*Official* Roku 2 Media Streamer Thread - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 1155 Old 11-06-2011, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by StratmanX View Post

And here we thought you were undecided.

Yeah, I read that thread as well before my initial post. Like I said, there was chatter.

I have no reason to disbelieve you. Would be nice if Roku would quit straddling the fence and state the capabilities in plain English. Or German if they prefer.

I was 'undecided' but then I got a 720P DLP (way back in 2004).

What I am puzzled about is when you say 'and there is ample conflicting evidence'. What and where?

The ROKU 2 XS (unfortunately) outputs ONLY 1080P60 to my 1080P 55LE8500.

Wish it didn't - but there you go.

I have no idea why you doubt this - but then I haven't see the 'ample conflicting evidence'
undecided is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 1155 Old 11-07-2011, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
StratmanX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by undecided View Post

I was 'undecided' but then I got a 720P DLP (way back in 2004).

?? I was referring to your name "undecided" and what you said about being "unknown. It was a play on words and not meant to be upsetting and I used the winking emoticon to show I wasn't slamming you. I apologize if you took offense.

Quote:


What I am puzzled about is when you say 'and there is ample conflicting evidence'. What and where?

A small number say yes, a small number say no, and Roku says nothing. These comments were on Roku's forum.

Quote:


The ROKU 2 XS (unfortunately) outputs ONLY 1080P60 to my 1080P 55LE8500.

Wish it didn't - but there you go.

I have no idea why you doubt this - but then I haven't see the 'ample conflicting evidence'

I said I have no reason to disbelieve you and I meant it. I, and probably everyone else, understood you the first time you posted your observations. You're making more out of this then should be. Chillax.
StratmanX is online now  
post #303 of 1155 Old 11-07-2011, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by StratmanX View Post

?? I was referring to your name "undecided" and what you said about being "unknown. It was a play on words and not meant to be upsetting and I used the winking emoticon to show I wasn't slamming you. I apologize if you took offense.

No offense taken - I was just expalining why I was 'undecided' in 2004 when I joined the forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by StratmanX View Post


A small number say yes, a small number say no, and Roku says nothing. These comments were on Roku's forum.

If you read that thread closely you will see everyone who comments on the ROKU 2 XS/XD confirms it does 1080P60. The other comments on the older ROKU XDS / XR are the ones saying their ROKU's don't do 1080P60.

You are right we probably have spent enough time on this topic - but I don't think fair to leave people with the impression the ROKU 2 XS does not do 1080P60. It does - unfortunately that is the only 1080P it will do....
undecided is offline  
post #304 of 1155 Old 11-07-2011, 06:57 PM
riz
Senior Member
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, another q for ya, can a screensaver type program be set up through a roku 2?
riz is offline  
post #305 of 1155 Old 11-07-2011, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by riz View Post

OK, another q for ya, can a screensaver type program be set up through a roku 2?

Yes, there is a built-in screen saver for when it's sitting idle in pause or menus.
DaverJ is online now  
post #306 of 1155 Old 11-07-2011, 08:12 PM
riz
Senior Member
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Yes, there is a built-in screen saver for when it's sitting idle in pause or menus.

What does it play? can it play from own video files of my choosing? Can it play froma private channel?
riz is offline  
post #307 of 1155 Old 11-08-2011, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by riz View Post

What does it play? can it play from own video files of my choosing? Can it play froma private channel?

There's a couple screensaver options in Settings, and I believe there's more available for download. I have mine set to a clock.

Not sure about video files, but I don't remember that as an option. There's a free download under "Screensavers & Apps" called "MyChannels", not sure what that does though.
DaverJ is online now  
post #308 of 1155 Old 11-08-2011, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
hps70w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roku LT ($49.99) is now available for purchase on Roku's website, as well as Amazon.

Amazon is showing the wrong remote though. It actually comes bundled with the new remote that has buttons for direct access to the Netflix, Pandora and Crackle channels. See the picture on Roku's website.
hps70w is offline  
post #309 of 1155 Old 11-08-2011, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by hps70w View Post

It actually comes bundled with the new remote that has buttons for direct access to the Netflix, Pandora and Crackle channels. See the picture on Roku's website.

The Netflix button is a good idea. I wonder if we can program that feature on a Harmony One remote via the XS model?
DaverJ is online now  
post #310 of 1155 Old 11-08-2011, 12:20 PM
Member
 
chili555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina, by the lake
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

The Netflix button is a good idea. I wonder if we can program that feature on a Harmony One remote via the XS model?

Me, too!
chili555 is offline  
post #311 of 1155 Old 11-08-2011, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Sabrewulf...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Don't use the motion feature of the remote much, annoyed at its unresponsiveness, or need an extra remote, here's a good deal on the standard (non-motion) remote, its responsive as a remote should be and better on batteries, also has some instant replay button as well? Wee!

It's a $1.99 at the Channel Store (very bottom), the Roku web site now has it for $1.99 as well.

Instant Replay Remote http://www.roku.com/accessories#3
Sabrewulf... is offline  
post #312 of 1155 Old 11-08-2011, 06:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,657
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabrewulf... View Post

Don't use the motion feature of the remote much, annoyed at its unresponsiveness, or need an extra remote, here's a good deal on the standard (non-motion) remote, its responsive as a remote should be and better on batteries, also has some instant replay button as well? Wee!

It's a $1.99 at the Channel Store (very bottom), the Roku web site now has it for $1.99 as well.

Instant Replay Remote http://www.roku.com/accessories#3

Isn't that an old style Roku 1 remote? The Roku 2 remotes have purple for some of the buttons.

And the Roku LT remote has dedicated buttons for Netflix, Pandora, and Crackle. If I got a new remote I would like one of those.

Although I think I'm going to pick up a a Roku LT to keep at my girlfriends. She has a lower resolution HD set so for $50 it should be perfect for there. Plus I won't need to bring my Roku 2 XS over there any more.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #313 of 1155 Old 11-09-2011, 07:35 AM
Member
 
outspoken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
dont see the LT remote for individual sale yet. would like to get one.
outspoken is offline  
post #314 of 1155 Old 11-09-2011, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
dvdchance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carteret, Middlesex County, NJ
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

The Netflix button is a good idea. I wonder if we can program that feature on a Harmony One remote via the XS model?

Should be possible. If you can get the HEX codes for those buttons you can enter then into your Harmony profile using the HEX converter. http://members.harmonyremote.com/Eas...Inf¬rared.asp


A great resource for getting HEX codes is remptecentral site. http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...crete/list.cgi
dvdchance is offline  
post #315 of 1155 Old 11-09-2011, 04:38 PM
Member
 
geostone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you find to be the most compelling content channels on Roku 2, especially regarding the free content?

George in Northern Virginia
geostone is offline  
post #316 of 1155 Old 11-10-2011, 04:25 AM
Member
 
krisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by geostone View Post

What do you find to be the most compelling content channels on Roku 2, especially regarding the free content?

The Pub-D-Hub channel is fun - has all the scare films from the 40's and 50's on there about hygiene, the communists, etc.

The Youtube channel is no longer available, but to those that have it, it is great. Word is that eventually an official channel will come down the pipeline.

NowhereTV is great because it grabs all of the stuff out there that can be viewed on the Roku - love catching up on Conan O'Brien and Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.

Of course I am a big fan of MythTV and Roksbox which allow me to watch my mythtv computer and fileserver, respectively.

Crackle is neat because there are some movies on there with better transfers than the DVD's I have. Sure it has commercials in the worst spot, but the movies are uncut and free, so how can you complain.

There are certainly more, but off the top of my head, those are my favorite.
krisbee is offline  
post #317 of 1155 Old 11-10-2011, 06:23 AM
Member
 
outspoken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by geostone View Post

What do you find to be the most compelling content channels on Roku 2, especially regarding the free content?

honestly i bought mine for amazon prime, hulu and netflix. all of which cost money. after having the roku for a month now i find myself using it primarily for netflix but there are some free channels that i enjoy. tested is a channel about tech gadget reviews, justintv when it works is another one i watch. very disapppinted that youtube doesnt exist, im blaming google for that one. i also use plex for my local media streaming which is free.
outspoken is offline  
post #318 of 1155 Old 11-10-2011, 11:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisbee View Post

The Pub-D-Hub channel is fun - has all the scare films from the 40's and 50's on there about hygiene, the communists, etc.

Also, some great, silent comedies with the likes of Keaton and Chaplin.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #319 of 1155 Old 11-10-2011, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Pandora wasn't mentioned so not sure if you had heard about that. The tech channels are also very good, Cnet, Revision3, Mediafly all have a lot of good review/discussion subchannels like Tekzilla, Applebyte, HD Nation, Buzz Report, Prizefight etc. Snagfilms is an all documentary channel that has quite a few interesting films. Twit Tv has all of the shows on the Leo Laporte's Twit Network. Here's a link to almost all the free and private channels available:
http://www.roku-channels.com/

subavision212 is offline  
post #320 of 1155 Old 11-12-2011, 11:19 AM
Member
 
geostone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, everyone, for your recommendations!

George in Northern Virginia
geostone is offline  
post #321 of 1155 Old 11-12-2011, 11:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blacklac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, Revision3 is a great channel for video podcasts. One of my favorite channels.
Blacklac is offline  
post #322 of 1155 Old 11-14-2011, 06:43 PM
Member
 
fpsfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anybody know if the roku Lt display netflix subtitles when enabled through the netflix menu?
fpsfreak is offline  
post #323 of 1155 Old 11-16-2011, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
hps70w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpsfreak View Post

does anybody know if the roku Lt display netflix subtitles when enabled through the netflix menu?

Yes, the Roku LT supports Netflix subtitles.
hps70w is offline  
post #324 of 1155 Old 11-29-2011, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
CaptainVideoJW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston, TX 77059
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Maybe they just changed something. As of yesterday i still had to select the 5.1 audio track in the audio and subtitle menu for each Netflix streaming title.

This is really irritating me too. Having to select 5.1 for every episode or movie. I just upgraded to the Roku 2 XS mainly because I wanted 5.1 from Netflix.
CaptainVideoJW is offline  
post #325 of 1155 Old 11-29-2011, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainVideoJW View Post

This is really irritating me too. Having to select 5.1 for every episode or movie. I just upgraded to the Roku 2 XS mainly because I wanted 5.1 from Netflix.

Agreed. It's obscene that there at the very least there isn't a global setting in Netflix for this (the ideal would be awareness of the player's configuration).
babgvant is offline  
post #326 of 1155 Old 12-03-2011, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
CaptainVideoJW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston, TX 77059
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 39
The Roku 2 seems to buffer less video into memory versus the XDS.


CaptainVideoJW is offline  
post #327 of 1155 Old 12-04-2011, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
amheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone have any experience playing local media stored on a media server (WHS) using Private channels? I saw this mentioned but I did a little searching yesterday and didn't seem to come up with much.
amheck is offline  
post #328 of 1155 Old 12-04-2011, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
dvdchance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carteret, Middlesex County, NJ
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by amheck View Post

does anyone have any experience playing local media stored on a media server (WHS) using Private channels? I saw this mentioned but I did a little searching yesterday and didn't seem to come up with much.

See the Plex app. http://www.plexapp.com/

I use it to stream from a Mac Mini to 2 Roku 2 boxes. They also have Windows and Linux versions.

Works great in my home!!
dvdchance is offline  
post #329 of 1155 Old 12-04-2011, 12:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
FYI:

"Drive-In Classics" and "Moonlight Movies" are both free throughout the month of December.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #330 of 1155 Old 12-05-2011, 05:12 AM
Member
 
krisbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdchance View Post

See the Plex app. http://www.plexapp.com/

I use it to stream from a Mac Mini to 2 Roku 2 boxes. They also have Windows and Linux versions.

Works great in my home!!


I use Roksbox which is pretty nice. You just set up a quick webserver (or some NAS's already have one that will work), and you are off and running. I just need to either dump files in a directory, or use symlinks (run linux here) and that works, too. You can use windows, or a mac, or anything that has a webserver on your network.

Chaneru is another, and so is MyMedia. Some have a small fee, some are free. You do have to make sure your files are compliant with the roku, so you most likely will have to transcode the files using something like handbrake... Plex is the only one that will do it on the fly if your computer is fast enough, to my knowledge.
krisbee is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off