AVS Forum banner

Software to rip full screen to widescreen, also embed subtitles?

2K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  mlknez 
#1 ·
Hi

Excuse me if this is a dumb question as I'm new to this, but I am trying to rip some older DVD's and I want the rip to be widescreen.

I don't mean black at the top and bottom, I just want to video to display "full" on a 16:9 TV without the side black bars.

I tried Handbrake and I can't seem to do that.

Also, is it possible to embed subtitles in the video file? Which software can handle all this?

BTW, my player does not seem to like MP4 files and the stream constantly stops. Maybe I am ripping it wrong, but I would prefer to rip to something more supported like DivX or Xvid.

Would appreciate any help, thank you.

See less See more
#4 ·
Many players have different "zoom modes" to accomodate this type of preference. This capability has been around since the first HD digital streamer appeared in 2001.

#5 ·
It will be played on a Samsung blu-ray player via wireless streaming over DLNA.

For some reason when I click the zoom option it says something like Operation not available.

So I'm thinking to rip them somehow that is already widescreen but hopefully won't look too distorted.

#6 ·
Ahh, you are using a disc player not a streamer.... a disc transport trying to use dlna for streaming = all bets are off. You are trying to drill a hole with a hammer.

#7 ·
Lesson learned big time. From day one I thought this device could do it all but it's sooo limited. Next time I'm definitely going with a streamer like popcorn box or build a HTPC.

But in the meantime, I'm not trying to disc transport (assuming that means playing an ISO). I just want to rip some of the DVD's into AVI files but would want them to display full 16:9, and some of them I need to embed subtitles to the AVI (using the disc I see subtitles but when I ripped them on Handbrake it's missing).