until needed. For this purpose they are perfect for me...
mecmec is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 04:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 25,358
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2691 Post(s)
Liked: 1442
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
I've bought numerous 8TB drives for about $183 shipped after various coupons and deals, most notably on Jet.com. I know some people are going to poo poo the SMR Seagates but I am not running them in raid and simply using them to back up discs. They sit is a hard drive case until needed. For this purpose they are perfect for me...
I'm using a 4TB, 2.5", SMR drive in each of my TiVo Bolts. Everything has been great so far. When I tested them before installing in the Bolt I got some good speeds from them..

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
I like H.265 over H.264 because of the cleaner image. There is a lot less compression artifacts on H.265, in most cases almost nil.
I haven't been looking but I have yet to see some video comparisons demonstrating this.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
Old 11-13-2015, 02:04 AM
Senior Member
 
MarkB49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkB49 View Post
Speaking of Hard Drives...


It seem's the going rate on Portable 2 TB is 89.00 these days.


Did notice on the Best Buy BF ad, a WD 4TB Book for 99.99. That gets us in the
25 buck range per Terra Bite!!


So Stock up if you can. Check Amazon also on those sale days .


MarkB


LOL
My system is a lot simpler than many of you guys.
I Hook up my Portable 2TB HD to my laptop--LT.(Which is really my Desktop Computer).
If I have a DVD or BD on the LT I transfer it to the P.HD.
Then I unplug the HD and Plug it into my Sony BD player
or 2 other HDTV's I have the M connections on.
My main viewing is on my Sony BD player through the USB. I Rarely watch a disk anymore.
I've loaded 145 titles-326 Disc's in the last 6 months onto the 2TB.
I still have 430GB on it. Most of it will be used on DVD and some BD's.
If I don't see anything I really want in the next 2 weeks,BF sales, then i'll walk into BestBuy 6 hours after the crowds settle down and pick-up the 4TB on sale just like I did 2 years ago on my 1st 2TB portable.
Why was I able to do this?
Most people Don't know what to do with ALL that Extra Storage. So on that day 2 years ago the shelf was full of them!!This is our Hobby. For some a passion.


I Really Like MakeMkv.
I used HandBrake a lot a few months ago. I decided not to compress for awhile.
I Do notice the Quality between a 27GB program vs. a 7GB compressed program.


That's my 2 cents worth.
MarkB

Last edited by MarkB49; 11-13-2015 at 02:37 AM.
MarkB49 is offline  
Old 11-14-2015, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post
I haven't been looking but I have yet to see some video comparisons demonstrating this.
Here you go... This is from the movie Guardians of the Galaxy... The H.265 file is 2.1 GB in size. The H.264 file is 4.2 GB in size... Unfortunately, the screen caps are from VLC Player. The file size is pretty small so you have to consider that as well...

You will note in the title cap, the clouds are more blotchy in the H.264 pic. On the planet shot, the solar flare is also more noisy and the clouds are blotchy as well in the H.264 shots...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GOTG 1 H265.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	164.4 KB
ID:	1056905   Click image for larger version

Name:	GOTG 1 H264.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	135.7 KB
ID:	1056913   Click image for larger version

Name:	GOTG 2 H265.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	176.5 KB
ID:	1056921   Click image for larger version

Name:	GOTG 2 H264.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	163.7 KB
ID:	1056929  

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
Old 11-14-2015, 11:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhughy2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
If anyone wanted to try H.265 video compression, I can give you a few things that i have learned....

I have been playing around with H.265 compression using Handbrake. I can tell you right now that H.265 is a lot better than H.264.... There is no or very little video compression artifacts in dark scenes which has always plagued H.264. The image is also noticeably sharper than H.264, and this is on a 50" screen using a two GB MKV file. The picture quality is near if not at the original BD disc quality.

Drawbacks are: It takes forever to convert a file to H.264, about 400% longer. I can rip a 120 minute movie in H.264 in 30 minutes, H.265 can take as long as two hours. This is using a brand new Intel I7-6700K computer running at 4.00 GHz, which is one of the fastest Intel processors right now.

The primary drawback is there are very few devices that can playback H.265 video. AFAIK, only the NVidia Shield, Roku 4 and newer smart UHD televisions can playback the file. Another issue is that the playback device has to have a pretty strong processor otherwise the video decoding can be rather jerky.
-There are many things to consider when talking "compression artifacts"... First and foremost, I have seen ample compression artifacts with x265. In fact, I would speculate that x265 exhibited much more artifacts at an "equal" quality preset in HB versus x264. However, data suggests that the two encoders aren't created equal in regards to Handbrakes quality preset. I recently watched Godzilla that was re-encoded to HEVC and it exhibited lots of what you are referring to as compression artifacts. Actually, I don't even think what we see during these dark scenes are "artifacts" they are more simply put data that has been removed during the re-encoding process (to reduce the bitrate). Essentially, we should in theory see less of this missing information with x265 versus x264 when the bitrate is about equal. Getting the bitrate equal though is a lot of guess work.

-For what it's worth, In order to get the same quality out of x265 as x264 I think Handbrake's quality setting needs to be set at 18 (Constant Quality: 18) for x265 and 20 for x264. This is all at a medium preset for both.

-I have not experienced a 400% increase in encoding time with x265. It is about twice as long for me (i7-4790k overclocked to 4.7GHz... not that it matters).

-Lots and lots of devices playback HEVC now. I recently put a x265 movie on a thumb drive and plugged it into the 40" Samsung H6400 series at work and it played it like a champ. My Samsung Galaxy S5 can even keep up (at times it does get jerky).
jhughy2010 is offline  
Old 11-15-2015, 08:48 AM
Member
 
blub-blub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HEVC is not as good as x264 if you want high quality encodes.
HEVC looses a lot of detail aka grain compared to x264. If the new HEVC tune "grain" is selected the picture improves a lot but still is not as good as x264.
And furthermore grain is almost impossible to compress so HEVC using "grain" preset doesn't compress a while lot better than x264.
I did quite some test with crf 17 and 18 compared to x264 crf 18 or 20.
blub-blub is offline  
Old 11-15-2015, 10:44 AM
Senior Member
 
hogger129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Dark Side Of The Moon
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Why compress at all? Just buy a stack of BD25 and back up onto that using BDRB. Most times the main title and the HD audio track converted to 640kbps DD 5.1 will fit without compression.

Last edited by hogger129; 11-15-2015 at 10:48 AM.
hogger129 is offline  
Old 11-15-2015, 11:24 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 275
You'll compress lossless audio but not high definition Blu-Ray video?
pepar is offline  
Old 11-15-2015, 11:45 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
Why compress at all? Just buy a stack of BD25 and back up onto that using BDRB. Most times the main title and the HD audio track converted to 640kbps DD 5.1 will fit without compression.
You'll compress lossless audio but not high definition Blu-Ray video?
pepar is offline  
Old 11-15-2015, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Toltec21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Gents, would this be a good thread to ask about the best Handbrake settings for Blu Makemkv rips? More specifically, I'm looking for the best Handbrake settings that still can function on an up to date Apple TV 3. I was screening an HD file of The Grey and was disappointed with all the dark scenes and posterization (if that's the right term) that resulted from the ATV3 Preset in Handbrake. If I'm starting with an 18 gb MKV file, I would think there is a lot of opportunity to convert to a high quality H.264 video in .m4v format. Right now, I'm choosing the High Profile Preset and they work pretty flawlessly, but I'm curious if I can modify the preset to gain more video quality yet still function within the confines of the Apple TV 3. Thanks in advance.
Toltec21 is offline  
Old 11-15-2015, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,183
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
You'll compress lossless audio but not high definition Blu-Ray video?
Shudder.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 11-15-2015, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
Why compress at all? Just buy a stack of BD25 and back up onto that using BDRB.
Why burn at all? Just get a 2.5" HDD and copy over.
Brian Hampton and pepar like this.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 08:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,183
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
Why compress at all? Just buy a stack of BD25 and back up onto that using BDRB. Most times the main title and the HD audio track converted to 640kbps DD 5.1 will fit without compression.
Cinavia protected content ripped and burned to BD-R, whether or not it has been recoded with Handbrake to whatever, will fail to play on any BDA licensed BD players made after 2/12 or BDA licensed PC player software -- when you attempt to play that disk.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 08:33 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,877
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Cinavia protected content ripped and burned to BD-R, whether or not it has been recoded with Handbrake to whatever, will fail to play on any BDA licensed BD players made after 2/12 or BDA licensed PC player software -- when you attempt to play that disk.
Though there is third-party software available that will disable Cinavia detection in some PC player programs. Though I kept my old BD players and use VLC for computer playback of ripped movies. No issues.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Old 11-16-2015, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toltec21 View Post
Gents, would this be a good thread to ask about the best Handbrake settings for Blu Makemkv rips? More specifically, I'm looking for the best Handbrake settings that still can function on an up to date Apple TV 3. I was screening an HD file of The Grey and was disappointed with all the dark scenes and posterization (if that's the right term) that resulted from the ATV3 Preset in Handbrake. If I'm starting with an 18 gb MKV file, I would think there is a lot of opportunity to convert to a high quality H.264 video in .m4v format. Right now, I'm choosing the High Profile Preset and they work pretty flawlessly, but I'm curious if I can modify the preset to gain more video quality yet still function within the confines of the Apple TV 3. Thanks in advance.
The larger the final MKV file, the better the quality. I usually set the video preset at 20 and get great results. The end file depending on the film can vary from 4 to 8 GB. I prefer MKV files. For some reason, when I convert to M4V/MP4 format, the end file does not always show up on my streaming devices. I can see the file on my NAS using Windows, but my Samsung TV, Sony and Oppo players do not show the files at all.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogger129 View Post
Why compress at all? Just buy a stack of BD25 and back up onto that using BDRB. Most times the main title and the HD audio track converted to 640kbps DD 5.1 will fit without compression.
Why burn at all? I would rather just buy 2 copies of everything over putting the stuff from one BDR disc onto another. (not kidding)
Brian Hampton is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 01:08 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,572
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Wait, aren't we ripping to fill content servers???? I keep the #%**+ original disc as "backup."
pepar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
3d blu-ray , blu ray , copier , Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player , home cinema , ripper
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off