*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 196 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 67Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I'm not sure what Gen 3 was. There was the "Live", "Live plus", "Live-SMP", and finally "Live-SMP without Netflix".

Which do you have.
It would be the "Live-SMP" version. I still have "the-Flix" on mine...

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Looks like the WDTV Live line is finally over.
RIP, they had a good run.
It was a great little box once they added DTS-MA pass-through.

I'll continue to use mine for 1:1 BD playback until they burn out.
Where did you get that info from?
Otter0911 is online now  
post #5853 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Where did you get that info from?
That the boxes are dead?

Check the WD TV forums, there are several "reply" postings from Western Digital commenting on the discontinuation of support for the WD TV gen 3 (in fact, there is no longer a support link for it via their website) and I believe I saw the same type statement about the Gen 4 as well (but you can still download the latest firmware for the gen 4, just no more to come).

Sad, but true.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5854 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
I have to wd live units for sale.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
Don't we all...

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5855 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 11:41 AM
Member
 
yonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
It would be the "Live-SMP" version. I still have "the-Flix" on mine...

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Your problems, freezing, etc., suddenly and mysteriously started happening to a bunch of people's Gen3 units, even though there hasn't been an update since Aug./2014. The solutions seems to be to roll the firmware back to 2.01.86. I have two such and have rolled back one of them. It's now working fine for me, but seems not so for everyone. When rolling back, the 2.01.86 firmware will say 4.01.86. Ignore that, it'll be correct when update is done.

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-Liv.../905000/page/2
http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase...r.aspx?ID=5860
DavidMP likes this.
yonder is offline  
post #5856 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonder View Post
Your problems, freezing, etc., suddenly and mysteriously started happening to a bunch of people's Gen3 units, even though there hasn't been an update since Aug./2014. The solutions seems to be to roll the firmware back to 2.01.86. I have two such and have rolled back one of them. It's now working fine for me, but seems not so for everyone. When rolling back, the 2.01.86 firmware will say 4.01.86. Ignore that, it'll be correct when update is done.

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-Liv.../905000/page/2
http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase...r.aspx?ID=5860
I have done the "rollback" method to 1 of my 5 units and gave it a try a few nights ago. The unit did not freeze or lock up... but it did jump back out of the movie to the movie selection screen and the audio just kept playing. Selected the movie again, the video picked back up where the audio was, however the dreaded "circle of death" never goes off the screen while the movie plays. I have to reboot the unit to make it go away.

I have been curious if any of this could stem back to the network the WD TV box is attached to. I currently have AT&T Uverse and their Gateway they provide... well... SUCKS. My movies are on a cluster of 5 NAS boxes that are hooked to a unmanaged switch (as well as the WD TV unit. I set my NAS boxes and the WD TV boxes to static IP addresses, but not sure how the AT&T gateway handles the "switch" that everything is connected to... I always wondered if the gateway times out on dynamic IP addresses, thus causing something to go sideways.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5857 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 01:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,183
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 967
Could it be that the power wall wart is going flaky. I've had a WD external drive in which the wall wart suddenly started making a high-pitch whine. Soon afterwards the HDD started acting a little "funny". I replace the wall wart and everything went back to normal.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5858 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Could it be that the power wall wart is going flaky. I've had a WD external drive in which the wall wart suddenly started making a high-pitch whine. Soon afterwards the HDD started acting a little "funny". I replace the wall wart and everything went back to normal.
Uhhhh... by "wall wart" I assume you mean the power supply? If you do mean the power supply, then YES, I have swapped it. In fact, the unit I rolled back is a new unit I got on clearance at Staples. So both the unit and the power supply are new (2 months or so).

If NO, the "wall wart" is not the power supply, then I have no idea what you are taking about...

Wall Wart... I'm gonna have to write that one down...

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5859 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
DavidMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
but it did jump back out of the movie to the movie selection screen and the audio just kept playing. Selected the movie again, the video picked back up where the audio was, however the dreaded "circle of death" never goes off the screen while the movie plays. I have to reboot the unit to make it go away.

I have been curious if any of this could stem back to the network the WD TV box is attached to. I currently have AT&T Uverse and their Gateway they provide.
I ran into same problems with freezing and what you report above. Thought it was my unit or network issue. But since so many are having the problem, it can't be specific to our networks. Going to try the rollback soon.
DavidMP is offline  
post #5860 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 01:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,183
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
Uhhhh... by "wall wart" I assume you mean the power supply?
Yes.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5861 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 01:37 PM
Member
 
yonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Johnny14o, Streaming playback of my WDTV on the network didn't like a static IP address (and I think DHCP disabled, but not sure); I'd get frequent interruptions of the spinning arrow.
yonder is offline  
post #5862 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
Uhhhh... by "wall wart" I assume you mean the power supply?

Wall Wart... I'm gonna have to write that one down...
Uhhhh...a quick google search shows that "wall wart" is a very common term.
christoofar likes this.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 / 93 (ISO firmware) / 103D, Dune HD Base 3.0 / Smart units, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #5863 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Uhhhh...a quick google search shows that "wall wart" is a very common term.
Huh... well would you look at that. Learn something new every day... :-)

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5864 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 02:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
rontalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 500 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Uhhhh...a quick google search shows that "wall wart" is a very common term.
I used this term with my wife and she begin to lecture me as if I just made up a random word. We argued for 2 minutes until she googled it and came to the same realization. Unfortunately, I have to admit that those of us you use the word can be considered nerds.

I have an old WD Live and although it is out of commission, I never had an issue with it. It was always a solid box connected to my network with a reserved IP Address. WMC took its place but it really was a no hassle box.

My Media Room
AVR 1-Yamaha RX-A3050 (7.2 Bed), AVR 2 Pioneer VSX-815-K(Used for 4ch Amp TF+TR)
Mains-Polk Audio RTi8, Center-Polk Audio CSi5, Surrounds-Polk Audio RTi4 Monitor Series II, Ceilings-Micca M-8C, Sub 1-Klipsch RW12D, Sub 2-MTX SW2
Projector-Optoma HD33 DLP 3D, Screen-Da-Lite 100" Model B, TV-Insignia 65" LCD 1080p (NS-65D550NA15)
rontalley is online now  
post #5865 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by rontalley View Post
I used this term with my wife and she begin to lecture me as if I just made up a random word. We argued for 2 minutes until she googled it and came to the same realization. Unfortunately, I have to admit that those of us you use the word can be considered nerds.

I have an old WD Live and although it is out of commission, I never had an issue with it. It was always a solid box connected to my network with a reserved IP Address. WMC took its place but it really was a no hassle box.
Nerd.... lol!

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5866 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 04:49 PM
Member
 
BJBBJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonder View Post
Your problems, freezing, etc., suddenly and mysteriously started happening to a bunch of people's Gen3 units, even though there hasn't been an update since Aug./2014. The solutions seems to be to roll the firmware back to 2.01.86. I have two such and have rolled back one of them. It's now working fine for me, but seems not so for everyone. When rolling back, the 2.01.86 firmware will say 4.01.86. Ignore that, it'll be correct when update is done.

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-Liv.../905000/page/2
http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase...r.aspx?ID=5860


So glad I am still subscribed to this thread! My WDTV Live streaming also started freezing up some time ago. How do I tell if mine is a gen 3 and if this firmware rollback is appropriate for it?


Thanks,
BJBBJB


PS. I consider "wall wart" as appropriate and common a word as "the"!
BJBBJB is offline  
post #5867 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJBBJB View Post
So glad I am still subscribed to this thread! My WDTV Live streaming also started freezing up some time ago. How do I tell if mine is a gen 3 and if this firmware rollback is appropriate for it?


Thanks,
BJBBJB


PS. I consider "wall wart" as appropriate and common a word as "the"!
Gen 3 WDBHG70000NBK
Gen 4 WDBMBA0000NBK

P.S. Nice jab... Wall wart...

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5868 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Two nights ago I had to replug my SMP 4 or 5 times and got a "low memory" message only a few minutes after one of the replugs. I did a full factory reset and now have had 2 nights of completely trouble-free operation - keeping fingers crossed that it's not just coincidence...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #5869 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Two nights ago I had to replug my SMP 4 or 5 times and got a "low memory" message only a few minutes after one of the replugs. I did a full factory reset and now have had 2 nights of completely trouble-free operation - keeping fingers crossed that it's not just coincidence...
I have been getting the "low memory" as well.

Questions... did you only do a factory reset or did you roll the firmware back as well. Also, in the WD forums that sometimes the factory reset via the internal reset doesn't do a thorough wiping. There is a script that can be run to COMPLETELY wipe the unit... kinda like zeroing out a drive.

Also, before you reset the device, did you have the media library enabled?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5870 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
I have been getting the "low memory" as well.

Questions... did you only do a factory reset or did you roll the firmware back as well. Also, in the WD forums that sometimes the factory reset via the internal reset doesn't do a thorough wiping. There is a script that can be run to COMPLETELY wipe the unit... kinda like zeroing out a drive.

Also, before you reset the device, did you have the media library enabled?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
No rollback, still latest FW - that's the next step if problems persist. And just the "all settings" option in the standard reset.

Media library was extremely convenient in my setup - multiple network shares that ML could aggregate into one unified menu tree - but I scrapped it at least 2 years ago when menu navigation bogged down to a snail's pace. Now I store all current content on one share volume and treat the others as "archives" - I can change content source on the SMP if I need to, but I avoid it as much as possible.

Turning ML off IMO should be the first step in troubleshooting any problem on the SMP...

Edit> Also FWIW I do a hard shutdown after use, so it reboots every time I use it. When I first started doing that it seemed to help, but lately not so much...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???

Last edited by cc_in_oh; 10-14-2015 at 06:35 PM.
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #5871 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
No rollback, still latest FW - that's the next step if problems persist. And just the "all settings" option in the standard reset.

Media library was extremely convenient in my setup - multiple network shares that ML could aggregate into one unified menu tree - but I scrapped it at least 2 years ago when menu navigation bogged down to a snail's pace. Now I store all current content on one share volume and treat the others as "archives" - I can change content source on the SMP if I need to, but I avoid it as much as possible.

Turning ML off IMO should be the first step in troubleshooting any problem on the SMP...
I agree with the ML off. I found it did the same thing.... s l o w...

FYI, if it still gives you fits, here's the link for that script that wipes everything:

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-Liv...NG/td-p/845085

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5872 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
I agree with the ML off. I found it did the same thing.... s l o w...

FYI, if it still gives you fits, here's the link for that script that wipes everything:

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-Liv...NG/td-p/845085

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Thanks - that's probably worth trying before the FW rollback. It might also be worthwhile to try dumping new shows onto a flash drive to see if the SMP has the same problems playing them there...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #5873 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Damnit, I wish I understood the code for these players... I'd hack the hell outta this thang...

Does anyone know if there have been any "post support" home brew firmware that is an improvement over the last official firmware update?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5874 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
Damnit, I wish I understood the code for these players... I'd hack the hell outta this thang...

Does anyone know if there have been any "post support" home brew firmware that is an improvement over the last official firmware update?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
If there were it's a safe bet they would have been mentioned here.

I think the functionality of the FW is decent. Where it's lacking is error recovery - that seems to be pretty much non-existent...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #5875 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
If there were it's a safe bet they would have been mentioned here.

I think the functionality of the FW is decent. Where it's lacking is error recovery - that seems to be pretty much non-existent...
I figured as much, just a last ditch, desperate attempt of a WD TV user...

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5876 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
I personally have 5 of the gen 3 boxes that are all giving me trouble.
My two (3rd and 4th gen) run fine on the latest firmwares, no rollback necessary (neither with those used by friends in their networks).

Quote:
Originally Posted by yonder View Post
Streaming playback of my WDTV on the network didn't like a static IP address
No problems with static IPs on this end.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rontalley View Post
Unfortunately, I have to admit that those of us you use the word can be considered nerds.
Well, I'm no native speaker and even I had read this expression before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny14o View Post
I'd hack the hell outta this thang...
You could put this extensive knowlegde to good use by turning off this annoying Tapatalk signature of yours. SCNR.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #5877 of 6062 Old 10-14-2015, 11:38 PM
Member
 
Briguy65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The solution I found -- it seems the WDTV live streaming just started crashing on everyone -- I'm guessing it is possible that how miracast works suddenly changed. Going to the setup area and turning off direct wifi -- which turns of Miracast seemed to help a lot, and I mean a lot. Try that before doing a rollback.
Briguy65 is offline  
post #5878 of 6062 Old 10-15-2015, 03:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post
My two (3rd and 4th gen) run fine on the latest firmwares, no rollback necessary (neither with those used by friends in their networks).


No problems with static IPs on this end.


Well, I'm no native speaker and even I had read this expression before.


You could put this extensive knowlegde to good use by turning off this annoying Tapatalk signature of yours. SCNR.
Wow, and here I thought these forums were to help one another build knowledge, troubleshoot issues and the like. But you've taken it so low as to being down right snarky. Nice job.

Oh, I found the setting. Hope it's to your liking, your highness...
Johnny14o is offline  
post #5879 of 6062 Old 10-15-2015, 08:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,183
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1590 Post(s)
Liked: 967
I wasn't aware the Live-SMP's were giving people this much problems. Perhaps the reason I have no problems with my Live-SMP's is because I have always used them in their most basic form to play a limited range of content. I have none of the features like the media library and miracast or wi-fi turned on and have never used them. I don't use any of the Internet streaming channels. I don't play music or stream photo's and I fully power down after use. The only thing I play on my Live-SMP's are BD.m2ts rips (full bitrate with HD audio) and I use the DLNA client for them (my server runs Mezzmo). I used to also play DVD.iso over windows shares, but I have since converted them over to MKV for Plex and use my TiVo-Plex client for DVD now.

The only crashes I have had were when sitting in standby -- which I no longer use.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #5880 of 6062 Old 10-15-2015, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 668 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy65 View Post
The solution I found -- it seems the WDTV live streaming just started crashing on everyone -- I'm guessing it is possible that how miracast works suddenly changed. Going to the setup area and turning off direct wifi -- which turns of Miracast seemed to help a lot, and I mean a lot. Try that before doing a rollback.
Thanks for the suggestion - I forgot about miracast - when I checked it was still on after the factory reset. I'm not sure how a change on a miracast-capable device could affect the SMP but it's one more wildcard factor out of the mix...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off