Sony SMP-N200 - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 142 Old 08-12-2012, 07:21 PM
Newbie
 
Guyen Gankhuyag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
chase smp-n200 but I cant enable closed captioning in nerflix. Is there some kind of trick? thx
Guyen Gankhuyag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 142 Old 08-12-2012, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
Guyen Gankhuyag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchasde smp-n200 but I cant enable closed captioning in nerflix. Is there some kind of trick? thx
Guyen Gankhuyag is offline  
post #123 of 142 Old 08-12-2012, 07:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1861 Post(s)
Liked: 1042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guyen Gankhuyag View Post

I purchasde smp-n200 but I cant enable closed captioning in nerflix. Is there some kind of trick? thx

Netflix is not showing closed caption/subtitle support in its list of features for the SMP-N200 (and a bunch of other Sony products). It is supported in the player on the 2012 BD players but Netflix doesn't have a feature page for them.

As an example of a device which does have caption support, you can see it listed as a feature of the TiVo Premiere's player here.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #124 of 142 Old 09-19-2012, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Logan 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really like the You Tube implementation on this unit. I wish all of them worked the same.
Logan 5 is offline  
post #125 of 142 Old 10-24-2012, 01:52 PM
Newbie
 
baidun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my SMP-N200 installed and working primarily by streaming photos, music, and video from my PC using DLNA. The PC is running Homestream as the DLNA Server and it sees the SMP-N200 client. Almost everything seems to work well. Music and video is no problem. Some of myu older photos are displayed properly. However, all my newer photos, taken with a Sony NEX-7 camera in JPEG format, will not display. The wierd part is that I can see thumbnails of the images, but when I select an image I get a blank screen for the full size image after about 3-4 seconds of the circle hourglass. I have searched the internet (Google, Bing, etc.) and haven't seen anyone have this issue. I've tried my SMP-N200 as well as my friends, and both exhibit the exact same symptom. I've played around with the screen settings in the settings menu of the SMP-N200, but nothing makes any difference. Any ideas?
Regards
baidun is offline  
post #126 of 142 Old 11-02-2012, 04:30 PM
Member
 
wthomas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the n200 because I needed component out for use on an older tv, all the other streamers are hdmi only, so far ok
wthomas69 is offline  
post #127 of 142 Old 12-20-2012, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
teeitup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I recently went through my house and tested all my electronic equipment for power consumption using a Kill-a-watt meter. For anyone interested the SMP uses about 6 watts while on. I found it interesting that the SMP uses 4 watts in standby. Turning the "Quickstart" feature off allowed the device to fully turn off which will save about $3.50 annually biggrin.gif.

By comparison, my Roku 2 XS only uses 1 watt.
teeitup is online now  
post #128 of 142 Old 12-27-2012, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
thedust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After installing an old Samsung 160 (3.5") into SATA to USB shell, I thought I could have all my old movies ready to go for this neat little Sony media player.

As it turned out, external HDD enclosures are not set up quite like USB flash drives. For instance, even though their USB device class is still Mass Storage, their interface mode permits bulk data transfer only.

Perhaps it is for this and other similar reasons, Sony SMP-N200 will not do business with devices like my external disk drive.

I'm not too upset, because this drive is as noisy as a ceiling fan.
thedust is offline  
post #129 of 142 Old 02-09-2013, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
ClemsonKev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HELP!? It plays all my stuff fine EXCEPT for my 1080p MKV files. Instead of allowing the black bars at the top and bottom of the screen, it forces the picture to stretch TALL. Argh! Can't fix in the settings or with aspect ratio of the TV. Anyone have a clue?
ClemsonKev is offline  
post #130 of 142 Old 03-06-2013, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
dfran1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClemsonKev View Post

HELP!? It plays all my stuff fine EXCEPT for my 1080p MKV files. Instead of allowing the black bars at the top and bottom of the screen, it forces the picture to stretch TALL. Argh! Can't fix in the settings or with aspect ratio of the TV. Anyone have a clue?

I just learned to live with it, I can't find a solution either.
dfran1 is offline  
post #131 of 142 Old 03-07-2013, 04:58 AM
Senior Member
 
ClemsonKev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yea, I gave up too....... I use my WDTV to watch 1080p movies on the projector and the Sony is only used on the other TV for the kids to watch their 720p movies that play fine. thanks!
ClemsonKev is offline  
post #132 of 142 Old 05-31-2013, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
dmwj2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MAN!! Thanks for the link to serviio! Damn!! All I had to do is install, point it to my folder, and run the service... SWEET! This program and the Sony Media Streamer works well together. Thanks again!

dmwj2
dmwj2 is offline  
post #133 of 142 Old 09-28-2013, 07:32 AM
Senior Member
 
teeitup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Can anyone can confirm whether the SMP-N200 will stream Netflix Super HD?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 4
teeitup is online now  
post #134 of 142 Old 09-28-2013, 08:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 18,734
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1861 Post(s)
Liked: 1042
Quote:
Originally Posted by teeitup View Post

Can anyone can confirm whether the SMP-N200 will stream Netflix Super HD?

According to Netflix the SMP-N200 is 720p-only, no subtitles, alternative audio or digital 5.1 sound support. Given that, there's no Super HD, which consists of two higher bit rate 1080p video encodes. Several times in this thread people have wished for 1080p support in its Netflix player and I don't believe it ever got it.

Is it even adaptive bit rate? If you play "Example Short 23.976" do you see burned-in bit-rate/resolution information (like the big yellow text in this pic)?

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #135 of 142 Old 09-28-2013, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
teeitup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Ok thanks for the clarification. I was thinking it was 1080p but I forgot the Netflix isn't on the N200. I tried the example clip and it doesn't show the burned-in bitrate like my Roku does.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 4
teeitup is online now  
post #136 of 142 Old 04-15-2014, 05:17 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm receiving an update notification, but when I go to Sony's support site, it shows that I have the most recent firmware???
LouV68 is offline  
post #137 of 142 Old 04-15-2014, 07:36 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: I did an online chat with someone at Sony who wasn't able to find what updates are included. She said to check their website again in a day or two. This is a firmware update going from M10.R.0624 to M10.R.0629

Edit 4/16/14
The SMP-N200/NX20 Network Media player firmware version M10.R.0629 is available and provides improved BRAVIA® Internet Video connectivity.

http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=SMPN200&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab
LouV68 is offline  
post #138 of 142 Old 01-01-2015, 10:36 AM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting a notification thru the box that there is a new firmware update: M10.R.0631 Sony's website has not been updated to show the new firmware.

Has anyone updated their unit? Any improvements such as subtitles added to Netflix, additions/removal of apps, cinavia added, etc.? Thanks.

Last edited by LouV68; 01-01-2015 at 10:40 AM.
LouV68 is offline  
post #139 of 142 Old 01-02-2015, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bill C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
After skimming the entire thread...am I correct in assuming that this is actually a fairly decent local/network file player (of course the Boxee Box and WD TV Live are at the top of the heap, but still)? I've been debating trying to snag one since it actually has physical component video output for older sets...

...and I need your sweet love, Latina T-Mobile girl!

Bill C. is offline  
post #140 of 142 Old 01-04-2015, 12:49 PM
Member
 
LouV68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill C. View Post
After skimming the entire thread...am I correct in assuming that this is actually a fairly decent local/network file player (of course the Boxee Box and WD TV Live are at the top of the heap, but still)? I've been debating trying to snag one since it actually has physical component video output for older sets...
It's decent but it does have its limitations. ie. won't play ISO files, DVD Folder Structure (plays each VOB as a separate video, pauses then continues with next), fast forward & rewind on certain file types (encodes) doesn't work well (starts video over), does not remember where a file left off it unit is turned off, no Netflix subtitles, and I believe max Netflix output is 720p

I use mine all the time regardless of these limitations. I would rate it a 2.5/4

A big plus for me, is that it works well with the free version of Serviio (DLNA software) to view videos, music and pictures off my PC. It also plays files off of USB. It also has a decent app selection.

SMP-N200 Manuals & Specs

Last edited by LouV68; 01-04-2015 at 12:55 PM.
LouV68 is offline  
post #141 of 142 Old 03-13-2015, 07:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does any one know if Netflix has plugged the analog hole? I run one of my N200's in the gym, hooked up via component cables to an old HD CRT and my wife said the last time two times she tried to use it she got a licensing error message. I haven't gotten down there to mess with it (or, ah, use the gym) but it sounds to me like Netflix may be requiring HDMI for some of its content. She was trying to watch tv shows (Parenthood and Breaking Bad).

I searched in the forums and didn't see anything, so I dragged this thread forward.

I have tivo mini with component cables that I haven't hooked up (need to fish wires, first attempt went horribly awry), and if that works or if the N200 just needs a software update then I'll keep the beast around. Otherwise it will be time for the gym to enter the HDCP age.

EDIT - False alarm. Component seems to be working fine now.

Last edited by dc_pilgrim; 03-15-2015 at 04:33 PM.
dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #142 of 142 Old 06-01-2015, 06:22 PM
Member
 
john79605's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I found 72 3D movies for rent in the Video Unlimited ap. I don't yet have bandwidth for HD, much less 3D, so I can't test this. I have a 3D tv and I've managed 3D photos with the n200. Has anyone streamed 3D on an n200 and will Video Unlimited actually stream 3D to it? The same 3D section shows up on my s370 which isn't 3D capable, so having them listed isn't proof they will work.
john79605 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off