*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 179 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 29Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5341 of 5348 Old 10-19-2014, 03:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
They are accessing your network plenty fast to accomplish the task they were built for -- streaming content.

I have a Media server and a couple NAS units on my network which is GigE backbone. The Live-SMP's with their 10/100 networking have no trouble pulling in and streaming the highest bitrate BD rips I have (>43Mbps). Where they fall down is network access to an attached USB drive. That functionality is a convenience to allow you to remotely manage attached storage on the WD Live without having to detach the drive and plug it into your PC -- that would be an issue if you had a multi-drive array attached. But that is the intent, not to use them as a NAS unit to supply other streamers.
Very good point. I think I should stop discussing this now and accept that max file transfer is going to be 7 MB/s and I can learn to live with it.
As you know, if we unplug the drives from the WD streamer, we have to set up the inputs drives again.. so, to avoid that, I try to upload via network, without having to turn the WD streamer off.
Thanks for the clarification. This concludes my participation in this thread. I don't want to hijack the original intent of this thread.
audvid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5342 of 5348 Old 10-19-2014, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitbret View Post
I think what it comes down to is that the boxes were made to stream/playback content up through BD quality which tops out at less than 50mbps
54 mbps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audvid View Post
As you know, if we unplug the drives from the WD streamer, we have to set up the inputs drives again..
Meaning what? You know you can add links to harddrive folders on the main page of the grid interface so you don't have to click down VIDEO > select content source ...?

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #5343 of 5348 Old Yesterday, 09:33 AM
3db
Advanced Member
 
3db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Hold the power button until it shuts down. Restart (sorry I said "reboot") is in the system menu - not to be confused with factory "reset". Either one is supposed to be equivalent to pulling the plug...
Not quite.. at least not on mine. If I want to clear youtube searches, I have to perform a factory reset to clear them. Powering the unit off/on or unplugging it will not clear the searches.
3db is offline  
post #5344 of 5348 Old Yesterday, 12:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
audvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post
54 mbps.


Meaning what? You know you can add links to harddrive folders on the main page of the grid interface so you don't have to click down VIDEO > select content source ...?
I didn't know.. I will look into it.. Every time I disconnect the hard drive (after turning wd off)- and reconnect to the player, it wants to recatalog the movies.. I have to select the input drives again.. but I will try your suggestion..
audvid is offline  
post #5345 of 5348 Old Yesterday, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3db View Post
Not quite.. at least not on mine. If I want to clear youtube searches, I have to perform a factory reset to clear them. Powering the unit off/on or unplugging it will not clear the searches.
I think I committed a dangling participle - I meant that hard-off or restart is supposed to be equivalent to pulling the plug. I would have thought that factory reset would revert all settings to default and probably clear network config, shares, passwords etc...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #5346 of 5348 Old Yesterday, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
I think I committed a dangling participle
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #5347 of 5348 Old Today, 04:46 AM
Newbie
 
bigup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone have any issue with thre "watched content marker" dissappering?

i watch films off a server i have at home, i can stream from it my WDTV live and works well, i also leave my WDTV live in standby when not use

however on the odd occasions, my WDTV live will decide to do a hard restart where with will boot up taking its time then all my watched content markers dissappear

anyway around this?
bigup is offline  
post #5348 of 5348 Old Today, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigup View Post
does anyone have any issue with thre "watched content marker" dissappering?

i watch films off a server i have at home, i can stream from it my WDTV live and works well, i also leave my WDTV live in standby when not use

however on the odd occasions, my WDTV live will decide to do a hard restart where with will boot up taking its time then all my watched content markers dissappear

anyway around this?
If you're using the My Media Library as your content source, watched status will survive restarts.

AFAIK, the only thing that clears them from the Media Library is if the media library has to be rebuilt from scratch. (A Rescan is not a rebuild.)
WDFan1970 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off