Ripping Blu-Rays II - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 6155 Old 03-30-2012, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by agogley View Post

I have the Ten commandments. Zappiti will scan each ISO separately no matter what folder you put them in.

For example, on one of my servers I have a directory shared movies and shows/movies/movies-BR/. Under this directory I have my movie folders such as The Ten Commandments (1956). I setup Zappiti to scan for all movies in the movies-BR/ folder. In this case, it doesn't matter whether you have two folders for The Ten Commandments or one folder with subfolders. Zappiti locates and scans each ISO separately.

In my case, I have one folder for the Ten Commandments, then two subfolders one for each disc. Zappiti will scan it and you'll have two movies exactly the same (note: there is no entry for two different discs, you have to do this yourself). I then edit the entry to indicate one is Disc2 and I change the artwork.

I don't think the (I) helps with scraping. 80% of the time it will auto scrape correctly. The other 20% of the time you'll have to do a manual scrape. I've had a number of instances where I had to scroll down a list to find the correct entry. Not once do I recall seeing a letter in parenthesis that would have helped in the autoscrape.

Thanks for detailed explanation. I am following the approach. Unfortunately, I have movies in external hard drives and move them between drives from time to time. So, I am trying to make name as exactly as possible to avoid manual entries as much as possible.

Hopefully, hard drives and NAS prices come down to consider one movie database file for all the movies.
sukumar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 6155 Old 03-30-2012, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post

If using zappiti, you want TI base your names on TMDB, not IMDB.

Good to know about tmdb. I did not know about this site before. From now onwards, I will refer to this site only.http://www.themoviedb.org
sukumar is offline  
post #1173 of 6155 Old 03-30-2012, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have collection like human planet, universe, life, water life etc. Is there any database like TMDB for documentary?
sukumar is offline  
post #1174 of 6155 Old 03-30-2012, 07:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukumar View Post

I have collection like human planet, universe, life, water life etc. Is there any database like TMDB for documentary?

TVDB (but you have to break up into individual episodes)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1175 of 6155 Old 03-30-2012, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

TVDB (but you have to break up into individual episodes)

Thanks Damian for providing and found it http://thetvdb.com.

Human planet has only three blu-ray disks. Now I have in following directories.


Human-Planet-D1-2011-Oceans-Deserts-Artic
Human-Planet-D2-2011-Jungles-Mountains-Grasslands
Human-Planet-D3-2011-Rivers-Cities
-------------------------------
I am planning to make them as iso. Now I am trying to find what should I name the file and directory structure. Based on my interpretation from thetvdb.com, it should be something like this.

Human Planet/Season 1/ Oceans-Into the Blue
Human Planet/Season 1/ Deserts - Life in the Furnace
Human Planet/Season 1/ Arctic - Life in the Deep Freeze
Human Planet/Season 1/ Jungles - People of the Trees
Human Planet/Season 1/ Mountains - Life in Thin Air
Human Planet/Season 1/ Grasslands - The Roots of Power
Human Planet/Season 1/ Rivers - Friend and Foe
Human Planet/Season 1/ Cities - Surviving the Urban Jungle

It shows seasion 1 has 8 episodes. But it is only in 3 disks. Appreciate any suggestion on how should the iso file be named and folder to be placed.

Also, do I need to change in zappiti to point to this database?

It would also help to name properly so that if I view them through oppo player which does not support zappiti, I should be able to understand what I want to watch.


I will continue researching.
sukumar is offline  
post #1176 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 12:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

The only thing lacking for MakeMKV in my opinion at this time is that it does not mark forced subtitle tracks with the forced flag, although it does detect the forced subs and put them into their own track... I just go in with MKVMerge and change the attributes for titles like that).

I do the same in my work-flow. However, seems like MakeMKV always detects "English Forced" even when not in movie.

What I have it do is get all English Subtitles. Test in VLC and find which English track is forced, and then run it through MKVMerge GUI and set the right one.

I would be nice to be able to analyze a disc and see if it even has a Forced Sub. Or even better ... just have MakeMKV take care of it all when required.

Tesla1856 is offline  
post #1177 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 01:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Well, right now there is no Blu-ray 3D -> m2ts solution.

Ok. Another question:
Is there a way to remux a 3D .iso to a smaller 3D .iso (max 25gb)? I ask this because with 2D .iso you can 'extraxt' only the main movie with tsmuxer to the end result is a max 25gb file WITHOUT any re-encoding done (no quality loss). Would like to know if this is possible for a 3D .iso (so I can use 25Gb discs to burn on instead of the much more expensive Dual-Layer discs)
sanderdvd is offline  
post #1178 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 05:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

Ok. Another question:
Is there a way to remux a 3D .iso to a smaller 3D .iso (max 25gb)? I ask this because with 2D .iso you can 'extraxt' only the main movie with tsmuxer to the end result is a max 25gb file WITHOUT any re-encoding done (no quality loss). Would like to know if this is possible for a 3D .iso (so I can use 25Gb discs to burn on instead of the much more expensive Dual-Layer discs)

Possibly with DVDFab (change to BD25). Otherwise none that I know of. Keep in mind, the tools for 3D Blu-rays are extremely limited right now

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1179 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
agogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukumar View Post

Good to know about tmdb. I did not know about this site before. From now onwards, I will refer to this site only.http://www.themoviedb.org

The new version of Zappiti allows you to use IMDB now too. I've used both and sometimes I can find rare movies in IMDB whereas nothing in TMDB (like odd kid movies).

Even if you have them named exactly as the database has it, it doesn't guarantee the scan will be correct.

Out of curiousity, why do you move your movies around so much?
agogley is offline  
post #1180 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
agogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukumar View Post

Thanks Damian for providing and found it http://thetvdb.com.

Human planet has only three blu-ray disks. Now I have in following directories.


Human-Planet-D1-2011-Oceans-Deserts-Artic
Human-Planet-D2-2011-Jungles-Mountains-Grasslands
Human-Planet-D3-2011-Rivers-Cities
-------------------------------
I am planning to make them as iso. Now I am trying to find what should I name the file and directory structure. Based on my interpretation from thetvdb.com, it should be something like this.

Human Planet/Season 1/ Oceans-Into the Blue
Human Planet/Season 1/ Deserts - Life in the Furnace
Human Planet/Season 1/ Arctic - Life in the Deep Freeze
Human Planet/Season 1/ Jungles - People of the Trees
Human Planet/Season 1/ Mountains - Life in Thin Air
Human Planet/Season 1/ Grasslands - The Roots of Power
Human Planet/Season 1/ Rivers - Friend and Foe
Human Planet/Season 1/ Cities - Surviving the Urban Jungle

It shows seasion 1 has 8 episodes. But it is only in 3 disks. Appreciate any suggestion on how should the iso file be named and folder to be placed.

Also, do I need to change in zappiti to point to this database?

It would also help to name properly so that if I view them through oppo player which does not support zappiti, I should be able to understand what I want to watch.


I will continue researching.

This is why I rip each episode separately.
agogley is offline  
post #1181 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 09:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by agogley View Post

This is why I rip each episode separately.

+1, it is just so much more convenient, even if it takes a few more minutes at the beginning to separate out

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1182 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by agogley View Post

This is why I rip each episode separately.

Agreed. Rip each one separately. Then name the files in this structure.

Human Planet S01E01.iso for episode 1
Human Planet S01E02.iso for episode 2
etc. until you have them all complete.

Since I'm running an older version of Zappiti, did they ever fix where you have to go to the en-us.xml file and change it from IMDB to TMDB? If not, you will need to go into this file and change this extension so that it scrapes properly for MOVIES...as stated, TV episodes are done through TVDB and that is already setup correctly in the XML file.

This is what the file will look like after you edit.
alexsquared is offline  
post #1183 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 12:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post

Agreed. Rip each one separately. Then name the files in this structure.

Human Planet S01E01.iso for episode 1
Human Planet S01E02.iso for episode 2
etc. until you have them all complete.

Since I'm running an older version of Zappiti, did they ever fix where you have to go to the eng-us.xml file and change it from IMDB to TMDB? If not, you will need to go into this file and change this extension so that it scrapes properly for MOVIES...as stated, TV episodes are done through TVDB and that is already setup correctly in the XML file.

Yes, you can actually now set IMDB and TMDB in the Zappiti UI

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1184 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post

I would be nice to be able to analyze a disc and see if it even has a Forced Sub.

I use Clown_BD for that. I initially use Clown to extract only the english subtitle tracks to a folder -- it is pretty quick when just extracting the subs. When forced subtitles are detected, it creates a separate forced subtitle track that is clearly labeled as such so you know immediately if you have them. I then use SupRip to inspect the subtitles and select which track(s) I want in the final rip.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #1185 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by agogley View Post

The new version of Zappiti allows you to use IMDB now too. I've used both and sometimes I can find rare movies in IMDB whereas nothing in TMDB (like odd kid movies).

Even if you have them named exactly as the database has it, it doesn't guarantee the scan will be correct.

Out of curiousity, why do you move your movies around so much?

I remove/add movies to organize for example all God father movies into one etc. Mostly, I don't move, but some times I do.

I don't have smb setup and my movies are scatter across 2tb hard drives. So, the database is saved on each hard drive itself. I don't know if it is possible to share on to Dune storage and Dune to be able to locate corresponding hard drive from usb hub.

I remove/add movies to organize for example all God father movies into one etc. Mostly, I don't move, but some times I do.
sukumar is offline  
post #1186 of 6155 Old 04-02-2012, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the replies I will consider the file structure recommended to split bd into episodes in future.

Where is the GUI to modify the movie database pointer like imdb? I have v2.1 and could not find any settings. I tried downloading 2.4.7 and started installing assuming that, that is the way to upgrade. It is trying to install .net 4.0 in the downloaded location with option to browse to point to different directory disabled.

Also, I find it is not in English. I don't remember if it is not English when I installed last time.

Also, once indexing, how do I verify if the file name matches the movie information? Do I need to edit each to verify the path and title of the movie?
sukumar is offline  
post #1187 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 01:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Possibly with DVDFab (change to BD25). Otherwise none that I know of. Keep in mind, the tools for 3D Blu-rays are extremely limited right now

I m searching on forums like Doom9s, Videohelp etc. on the net for days now but you are absolutely right, 3D ripping is a pain in the @#$ at this moment. I m hoping that Slysoft's CloneBD, which will be released soon, will chime in on this thing.
sanderdvd is offline  
post #1188 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 01:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukumar View Post

Thanks for the replies I will consider the file structure recommended to split bd into episodes in future.

Where is the GUI to modify the movie database pointer like imdb? I have v2.1 and could not find any settings. I tried downloading 2.4.7 and started installing assuming that, that is the way to upgrade. It is trying to install .net 4.0 in the downloaded location with option to browse to point to different directory disabled.

Also, I find it is not in English. I don't remember if it is not English when I installed last time.

Also, once indexing, how do I verify if the file name matches the movie information? Do I need to edit each to verify the path and title of the movie?

Keep in mind, even if you have ripped your TV shows to full discs you can still take those rips and extract out the episodes. It is never too late

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

I m searching on forums like Doom9s, Videohelp etc. on the net for days now but you are absolutely right, 3D ripping is a pain in the @#$ at this moment. I m hoping that Slysoft's CloneBD, which will be released soon, will chime in on this thing.

Yeah, it really isn't worth digging in to right now. I just rip the entire disc with AnyDVD and leave it at that. Eventually some more/better tools will come along. Ideally all i want is Clown_BD for 3D Blu-rays

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1189 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
roknrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
^^ The only way I've found success is to rip a full clone ISO of the 3D disc. DVDFab works well for this.
roknrol is offline  
post #1190 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by roknrol View Post

^^ The only way I've found success is to rip a full clone ISO of the 3D disc. DVDFab works well for this.

but with DVDFab you re-encode the movie (so PQ loss) right?
sanderdvd is offline  
post #1191 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 11:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

but with DVDFab you re-encode the movie (so PQ loss) right?

DVDFab does not reencode for full disc/main movie iso/folder rips, unless you tell it to (i.e. you choose BD25 as your option instead of BD50 I believe)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1192 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
scottlindner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Why not just store the originals in a safe place instead of making a copy of the originals to store?

I used to think that way, until several years later I wanted to rerip an original and found nearly 1/3 of my originals were optically bad. It took me a very long time to rerip everything trying to find the right ROM drive that would rip the troublesome discs. So the physical media sounds like a great fallback, but it isn't. Not to mention storage is cheap, and the convenience of having the ISO sitting there to re-extract into another container, or with other options, or because it didn't extract right long ago is a great value add to having the ISOs sitting right there for you to dink around with at a later time.
scottlindner is offline  
post #1193 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 01:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottlindner View Post

I used to think that way, until several years later I wanted to rerip an original and found nearly 1/3 of my originals were optically bad. It took me a very long time to rerip everything trying to find the right ROM drive that would rip the troublesome discs. So the physical media sounds like a great fallback, but it isn't. Not to mention storage is cheap, and the convenience of having the ISO sitting there to re-extract into another container, or with other options, or because it didn't extract right long ago is a great value add to having the ISOs sitting right there for you to dink around with at a later time.

I agree in the sense that have the full disc allows you to re extract with other options (i.e. you don't need a full disc rip if you simply want to switch containers). I have just found that full disc rips for my personal situation are a waste (both in terms of hdd space, functionality across media players, etc...). Just personal preference here

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1194 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
scottlindner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I agree in the sense that have the full disc allows you to re extract with other options (i.e. you don't need a full disc rip if you simply want to switch containers). I have just found that full disc rips for my personal situation are a waste (both in terms of hdd space, functionality across media players, etc...). Just personal preference here

Agree completely that full rips in ISO are horrible as a playback method. In theory they should be perfect, but very little supports it well, and of the things that supports ISO well.. they really don't support it all that well.
scottlindner is offline  
post #1195 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 02:32 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Right now I have started ripping my Blu-rays to ISO with only main movie, lossless audio and, if necessary, English subtitles. Would somebody either reassure me that I am doing it the best way or convince me that there is a better way. Clown BD here ... and all the trimmings. And a PCH A-300.

Thanks,
Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #1196 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 02:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Right now I have started ripping my Blu-rays to ISO with only main movie, lossless audio and, if necessary, English subtitles. Would somebody either reassure me that I am doing it the best way or convince me that there is a better way. Clown BD here ... and all the trimmings. And a PCH A-300.

Thanks,
Jeff

Can't beat this! I do the same exact thing (except I just keep as a folder structure instead of throwing in an ISO)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1197 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 02:51 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Can't beat this! I do the same exact thing (except I just keep as a folder structure instead of throwing in an ISO)

I tried "folder structure" I think ... that's the work product just before ImgBurn creates the ISO, right?

If so, I saw a lot of folders with no content.

Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #1198 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
roknrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post

but with DVDFab you re-encode the movie (so PQ loss) right?

Nope -- straight clone ISO of the disc. In theory, I guess it should be an exact copy of the image on the disc minus the security s(tuff). Uses a lot of space, sure, but some of my discs have HDCP issues with my system. It's the only way to get them to work consistently.
roknrol is offline  
post #1199 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

I tried "folder structure" I think ... that's the work product just before ImgBurn creates the ISO, right?

If so, I saw a lot of folders with no content.

Jeff

Same deal, an ISO is just a folder rip in a single ISO contain, same exact output otherwise

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #1200 of 6155 Old 04-03-2012, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Right now I have started ripping my Blu-rays to ISO with only main movie, lossless audio and, if necessary, English subtitles. Would somebody either reassure me that I am doing it the best way or convince me that there is a better way. Clown BD here ... and all the trimmings. And a PCH A-300.

Thanks,
Jeff

I just rip the full shiny disc to an ISO, except in the case of:
HD-DVD
DVD-Audio
SACD
mlknez is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off