PopBox V8 By Syabas - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 138 Old 04-24-2012, 04:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The 1080p/60 issue affects all streamers with this particular Sigma chip.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 138 Old 04-24-2012, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
> no deep standby (box warm, power intake way over the EU limit)
there is deep standby just press and hold power button (did you measure in deep standby?)
> no DTS passthrough over optical (while having video via HDMI)
never used that don't know
> stuttering, choppy 1080p 60fps playback (camcorder files .mts, .mp4) -sound breaks after 15-60 sec
never had such files, but seems to be a issue on all sigma players.
> high bitrate movies make the box crash randomly or the playback suddenly just breaks (same movie plays with no issues on Samsung/LG smart TV or a Realtek player)
i never had a crash with my movies (mkv,avi and bd isos)
+ other minor issues with subtitles and resuming playback - not fixed.
i don't use normally subtitles, but where i need them they work
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #123 of 138 Old 04-24-2012, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
1 . no deep standby (box warm, power intake way over the EU limit)
Hold power button 5 seconds box turns into deep mode
2. no DTS passthrough over optical (while having video via HDMI)
Hope this gets fixed But i bet it will come back on sigma this one of the first players with a single DAC
3. stuttering, choppy 1080p 60fps playback (camcorder files .mts, .mp4) -sound breaks after 15-60 sec
Issue with all players, sigma/realtek/intelce The realtek handles them the best but still not from all makes and models of cameras
4. high bitrate movies make the box crash randomly or the playback suddenly just breaks (same movie plays with no issues on Samsung/LG smart TV or a Realtek player)
Considering avatar is one of the top bitrate movies And my kid has watched it 50 times on the v8 without issue this seem to be a you only problem.
halfelite is online now  
post #124 of 138 Old 04-24-2012, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What's the difference between the v8 and the 3D? Besides the added dimension of course...
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #125 of 138 Old 04-24-2012, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by scl23enn4m3 View Post

What's the difference between the v8 and the 3D? Besides the added dimension of course...

v8 replaced the popbox3d the popbox3d is eol. v8 is newer chipset
halfelite is online now  
post #126 of 138 Old 04-25-2012, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

v8 replaced the popbox3d the popbox3d is eol. v8 is newer chipset

Gotchya. Thanks! So the v8 can't do 3D right? Seems kind of odd since they are still selling both models.
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #127 of 138 Old 04-25-2012, 07:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by scl23enn4m3 View Post

Gotchya. Thanks! So the v8 can't do 3D right? Seems kind of odd since they are still selling both models.

They both can do 3D, just not Blu-ray 3D

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #128 of 138 Old 04-25-2012, 08:22 AM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can the V8 output PCM? I see in the settings it is available to set as either Passthrough or Downmix. However all my PCM bluray disks are playing the secondary AC3 track that I also ripped using makemkv. It shows 2 audio tracks but when I select each they still play the AC3 track? Any help appreciated.
LVS is offline  
post #129 of 138 Old 04-25-2012, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by LVS View Post

Can the V8 output PCM? I see in the settings it is available to set as either Passthrough or Downmix. However all my PCM bluray disks are playing the secondary AC3 track that I also ripped using makemkv. It shows 2 audio tracks but when I select each they still play the AC3 track? Any help appreciated.

PCM might not work. The V8 is a single DAC and if i seem to recall the spec sheets its set to 2 channel PCM only but i might be wrong.
halfelite is online now  
post #130 of 138 Old 04-27-2012, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

They both can do 3D, just not Blu-ray 3D

Ah ok, thank you!

If anyone is looking to sell their v8, shoot me a PM .
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #131 of 138 Old 04-27-2012, 10:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello V8 owners. Anyone know how IMDB scraping differs as to compared to original popbox? I'm still using my original popbox. It's starting to fail though and I need to replace it. I'm wondering should I try to find a cheap used original popbox to replace with or buy the new V8? I already have 2 family members setup with original popboxes and I deliver there movies (MKV's), so I'd need the V8 or whatever player I use to have the same scanner, so that I'm not having to fix imdb entries twice. In other words I don't want to have a V8 if it scrapes correctly and then add the movie to my parents popbox library only to discover it mislables the movie. Anyone know if both popboxes use the same scanner? One feature I'm really missing is the ability to serve music from my pc to popbox so I can listen to music from my amp without having to turn my tv on since my PC and receiver are in different rooms. This feature was supposed to come to original popbox through eyecon app but never did. I believe it did come to V8 though right?
leiff is offline  
post #132 of 138 Old 04-27-2012, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
jaymalya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As far as I know, IMDB scraping is done on the PC - not on popbox v8. A-300 with oversight can do scraping on the box itself

jaymalya is offline  
post #133 of 138 Old 04-27-2012, 11:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That doesn't sound right to me. I'm sure V8 downloads it's own poster art movie description directly off the internet like original popbox and doesn't need a PC for this right?
leiff is offline  
post #134 of 138 Old 04-27-2012, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by leiff View Post

That doesn't sound right to me. I'm sure V8 downloads it's own poster art movie description directly off the internet like original popbox and doesn't need a PC for this right?

It downloads from the internet no pc needed. Same with the 300 series and 200 series with NMJ
halfelite is online now  
post #135 of 138 Old 07-11-2012, 01:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
where is the best price?
zoro is offline  
post #136 of 138 Old 07-11-2012, 02:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

where is the best price?

$129.99 at popbox.com

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #137 of 138 Old 07-11-2012, 03:43 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
djc11369 is offline  
post #138 of 138 Old 07-11-2012, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaymalya View Post

As far as I know, IMDB scraping is done on the PC - not on popbox v8. A-300 with oversight can do scraping on the box itself

I miss my C200 with Oversight. Just really, really liked that interface.

Philip
pmcd is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off