*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > *Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

jakmal's Avatar jakmal
09:39 AM Liked: 12
post #1 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 1,059
Joined: Dec 2008
The WD TV Live seems to be a new media player with built-in wifi for $99.99. Some initial pre-release info is here:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthr...d=0&p=43462568

More info as and when the official PR comes out...
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
10:09 AM Liked: 47
post #2 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 5,762
Joined: Dec 2000
Looks like a cheaper version of the Hub, but with HDMI 1.4, built-in wireless and Flash-lite support?
mbryanr's Avatar mbryanr
10:15 AM Liked: 11
post #3 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 539
Joined: Nov 2009
jakmal's Avatar jakmal
10:16 AM Liked: 12
post #4 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 1,059
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Looks like a cheaper version of the Hub, but with HDMI 1.4, built-in wireless and Flash-lite support?

From specs, it looks like the Live Hub with respect to the firmware. Hard disk has been replaced by Wi-fi ; I bet the HDMI 1.4 and Gigabit wireless are just marketing gimmicks as usual [ Edit: Live Hub had GbE too for 11 MBps transfers to the internal HD ]
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
10:19 AM Liked: 47
post #5 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 5,762
Joined: Dec 2000
C'mon WD, let's take things to the next level and do 3D, real jukebox support (hey, borrow from XMBC), and finally support DTS-MA.
Loubut's Avatar Loubut
11:52 AM Liked: 10
post #6 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 102
Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

The WD TV Live seems to be a new media player with built-in wifi for $99.99. Some initial pre-release info is here:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthr...d=0&p=43462568

More info as and when the official PR comes out...

We already have a WDTV Live - perhaps a different name should be used.
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
12:24 PM Liked: 47
post #7 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 5,762
Joined: Dec 2000
Looks like WD is doing a reboot/refresh of the branding and just calling it 'Live'.
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
01:16 PM Liked: 26
post #8 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 1,020
Joined: Oct 2010
Where are ya'll seeing that it has Gigabit?

I haven't seen any links that actually give specs!
jakmal's Avatar jakmal
01:37 PM Liked: 12
post #9 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 1,059
Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Where are ya'll seeing that it has Gigabit?

I haven't seen any links that actually give specs!

The pics in the Slickdeals thread show HDMI 1.4 and appear very similar to the WDTV Live Hub's specs.. I would be surprised if it weren't Gigabit (not that Gigabit is going be useful for this device, considering there is no internal hard drive or media server program running)
CineFreak's Avatar CineFreak
02:23 PM Liked: 11
post #10 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 431
Joined: Mar 2003
Hmmmm, looks promising and a possible must have!

Jessica
Sarcoptic's Avatar Sarcoptic
02:31 PM Liked: 14
post #11 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 400
Joined: Mar 2004
For those non believers...finally a full size remote props to WD...HDMI 1.4 is confirmed on the box...I tend to run m2ts files and isos...I will follow up with more details later..



WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
02:45 PM Liked: 26
post #12 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 1,020
Joined: Oct 2010
Huh. Check it out.

No COMPONENT video.

Composite and HDMI only.

That's weird...

... and if it actually says "HDMI 1.4" on the box, they're violating HDMI's rules!

Companies can't specify HDMI version numbers on products anymore... (well, after this year.)
Sarcoptic's Avatar Sarcoptic
02:56 PM Liked: 14
post #13 of 5190
10-05-2011 | Posts: 400
Joined: Mar 2004
Update...bitstreams TrueHD but no DTS-MA...also 3D ISO files are a no go.
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
06:26 AM Liked: 358
post #14 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 10,087
Joined: Jul 2004
Well this is interesting: Take a look at the WD web site for their media players. I was just looking at this last week and it has changed rather quickly to reflect the "new" products.

The previous WD Live is gone completely -- WD had already discontinued it for sale in the US and was for sale outside the US.

The WD Live+ is now also "gone" -- if you click on the WD Latin America link you can find the info for the WD Live+ which has taken the place of the v1 Live as the product for outside the US.

Only the "new" WD Live v2 and the Live Hub are displayed for the US market. The Live v2 already has an October/2011 firmware update available. The firmware version numbers are not matched to the Live Hub the way the Live v1 and Live+ were.

My fear is that this marks the end of firmware updates for the Live v1/Live+.
treefrog100's Avatar treefrog100
07:00 AM Liked: 11
post #15 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 156
Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

My fear is that this marks the end of firmware updates for the Live v1/Live+.

I think you're right. Engadget just reported on it and states that the new firmware, only available to the Live Hub and new Live, will have new services. Also WD press release linked.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/10/06/s...st-99-wdtv-li/
despot's Avatar despot
07:41 AM Liked: 10
post #16 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarcoptic View Post

Update...bitstreams TrueHD but no DTS-MA...also 3D ISO files are a no go.

Thanks for confirming. I assume normal 1080p MKVs and the like play fine?
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
07:51 AM Liked: 47
post #17 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 5,762
Joined: Dec 2000
Also Spotify is new on this.
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
08:30 AM Liked: 358
post #18 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 10,087
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

. . . (not that Gigabit is going be useful for this device, considering there is no internal hard drive or media server program running)

That may only be partially true. There may not be an internal HDD but the USB ports support external HDD. If it is anything like the Live+ then the "new" Live will still have a presence on the network for remote access/management of attached HDD and simple NAS functionality -- you could use it to feed content to another streamer. I would expect that like the Live+, the "new" Live will support GUID partitions which means a user can attach a multi-bay USB JBOD or RAID enclosure for massive local storage that would also be available on the network. Before I went with NAS units, I had a Rosewill 2-bay USB enclosure attached to my Live+ with a pair of 2TB drives formatted as a single GUID volume. Worked perfectly. Loaded and managed the content on that local storage from my PC.

The GigE port will greatly facilitate data transfers to and from attached local storage and beef up the NAS functionality of the "new" Live.

Why couldn't they have picked a unique name for this.
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
08:43 AM Liked: 26
post #19 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 1,020
Joined: Oct 2010
Ooo.... Goody.

Auto content scraping!

It's chugging away at my 1000+ TV episodes for the last hour and has about 50% of them done.
kingpcgeek's Avatar kingpcgeek
08:55 AM Liked: 26
post #20 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 1,044
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

The GigE port will greatly facilitate data transfers to and from attached local storage and beef up the NAS functionality of the "new" Live.

Unless they have upgraded the processor in this new model, which I doubt they have, the GigE is Gig in name only. Total marketing fluff is all it is good for.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3990/w...e-hub-review/7
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
09:06 AM Liked: 26
post #21 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 1,020
Joined: Oct 2010
They must have upgraded the proc. The old one is too big for this tiny footprint.

I'll bet they're using the 867x series, which is smaller and faster.
Alx330's Avatar Alx330
09:42 AM Liked: 45
post #22 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 863
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Ooo.... Goody.

Auto content scraping!

It's chugging away at my 1000+ TV episodes for the last hour and has about 50% of them done.

If you don't mind me asking but how exactly does this work ?

* Does it auto scan the file names and match to iMDB.
* Do you get cover-art pulled down and does it cache it internally like Boxee or just dump a jpg in the folder.
* Does it work on network sources.
* Is there a central movie library or does it only show the metadata when browsing file lists and you press info or something like that.

Thanks.
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
10:25 AM Liked: 47
post #23 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 5,762
Joined: Dec 2000
I was going to ask the same thing. I never seriously looked at the Hub, which I believe has the same scraping mechanism, but for $100, I'm interested in the new Live if it's got a decent scraper and/or respects local NFO's and artwork.
tighr's Avatar tighr
10:44 AM Liked: 64
post #24 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 3,226
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarcoptic View Post

Update...bitstreams TrueHD but no DTS-MA...also 3D ISO files are a no go.

Sweet! TrueHD is a step in the right direction. Now for DTS-MA...
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
11:28 AM Liked: 26
post #25 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 1,020
Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alx330 View Post


If you don't mind me asking but how exactly does this work ?

* Does it auto scan the file names and match to iMDB.
* Do you get cover-art pulled down and does it cache it internally like Boxee or just dump a jpg in the folder.
* Does it work on network sources.
* Is there a central movie library or does it only show the metadata when browsing file lists and you press info or something like that.

Thanks.

It's not using IMDb, it's using themoviedb and thetvtb.

There's something in the menu called Meta Source Manager where other sources can be added, but it's not documented, and I haven't figured that out.

It's storing XML, and thumbnail, along with the media files.

No, it's not working on my NAS stuff, but manual still works.

The movie library is just like the hub, in that only portions of the XML work for NAS, but it's all functional for USB storage.
Brajesh's Avatar Brajesh
11:36 AM Liked: 47
post #26 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 5,762
Joined: Dec 2000
Quote:


Sweet! TrueHD is a step in the right direction. Now for DTS-MA...

They've had TrueHD support in Live, Live+ and Hub for a while now.
Kelson's Avatar Kelson
11:44 AM Liked: 358
post #27 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 10,087
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

It's not using IMDb, it's using themoviedb and thetvtb . . .

Did the box come with the current 1.03.10 FW or did it upgrade when you plugged it in.
WDFan1970's Avatar WDFan1970
12:14 PM Liked: 26
post #28 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 1,020
Joined: Oct 2010
No it upgraded. I didn't even notice what the numbers were before the update...

But there's a cool feature, before upgrading there's a "What's new..." option that shows the release notes.
mbryanr's Avatar mbryanr
12:29 PM Liked: 11
post #29 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 539
Joined: Nov 2009
That iboum guy is a prophet
http://www.iboum.com/bloog/?p=77
crbaldwin's Avatar crbaldwin
02:07 PM Liked: 18
post #30 of 5190
10-06-2011 | Posts: 1,298
Joined: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

They've had TrueHD support in Live, Live+ and Hub for a while now.

So what's the problem with DTS-MA? Can they enable it with a firmware upgrade? Do you at least get the "core" DTS passthrough?
Tags: Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3