*Official* Roku 2 Media Streamer Thread - Page 39 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1141 of 1153 Old 04-25-2014, 07:39 AM
Member
 
Spacedave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Installed Youtube on my Roku 2 and it is quite slow. It took 35 seconds just to get past the start up screen, then another 10 or so seconds before it responds to commands from the remote. Search is very slow, maybe a little slower than my Oppo 93. Rapid multiple button pushes usually miss several, so scrolling through the search alphabet line is tedious, wish they had a grid alphabet rather than the single line, would speed things up. Once streaming it seems fine. I will wait a while to see if the Amazon streamer gets better, then decide on whether to replace the 2 with a 3 or the Amazon player. The 2 is much too slow. I do not want to have to use another computer/tablet/smartphone to run the Roku to make things faster, would just as soon use the laptop with HDMI output as the streamer without another box in the loop if that is the sole way to make it respond quickly.

The primary reason I got a Roku was to be able to move it among my various TVs. If I had realized that the 2 was much slower than the 3, I probably would have bought a 3, especially since the 2, with its slower processor, seems to be relegated to 2nd tier support from Roku.
Spacedave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1142 of 1153 Old 04-25-2014, 11:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post

The annoying, huge rotating picture window for the selected title, will probably be replaced by a single still for the older models...

I strongly doubt that--I'll ask in the Roku forums about how it runs on the HDMI streaming stick (which is basically a Roku 1).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post

^Thanks. I am curious as to how the lesser powered Rokus could possibly handle the amount of work that the new UI requires.

I was wrong--someone on the Roku forums tested and reported in this post that he only saw a single frame. I guess that the rotating images were a little too much for the platform, either processor- or memory-wise or both. It's taken them 6 months to tweak this to run on the other 2nd and 3rd gen Rokus and its performance still leaves something to be desired.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
post #1143 of 1153 Old 04-26-2014, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 48

^^Again, thanks for inquiring. I guess it's inevitable then, but I was still hopeful they'd let the older Roku models stay as they are. Hmm, message boards allow customization with different skins...I wish they'd at least allow you your choice of looks, especially since they created the new platform and emplemented it while still using the last UI until they were ready to launch the new standard design. The architecture allows it, so why not take advantage of it's versitility?


Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is online now  
post #1144 of 1153 Old 04-26-2014, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
JohnS-MI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I just got YouTube working on my Roku 2 XS last night. I'm going to take a "glass is half full" viewpoint; it's way better than no YouTube at all which I had previously.

The initial load is slow, after that it seems OK. Entering letters in the search box is a bit cumbersome, although I thought the search was fine after I got letters entered. Actual streaming is fine. It may be better to use a remote app on a tablet, or do the search on a tablet and "cast" it. I was amazed that my tablet immediately found the Roku and offered to cast to it as soon as I opened YouTube app; no "pairing" operation had to be performed.

I need to experiment more to decide the best ways of doing things, but I am grateful to see the support for older models. It is functional if not quite as hot and sexy as on newer models.
JohnS-MI is offline  
post #1145 of 1153 Old 04-26-2014, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 85
^^
Once you install the YouTube app, then it's much easier to link the app to your phone or tablet's YouTube app and enter your search from the mobile device.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
post #1146 of 1153 Old 07-09-2014, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
crakarjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I know this thread is a bit old, but I got a Roku 2 XS a while back as a low-power alternative to my PS3 for watching media.

I can't get it to show blacker-than-black signals though. Does anyone know if the thing just clips off 0-16 or something, and does it output RGB vs YCbCr? Based on my observations it looks like it's doing RGB limited (16-235) but just dropping everything outside that limited range. I'm using a new Samsung Plasma, if that makes any difference. TIA!
crakarjax is online now  
post #1147 of 1153 Old 07-09-2014, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by crakarjax View Post
I know this thread is a bit old, but I got a Roku 2 XS a while back as a low-power alternative to my PS3 for watching media.

I can't get it to show blacker-than-black signals though. Does anyone know if the thing just clips off 0-16 or something, and does it output RGB vs YCbCr? Based on my observations it looks like it's doing RGB limited (16-235) but just dropping everything outside that limited range. I'm using a new Samsung Plasma, if that makes any difference. TIA!
It outputs RGB, from what I have heard. There was a recent discussion about it in the Roku 3 thread.

*Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread
ToonMasterTim is online now  
post #1148 of 1153 Old 07-09-2014, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
crakarjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToonMasterTim View Post
It outputs RGB, from what I have heard. There was a recent discussion about it in the Roku 3 thread.

*Official* Roku 3 Streaming Player Thread
Thanks, I'll ask those guys wrt the Roku 3.
crakarjax is online now  
post #1149 of 1153 Old 07-17-2014, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. usa
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
originally Posted by crakarjax View Post
I know this thread is a bit old, but I got a Roku 2 XS a while back as a low-power alternative to my PS3 for watching media.

I can't get it to show blacker-than-black signals though. Does anyone know if the thing just clips off 0-16 or something, and does it output RGB vs YCbCr? Based on my observations it looks like it's doing RGB limited (16-235) but just dropping everything outside that limited range. I'm using a new Samsung Plasma, if that makes any difference. TIA!
It outputs RGB, from what I have heard. There was a recent discussion about it in the Roku 3 thread.



Quote:
Originally Posted by crakarjax View Post
Thanks, I'll ask those guys wrt the Roku 3.
re/ Tubetwister

My Roku 1 and 2 (new models) get decently black but as mentioned earlier probably not blacker than black it's as watchable most any video stream though no readily apparent major problems .

ofc it could depend on the TV My Sony LED supports most anything you throw at it including 0 - 255 ‎YCbCr or RGB .
The Sammie plasma is on a PS3 and the LG LED on the other Roku with an S - IPS panel doesn't get black enough to worry about it anyway ☺☺

"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is online now  
post #1150 of 1153 Old 07-17-2014, 11:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. usa
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
michaeltscott wrote ,

On Roku 3 it now starts up in 2 seconds flat--it's breathtaking . The first time you start it each day it asks what profile you want to use, but on subsequent starts it takes you back to precisely where you were when you exited, with state entirely intact. If you'd been scrolling around through various genre rows they will all be scrolled to where you left them; if you were browsing the episodes of a series, it will return to that with the same episode selected.

re tubetwister .

FWIW as you know Roku 1 & 2 (new models ) are running on build 5.5
R/ 1 & 2 do not return to exact Netflix state on reload though. No Roku session kid profiles only generas or pin or password protected adult profiles on R /1 & 2 .

ofc kids could always find objectionable stuff on the other channels ☺


5.5 seems a little faster on most things overall now including You Tube although You Tube is still to slow to my liking on Roku 1 & 2 but a nice improvement from what it was (intolerable ) it is less intolerable now ☺ no worries here I can use YT on a connected PC or over the PC /TV Lan which is way faster that way anyway . Others if using You tube on Roku should still look to a Roku 3 .

Actually making You Tube Playlists on a PC and watching them on Roku is pretty effective also
and as a work around otherwise remediates a lot of the issues with YT being slow on Roku 1/2
not a 100% for sure cure but it helps a lot.

I also do that with Amazon Prime library and Netflix Mylist it works remarkably well .

Seem like Amazon Prime /instant or whatever they call it recently added a ton of genres and sub genres .
I believe they stream HD in 1080p on supported devices with adequate ip bandwidth now also .

Browsing Netflix , You Tube and Amazon etc. on a PC and populating your playlists for later viewing on a Roku or any ip DPD is a snap and a good time saver also you can have an IMDb tab open to check our the IMDb + rotten tomato
ratings and descriptions + previews if you don't have an installed PC Netflix Enhancer browser extension .

.IMDb/ Rotten Tomato ratings and descriptions + pre views are not embedded in Roku /Netflix channel but are avail on PC on the Netflix site embedded in the movie cover art image for rated videos you can click on it for full description and pre view (with the applicable Netflix enhancer PC browser extension )
.

"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -

Last edited by tubetwister; 07-18-2014 at 01:13 AM. Reason: sp
tubetwister is online now  
post #1151 of 1153 Old 07-19-2014, 05:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I got a Roku3 and gave my ~2 year old roku 2 to my dad to replace his hd. He likes the speed bump, but I can't get the Youtube app to sync with his account.

I put his google id in, but it says he has no channels or content.

Has anyone gotten this working on a an original 2, in his case an xd? Not the model they are currently selling called a 2. It seem to work for me on my xs but not well. It gives me my subscriptions, but nothing else. Today it is giving me errors retrieving show list. If you click through that it crashes.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1152 of 1153 Old 07-19-2014, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Audio Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 15
YouTube works fine on my Roku 2xs. Maybe try a factory reset.
Audio Geek is online now  
post #1153 of 1153 Old 07-19-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 2,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregoryperkins View Post

I put his google id in, but it says he has no channels or content.

Has anyone gotten this working on a an original 2, in his case an xd? Not the model they are currently selling called a 2. It seem to work for me on my xs but not well. It gives me my subscriptions, but nothing else. Today it is giving me errors retrieving show list. If you click through that it crashes.
I also have the 2XD and never had a problem linking the Youtube app with my YT ID.
Sign out of the app or delete it from his Roku list, then add it again. When launching it generates an activation code that you take online to his account on the pc, rather than just signing in on the Roku...

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!

Last edited by Westly-C; 07-19-2014 at 11:02 AM.
Westly-C is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off