Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 304 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 789Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2016, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,068
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Cool, thanks. That must be a function of the new version of TSMuxer.

I'll have to play with it and redo my LOTR EE's.
The last Hobbit 3D EE had chapters 1-50, I believe when completed.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2016, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
Can anyone offer thoughts as to why my BD rip is so slow (see attached). Going on 12 hours for a single BD rip. I've tried a few different discs. I'm using a Surface Pro 3 with Core i5 CPU. Drive is LG CP50NS20 6x.



Thanks!

It could be a problem with the disc. I've noticed extremely long processing times when there are faults on the disc which causes hundreds of retries and not enough of a problem to cause a fault.

I've also noticed longer than normal rip times when dealing with two USB devices. Even though USB has decent throughput, the latency is horrible.
DotJun is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 02:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,318
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 134
For those using ClownBD it hasn't been updated in a while. If you are updating each app itself which specific ones are you updating? I assume eac3to and tsmuxer are ok to manually update to a newer version but what about Aften, Mencoder and Muxman. As i understand it BDsup2sub should not be touched.
bluewhale1 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 04:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 3,951
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1318 Post(s)
Liked: 1064
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
Can anyone offer thoughts as to why my BD rip is so slow (see attached). Going on 12 hours for a single BD rip. I've tried a few different discs. I'm using a Surface Pro 3 with Core i5 CPU. Drive is LG CP50NS20 6x.

Thanks!
You have the streaming server running. I never use it so I don't know if that's messing with the rip but it might be something to check.
Ken.F is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
You have the streaming server running. I never use it so I don't know if that's messing with the rip but it might be something to check.
I just realized that my NAS was connected to a 10/100 port, and not a 1Gb port. Ripping to the NAS was much faster this time. It took about 90 minutes for a bluray this time.

Sounds like the free disk space theory might have been right. Odd though. How much free disk space is necessary to rip a 30GB bluray?
elee532 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How do I merge two MKV files using MKVToolNIX? One contains the main movie and the other file contains extras. MKVToolNIX offers three options: Add Files, Append Files, Add files as additional parts. Which should I choose?

Also, one part has 16/48Hz 2-channel DTS track and the other 24/92 Hz 6-channel DTS-HD track. How will this be handled when the two MKV files are merged?

Thanks!

Last edited by elee532; 02-21-2016 at 08:19 AM.
elee532 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 10:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,617
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1849 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewhale1 View Post
For those using ClownBD it hasn't been updated in a while. If you are updating each app itself which specific ones are you updating? I assume eac3to and tsmuxer are ok to manually update to a newer version but what about Aften, Mencoder and Muxman. As i understand it BDsup2sub should not be touched.
I've been using Clown for years and the only app I've upgraded is eac3to to v3.31. I've read the "new" version of TSMuxer (which as actually 2yr old) has some changes to the CLI which gives Clown trouble so I leave it alone. The rest work fine as they are so I leave them alone also.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,318
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I've been using Clown for years and the only app I've upgraded is eac3to to v3.31. I've read the "new" version of TSMuxer (which as actually 2yr old) has some changes to the CLI which gives Clown trouble so I leave it alone. The rest work fine as they are so I leave them alone also.
Thanks will update just that.
bluewhale1 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
jvh4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MAssachusetts
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
The last Hobbit 3D EE had chapters 1-50, I believe when completed.
Thanks for checking. I will try this for LOTR, Hobbit and Titanic.
jvh4 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 11:39 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
How do I merge two MKV files using MKVToolNIX? One contains the main movie and the other file contains extras. MKVToolNIX offers three options: Add Files, Append Files, Add files as additional parts. Which should I choose?

Also, one part has 16/48Hz 2-channel DTS track and the other 24/92 Hz 6-channel DTS-HD track. How will this be handled when the two MKV files are merged?

Thanks!
Append appends them. That is: 2 10 minute source files will become 1 20 minute destination file.

All the tracks have to be of the same type and in the same order. You can mess with the order but it is more work. I suspect your audio tracks are not compatible as is.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 11:43 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
I just realized that my NAS was connected to a 10/100 port, and not a 1Gb port. Ripping to the NAS was much faster this time. It took about 90 minutes for a bluray this time.

Sounds like the free disk space theory might have been right. Odd though. How much free disk space is necessary to rip a 30GB bluray?
You're using NTFS? I'd keep 10% free and defragment.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 11:49 AM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvh4 View Post
Thanks for checking. I will try this for LOTR, Hobbit and Titanic.
If you end up with a step by step to combine these 3D movies into one full length feature I'd be interested in it. I will have to tackle Titanic soon enough and hadn't considered it would be on two discs. The instructions posted on slysoft weren't exactly step by step simple to understand.

Thanks.

-B
bbusse is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
You're using NTFS? I'd keep 10% free and defragment.

-Bill
NTFS. 44Gb free trying to rip a 33GB disc. Who knows. Not gonna worry about it any longer though. :-)
elee532 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Append appends them. That is: 2 10 minute source files will become 1 20 minute destination file.
This is definitely what I would like.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
All the tracks have to be of the same type and in the same order. You can mess with the order but it is more work. I suspect your audio tracks are not compatible as is.
Bummer! Any idea what would happen? The two MKV files just won't merge? They would use the "lowest level" audio format? Off to do some experimenting.

You happen to know whether there is a support forum for MKVToolNix? I tried looking through some of the info on their website, but most of it was over my head.

Thanks!
elee532 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbusse View Post
I will have to tackle Titanic soon enough and hadn't considered it would be on two discs. The instructions posted on slysoft weren't exactly step by step simple to understand.
Ben Hur 50 edition is also on two discs. At least, via naming, Kodi can make it look like one movie but I think combining the two parts would be better.
artur9 is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Ripping Blu-Rays II

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Append appends them.

All the tracks have to be of the same type and in the same order. You can mess with the order but it is more work. I suspect your audio tracks are not compatible as is.



-Bill

Windows' copy /b command will append two files with dissimilar streams.

I didn't have time to check out how it works when playing, does the player seamlessly switch from one audio format to another for instance, but I do know that it plays fine on mpchc.
DotJun is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 10:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,356
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4413 Post(s)
Liked: 2637
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
It could be a problem with the disc. I've noticed extremely long processing times when there are faults on the disc which causes hundreds of retries and not enough of a problem to cause a fault.

I've also noticed longer than normal rip times when dealing with two USB devices. Even though USB has decent throughput, the latency is horrible.
I've ripped from four USB BD drives concurrently. They rip just as fast as when I rip from one drive. I've ripped six concurrent titles when you add the two I have connected to SATA ports. As long as the hard drive can keep up, which an SSD typically can, the rip speeds will be the same as when just ripping one disc.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 10:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,356
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4413 Post(s)
Liked: 2637
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
I just realized that my NAS was connected to a 10/100 port, and not a 1Gb port. Ripping to the NAS was much faster this time. It took about 90 minutes for a bluray this time.

Sounds like the free disk space theory might have been right. Odd though. How much free disk space is necessary to rip a 30GB bluray?
Whatever the file size is should be all that is needed. At least that has been my experience. I've ripped titles where I only have Megabytes free after the rip. It hasn't caused me any issues.
mrfattbill likes this.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 02-21-2016, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've ripped from four USB BD drives concurrently. They rip just as fast as when I rip from one drive. I've ripped six concurrent titles when you add the two I have connected to SATA ports. As long as the hard drive can keep up, which an SSD typically can, the rip speeds will be the same as when just ripping one disc.

I was talking about from a USB optical to a USB hdd.
DotJun is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 06:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,356
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4413 Post(s)
Liked: 2637
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
I was talking about from a USB optical to a USB hdd.
I've also done that. One or more USB optical drives to one USB hard drive rips at the same speed as when connected to a SATA port. Of course I'm talking about the hard drive with a USB 3.0 connection.

Last edited by aaronwt; 02-23-2016 at 10:05 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,068
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvh4 View Post
Thanks for checking. I will try this for LOTR, Hobbit and Titanic.
Please let me know about Titanic. I tried several times with no luck.

Thanks in advance.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,068
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by elee532 View Post
I just realized that my NAS was connected to a 10/100 port, and not a 1Gb port. Ripping to the NAS was much faster this time. It took about 90 minutes for a bluray this time.

Sounds like the free disk space theory might have been right. Odd though. How much free disk space is necessary to rip a 30GB bluray?
If using Clown_Bd free space required would be twice the size of the source. Remember Clown_BD Creates a demux and remux directory, So in effect a 40 gig BD could require 80 gig free space while working.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
jvh4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MAssachusetts
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Please let me know about Titanic. I tried several times with no luck.

Thanks in advance.
The project isn't imminent, but I will definately report back.

@bbusse if I get the process down and repeatable, I'll work up a quick guide. Big if
jvh4 is offline  
Old 02-22-2016, 04:17 PM
Member
 
bbusse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvh4 View Post
The project isn't imminent, but I will definately report back.

@bbusse if I get the process down and repeatable, I'll work up a quick guide. Big if
Cool. I won't get to mine for a bit either so if I get there first and figure it out I will do the same.

-B
bbusse is offline  
Old 02-23-2016, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,068
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Slysoft in Legal Trouble

http://www.myce.com/news/slysoft-dow...reasons-78654/

This should be interesting to see how it plays out.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Old 02-24-2016, 04:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 502 Post(s)
Liked: 238
That's interesting.... I have no use for Slysoft but if it's being actively shut down I guess that proves it IS useful.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
Old 02-24-2016, 06:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,356
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4413 Post(s)
Liked: 2637
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
http://www.myce.com/news/slysoft-dow...reasons-78654/

This should be interesting to see how it plays out.
Yes, it shows they have been shut down now
Quote:
Hi all,

We were not allowed to respond to any request nor to post any statement, but now it is official:

SlySoft has been shut down after almost 13 years. The official statement on the website (http://www.slysoft.com/ or http://h4.slysoft.com/) is kind of short:

At least I got many years of use from my ANy DVD lifetime license. I think I got it around a dozen years ago.

I guess I'll be creating more MKVs in the future.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 02-24-2016, 06:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,617
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1849 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
http://www.myce.com/news/slysoft-dow...reasons-78654/

This should be interesting to see how it plays out.
DVDFab quickly rose from the ashes and is doing business once again as if AACS-LA didn't exist. Let's see if SlySoft has the fortitude to do the same. Granted, Bejing owns the US debt and has more muscle than little Antigua.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Old 02-24-2016, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,068
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1008 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
DVDFab quickly rose from the ashes and is doing business once again as if AACS-LA didn't exist. Let's see if SlySoft has the fortitude to do the same. Granted, Bejing owns the US debt and has more muscle than little Antigua.
Can US still buy the full version of DVDfab with decryption capabilities without back door upgrades?

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
Old 02-24-2016, 08:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,617
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1849 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Can US still buy the full version of DVDfab with decryption capabilities without back door upgrades?
I believe DVDFab has been offering the full unrestricted version for direct download from their .cn-based website for some time now.

In any event, this link:
http://174.142.97.100/download/DVDFab9231.exe
is a direct link to their server to get you the the EU version with full capabilities.
For future versions you only need to change the version # in the link to the latest version.
i.e. "DVDFab9231" is for v 9.2.3.1 that was released yesterday

They publish the MD5 & SHA1 checksums for the releases on their forum page for new releases. You can use them to verify integrity and authenticity of the download. The relevant fact is they no longer publish separate EU and US checksums and the file you download from the direct EU link above appears identical to the one you download from their dvdfab.cn website.

It appears to be business as usual as if the AACS-LA didn't exist.
captainbrent likes this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
3d blu-ray , blu ray , copier , Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player , home cinema , ripper
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off