Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 328 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 840Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9811 of 10055 Old 08-23-2016, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 4,053
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1367 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
You sure did. Interesting, but not topical.
Ken.F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9812 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 07:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What are you folks using for encoding settings? I assume you are compressing your rips with x264.
stonesfan129 is offline  
post #9813 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,140
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonesfan129 View Post
What are you folks using for encoding settings? I assume you are compressing your rips with x264.
No Compression. AnyDVDHD and ClownBD.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is online now  
post #9814 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,434
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Just AnyDVDHD.
Playback BD folder with PowerDVD.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #9815 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonesfan129 View Post
What are you folks using for encoding settings? I assume you are compressing your rips with x264.
I use Handbrake using the high profile setting and Constant Quality with 18 as the quality. This seems to drop, for the most part, the size by about half but keeps the quality to where I can't notice a difference. Only downside that I have found is that it does take a while to complete.

WDTV Live SMP with WD EX4100 NAS
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB, Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR, Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR,Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is offline  
post #9816 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,140
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Just AnyDVDHD.
Playback BD folder with PowerDVD.
Is PowerDVD offering a UHD playback yet?

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is online now  
post #9817 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,140
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr266 View Post
I use Handbrake using the high profile setting and Constant Quality with 18 as the quality. This seems to drop, for the most part, the size by about half but keeps the quality to where I can't notice a difference. Only downside that I have found is that it does take a while to complete.
Does it retain HD audio?

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is online now  
post #9818 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Does it retain HD audio?
It seems to default to all of the audio tracks that were ripped, but you can also go in to the audio tab and take out any of the ones you don't want.

WDTV Live SMP with WD EX4100 NAS
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB, Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR, Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR,Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is offline  
post #9819 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,434
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Is PowerDVD offering a UHD playback yet?
From the website:
"PowerDVD is the only blu-ray player optimized for playback on Ultra HD 4K screens. Intelligent rendering technology tailors playback performance to your screen, meaning lag-free, smooth playback even on the latest Ultra HD 4K TVs."
On sale this weekend (for a change ).
Trial download is free, so may as well see for yourself.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #9820 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Is PowerDVD offering a UHD playback yet?
If you're referring to UHD disc playback... There's not a cat in hell chance!

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #9821 of 10055 Old 08-27-2016, 11:16 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2072 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonesfan129 View Post
What are you folks using for encoding settings? I assume you are compressing your rips with x264.
With Handbrake I use --preset="Normal" and the default q=20 for Blu-ray, and --preset="High Profile", q=18 for DVD.

You need to pick out material that you know well, if only a chapter, and try it with different parameters. Trust your own eyes.

-Bill
mr266 likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #9822 of 10055 Old 08-28-2016, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 169
I generally use high profile, slow encode, constant quality 16 for DVDs. Blu-Rays are the same, except quality 18-20 (sometimes 21). Lately, I've started experimenting with the Plex Optimizer. I keep the 1:1 rip from MakeMKV and then use the Optimizer to create a second file at ~12Mbps.

Scott

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Onkyo TX-SR805 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi Plex Media Player * Samsung Blu-Ray * Roku 3 * Squeezebox * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #9823 of 10055 Old 08-28-2016, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
No Compression. AnyDVDHD and ClownBD.
How does this compare to using MakeMKV and Handbrake?

Scott

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Onkyo TX-SR805 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi Plex Media Player * Samsung Blu-Ray * Roku 3 * Squeezebox * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #9824 of 10055 Old 08-28-2016, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,613
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
No Compression. AnyDVDHD and ClownBD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haywood Jablomi View Post
How does this compare to using MakeMKV and Handbrake?
No compression means taking the full quality available from the disk. MakeMKV does that too. Handbrake is (usually) only used to further compress a video stream.

🔥🔥🔥 Sent from my Samsung Note 7 Using Ove Glove™ 🔥🔥🔥
olyteddy is offline  
post #9825 of 10055 Old 08-28-2016, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
That would be sweet.. An 85" OLED for $ 699.99.. I was admiring the LG 55" OLED in Best Buy. The blacks are incredible.
The new Sony Master Drive FALD tech allows for better longevity, higher light output and larger screens. It will probably come down in price faster than OLED.
blackssr likes this.

Scott

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Onkyo TX-SR805 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi Plex Media Player * Samsung Blu-Ray * Roku 3 * Squeezebox * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #9826 of 10055 Old 08-28-2016, 05:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post
No compression means taking the full quality available from the disk. MakeMKV does that too. Handbrake is (usually) only used to further compress a video stream.
I generally use MakeMKV and then also make a compressed version with Handbrake or the Plex Optimizer. That way I can watch the 1:1 rip locally while still having access to the compressed rip everywhere else on a wider variety of devices.

Scott

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Onkyo TX-SR805 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi Plex Media Player * Samsung Blu-Ray * Roku 3 * Squeezebox * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #9827 of 10055 Old 08-28-2016, 07:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,678
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1888 Post(s)
Liked: 1111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haywood Jablomi View Post
The new Sony Master Drive FALD tech allows for better longevity, higher light output and larger screens. It will probably come down in price faster than OLED.
If it's still based on color filters with LCD shutters, you can keep it.
captainbrent likes this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #9828 of 10055 Old 08-29-2016, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
If it's still based on color filters with LCD shutters, you can keep it.
Have you actually seen any of the Sony flagship sets from the last 18 months?

Scott

Main System: Sony XBR75X940C * Onkyo TX-SR805 * Marantz MM-9000 * MSI Cubi Plex Media Player * Samsung Blu-Ray * Roku 3 * Squeezebox * Paradigm Studio/40 v.2 * Paradigm Studio/CC v.2 * Paradigm ADP-370 * SVS PB12-Plus/2
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
post #9829 of 10055 Old 08-29-2016, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
ectrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For my BDs I use the backup function of MakeMkv and then Clownbd for my 1:1 copy along with mkvtoolnix. If i need to encode I use RipBot. I use this because of the distributed encoding that it can do. I normally have 3 or 4 computers working on the same job.

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
ectrader is offline  
post #9830 of 10055 Old 09-03-2016, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yeah I'm not even compressing my stuff anymore since I have 6TB of HDD space now.
stonesfan129 is offline  
post #9831 of 10055 Old 09-12-2016, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
analogueaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonesfan129 View Post
What are you folks using for encoding settings? I assume you are compressing your rips with x264.
Hello,

I have been ripping to iso using AnyDVD-HD, then playing back using PowerDVD 13.

Lately I've been performing an extra step which is to then use MakeMKV to rip from the iso image to a single, MKV file, if there's any extras I want I put those as separate MKV's in a sub-folder. Why not rip directly from disc to MKV you may ask? I find that ripping to iso first, then ripping from iso to MKV is simply faster. I know it sounds crazy, but I've timed it. I'm increasingly relying on mkv's with lossless audio simply because there are so many stand alone players which can play these back without the expense and complication of a full blown HTPC. If NVIDIA would sort out the playback of lossless DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD on the Shield I would buy 2 tomorrow. I am increasingly using Plex as my media serving software of choice and it has a high WAF factor, it's still being developed enthusiastically, and it looks as though it will encompass 4K UHD playback in the future.

Dave
analogueaddict is offline  
post #9832 of 10055 Old 09-12-2016, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
replayrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY- The tax State
Posts: 5,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 621 Post(s)
Liked: 568
I wanted to rip my full BD series set of Farscape to (reasonably sized) mkv, so I ripped the BD set with MakeMKV which resulted in usually five 7GB episodes per disk (22 episodes per season x four seasons)... then used Ripbot to encode each 7GB episode down to 800MB-1GB or so H.265 file with DD5.1@384kbps.
Perfectly acceptable results on a 50" display, mostly due to the fact that Farscape was shot in SD to begin with.

Took advantage of Ripbot's "Distributed Encoding" feature and had three pretty much idle computers at work do the H.265 encoding for me.

“You cannot play God and then wash your hands of the things you created.”
Commander Bill Adama
replayrob is offline  
post #9833 of 10055 Old 09-13-2016, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark_Venture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Romansville (Thorndale), PA, USA
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonesfan129 View Post
What are you folks using for encoding settings? I assume you are compressing your rips with x264.
I'm using DVDFab Passkey for ripping to folder, then BD-Rebuilder, Alt-MovieOnly, MKV 1920x1080 intact audio profile, CRF20, ecoder=Better(Fast).

They play well on my Fire TV boxes (wired Ethernet) with Kodi, including DD5.1 and DTS audio. While DTS-HD appears to pass through, my receiver is older and 5.1 only so it just does the DTS-Core. (i.e. movies with DTS-HD soundtracks, where the MKV includes the DTS-HD track per mediainfo, the receiver gets the audio just fine, and the DTS led is on).

For my Fire TV Sticks, I end up using Plex, and letting it transcode on the fly. The sticks are slower processors, but are WIFI, not wired, so I force a lowered bit rate to prevent potential stuttering or other issues due to the wireless range of my router. My sticks are also plugged right into the TV, with no surround sound setup.
Mark_Venture is online now  
post #9834 of 10055 Old 09-13-2016, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
K_Thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by analogueaddict View Post
If NVIDIA would sort out the playback of lossless DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD on the Shield I would buy 2 tomorrow.
The Nvidia Shield does pass through of HD audio just fine. The Plex client app on the Shield will pass through DTS-HD Master audio, but not Dolby TrueHD. I'm using Kodi 17 (Krypton) beta on the Shield. It passes both flavors of HD audio and the lights on my AVR confirm this.
K_Thompson is offline  
post #9835 of 10055 Old 09-13-2016, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 176
For those of you using MakeMKV, is there a better way to determine the correct title for those stupid "let's randomize all things" BDs (i.e. the ones with lots of titles all with different scene orderings) than searching for the correct sequence in their forums and then manually looking through all the titles for the match?
DreamWarrior is online now  
post #9836 of 10055 Old 09-13-2016, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
For those of you using MakeMKV, is there a better way to determine the correct title for those stupid "let's randomize all things" BDs (i.e. the ones with lots of titles all with different scene orderings) than searching for the correct sequence in their forums and then manually looking through all the titles for the match?
I first try running DVDPassKey. If that does not identify the correct playlist then I use PowerDVD/Process Monitor to identify it.

After a while you see patterns.........like 0800 seems to always be the real one for certain studios.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #9837 of 10055 Old 09-13-2016, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
I first try running DVDPassKey. If that does not identify the correct playlist then I use PowerDVD/Process Monitor to identify it.

After a while you see patterns.........like 0800 seems to always be the real one for certain studios.
Will the lite version of DVDPassKey do it? If not, I assume I'd have to pay for one of them...which may not be worth it.
DreamWarrior is online now  
post #9838 of 10055 Old 09-13-2016, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,157
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 868 Post(s)
Liked: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
For those of you using MakeMKV, is there a better way to determine the correct title for those stupid "let's randomize all things" BDs (i.e. the ones with lots of titles all with different scene orderings) than searching for the correct sequence in their forums and then manually looking through all the titles for the match?
I dont know. I've had good luck just using the MakeMKV forum.
metalsaber is online now  
post #9839 of 10055 Old 09-13-2016, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWarrior View Post
Will the lite version of DVDPassKey do it? If not, I assume I'd have to pay for one of them...which may not be worth it.
I just use the lite.

So far, I have only had to do the PowerDVD/Process Monitor thing with 1 disc and only cause I wasn't patient enough to wait the 2 days it took for the info to be on the makemkv forums =P
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #9840 of 10055 Old 09-13-2016, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DreamWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
I just use the lite.

So far, I have only had to do the PowerDVD/Process Monitor thing with 1 disc and only cause I wasn't patient enough to wait the 2 days it took for the info to be on the makemkv forums =P
So, being unfamiliar with DVDPassKey, how does it "tell me" which title it is?

I assume with PowerDVD / Process Monitor, that I just point Process Monitor at PowerDVD and watch for all the files it opens off the BD. I've never used Process Monitor, but I assume it lists the operations the process performs (sort of like an strace for Linux if you're familiar)? So, I'd run PowerDVD, play the movie, and the see which setlist file it opens?
DreamWarrior is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
3d blu-ray , blu ray , copier , Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player , home cinema , ripper
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off