*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 173 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5161 of 5179 Old 08-23-2014, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
mmiicc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Why wouldn't it be connected to the internet?
I don't know many people with the WD and those that have it don't have internet and don't even upgrade their firmware.
mmiicc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5162 of 5179 Old 08-23-2014, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmiicc View Post
I don't know many people with the WD and those that have it don't have internet and don't even upgrade their firmware.
Maybe so - I don't stream directly from the internet myself (I use PlayLater to record and VideoReDo to edit internet content before watching as a local file). I think most posters here are heavily oriented to local file content, but even so they typically might use Youtube occasionally...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is offline  
post #5163 of 5179 Old 08-24-2014, 12:31 PM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ok, so I'm trying to add tv shows, but I get no meta data found error. Folders are structured as ShowName/Season #/ 01 EpisodeName. Mkv

My structure wrong? If so, what's the proper structure?

Sent from my HTC One_M8
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #5164 of 5179 Old 08-24-2014, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
Ok, so I'm trying to add tv shows, but I get no meta data found error. Folders are structured as ShowName/Season #/ 01 EpisodeName. Mkv

My structure wrong? If so, what's the proper structure?

Sent from my HTC One_M8
Episode titles don't matter - they just need to start like "NCIS S01E01 "...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is offline  
post #5165 of 5179 Old 08-24-2014, 01:32 PM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Episode titles don't matter - they just need to start like "NCIS S01E01 "...
ShowName /Season# /S01E01.mkv

That sound about right?

Sent from my HTC One_M8
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #5166 of 5179 Old 08-24-2014, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
ShowName /Season# /S01E01.mkv

That sound about right?

Sent from my HTC One_M8
The filename can include the title, so
NCIS S01E01 Pilot
and
NCIS S01E01 Yankee White
will both work, and I think lower case s01e01 works OK.
All that matters is the correct series name + SnnEnn - the XML filename will match the MKV or MP4 or whatever filename, but the title IN the XML may be different from the filename. If the XML file is present, the title contained in it is what the SMP will display. Just try a few and you'll see how it works...

Edit> But note that the XML title might not be as well-formed as your filenames, and the list may not be ordered neatly. You can edit the XML manually or with a program (I used an Excel macro) to get clean titles, but personally I found the whole process to be far more trouble than it was worth for TV episodes...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???

Last edited by cc_in_oh; 08-24-2014 at 05:30 PM.
cc_in_oh is offline  
post #5167 of 5179 Old 08-24-2014, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
Ok, so I'm trying to add tv shows, but I get no meta data found error. Folders are structured as ShowName/Season #/ 01 EpisodeName. Mkv

My structure wrong? If so, what's the proper structure?

Sent from my HTC One_M8
..or use a third party tool like The XML Fetcher, it doesn't care what your naming scheme is.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #5168 of 5179 Old 08-25-2014, 05:39 PM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post
..or use a third party tool like The XML Fetcher, it doesn't care what your naming scheme is.
Thanks a bunch! Couldn't have been much easier.
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #5169 of 5179 Old 09-02-2014, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Anyone notice that the WDTV Live SMP's Netflix streaming seems to be limited to 720HD now? If you try the El Fuente or sample video, it stops at the 3000k bitrate. It is NOT a congestion issue, as others with WDTV's and many other devices seem to have suddenly been hit with this. On mine, I have a 25/5 connection, and a visible Ethernet switch to watch the activity. Once the buffer fills (only takes about 10-15 seconds), it then stops and buffers as normally. If anything, the buffer refills are now much further apart due to the lower bitrate.

I have NOT updated to the latest firmware, but still have the previous one. This has been reported by some with the new firmware, too.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
andyross63 is offline  
post #5170 of 5179 Old 09-03-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkasanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I'm still getting 1080HD and I also haven't upgraded to the new firmware. I've got a 50/5 wired connection to the SMP. My ISP is TWC if that matters.
jkasanic is offline  
post #5171 of 5179 Old 09-04-2014, 03:48 PM
Member
 
runcliffyrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I am having a little problem at the moment. I have a 1 month old WD TV Live that I am using attached to a 3TB WD external hard drive (has less than 2TB on it) .

Its been working fine, but then today after I added some new mkv files the player was not able to see the hard drive. I always eject before removing the hard drive, and the laptop still reads the hard drive OK. Changing from front to back usb did nothing. I tried a reset and a restart - nothing from that either.

Any ideas?

Behringer B212XL (x3), Axiom QS8 (x2), SVS PC12 NSD, PB1000 (x2) . Onkyo TX-NR818. Mini DSP 2x4. Sony BDP-S3200. Samsung PS50B650 . Epson 8350 Projector, Grandview pulldown 92" screen, Aura Bass Shakers (x3).
runcliffyrun is online now  
post #5172 of 5179 Old 09-04-2014, 05:24 PM
Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You are correct, it also gets summary, imdb ratings, etc..

Sent from my HTC One_M8
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #5173 of 5179 Old 09-04-2014, 06:15 PM
Member
 
Lee Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Buckfield, Maine
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by runcliffyrun View Post
I am having a little problem at the moment. I have a 1 month old WD TV Live that I am using attached to a 3TB WD external hard drive (has less than 2TB on it) .

Its been working fine, but then today after I added some new mkv files the player was not able to see the hard drive. I always eject before removing the hard drive, and the laptop still reads the hard drive OK. Changing from front to back usb did nothing. I tried a reset and a restart - nothing from that either.

Any ideas?
I had this happen a couple of times and I had to delete the .wdtv folder. It should be a lop level folder.

The symptom that this might be a potential problem is the WD TV Live continues blinking but the hard drive has stopped blinking.

Hope this helps.
Lee Smith is offline  
post #5174 of 5179 Old 09-04-2014, 08:46 PM
Member
 
runcliffyrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^^^^
Thanks but that didn't work.

I tried another drive and that worked fine.

I attach the 3TB and it says "connecting to the USB storage" and for around 3 seconds the WDTV blinks and the hard drive blinks and then they both go steady blue light.

Then when I try to Select Content Source: Local Content the player says "No storage present"

any more thoughts?

thanks

Behringer B212XL (x3), Axiom QS8 (x2), SVS PC12 NSD, PB1000 (x2) . Onkyo TX-NR818. Mini DSP 2x4. Sony BDP-S3200. Samsung PS50B650 . Epson 8350 Projector, Grandview pulldown 92" screen, Aura Bass Shakers (x3).
runcliffyrun is online now  
post #5175 of 5179 Old 09-04-2014, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I experienced this only once so far and checking the disk for errors in Windows helped.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #5176 of 5179 Old 09-04-2014, 09:38 PM
Member
 
runcliffyrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post
I experienced this only once so far and checking the disk for errors in Windows helped.
Thanks.

Disk checked - no errors found. Still no good.

Anyone else?

Behringer B212XL (x3), Axiom QS8 (x2), SVS PC12 NSD, PB1000 (x2) . Onkyo TX-NR818. Mini DSP 2x4. Sony BDP-S3200. Samsung PS50B650 . Epson 8350 Projector, Grandview pulldown 92" screen, Aura Bass Shakers (x3).
runcliffyrun is online now  
post #5177 of 5179 Old 09-04-2014, 10:43 PM
Member
 
runcliffyrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well, I just plugged into the bluray player and played the start of a mkv file. Then when I plugged the hard drive back into the WDTV it now sees all!

thanks for the help.

Behringer B212XL (x3), Axiom QS8 (x2), SVS PC12 NSD, PB1000 (x2) . Onkyo TX-NR818. Mini DSP 2x4. Sony BDP-S3200. Samsung PS50B650 . Epson 8350 Projector, Grandview pulldown 92" screen, Aura Bass Shakers (x3).
runcliffyrun is online now  
post #5178 of 5179 Old 09-08-2014, 06:57 AM
Member
 
Kyrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmiicc View Post
It would be an interesting test though...if you let it scrape about 3 episodes via any lookup results and then try to navigate past them in the list. I don't know anyone with a WD that has it hooked up to the internet.
Mine is also very slow navigating TV episodes after the update. Only TV shows, movies are fine.
Kyrt is offline  
post #5179 of 5179 Old 09-08-2014, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
mmiicc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyrt View Post
Mine is also very slow navigating TV episodes after the update. Only TV shows, movies are fine.
I followed the instructions to manually roll back the firmware and the problem went away. If locally stored TV shows are important to you leave firmware update checking to manual and pretend none of this..ever happened. These aren't the updates we are looking for.
mmiicc is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off