*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 10 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > *Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Cavalyr's Avatar Cavalyr
05:37 PM Liked: 10
post #271 of 5631
10-20-2011 | Posts: 22
Joined: May 2011
@WDFan1970..Largest laptop HDD I see on the market right now is a 1.5TB. Bought one of those and put it in the wife's PBO media player.
crbaldwin's Avatar crbaldwin
08:59 PM Liked: 20
post #272 of 5631
10-20-2011 | Posts: 1,330
Joined: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

I watched it last week... It's ONE video; the same video is used in several places... and it was a pretty darn-good quality video. Pretty sure it was HD.

Strange. I never see video. Are you using the latest firmware? I even tried a full reset to factory conditions and still can't access the WD RSS video feeds (other internet services work fine).
techflaws's Avatar techflaws
10:38 PM Liked: 32
post #273 of 5631
10-20-2011 | Posts: 1,066
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post

There are some issues regarding Amazon and the cloud.

What issues? Some legacy content companies claiming they need to get paid over and over again despite having no legal standing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post

Moreover the legal issues vary from country to country.

Right. So what's the reason others do release bitstreaming in the US?
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
07:43 AM Liked: 37
post #274 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 1,122
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalyr View Post

@WDFan1970..Largest laptop HDD I see on the market right now is a 1.5TB. Bought one of those and put it in the wife's PBO media player.

Really? What make / model was it? I can't find any 1.5 TB 2.5" laptop drives on Newegg, but of course, that's not necessarily the authority.

But the final sticky-wicket is that the Hub does check the thumbprint on drives and won't allow anything other than WD drives in the box.
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
07:46 AM Liked: 37
post #275 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 1,122
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post

Strange. I never see video. Are you using the latest firmware? I even tried a full reset to factory conditions and still can't access the WD RSS video feeds (other internet services work fine).

Yep... Just tried it a minute ago. Video started in the PIP window in a matter of about 3-5 seconds..
Pecker's Avatar Pecker
08:34 AM Liked: 27
post #276 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 1,223
Joined: Nov 2006
A forum member at AVF has just received one of these in the UK - looks like a kosher UK product too, rather than an import.

Looks like we should be getting these soon.

Steve W
DaveFi's Avatar DaveFi
10:15 AM Liked: 26
post #277 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 17,190
Joined: Nov 2002
I'm happy with it just for the 1080/24p DD+ bitstreaming Netflix support. Everything else is gravy. Only wish it had Amazon though.
fletchb's Avatar fletchb
11:44 AM Liked: 10
post #278 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 13
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post

What issues? Some legacy content companies claiming they need to get paid over and over again despite having no legal standing?


Right. So what's the reason others do release bitstreaming in the US?

Exactly. There was a link to some of those Chinese players that do pass through and it mentioned they might get pulled depending how the laws are interpreted by the courts. It sounded as crazy as Hollywood demanding a licensee from the cable manufacturers for the DVD data passing through your cat 6 cables.
desertwedge's Avatar desertwedge
01:22 PM Liked: 10
post #279 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2005
@raphaelwd, any place we can find a sample skin/specs as to what kind of skin we can update w/? Also, any timeline on when the network storage/media library issues might be resolved. Thanks.
Cavalyr's Avatar Cavalyr
03:47 PM Liked: 10
post #280 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 22
Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

So, this is the LIVE-SMP thread, not the Live HUB thread, so I'm not sure of the contexts here.

If you're talking about replacing the drive in the HUB-- 1TB is still (as far as I know) the largest laptop drive on the market. All the larger ones are DESKTOP (3.5") drives that won't fit in the case.

If you're talking about the Live-SMP, it's driveless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Really? What make / model was it? I can't find any 1.5 TB 2.5" laptop drives on Newegg, but of course, that's not necessarily the authority.

But the final sticky-wicket is that the Hub does check the thumbprint on drives and won't allow anything other than WD drives in the box.

It is a Seagate. Best Buy has them for around $180. Altho I am lucky to be a Army Vet. So i can still go to the PX on post and buy things there. They are selling the same external HDD for $109.99. Definitely a better buy at the PX on the Army base.

Seagate External HDD
TimA's Avatar TimA
04:25 PM Liked: 22
post #281 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 220
Joined: Nov 2001
I'm only getting a 50% movie recognition rate during scraping even with every .mkv and .iso renamed by Media Center Master. Is there a way to get a better movie name success rate with this WD TV unit?

It seems to have problems with movies that have dashes or stuff like 'Vol 1' in the title. Will adding Media Center Master generated 'moviefilename.nfo' and moviefilename.tbn' files for every movie file improve my scraping success?

Tim
raphaelwd's Avatar raphaelwd
05:25 PM Liked: 10
post #282 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertwedge View Post

@raphaelwd, any place we can find a sample skin/specs as to what kind of skin we can update w/? Also, any timeline on when the network storage/media library issues might be resolved. Thanks.

Earlier I mentioned that the Live Hub themes would not be compatible with Live Streaming. I was wrong. Our online themes database for Live streaming currently supports OSModHub, Anodized, Winter, Winter Mochi, and Legacy. You can find previews here.

We are currently testing firmware that addresses the Media Library issue on Network shares. Unfortunately, I cannot give you a timeline.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimA View Post

I'm only getting a 50% movie recognition rate during scraping even with every .mkv and .iso renamed by Media Center Master. Is there a way to get a better movie name success rate with this WD TV unit?

It seems to have problems with movies that have dashes or stuff like 'Vol 1' in the title. Will adding Media Center Master generated 'moviefilename.nfo' and moviefilename.tbn' files for every movie file improve my scraping success?

Tim

I mentioned two methods in my earlier posts. If putting the year in the title (ex: "My_Movie(2011).mkv") does not work, the surefire way is to have an NFO file that contains a link to the movie's IMDB page. (ex: "My_Movie(2011).nfo"). The link should look like this: http://www.imdb.com/title/[MOVIE ID GOES HERE]

Currently, the filename is the first method we use. So if your movie returns a single (but incorrect) result, that's what you'll see. You can help the Metasource out by using an NFO, and changing the filename so that it doesn't give you any results on the TMDB site.
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
06:29 PM Liked: 37
post #283 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 1,122
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalyr View Post


It is a Seagate. Best Buy has them for around $180. Altho I am lucky to be a Army Vet. So i can still go to the PX on post and buy things there. They are selling the same external HDD for $109.99. Definitely a better buy at the PX on the Army base.

Seagate External HDD

The one you linked isn't a laptop drive... It's an external. The largest laptop HD at BestBuy is the same drive that's in the Hub... A 1TB WD Scorpio Blue.
Cavalyr's Avatar Cavalyr
06:54 PM Liked: 10
post #284 of 5631
10-21-2011 | Posts: 22
Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

The one you linked isn't a laptop drive... It's an external. The largest laptop HD at BestBuy is the same drive that's in the Hub... A 1TB WD Scorpio Blue.

ahh. I understand you of course. Just thought it would be along the same lines since all I did was crack open that case and use the hdd in the PBO. Is all good tho.
TimA's Avatar TimA
06:21 AM Liked: 22
post #285 of 5631
10-22-2011 | Posts: 220
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfodiz View Post

That's a great question as I have put alot of time into getting my poster collection together. When they do implement this on network shares I hope they have this in mind. Maybe later today I will put a couple of movies on a USB HDD and see what it does if I already have a folder.jpg there and let you know.

Updated:
When I scanned a thumbdrive with The Time Travelers Wife on it, it did not delete my folder.jpg. It looks to store thumbs in .wd_tv/thumb on the root of the drive in 7 different sizes. In the movie folder itself it added "The Time Travelers Wife.metathumb" which is the movie poster and a folder called ".The Time Travelers Wife.backdrop" which contains seven backdrops and "The Time Travelers Wife.xml" which contains all of the movie info and then seems to link to the following for thumbs and backdrops:


http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/c0c/4d6b7b997b9aa132fe000c0c/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/02a/4c92a9e15e73d62ffb00002a/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/4c2/4bc9617b017a3c57fe02c4c2/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/fee/4d7a76397b9aa11a14000fee/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/cf8/4d605cf77b9aa154cf003cf8/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/842/4caadd407b9aa17aca000842/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/160/4cadd09b7b9aa11b3d000160/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/ed4/4daad2d75e73d634b4000ed4/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/762/4dd667ae7b9aa147d9000762/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/1b7/4df22a315e73d642b30011b7/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/233/4e4c0d675e73d64c37000233/the-time-traveler-s-wife-cover.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/backdrops/4ba/4bc9617a017a3c57fe02c4ba/the-time-traveler-s-wife-poster.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/backdrops/4ae/4bc96179017a3c57fe02c4ae/the-time-traveler-s-wife-poster.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/backdrops/4b6/4bc9617a017a3c57fe02c4b6/the-time-traveler-s-wife-poster.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/backdrops/4b2/4bc96179017a3c57fe02c4b2/the-time-traveler-s-wife-poster.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/backdrops/4be/4bc9617b017a3c57fe02c4be/the-time-traveler-s-wife-poster.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/backdrops/041/4c9427107b9aa10d5a000041/the-time-traveler-s-wife-poster.jpg
http://cf1.imgobject.com/backdrops/03a/4c9427437b9aa10d5b00003a/the-time-traveler-s-wife-poster.jpg

It left my folder.jpg untouched. I have to say I am really impressed as it lists all movie info, has a nice poster and then on top of that scrolls through 7 backdrops on the selected movie.

Update 2:
Some good news, I copied over "The Time Travelers Wife.metathumb" and ".The Time Travelers Wife.backdrop" and "The Time Travelers Wife.xml" to that movies folder on my NAS drive and then went to network storage and found that movie and clicked on it and to my surprise I was presented with poster, movie info, and backdrops. Please note that the only way I could get this to work was by switching views to the one where it lists all your movies at the bottom of the screen and you scroll through them left to right. It seems half broken though as you get no info until you press enter on the folder itself, just highlighting the folder gives no movie info in the fields above.

I'm not getting the movie poster displayed in all the views (yellow remote button) because the unit isn't generating all the .thumb_WxH files for some movies.

This movie poster will be displayed in all views:

(Files in root .wd_tv directory)
Movie 1 (2001).mkv.thumb_73x104
Movie 1 (2001).mkv.thumb_99x138
Movie 1 (2001).mkv.thumb_114x161
Movie 1 (2001).mkv.thumb_126x178
Movie 1 (2001).mkv.thumb_160x160
Movie 1 (2001).mkv.thumb_176x261

This movie poster won't be displayed in all views because only one size file was generated:
Movie 2 (2009).mkv.thumb_73x104

Why doesn't the unit generate all the different sized movie poster thumbnails for some movies? Is there a workaround? Would adding a Movie 2 (2009).JPG file help? (FYI - My drive isn't full.)

Tim
video321's Avatar video321
08:58 AM Liked: 15
post #286 of 5631
10-24-2011 | Posts: 1,597
Joined: Jun 2002
For those who have this unit....

Can you play a non-anamorphic DVD (in DVD mode; not file mode) and zoom in? Past WD boxes are not able to do this.
raphaelwd's Avatar raphaelwd
06:13 PM Liked: 10
post #287 of 5631
10-24-2011 | Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by video321 View Post

For those who have this unit....

Can you play a non-anamorphic DVD (in DVD mode; not file mode) and zoom in? Past WD boxes are not able to do this.

Live Streaming has the same behavior as the previous products in this regard.
For those who are curious, here is the "File Mode" workaround.
  1. Switch your view mode to "Preview" by hitting the option button (use the Yellow button on Live Hub).
  2. Navigate to your DVD, and the main feature should begin to play in the preview window.
  3. Move the cursor to the preview screen using the right arrow button.
  4. Finally, hit the "OK" button on the remote.

This will open the video in "non-DVD" playback mode. This means that you will have access to the Zoom and Pan options that are available in other videos, however you will not have access to the DVD menu or chapters.
video321's Avatar video321
06:33 PM Liked: 15
post #288 of 5631
10-24-2011 | Posts: 1,597
Joined: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by raphaelwd View Post

Live Streaming has the same behavior as the previous products in this regard.
For those who are curious, here is the "File Mode" workaround.
  1. Switch your view mode to "Preview" by hitting the option button (use the Yellow button on Live Hub).
  2. Navigate to your DVD, and the main feature should begin to play in the preview window.
  3. Move the cursor to the preview screen using the right arrow button.
  4. Finally, hit the "OK" button on the remote.

This will open the video in "non-DVD" playback mode. This means that you will have access to the Zoom and Pan options that are available in other videos, however you will not have access to the DVD menu or chapters.

Raphael-
Thanks for letting me know it still exists, but I must ask why? Why can't DVDs be zoomed?

I don't care about menu or chapter support, but without DVD mode I loose forced subtitles. Right now I use Video_TS folders for my movies and with list mode for file viewing I can either hit "play" on the title folder for file mode or drill down to the .vob and hit enter for DVD mode. IIRC if I used ISO (which I was thinking about switching to) I would only have DVD mode as an option. Is this something that will never be resolved?
birdy's Avatar birdy
02:18 AM Liked: 10
post #289 of 5631
10-25-2011 | Posts: 47
Joined: Jan 2005
Hello, at first sorry for my bad english i hope you understand me.
I have a wdtv gen 1, and the wdtv live hd too. Now i order the new wdtv live streaming. Have the wdtv live streaming better image and sound quality that the previous wdtv? I have a media player with realtek chip based and think that have better image and sound quality that wdtv gen 1 and live.
Know anybody where there is a tutorial for use moviesheet in live streaming.
thanks.
rdb4133's Avatar rdb4133
11:46 AM Liked: 14
post #290 of 5631
10-25-2011 | Posts: 470
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by raphaelwd View Post

We are currently testing firmware that addresses the Media Library issue on Network shares. Unfortunately, I cannot give you a timeline.

Would love to this get released soon!
raphaelwd's Avatar raphaelwd
11:54 AM Liked: 10
post #291 of 5631
10-25-2011 | Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by video321 View Post

Raphael-
Thanks for letting me know it still exists, but I must ask why? Why can't DVDs be zoomed?

I don't care about menu or chapter support, but without DVD mode I loose forced subtitles. Right now I use Video_TS folders for my movies and with list mode for file viewing I can either hit "play" on the title folder for file mode or drill down to the .vob and hit enter for DVD mode. IIRC if I used ISO (which I was thinking about switching to) I would only have DVD mode as an option. Is this something that will never be resolved?

This limitation comes from how the Sigma SDK handles DVD playback. I can look into it, but I don't expect that the behavior can be changed. I will also look into the forced subs issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdy View Post

Hello, at first sorry for my bad english i hope you understand me.
I have a wdtv gen 1, and the wdtv live hd too. Now i order the new wdtv live streaming. Have the wdtv live streaming better image and sound quality that the previous wdtv? I have a media player with realtek chip based and think that have better image and sound quality that wdtv gen 1 and live.
Know anybody where there is a tutorial for use moviesheet in live streaming.
thanks.

Hello birdy,
The new WD TV Live Streaming is based on the Sigma SMP8670 chip, you can find more information about it on Sigma's website.

The theme system is the same as WD TV Live Hub. You can find tutorials like this one on our community forums.
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
03:13 PM Liked: 37
post #292 of 5631
10-25-2011 | Posts: 1,122
Joined: Oct 2010
Another, more persistent workaround, is to disable DVD mode entirely in the SETUP options (DVD MENU: Set to OFF.)
pmcd's Avatar pmcd
03:31 PM Liked: 21
post #293 of 5631
10-25-2011 | Posts: 2,396
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdb4133 View Post


Would love to this get released soon!

+1. Seems like an odd omission for a streamer.

Philip
sinusss's Avatar sinusss
07:01 PM Liked: 10
post #294 of 5631
10-25-2011 | Posts: 53
Joined: Feb 2009
How this unit handles auto frame rate ? Does it set frame rates correctly?
I Tried to find it on google but a ton of WDTV Live problems comes out. To keep the same name is a bit dumb if I may, you try to google something and a kadzilion of WDTV Live 1st generation auto frame rate problems comes out.
Smitty2k1's Avatar Smitty2k1
08:28 PM Liked: 12
post #295 of 5631
10-25-2011 | Posts: 1,038
Joined: May 2005
A big *THANK YOU* goes out to raphaelwd for his contributions!
techflaws's Avatar techflaws
05:40 AM Liked: 32
post #296 of 5631
10-26-2011 | Posts: 1,066
Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by video321 View Post

I don't care about menu or chapter support, but without DVD mode I loose forced subtitles.

You're sure about this? I just tried raphaelwd's method to bypass DVD mode and I still get forced subs (even in the preview window before pressing OK). However, if only the SETSTN command ist set, the sub does not turn on automatically apparently cause the IFO is ignored.
video321's Avatar video321
06:53 AM Liked: 15
post #297 of 5631
10-26-2011 | Posts: 1,597
Joined: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post

You're sure about this? I just tried raphaelwd's method to bypass DVD mode and I still get forced subs (even in the preview window before pressing OK). However, if only the SETSTN command ist set, the sub does not turn on automatically apparently cause the IFO is ignored.

Is this with the Live SMP? I have the original Live and what I see is it seems to be ignoring the .ifo (forced & default subs), like you mentioned. Further, are you sure you were in file mode; you can check by seeing if zoom is available.

Thanks for the input.
raphaelwd's Avatar raphaelwd
12:13 PM Liked: 10
post #298 of 5631
10-26-2011 | Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty2k1 View Post

A big *THANK YOU* goes out to raphaelwd for his contributions!

You are quite welcome. I must also give a big THANK YOU to the community here. Your feedback will help us make our products better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by video321 View Post

Is this with the Live SMP? I have the original Live and what I see is it seems to be ignoring the .ifo (forced & default subs), like you mentioned. Further, are you sure you were in file mode; you can check by seeing if zoom is available.

Thanks for the input.

We have an open ticket for the "ifo forced subtitles are ignored" problem. I will press the issue.
video321's Avatar video321
12:18 PM Liked: 15
post #299 of 5631
10-26-2011 | Posts: 1,597
Joined: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by raphaelwd View Post

We have an open ticket for the "ifo forced subtitles are ignored" problem. I will press the issue.

That is awesome!!!
I can't thank you enough
pmcd's Avatar pmcd
02:45 PM Liked: 21
post #300 of 5631
10-26-2011 | Posts: 2,396
Joined: Aug 2007
Was passing in a local store and they had the WD Live Streaming unit and couldn't resist buying it. Two issues:

- are idx/sub subtitles supported or only text subs?
- what are the chances of getting a beta firmware for scraping over the network

The 2nd issue is really the only slight negative I see with the unit (well it would be nice is the wireless supported the 5GHz band). Otherwise, it's a pretty neat device.

Philip
Tags: Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3