Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 330 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 789Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9871 of 9897 Old 09-25-2016, 05:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I had asked before some time ago but i'm not sure it will be ok. So again.


I have a original disc (Valkyrie) and I want a backup from this. The file it's 45,2GB (48.541.593.873 bytes) . Can I use a single 50GB (actual free size it's 45,1GB 48.440.016.896 bytes) ? Can I burn this with NERO ?
Vasilis07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9872 of 9897 Old 09-25-2016, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Greg Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sunnyvale, TX
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonesfan129 View Post
Something like this - https://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronic...+blu+ray+drive or this https://www.amazon.com/LG-Portable-B...+blu+ray+drive should work fine. Note that the first drive supports the BDXL discs, which could be an advantage if 4K UHD ripping becomes a thing. Quality is exactly the same as long as you are just doing rips, not compressing.

The drive in the first link (BE14NU40) seems to be a discontinued model and only available used. There is another model from LG that seems to its replacement (BE16NU50). Here is a link.

Cheers,

Sony XBR-65X850D; Emotiva XMC-1 Pre/Pro; Emotiva XPA-7 Gen 3 Amp; Sony BDP-S470; Paradigm Monitor 7 Mains; Paradigm CC-370 Center; Paradigm Titan Surrounds; Velodyne DLS3750R Sub
Greg Jones is offline  
post #9873 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 04:11 PM
Member
 
yangh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Sorry for my naive questions. This post is so long I may as well just ask the simple question here.

I have now accumulated a few dozen BD discs that I want to rip into my server. I'm not interested to transcoding/MKV or anything, essentially I just want to backup the whole disc into an iso or folder whichever is the best for KODI to play on my HTPC. What are the best software for this purpose? I'll do this under Windows 10 and an external BD drive. Thanks!
yangh is online now  
post #9874 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 04:42 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Read the first post, always the thing to do before posting. That's a large part of how this "thread" got so long.

You will need to compare your gear's file compatibility with the output formats of any software you choose.

Last edited by pepar; Yesterday at 04:45 PM.
pepar is offline  
post #9875 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 05:38 PM
Member
 
yangh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Thank for the quick reply! I read the first post and several pages and googled..

If I get it correct, it seems my best choice is to buy AnyDVD HD, once has it installed I can use other tools to copy BD disc into an ISO. Or with AnyDVD HD running, I can just copy the whole disc as into a folder on hard disk?

I'm using KODI on my HTPC running Windows 10. KODI seems to be able to play BD folders ok.
yangh is online now  
post #9876 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by yangh View Post
Sorry for my naive questions. This post is so long I may as well just ask the simple question here.

I have now accumulated a few dozen BD discs that I want to rip into my server. I'm not interested to transcoding/MKV or anything, essentially I just want to backup the whole disc into an iso or folder whichever is the best for KODI to play on my HTPC. What are the best software for this purpose? I'll do this under Windows 10 and an external BD drive. Thanks!
There are so many options, and it really depends on how you plan to play the ripped movies. I know nothing about Kodi so can't give you a complete answer.

One thing to consider with ripped Blu-rays is forced subtitles. About 5% of discs out there have a handful of subtitles which a Blu-ray player will display automatically. (District 9, Gran Torino for examples.) The movie can be really confusing without the forced subs. You have to rip carefully to make sure you capture the forced subs properly, where "properly" depends on what your playback system supports. Many don't support any forced subs at all; I expect Kodi supports MKV forced subs. You can rip to MKV using MakeMKV. No transcoding is necessary. Of course you will lose the Blu-ray menus.
ScottJ is offline  
post #9877 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 06:04 PM
Member
 
yangh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
yes forced subtitle is the reason I think it's better to backup the whole BD so hopefully not to worry about forced subtitles. I don't have a chance to test whether KODI (XBMC) support forced subtitles, but I'll should be able to figure it out once I start ripping.

Can MakeMKV also be used just to back up the BD into a folder on hard drive?

Edit: seems it does? "MakeMKV can create a decrypted backup of a Blu-ray disc on a hard drive. Decrypted backup will contain all files from original disc but M2TS files will be decrypted (both AACS and BD+ will be removed). "
http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/4
yangh is online now  
post #9878 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 06:14 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by yangh View Post
Edit: seems it does? "MakeMKV can create a decrypted backup of a Blu-ray disc on a hard drive. Decrypted backup will contain all files from original disc but M2TS files will be decrypted (both AACS and BD+ will be removed). "
http://www.makemkv.com/faq/item/4
Yes, MakeMKV has a full backup option as well as MKV output.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #9879 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 06:21 PM
Member
 
yangh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Thanks for confirming that! Now I'm leaning toward MakeMKV. I couldn't find its price right away on its website. How much does it cost?
yangh is online now  
post #9880 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 06:29 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by yangh View Post
Thanks for confirming that! Now I'm leaning toward MakeMKV. I couldn't find its price right away on its website. How much does it cost?
"Free while in beta" which seems to be a permanent status. You have to reenter a key every couple of months.

Perpetual license is $50. Enter the key only once. Well worth it.

-Bill
Keenan and captainbrent like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #9881 of 9897 Old Yesterday, 06:36 PM
Member
 
yangh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
got it. Will test it first. If it works well $50 seems to be a very reasonable price.
yangh is online now  
post #9882 of 9897 Old Today, 05:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,616
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1849 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by yangh View Post
I'm not interested to transcoding/MKV or anything, essentially I just want to backup the whole disc into an iso or folder . . . What are the best software for this purpose? I'll do this under Windows 10 and an external BD drive.
Taking your post strictly at face value, there is a simple answer:

Download/Install MakeMKV (free). Use the File/Backup command to rip the full disk to a folder.
Done

If you want an .iso, Download/Install ImgBurn (free). Use it to create an .iso image file of the folder you just ripped with MakeMKV.
Done.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #9883 of 9897 Old Today, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by yangh View Post
got it. Will test it first. If it works well $50 seems to be a very reasonable price.
For how well it works and how easy to use it's a bargain. Once you have it set up with a custom profile (optional) it's a snap to have a ripping session.
artur9 is online now  
post #9884 of 9897 Old Today, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 710
A quick question since people recently have mentioned using MakeMKV to do a full copy/backup. I have been using the free version for awhile now but have never seen the backup button enabled (always greyed out). Is this just an option with the paid version, or am I mission something?

WDTV Live SMP with WD EX4100 NAS
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB, Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR, Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR,Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #9885 of 9897 Old Today, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,076
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 704
I use makemkv, but I assumed that most referring to making sure all the checkboxes were selected to do a full copy. I don't do that as its a waste of space. I don't need subs or foreign languages or special features. I just rip the movie and the lossless english audio.
metalsaber is offline  
post #9886 of 9897 Old Today, 08:03 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr266 View Post
A quick question since people recently have mentioned using MakeMKV to do a full copy/backup. I have been using the free version for awhile now but have never seen the backup button enabled (always greyed out). Is this just an option with the paid version, or am I mission something?
It's greyed out when you have a disc open. Close the disc in the menu and the option will be available.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #9887 of 9897 Old Today, 08:34 AM
Member
 
cnelson87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Having trouble with the forced sub track on Captain America Civil War BR. Ripped with AnyDVD and processed with Clown_BD to movie-only BR folder structure. The second EN sub track is for the Russian lang parts, it definitely should be marked as forced, but isn't. Don't think I've ever seen forced subs like this before -- I assume the forced behavior is handled in the menu coding, which is lost when remuxing. Any ideas?
cnelson87 is offline  
post #9888 of 9897 Old Today, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
It's greyed out when you have a disc open. Close the disc in the menu and the option will be available.

-Bill
Just tried it again. The save selected files button is active but the backup button never goes active at any time.

WDTV Live SMP with WD EX4100 NAS
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB, Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR, Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR,Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #9889 of 9897 Old Today, 08:54 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1973 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr266 View Post
Just tried it again. The save selected files button is active but the backup button never goes active at any time.
I insert a disc. File -> Backup is available on the menu and there is a Backup icon on the tool bar.

I open the disc by menu or by clicking on the image. Backup menu selection and icon are not active.

I do File->Close. Menu and icon selections are available again.

Note this works only for Blu-ray, not DVD.

If that is not what you see then I recommend the MakeMKV forum for help.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #9890 of 9897 Old Today, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I insert a disc. File -> Backup is available on the menu and there is a Backup icon on the tool bar.

I open the disc by menu or by clicking on the image. Backup menu selection and icon are not active.

I do File->Close. Menu and icon selections are available again.

Note this works only for Blu-ray, not DVD.

If that is not what you see then I recommend the MakeMKV forum for help.

-Bill

Thanks Bill. Got it to work using your instructions and a BD. Seems odd to do an extra step when it could easily be coded to give your the back up choice once the disc is opened. Also strange that it only works with BD and not any disc. Anyway, thanks again.
-Mike

WDTV Live SMP with WD EX4100 NAS
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB, Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR, Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR,Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #9891 of 9897 Old Today, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,196
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1240 Post(s)
Liked: 888
That's why it's still in beta.

Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #9892 of 9897 Old Today, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
replayrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY- The tax State
Posts: 4,914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 567 Post(s)
Liked: 514
^ and still free!

“You cannot play God and then wash your hands of the things you created.”
Commander Bill Adama
replayrob is offline  
post #9893 of 9897 Old Today, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by replayrob View Post
^ and still free!
Well that brings me back to the original question...can you do these things with the paid version?

WDTV Live SMP with WD EX4100 NAS
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB, Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR, Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR,Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #9894 of 9897 Old Today, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,196
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1240 Post(s)
Liked: 888
Sure, you just don't need to enter a new code periodically.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #9895 of 9897 Old Today, 02:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,356
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2637
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Again, aaronwt, why ISO and not simply folder structure?

Jeff
It's what I decided on back in 2009 when I first started ripping my BDs. Since it was just a matter of quickly ripping it. And you have the one ISO file. It's always worked well with my media players. And I continue to use ISOs except for the titles with playlist obfuscation. And I use makeMKV to create an MKV for those after selecting the correct title.

Plus with the ISO and can easily access the full menus if I want. Or I can even use it to create an MKV later.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; Today at 02:08 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #9896 of 9897 Old Today, 02:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 28,356
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2637
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I was thinking about the additional processing step to convert the folder structure back to ISO. Of course, I am assuming that aaronwt's ISOs are not 1:1.

Jeff
Yes. They are all 1:1. After shrinking DVDs in the early 2000's I swore i would never, ever do that again. So every BD rip I've done, since I started in 2009, are 1:1 rips.

it's why I have a total of 129 TB of storage between my three unRAID setups.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; Today at 02:09 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #9897 of 9897 Old Today, 03:37 PM
Member
 
yangh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Just curious, is there anything you can't do with a BD folder backup comparing to the ISO backup? Except that ISO is convenient for burning a disc copy?
yangh is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
3d blu-ray , blu ray , copier , Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player , home cinema , ripper
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off