*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 194 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 48Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5791 of 5795 Unread 05-25-2015, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I only keep few dozen around at a time. I burn them off to DVDs for storage. ML would not be an option if I kept my collection on the drives.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5792 of 5795 Unread 05-25-2015, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaphod7501 View Post
I only keep few dozen around at a time. I burn them off to DVDs for storage. ML would not be an option if I kept my collection on the drives.
I don't see the two being related - whether your archive is DVD or HDD, you can limit media lib to a small subset. And if your HDDs are on-line it's easy to switch to folder view to access them if you need to...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #5793 of 5795 Unread Today, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 636
I love my WDTV SMP and currently have a 3.0 usb hub with 4 HDD's hanging off of it to watch movies on one tv. What I was wondering, and if anyone has tried this, is this: I want to be able to access my movies on another TV down the hall. My computer is in the room right next to the extra TV. I'd like to put the HDD's in the room with the computer and then run Cat6 from the existing WDTV to the router (sitting next to the computer) and then get another WDTV and run Cat6 from that one (sitting next to the extra TV) to the router as well. Now, I can attach the HDD's to the computer, but what I'd like to do, if possible, is to attach the hub to the router's USB port. There will be no need for transcoding, so will this work? Is there a downside, or things I can or can't do in this config? I was planning on playing around with this anyway, but not for a few weeks, and now I'm really curious. Thanks!

WDTV Live SMP with 11TB HDD & KDLINKS 3.0 5Gbps 7 Ports Hub
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB, Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR, Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR,Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #5794 of 5795 Unread Today, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr266 View Post
I love my WDTV SMP and currently have a 3.0 usb hub with 4 HDD's hanging off of it to watch movies on one tv. What I was wondering, and if anyone has tried this, is this: I want to be able to access my movies on another TV down the hall. My computer is in the room right next to the extra TV. I'd like to put the HDD's in the room with the computer and then run Cat6 from the existing WDTV to the router (sitting next to the computer) and then get another WDTV and run Cat6 from that one (sitting next to the extra TV) to the router as well. Now, I can attach the HDD's to the computer, but what I'd like to do, if possible, is to attach the hub to the router's USB port. There will be no need for transcoding, so will this work? Is there a downside, or things I can or can't do in this config? I was planning on playing around with this anyway, but not for a few weeks, and now I'm really curious. Thanks!
Some routers might work with a hub - you'll just have to try it and see.

I have a 4TB drive on my Netgear router's USB3 port and the performance is surprisingly good. But, I've had some corruption, forcing me to connect the drive to a PC to scan and fix. I've come to suspect that the router does not behave as well as a PC when it comes to flushing buffers and shutting down the drive. (or as well as ethernet drives, which I assume have more robust FW for managing themselves and their USB slave drives properly)

Please let us know how it work for you (and with what router model)...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #5795 of 5795 Unread Today, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeadEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 99
mr266,
You should be able to do that but if I understand your setup correctly you won't be able to use the media library. BUT, if you leave the hub plugged into your first WDTV you should be able to access all the movies from the second WDTV and you can still use the media library.

Dyslexics are teople poo.
DeadEd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off