Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 301 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 551Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9001 of 9006 Old 02-03-2016, 08:45 PM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So next question about ClownBD and the audio/video selection boxes.

The video check box is fairly straight forward.

The audio I get, of course, options like English, 7.1, 5.1, AC3, DTS, etc.

I pick, for example, English and 7.1 and uncheck everything else. (I see things like 2.0 surround which I don't know what this does, etc.).

Does anything in the smaller audio box get unchecked? I will see English in there and 7.1 will have a check but so well 5.1 and different types all checked. Do I mess with these or did all my selection work just happen on the left to pick English and 7.1?

Seems like that small box should be for tweaking, but I don't find good information on when to tweak for the best results.

I always seem to end up with two audio tracks when it is done. The main one and sometimes a descriptive video track which is not maybe a bad thing for some of my guests but things seem more hit and miss where these are getting added. I'd prefer not ripping something 4 times and adjust every one to see what does what.

What work flow are you guys using for the check boxes?

-B
bbusse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9002 of 9006 Old Yesterday, 06:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,190
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1592 Post(s)
Liked: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbusse View Post
What work flow are you guys using for the check boxes?
When I am presented with the streams dialog box, I select a single audio track -- HD, English. If the selection is for DTS-MA-HD, there is a sub-checkbox for just DTS. I leave that sub-checkbox unchecked. As a result I only get a single HD audio track in the rip -- this is always confirmed by running MediaInfo on the final .m2ts file before I call it a wrap.

I feel the strength of Clown_BD comes into play when dealing with all the subtitle options. That is why I initially started using it and that is why I have continued to use it for all my BD rips.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #9003 of 9006 Old Yesterday, 05:26 PM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
When I am presented with the streams dialog box, I select a single audio track -- HD, English. If the selection is for DTS-MA-HD, there is a sub-checkbox for just DTS. I leave that sub-checkbox unchecked. As a result I only get a single HD audio track in the rip -- this is always confirmed by running MediaInfo on the final .m2ts file before I call it a wrap.

I feel the strength of Clown_BD comes into play when dealing with all the subtitle options. That is why I initially started using it and that is why I have continued to use it for all my BD rips.
This is in the smaller right top audio box or the larger box on the left? I've been unchecking things on the left, should have I been doing this in the small box on the right instead?

-B
bbusse is offline  
post #9004 of 9006 Old Yesterday, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,655
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbusse View Post
This is in the smaller right top audio box or the larger box on the left? I've been unchecking things on the left, should have I been doing this in the small box on the right instead?

-B
I think the boxes on the right tell Clown which tracks to select by default. There is a clown.ini file (or similar) where you can specify defaults for those. IIRC it has German subtitles enabled by default? So I edited the ini file to take out the German. Since then, I never touch those check boxes on the right side.
Kelson likes this.
ScottJ is offline  
post #9005 of 9006 Old Yesterday, 09:04 PM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
I think the boxes on the right tell Clown which tracks to select by default. There is a clown.ini file (or similar) where you can specify defaults for those. IIRC it has German subtitles enabled by default? So I edited the ini file to take out the German. Since then, I never touch those check boxes on the right side.
I did a bit of fiddling tonight and it seems like my best results for only getting the main HD track is to use the top right box to uncheck all but the one I want and not bother with anything on the left side. I may go back and redo a couple from the early stages of this to try and strip out even more of the unused audio once I can determine I have the best practices in places.

I've been using the media info tool now as well to verify the final product. It is very handy.

-B
bbusse is offline  
post #9006 of 9006 Old Today, 08:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,190
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1592 Post(s)
Liked: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbusse View Post
I did a bit of fiddling tonight and it seems like my best results for only getting the main HD track is to use the top right box to uncheck all but the one I want and not bother with anything on the left side. I may go back and redo a couple from the early stages of this to try and strip out even more of the unused audio once I can determine I have the best practices in places.

I've been using the media info tool now as well to verify the final product. It is very handy.

-B
As was noted by @ScottJ , the big list box on the left that lists all the video/audio/subtitle streams in the source file is the one that defines all the streams that will go into the final .m2ts file. The list boxes on the right are just the preferred streams that Clown will automatically check/uncheck in the big box on the left. I basically ignore the boxes on the right and concentrate only on the full streams dialog box on the left. If you want a single HD audio stream in your final .m2ts, you should have only 1 box for an audio stream checked in the big list box on the left.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
3d blu-ray , blu ray , copier , Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player , home cinema , ripper
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off