*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 207 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 83Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6181 of 6198 Old 08-01-2016, 10:13 PM
Member
 
jdougmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SoFla
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Since installing the new firmware, I can no longer get trailers etc. from Flixster, plus I have freezes occasionally (never did before). Do I have a firmware issue or something else? I can also no longer delete files from my NAS through the Options menu like I could before.

J Doug
jdougmc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6182 of 6198 Old 08-02-2016, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,072
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 888 Post(s)
Liked: 484
FWIW I went back to the latest FW about a month ago and haven't had a hiccup so far - that's playing local files only across an AC1200 WiFi bridge...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #6183 of 6198 Old 08-02-2016, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,698
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1897 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdougmc View Post
Since installing the new firmware . . .
I can also no longer delete files from my NAS through the Options menu like I could before.
I didn't know you could do that in any version of FW. Delete files from a local USB attached drive, yes -- but I didn't think you could do that to a NAS.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6184 of 6198 Old 08-02-2016, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
I didn't know you could do that in any version of FW. Delete files from a local USB attached drive, yes -- but I didn't think you could do that to a NAS.
I was able to delete files off my NFS shares when I had one.

Sent from my HTC 10
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #6185 of 6198 Old 08-02-2016, 12:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,698
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1897 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
I was able to delete files off my NFS shares when I had one.
Wow, that seems like a dangerous feature to have in a family setting.
mr266 likes this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6186 of 6198 Old 08-02-2016, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post
Wow, that seems like a dangerous feature to have in a family setting.
It's all movies, and the shares are only accessed by the Kodi Chromeboxes I have in each room and only I know how to actually delete files from the Kodi Chromebox.

Sent from my HTC 10
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #6187 of 6198 Old 09-25-2016, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Looking for some advice... my WD Live SMP for some reason has started having problems with "some" M2TS files with a Dolby Amos soundtrack from the Reelwood Demo disc gotten here on AVS. On this demo disc, which I have the tracks loaded on my Network Space NAS, there are about 6 or 7 clips with Dolby Atmos, but suddenly about 5 of them will not play properly. When one of the problem tracks starts to play, the WD display shows only a Dolby Digital soundtrack along with some nasty stuttering of the sound. The weird thing is that 2 or 3 of the tracks of this Demo disc still play just fine with full Atmos sound and no audio stuttering! I have rebooted the WD Live, the NAS... even my router.. I even performed a full factory default reset of the WD. I have also reloaded the problem tracks on my NAS. No luck.. Any thoughts?
deano86 is offline  
post #6188 of 6198 Old 11-04-2016, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What model number of the wd live tv does dts ma passthrough thanks in advance

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #6189 of 6198 Old 11-04-2016, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
What model number of the wd live tv does dts ma passthrough thanks in advance

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Planning on buying one?

Sent from my HTC 10
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #6190 of 6198 Old 11-04-2016, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Maybe I use my roku 3 via plex but I miss the dts ma

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #6191 of 6198 Old 11-04-2016, 04:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 12,698
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1897 Post(s)
Liked: 1119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
What model number of the wd live tv does dts ma passthrough thanks in advance

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
The Live-SMP with latest firmware and the one that came after it (I forget the name).

It's amazing how nothing of modern day vintage can match the price/performance of the WDTV Live-SMP. My 3 are still running fine for playback of full bitrate BD rips with HD audio passthrough.
Keenan, Otter0911 and mr266 like this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #6192 of 6198 Old 11-04-2016, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have found some but are 300.00

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #6193 of 6198 Old 11-04-2016, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,360
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2074 Post(s)
Liked: 1802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
I have found some but are 300.00

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
Wow, that's some decent money. I may put my mine up on ebay, I rarely ever use it anymore since I got an Oppo 103D.
Keenan is offline  
post #6194 of 6198 Old 11-05-2016, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
deano86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan35611 View Post
I have found some but are 300.00

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
I got mine on Ebay... manufacturer refurbished with 6 month warranty for $58 in August..

There appear to be others... I think this is one available on the 'Bay also... item 172392638085
deano86 is offline  
post #6195 of 6198 Old 11-29-2016, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
BJBBJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Black levels of WDTV live on 4K TV

I have used three of these for various tasks over the years. I am down to using just one which is dedicated to supplying test signals for TV calibration.

It has worked perfectly on many 1080P HD TV's. However I tried to use it with a new 4K TV (Sony XBR-75C940D) and the black levels are obviously off coming from the WDTV, too bright on my patterns. It is of course only outputting 1080P and the TV is seeing 1080P. But the same test patterns from a Blu-Ray disc at same TV settings looks different and correct. Small differences between the two would always be there, but this is not a small difference. And this set produces the blackest of blacks and regular content looks great so I don't think the issue is there.

Kind of strange. I don't see any type of setting on the WDTV that might account for this. Just curious if anyone has seen this or has any ideas. I am connecting at 1080P, 8bit, RGB high manually which is what I always use and what was recommended by the calibration software.

Hmmmmm, I wonder if it is a difference on how the display is seeing RGB vs. YCbCr? Although color looks good I have read this can cause differences in black level.


Thanks,
BJBBJB
BJBBJB is offline  
post #6196 of 6198 Old 12-07-2016, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Has anyone had any success copying the reelwood 3d demo found on AVS to an external hard drive connected to your WDTV and watching this demo via projector? I only see 2D and not 3D. Any help is appreciated.
busybe is offline  
post #6197 of 6198 Old 12-07-2016, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by busybe View Post
Has anyone had any success copying the reelwood 3d demo found on AVS to an external hard drive connected to your WDTV and watching this demo via projector? I only see 2D and not 3D. Any help is appreciated.
Don't think WDTVs do 3D, maybe SBS or TAB.

Sent from my HTC 10
fmedrano1977 is online now  
post #6198 of 6198 Old Today, 09:09 AM
Ive
Member
 
Ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
Don't think WDTVs do 3D, maybe SBS or TAB.

Sent from my HTC 10
They do, for side-to-side-encoded 3D at least. I have watched many 3D-encoded movies this way on mine just fine.


I can't speak for busybe's comment about the Reelwood demo 3D, assuming his projector supports 3D also.
Ive is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off