*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 170 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 29Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 5353 Old 07-26-2014, 03:18 PM
3db
Advanced Member
 
3db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I bought this app for the Playbook and it works very well. It works with my WD TV SMP and my Roku3


3db is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 5353 Old 07-26-2014, 06:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
That's why I use themes...
is there an easy how to on how to do that?

I looked at this but it seemed pretty daunting :

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-The...us/td-p/578508
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #5073 of 5353 Old 07-26-2014, 08:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
is there an easy how to on how to do that?

I looked at this but it seemed pretty daunting :

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-The...us/td-p/578508
It's really not daunting at all. That's the Simplicity theme which you would need to learn Thumbgen which I haven't used but I hear it's not too hard to learn.
There are themes that don't use Thumbgen and just use the metadata generated by the WD. I use the Simple theme which doesn't use Thumbgen, Screenshots are here...

Screenshots! Media Players WD's etc.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #5074 of 5353 Old 07-27-2014, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
It's really not daunting at all. That's the Simplicity theme which you would need to learn Thumbgen which I haven't used but I hear it's not too hard to learn.
There are themes that don't use Thumbgen and just use the metadata generated by the WD. I use the Simple theme which doesn't use Thumbgen, Screenshots are here...

Screenshots! Media Players WD's etc.
So I googled how to update the firmware (not to Simple) and found a few scary comments : Box won't reboot, lost audio on certain files...


Thoughts? Also thumbgen is a program that works on PC, not on the WDTV right? I'm less concerned about futzing with stuff on the PC then I am on the WDTV.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #5075 of 5353 Old 07-27-2014, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yes, thumbgen works on your PC.

Using a theme and updating Firmware are two different things. The video you show is for updating the Live to a custom firmware from b-rads-wdlxtv.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #5076 of 5353 Old 07-27-2014, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
So I googled how to update the firmware (not to Simple) and found a few scary comments : Box won't reboot, lost audio on certain files...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIYzwARS8Eg

Thoughts?
That's not even a WDTV SMP. That's the old WDTV Live HD. And that's not stock firmware upgrades, that's changing to third-party "Hacked" firmware.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #5077 of 5353 Old 07-27-2014, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post
That's not even a WDTV SMP. That's the old WDTV Live HD. And that's not stock firmware upgrades, that's changing to third-party "Hacked" firmware.
sorry I don't understand the differences. Is Simple a WD supported firmware? Is Simplicity?
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #5078 of 5353 Old 07-27-2014, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
sorry I don't understand the differences. Is Simple a WD supported firmware? Is Simplicity?
To keep it basic... Firmware is provided by WD to change the operating system to fix errors to add apps or to improve the device. A Theme is written to change the appearance/display of the device.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #5079 of 5353 Old 07-27-2014, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
is there an easy how to on how to do that?

I looked at this but it seemed pretty daunting :

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-The...us/td-p/578508
I'm running the Simplicity Theme by Devicious, and am very happy with it. You would have to use the B-Rad OS upgrade, but both of these things are actually very easy to do, and only daunting because there's a lot of old info out there. Basically (very basically) you down load the B-rad files, update one file to put in your SMPs IP address, run that file and move the other files on to a thumb drive which you will keep plugged in to the SMP. The theme will also reside on the thumb and the covers will go in a file with each movie (wherever those movies are...PC or external drive). As far as thumbgen, it's actually pretty easy and I was able to play around with it and understand it in the course of a couple hours (and I usually need step by step instructions).

WDTV Live SMP with 5TB HDD & KDLINKS 3.0 5Gbps 7 Ports Hub
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB
Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR
Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR
Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is offline  
post #5080 of 5353 Old 07-27-2014, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The B-rad WDLXTV software is pretty simple to install.
I sometimes struggle with things like that, but it was pretty simple for me to install.
Thumgen took a little while for me to get it exactly how I like it.
The only thing is, the support for WDLXTV has fallen off somewhat and there are issues which have not been fixed and may not ever get fixed.
It's a shame b/c this player has been the best in terms of playing all formats without issue.
I just bought an Amazon Fire TV and although it runs quicker, it struggles to play certain files.
RVD26 is offline  
post #5081 of 5353 Old 07-28-2014, 02:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVD26 View Post
The B-rad WDLXTV software is pretty simple to install.
I sometimes struggle with things like that, but it was pretty simple for me to install.
Thumgen took a little while for me to get it exactly how I like it.
The only thing is, the support for WDLXTV has fallen off somewhat and there are issues which have not been fixed and may not ever get fixed.
It's a shame b/c this player has been the best in terms of playing all formats without issue.
I just bought an Amazon Fire TV and although it runs quicker, it struggles to play certain files.
see that's why I ultimately went with the WDTV. I read all the complaints about people not getting proper surround sound...

So all I really use my WDTV for is MKV rips - am I going to have any issues with those if I try that B-rad upgrade?
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #5082 of 5353 Old 07-28-2014, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
So I googled how to update the firmware (not to Simple) and found a few scary comments : Box won't reboot, lost audio on certain files...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIYzwARS8Eg

Thoughts? Also thumbgen is a program that works on PC, not on the WDTV right? I'm less concerned about futzing with stuff on the PC then I am on the WDTV.

Will this work on my WDTV Live + ?

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #5083 of 5353 Old 07-28-2014, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
see that's why I ultimately went with the WDTV. I read all the complaints about people not getting proper surround sound...

So all I really use my WDTV for is MKV rips - am I going to have any issues with those if I try that B-rad upgrade?
You'll have no issues if you upgrade.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S5
RVD26 is offline  
post #5084 of 5353 Old 07-28-2014, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Will this work on my WDTV Live + ?

thx

bob
No, Thumbgen runs on your PC, not your WD.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #5085 of 5353 Old 07-28-2014, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
see that's why I ultimately went with the WDTV. I read all the complaints about people not getting proper surround sound...

So all I really use my WDTV for is MKV rips - am I going to have any issues with those if I try that B-rad upgrade?
Nope. I use mostly MKV and all work fine.

WDTV Live SMP with 5TB HDD & KDLINKS 3.0 5Gbps 7 Ports Hub
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB
Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR
Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR
Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is offline  
post #5086 of 5353 Old 07-29-2014, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 70
New to this product.

Amazon shows several models. Is there a good overview comparison of what's out there?
wco81 is offline  
post #5087 of 5353 Old 07-29-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
New to this product.

Amazon shows several models. Is there a good overview comparison of what's out there?
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/homeentertainment/mediaplayers/

At least one does not have a Netflix app if that matters.
Nickff is online now  
post #5088 of 5353 Old 07-29-2014, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Are there any performance differences?

Do they all support HD audio, DTS HD MA and the Dolby TrueHD?
wco81 is offline  
post #5089 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shawnwalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, IL & Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just started ripping my blu rays again after a 4 year hiatus. I used to use YAMJ and play the movies on a Popcorn Hour. I no longer have the popcorn hour, and just have a file directory of movies stored on my movie server. How do I get WD TV to recognize the movies as box covers and not just a list of file names? I tried changing the view, and making sure titles are named right. They are .m2ts files. Speaking of which, is there a better container to use?

shawnwalters is offline  
post #5090 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnwalters View Post
I have just started ripping my blu rays again after a 4 year hiatus. I used to use YAMJ and play the movies on a Popcorn Hour. I no longer have the popcorn hour, and just have a file directory of movies stored on my movie server. How do I get WD TV to recognize the movies as box covers and not just a list of file names? I tried changing the view, and making sure titles are named right. They are .m2ts files. Speaking of which, is there a better container to use?
What software do you use?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #5091 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
What software do you use?

bob
MakeMKV is the bomb.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #5092 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnwalters View Post
I have just started ripping my blu rays again after a 4 year hiatus. I used to use YAMJ and play the movies on a Popcorn Hour. I no longer have the popcorn hour, and just have a file directory of movies stored on my movie server. How do I get WD TV to recognize the movies as box covers and not just a list of file names? I tried changing the view, and making sure titles are named right. They are .m2ts files. Speaking of which, is there a better container to use?
Are you using Media Server or Network Shares?

If just using server it will not show thumbnails or xmls...
Otter0911 is offline  
post #5093 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shawnwalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, IL & Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Are you using Media Server or Network Shares?

If just using server it will not show thumbnails or xmls...
I currently use ANY DVD but am thinking of switching to makemkv and use mkvs instead of ts/m2ts that I use now.

And i think I'm currently using media server. Is network share the way to go for box covers? And does wdtv make them for you? I saw posts from years ago that said it doesn't. But have no clue if that's still accurate.
shawnwalters is offline  
post #5094 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Are you using Media Server or Network Shares?

If just using server it will not show thumbnails or xmls...
That's true for XMLs, but not for Covers. If the Media Server understands covers, the WD will display them.
The only server I've ever used is Twonky, and it does handle covers.

But that said, I still use Network Shares anyway for the Media Library functionality.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #5095 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post
That's true for XMLs, but not for Covers. If the Media Server understands covers, the WD will display them.
The only server I've ever used is Twonky, and it does handle covers.

But that said, I still use Network Shares anyway for the Media Library functionality.
That's right, my fault...I have my server on list and forgot you can change the view to view covers.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #5096 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shawnwalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, IL & Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post
That's true for XMLs, but not for Covers. If the Media Server understands covers, the WD will display them.
The only server I've ever used is Twonky, and it does handle covers.

But that said, I still use Network Shares anyway for the Media Library functionality.
Thanks. So all I have right now is just a directory of movies. No xml no html etc. Do I need to use a box cover creator like yamj then wdtv will show them?
shawnwalters is offline  
post #5097 of 5353 Old 07-30-2014, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
MakeMKV is the bomb.

For .2MTS files? I was asking about that.

thx
bob
spongebob is offline  
post #5098 of 5353 Old 07-31-2014, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shawnwalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, IL & Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnwalters View Post
Thanks. So all I have right now is just a directory of movies. No xml no html etc. Do I need to use a box cover creator like yamj then wdtv will show them?
Well Im an idiot. So I made JPGs for a few movies I had, and named them the same as the m2ts file and the thumbnails showed up immediately. So it looks like I just need to created the images myself and keep them in the movie folder.

Is there a script that will auto create the thumbnails on a batch run or something?

Thanks

shawnwalters is offline  
post #5099 of 5353 Old 07-31-2014, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnwalters View Post
Well Im an idiot. So I made JPGs for a few movies I had, and named them the same as the m2ts file and the thumbnails showed up immediately. So it looks like I just need to created the images myself and keep them in the movie folder.

Is there a script that will auto create the thumbnails on a batch run or something?

Thanks
Thumbgen
RVD26 is offline  
post #5100 of 5353 Old 07-31-2014, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnwalters View Post
Well Im an idiot. So I made JPGs for a few movies I had, and named them the same as the m2ts file and the thumbnails showed up immediately. So it looks like I just need to created the images myself and keep them in the movie folder.

Is there a script that will auto create the thumbnails on a batch run or something?

Thanks
what skin/version are you using? I also have jpg's but nothing shows up for me.
JRock3x8 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off