*Official* WD TV Live Streaming Media Player Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The WD TV Live seems to be a new media player with built-in wifi for $99.99. Some initial pre-release info is here:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthr...d=0&p=43462568

More info as and when the official PR comes out...

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jakmal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Looks like a cheaper version of the Hub, but with HDMI 1.4, built-in wireless and Flash-lite support?

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #3 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mbryanr is offline  
post #4 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Looks like a cheaper version of the Hub, but with HDMI 1.4, built-in wireless and Flash-lite support?

From specs, it looks like the Live Hub with respect to the firmware. Hard disk has been replaced by Wi-fi ; I bet the HDMI 1.4 and Gigabit wireless are just marketing gimmicks as usual [ Edit: Live Hub had GbE too for 11 MBps transfers to the internal HD ]

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jakmal is offline  
post #5 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 47
C'mon WD, let's take things to the next level and do 3D, real jukebox support (hey, borrow from XMBC), and finally support DTS-MA.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #6 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Loubut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

The WD TV Live seems to be a new media player with built-in wifi for $99.99. Some initial pre-release info is here:

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthr...d=0&p=43462568

More info as and when the official PR comes out...

We already have a WDTV Live - perhaps a different name should be used.
Loubut is offline  
post #7 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Looks like WD is doing a reboot/refresh of the branding and just calling it 'Live'.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #8 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Where are ya'll seeing that it has Gigabit?

I haven't seen any links that actually give specs!
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #9 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Where are ya'll seeing that it has Gigabit?

I haven't seen any links that actually give specs!

The pics in the Slickdeals thread show HDMI 1.4 and appear very similar to the WDTV Live Hub's specs.. I would be surprised if it weren't Gigabit (not that Gigabit is going be useful for this device, considering there is no internal hard drive or media server program running)

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jakmal is offline  
post #10 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
CineFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hmmmm, looks promising and a possible must have!

Jessica

Whats a nice guy like you doing in a place like this?
CineFreak is offline  
post #11 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For those non believers...finally a full size remote props to WD...HDMI 1.4 is confirmed on the box...I tend to run m2ts files and isos...I will follow up with more details later..


Sarcoptic is offline  
post #12 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Huh. Check it out.

No COMPONENT video.

Composite and HDMI only.

That's weird...

... and if it actually says "HDMI 1.4" on the box, they're violating HDMI's rules!

Companies can't specify HDMI version numbers on products anymore... (well, after this year.)
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #13 of 5235 Old 10-05-2011, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Update...bitstreams TrueHD but no DTS-MA...also 3D ISO files are a no go.
Sarcoptic is offline  
post #14 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 06:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Well this is interesting: Take a look at the WD web site for their media players. I was just looking at this last week and it has changed rather quickly to reflect the "new" products.

The previous WD Live is gone completely -- WD had already discontinued it for sale in the US and was for sale outside the US.

The WD Live+ is now also "gone" -- if you click on the WD Latin America link you can find the info for the WD Live+ which has taken the place of the v1 Live as the product for outside the US.

Only the "new" WD Live v2 and the Live Hub are displayed for the US market. The Live v2 already has an October/2011 firmware update available. The firmware version numbers are not matched to the Live Hub the way the Live v1 and Live+ were.

My fear is that this marks the end of firmware updates for the Live v1/Live+.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #15 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 07:00 AM
Member
 
treefrog100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

My fear is that this marks the end of firmware updates for the Live v1/Live+.

I think you're right. Engadget just reported on it and states that the new firmware, only available to the Live Hub and new Live, will have new services. Also WD press release linked.

http://www.engadget.com/2011/10/06/s...st-99-wdtv-li/
treefrog100 is offline  
post #16 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 07:41 AM
Member
 
despot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarcoptic View Post

Update...bitstreams TrueHD but no DTS-MA...also 3D ISO files are a no go.

Thanks for confirming. I assume normal 1080p MKVs and the like play fine?
despot is offline  
post #17 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Also Spotify is new on this.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #18 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 08:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

. . . (not that Gigabit is going be useful for this device, considering there is no internal hard drive or media server program running)

That may only be partially true. There may not be an internal HDD but the USB ports support external HDD. If it is anything like the Live+ then the "new" Live will still have a presence on the network for remote access/management of attached HDD and simple NAS functionality -- you could use it to feed content to another streamer. I would expect that like the Live+, the "new" Live will support GUID partitions which means a user can attach a multi-bay USB JBOD or RAID enclosure for massive local storage that would also be available on the network. Before I went with NAS units, I had a Rosewill 2-bay USB enclosure attached to my Live+ with a pair of 2TB drives formatted as a single GUID volume. Worked perfectly. Loaded and managed the content on that local storage from my PC.

The GigE port will greatly facilitate data transfers to and from attached local storage and beef up the NAS functionality of the "new" Live.

Why couldn't they have picked a unique name for this.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #19 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Ooo.... Goody.

Auto content scraping!

It's chugging away at my 1000+ TV episodes for the last hour and has about 50% of them done.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #20 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kingpcgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Basin of the Sun, AZ
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

The GigE port will greatly facilitate data transfers to and from attached local storage and beef up the NAS functionality of the "new" Live.

Unless they have upgraded the processor in this new model, which I doubt they have, the GigE is Gig in name only. Total marketing fluff is all it is good for.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3990/w...e-hub-review/7

TiVo Elite, TiVo 4, Four TiVo Minis, TiVo Stream, Roku 3, Google Chromecast, Cox Cable, Sonos
kingpcgeek is online now  
post #21 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 26
They must have upgraded the proc. The old one is too big for this tiny footprint.

I'll bet they're using the 867x series, which is smaller and faster.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #22 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

Ooo.... Goody.

Auto content scraping!

It's chugging away at my 1000+ TV episodes for the last hour and has about 50% of them done.

If you don't mind me asking but how exactly does this work ?

* Does it auto scan the file names and match to iMDB.
* Do you get cover-art pulled down and does it cache it internally like Boxee or just dump a jpg in the folder.
* Does it work on network sources.
* Is there a central movie library or does it only show the metadata when browsing file lists and you press info or something like that.

Thanks.
Alx330 is offline  
post #23 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I was going to ask the same thing. I never seriously looked at the Hub, which I believe has the same scraping mechanism, but for $100, I'm interested in the new Live if it's got a decent scraper and/or respects local NFO's and artwork.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #24 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tighr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarcoptic View Post

Update...bitstreams TrueHD but no DTS-MA...also 3D ISO files are a no go.

Sweet! TrueHD is a step in the right direction. Now for DTS-MA...

~Tighr: Not helping the situation since 1983

tighr is offline  
post #25 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alx330 View Post


If you don't mind me asking but how exactly does this work ?

* Does it auto scan the file names and match to iMDB.
* Do you get cover-art pulled down and does it cache it internally like Boxee or just dump a jpg in the folder.
* Does it work on network sources.
* Is there a central movie library or does it only show the metadata when browsing file lists and you press info or something like that.

Thanks.

It's not using IMDb, it's using themoviedb and thetvtb.

There's something in the menu called Meta Source Manager where other sources can be added, but it's not documented, and I haven't figured that out.

It's storing XML, and thumbnail, along with the media files.

No, it's not working on my NAS stuff, but manual still works.

The movie library is just like the hub, in that only portions of the XML work for NAS, but it's all functional for USB storage.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #26 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:


Sweet! TrueHD is a step in the right direction. Now for DTS-MA...

They've had TrueHD support in Live, Live+ and Hub for a while now.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #27 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 11:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDFan1970 View Post

It's not using IMDb, it's using themoviedb and thetvtb . . .

Did the box come with the current 1.03.10 FW or did it upgrade when you plugged it in.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #28 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WDFan1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 26
No it upgraded. I didn't even notice what the numbers were before the update...

But there's a cool feature, before upgrading there's a "What's new..." option that shows the release notes.
WDFan1970 is offline  
post #29 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 12:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That iboum guy is a prophet
http://www.iboum.com/bloog/?p=77
mbryanr is offline  
post #30 of 5235 Old 10-06-2011, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

They've had TrueHD support in Live, Live+ and Hub for a while now.

So what's the problem with DTS-MA? Can they enable it with a firmware upgrade? Do you at least get the "core" DTS passthrough?
crbaldwin is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player Wifi , Western Digital Wd Tv Live Streaming Media Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off