*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 30Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 5355 Old 10-10-2011, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
 
mingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Possible to just name the folders, leaving the files whatever? "Movie (2001)".
mingus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 5355 Old 10-10-2011, 09:36 PM
Member
 
terranova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by famyuk View Post

Ive been reading this thread in interest as I thinking of getting this whilst I visit the states at the end of the month.

Does anyone know whether this comes with a DC adaptor that will work on 220/240 V?

Thanks

I'd like to know this too .... would appreciate it if any of the existing owners could just take a peek at their AC/DC adaptor and see if it's a universal (multi-voltage) adaptor. Would really appreciate it. Thanks very much.
terranova is offline  
post #153 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 04:13 AM
Member
 
Cavalyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
adapter shows 100-240v on mine.
Cavalyr is offline  
post #154 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 05:19 AM
Member
 
terranova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalyr View Post

adapter shows 100-240v on mine.

woot woot! great news. thanks very much.
terranova is offline  
post #155 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 31
WD Confirms the WDTV Live Streaming Media Player is 10/100 ONLY, not 10/100/1000.

AnandTech's brochure linked above is apparently out of date.

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...178-705254.pdf

... This one is dated September, as well, which means WD updated it before the product was announced.

Hope that helps with the confusion...

I was feeling depressed that no matter what I did, I could not get the 1000 LED on my switch to light up!
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #156 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does anyone know....Can this use Themes for the Live Hub?
Otter0911 is online now  
post #157 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
zacvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

WD Confirms the WDTV Live Streaming Media Player is 10/100 ONLY, not 10/100/1000.

Where? link, please.
zacvid is offline  
post #158 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jdiehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O'Fallon, MO (St. Louis)
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingus View Post

Possible to just name the folders, leaving the files whatever? "Movie (2001)".

No, that does not work. Mine USB HD was setup that way, with the file inside not named like that at all and until I renamed the movie file's themselves, the scraping wouldn't work.
jdiehl is offline  
post #159 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

WD Confirms the WDTV Live Streaming Media Player is 10/100 ONLY, not 10/100/1000.

AnandTech's brochure linked above is apparently out of date.

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...178-705254.pdf

... This one is dated September, as well, which means WD updated it before the product was announced.

Hope that helps with the confusion...

I was feeling depressed that no matter what I did, I could not get the 1000 LED on my switch to light up!

Oh, that's disappointing.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #160 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 08:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 409
raphaelwd -- will there be any more firmware updates (bug fixes) to the Live+ or is that now an orphan product.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #161 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
sinker442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

RaphaelWD:

Man, I hope you stick around here!

"There's Hope In Your Post."

I'm gonna go push that "Vote" Button until I pass out.

I'm guessing this is the link you wanted to post:

http://community.wdc.com/t5/WD-TV-Li...treaming_ideas

...but I'm not finding an idea about DTS?

Do yourself a favour, return it and get another media player that supports DTS HDMA, because it's never going to happen. There are many Realtek based media players and others that are cheap and have DTS HDMA support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post


It can't play back from DVD-Rom/BD-Rom data disks. Sure, not a huge problem, but some of us like to back-up data on DVD-Roms/BD-Roms. I don't understand why they won't support external DVD-Rom support if they support external USB HD support?

Because WD sells hard drives, not DVD-Roms/BD-Roms. And they don't care if you want it...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

raphaelwd -- will there be any more firmware updates (bug fixes) to the Live+ or is that now an orphan product.

Previous products are DEAD for WD. D-E-A-D. DEAD
sinker442 is offline  
post #162 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Loubut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Cases in point:
Battlestar Galactica (The Pilot to the 70's show that was screened in theaters): "It's a MOVIE!" "No, it was a TV PILOT!" "But it played in theaters!" "I DON'T CARE!!!"

Such is Life in an "Open Source World..."

Sorry, you didn't ask for all that... !

Yeah, I saw it in a theater back then.
Guess that also explains why you can't get info about TV series.
Loubut is offline  
post #163 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

WD Confirms the WDTV Live Streaming Media Player is 10/100 ONLY, not 10/100/1000.

AnandTech's brochure linked above is apparently out of date.

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...178-705254.pdf

... This one is dated September, as well, which means WD updated it before the product was announced.

Hope that helps with the confusion...

I was feeling depressed that no matter what I did, I could not get the 1000 LED on my switch to light up!

Not sure why the PR sent me an outdated spec Anyways, the 8670 has 2 x GbE MAC on-chip. Probably WD saved a few bucks by opting for a 100 Mbps PHY.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #164 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 11:16 AM
Member
 
treefrog100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loubut View Post

Yeah, I saw it in a theater back then.
Guess that also explains why you can't get info about TV series.

Wow, you're really dating yourself now. I guess you can say the same thing about the Buck Rogers pilot, which was also shown in theaters. . . . . which I saw. . . . . . at the theater. . . . . .
treefrog100 is offline  
post #165 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 11:20 AM
Member
 
raphaelwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

raphaelwd -- will there be any more firmware updates (bug fixes) to the Live+ or is that now an orphan product.

I cannot comment on when this might happen, but we are working on at least one more firmware update for Live and Live Plus.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post

Does anyone know....Can this use Themes for the Live Hub?

The WD TV Live Streaming will have to have its own separate themes, because the UI is slightly different in some places. That said, it is similar enough to Live Hub that it should be pretty easy to port older themes over.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mingus View Post

Possible to just name the folders, leaving the files whatever? "Movie (2001)".

I have another trick up my sleeve for metadata. If your movie filenames don't return a direct match on TMDB, you can still get a correct result by putting a .nfo file in the same directory that contains a link to that movie's IMDB page. For example:

The_Matrix.mkv would return multiple results, however if I have The_Matrix.nfo in that folder, and it has a link to http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0133093/ somewhere in it, then the WD TV will fetch the correct result.
raphaelwd is offline  
post #166 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
raphaelwd....Thanks
Otter0911 is online now  
post #167 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 02:54 PM
Ive
Member
 
Ive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

WD Confirms the WDTV Live Streaming Media Player is 10/100 ONLY, not 10/100/1000.

I was feeling depressed that no matter what I did, I could not get the 1000 LED on my switch to light up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

Oh, that's disappointing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

Anyways, the 8670 has 2 x GbE MAC on-chip. Probably WD saved a few bucks by opting for a 100 Mbps PHY.

Disappointed x2.
I too knew the 8670 was capable of GbE and was really hoping for it on this new player.
Ive is offline  
post #168 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 03:16 PM
Member
 
dacia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ive View Post

Disappointed x2.
I too knew the 8670 was capable of GbE and was really hoping for it on this new player.

Does the absense of GbE really make a difference in this case ?

I guess I can see the value of GbE in a media player with a HDD incorporated , but it seems to me that 10/100 is just fine , even for the highest bitrate BlueRay rip.
dacia is offline  
post #169 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ive View Post

Disappointed x2.
I too knew the 8670 was capable of GbE and was really hoping for it on this new player.

Well, the Hub DOES have Gig, and people cursed the performance... So they probably didn't wanna go there again...
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #170 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by raphaelwd View Post

We are working to resolve this in an upcoming firmware release.

Like many of us, I don't have any local storage. The lack of scraping for network media is really the only thing stopping me from getting this player. If you do fix it where would the metadata be stored? Does the unit have any space for that?

Thanks....philip
pmcd is offline  
post #171 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The metadata is stored alongside the movie in an XML file of the same name... That's how it works for Local USB disks, at least...
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #172 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Cavalyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a couple files and a possible folder that stores the metadata/pics. Would hope the scraping for NAS/network does come with the net firmware upgrade. Keeps me from having to take out the HDDs one at a time to update the metadata. hmmmm.
Cavalyr is offline  
post #173 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
video321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingus View Post

Possible to just name the folders, leaving the files whatever? "Movie (2001)".

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdiehl View Post

No, that does not work. Mine USB HD was setup that way, with the file inside not named like that at all and until I renamed the movie file's themselves, the scraping wouldn't work.

Does that also apply to Video_TS folder DVD rips?
video321 is offline  
post #174 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 05:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,274
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post

raphaelwd....Thanks

same here.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #175 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 09:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by video321 View Post

Does that also apply to Video_TS folder DVD rips?

Even so, why keep folders where you have to click twice for playback when you can do the same with 1 click on an ISO?

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #176 of 5355 Old 10-11-2011, 11:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgvroadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Well, the Hub DOES have Gig, and people cursed the performance... So they probably didn't wanna go there again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ive View Post

Disappointed x2.
I too knew the 8670 was capable of GbE and was really hoping for it on this new player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dacia View Post

Does the absense of GbE really make a difference in this case ?

I guess I can see the value of GbE in a media player with a HDD incorporated , but it seems to me that 10/100 is just fine , even for the highest bitrate BlueRay rip.

I agree... Gbe is ONLY beneficial if the media player/server has an internal HDD capability for file transfers, file sharing, and streaming to other devices...

In this case the WDTV Live Streaming Media Player does not support or does not have an internal HDD - having Gbe would've been a waste of money/hardware feature and may have priced it out of the catagory it is trying to compete in... 10/100 Ethernet is more than enough for it to function primarily as just a streamer...

Cheers!

Cameron
sgvroadster is offline  
post #177 of 5355 Old 10-12-2011, 03:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdiehl View Post

No, that does not work. Mine USB HD was setup that way, with the file inside not named like that at all and until I renamed the movie file's themselves, the scraping wouldn't work.

If the file name is correct but the folder not correct, will it work?

For example, I have a folder 'James Bond'.

Inside that folder I have a sub-folder for each film. To ensure they appear in correct chronological order I name the folder by year, then title, so if I view by folder it shows the sub-folders as:

1962 - Dr. No
1963 - From Russia with Love
1964 - Goldfinger
1965 - Thunderball

And so on.

But inside the "1962 - Dr. No" folder I have the file correctly named as:

Dr. No (1962).mkv

Will that work?

Steve W
Pecker is offline  
post #178 of 5355 Old 10-12-2011, 04:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pecker View Post


If the file name is correct but the folder not correct, will it work?

Steve W

Yes. It doesn't care about folder names unless it's a VIDEO_TS folder or BD rip folder, in which case it scrapes on the name of the parent folder.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #179 of 5355 Old 10-12-2011, 05:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just finished testing the local streaming capabilities of the unit, and we seem to have taken a few steps backward. Amongst other things, 1080p60 MTS files no longer play properly (they were OK in the Live Hub) and the 16 reframe Planet Earth sample stutters (again, that was OK in the Live Hub). PGS subs in MKVs also don't seem to work.. Not sure why people haven't started complaining about these yet!!

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #180 of 5355 Old 10-12-2011, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I don't see any evidence of this but I thought I would ask anyways: is there any kind of SDK such that someone can write their own "app"? Some kind of direct interface to PVR software on a PC would be nice...
crbaldwin is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off