*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 12:49 PM
Member
 
SoundForSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the "new" live support bluray iso playback as Neo550 / Dune Smart does? If so, does it support full bluray menus?
SoundForSound is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundForSound View Post

Does the "new" live support bluray iso playback as Neo550 / Dune Smart does? If so, does it support full bluray menus?

Nope, this is just a faster version of the WDTV Live Hub without the hard disk and with Wi-Fi added. No Blu-ray licensing or menu navigation with WD streamers.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #63 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Cavalyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so in what manner do the movie names have to be in? if i can get an example please. will prolly throw off the system i have going, but oh wells. would like all that additional info if possible. thanks.
Cavalyr is offline  
post #64 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 03:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I decided to pick one up on Sun when I get a chance, they already put one aside at Best Buy for me. By the look of things, with the exception of Amazon it does pretty much everything I need it to do.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #65 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
pg_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know if this new box supports 96/24 FLAC files? Or does it still downsample them like the original WDTV Live?

LSA One Monitors, LSA LCR Center, LSA On Wall surrounds, dual Hsu VTF-3 subs, Denon AVR-X4000, Adcom GFA-6000 amp, UTurn Orbit turntable
pg_rider is offline  
post #66 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 07:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalyr View Post

so in what manner do the movie names have to be in? if i can get an example please. will prolly throw off the system i have going, but oh wells. would like all that additional info if possible. thanks.

Whatever makes a unique match at www.themoviedb.org (for movies) or www.thetvdb.com (for TV shows.)

For example,

IRON MAN.iso

may not be unique enough since that yields six hits.

But

IRON MAN (2008).iso

yields exactly one hit, the correct one.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #67 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
Deepblackk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its a pitty that this device doesnt support 3d bluray isos with hdmi 1.4

i was really expecting some big news on bluray isos! ill wait for xtreamer prodigy them...there is no other choice =/
Deepblackk is offline  
post #68 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Harrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could anyone confirm will this new version spin up/down a usb drive?
Harrypt is offline  
post #69 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 10:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgvroadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deepblackk View Post

its a pitty that this device doesnt support 3d bluray isos with hdmi 1.4

i was really expecting some big news on bluray isos! ill wait for xtreamer prodigy them...there is no other choice =/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrypt View Post

Could anyone confirm will this new version spin up/down a usb drive?

Some early reviews!

Legit Reviews:
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1738/1/

CNET:
http://reviews.cnet.com/digital-medi...ml?tag=rvwBody

Both reviews confirming that it does Blu-Ray ISOs with menus?!!!

ISO is not even listed in the specs sheets and we know this player has DRM for Netflix to work - so I'm waiting for someone here on AVS Forum with a full fledge BR ISO file and loads of MKVs to test to confirm if this is true...

Cheers!

Cameron
sgvroadster is offline  
post #70 of 5168 Old 10-07-2011, 10:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgvroadster View Post

ISO is not even listed in the specs sheets and we know this player has DRM for Netflix to work - so I'm waiting for someone here on AVS Forum with a full fledge BR ISO file and loads of MKVs to test to confirm if this is true...

According to someone on WD's user forums it DOES NOT work with BD ISOs.

I will have one on Sun to test.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #71 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 12:26 AM
Newbie
 
ddwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The last gen WDTV Live Plus can play 1080p60 MTS files, even though it wasn't listed as its capabilities. Will this new WDTV be able to do the same?
ddwalker is offline  
post #72 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 02:41 AM
Newbie
 
Skrawrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering buying either the new streaming player or the hub.

Just to be sure, it would be stupid to buy the hub right?

Since the streaming player is faster, cheaper, Wifi, and USB hub complatible. + It has the hub interface too.

Streaming Player - $100
2TB HD - $80.
or
Hub w/ 1TB - $200.

Edit: I forgot to mention, I keep my files locally. So the external hard drive would have a significant speed advantage compared to the WD Hub right?
Skrawrz is offline  
post #73 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The CNET review does not indicate Blu-ray menus work.

In fact, it says that they didn't test Bluray rips at all.

It does say that DVD menus work (which is correct.)

The LigitReviews review also says BD Menus work on the HUB, which they most definately do not.

Reviewers create so much conflicting information!!

The Ligit Reviews "grid" on page one also shows that the LIVE has 10/100 ONLY, and many others say 10/100/1000.

How can it be possible for reviewers to post incorrect info? Is it possible that they don't actually test ANYTHING; they just write what the spec sheets say or plagiarize other peers that made a mistake??
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #74 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

How can it be possible for reviewers to post incorrect info? Is it possible that they don't actually test ANYTHING; they just write what the spec sheets say or plagiarize other peers that made a mistake??

The only thing that makes many of these reviewers, "reviewers" is that they have their own web-site to post on. Most of the real information will come from this thread as early-adopters buy it and post comments -- which the rest of us can read and ask questions that get answered 1-on-1 to the benefit of all.

I'm just waiting for this to hit NewEgg. I have a bunch of other things on my NewEgg list and before I place the order I'll wait for the n-Live to get listed and order everything at once.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #75 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Well, for anyone who watches, Legit Reviews changed their review. There is now no mention of BD Menus. It was revised.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #76 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 11:16 AM
Member
 
treefrog100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Well, for anyone who watches, Legit Reviews changed their review. There is now no mention of BD Menus. It was revised.

Hmmm. They must be reading this thread...
treefrog100 is offline  
post #77 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Cavalyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cant get that media library to work for me. have got pics for each movie on one hard drive. highlighting movie brings up the associated pic. just dont have any media info of course. hope i can figure this out.
Cavalyr is offline  
post #78 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Just picked one up to try. Got 10% off with Best Buy coupon that's floating around.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #79 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
vtms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What does this new WDTV Live do that old WDTV Live doesn't other than Netflix?
vtms is offline  
post #80 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

+GigE?

no.
christoofar is offline  
post #81 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_rider View Post

Does anyone know if this new box supports 96/24 FLAC files? Or does it still downsample them like the original WDTV Live?

Still downsamples. The only recent nod to those of us who use this for music playback was adding replaygain to it. Which is at least something positive for music lovers with large collections.
christoofar is offline  
post #82 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalyr View Post

cant get that media library to work for me. have got pics for each movie on one hard drive. highlighting movie brings up the associated pic. just dont have any media info of course. hope i can figure this out.

Not sure what your issue is. Did you do "Get Content Info" on the movie? Or did you turn Content Collection to AUTO? (Default is OFF, if I recall).
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #83 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Cavalyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WDFan1970...I have Media Library ON and Get Content Info on AUTO. Have tried it with Manual Only selected as well. When I have a movie highlighted, I push Options button on remote and Get Content Info does not appear as one of my choices. Thanks for the help. And does the name of the movie have to be a certain way? Got the movie 2012 named as 2012 (2009). THanks.
Cavalyr is offline  
post #84 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Any of you having trouble connecting to your shares via Network Shares (Samba)? I updated the firmware and can use Internet apps like YouTube, Netflix, etc., but the Live just doesn't see my network share (HPSERVER Windows Home Server). It sees it and PlayOn under Media Server, but that's UPnP. My PCH, PopBox and Boxee Box can all see my server fine via Samba.

Update: Was able to get it resolved. Rebotted my server and now the Live can see it. Weird. I like the new UI on this, especially after owning the original WD, Live and Live+. The scraper and views for movies/TV is okay; better than previous WD's, but not as good as Boxee, PCH/PopBox, etc. Unit is fairly fast and responsive.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #85 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 03:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hi guys how about the new machine WDTV announced where would this fit between, hub, live and plus?

Is there a new chip 3D compatible? and are we getting DTSH MASTER and 7.1 audio too?

Thanks
zoro is offline  
post #86 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalyr View Post

WDFan1970...I have Media Library ON and Get Content Info on AUTO. Have tried it with Manual Only selected as well. When I have a movie highlighted, I push Options button on remote and Get Content Info does not appear as one of my choices. Thanks for the help. And does the name of the movie have to be a certain way? Got the movie 2012 named as 2012 (2009). THanks.

This is on a USB drive? Or NAS? Cuz it doesn't work on NAS.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #87 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Hi guys how about the new machine WDTV announced where would this fit between, hub, live and plus?

Is there a new chip 3D compatible? and are we getting DTSH MASTER and 7.1 audio too?

Thanks

No, it's basically a hub without the HD and it adds WiFi. Thats about it.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #88 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Cavalyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

This is on a USB drive? Or NAS? Cuz it doesn't work on NAS.

Have all my movies on PC. So am streaming them then. Have nothing attached to device USB wise. Thanks.
Cavalyr is offline  
post #89 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
foxnews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
just updated to the new firmware 1.03.10 and now netflix kept crashing. if I select netflix, wdtv shutdowns and restart. I can't access to the dashboard by pressing down navigation key anymore.

anyone have this issue? or is it just me?
foxnews is offline  
post #90 of 5168 Old 10-08-2011, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:

It concerns me that the review indicates separate PAL and NTSC models: surely by now all media players should be multi-standard.
IanD is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off