Streaming device with full audio passthrough? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Biggrich76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So I purchased a Logitech Revue when the price dropped to $99 a couple months ago, hoping that the Honeycomb release would be here by now. Well, it's not and nobody seems to know when (if) it will be released. It's a nice device but currently very limited as far as video and audio playback.

I have been trying to stream some x264 content to my Revue with limited success. Some of the movies have DTS-HD MA audio which is not supported by the Revue (apparently only Dolby 5.1 and PCM are currently supported). Early reports from people using the leaked Honeycomb version are indicating that DTS still does not work ...

At this point, I just want something that will allow me to stream HD videos and pass the DD-TrueHD, DTS-HD MA, and the standard 5.1 formats through to my Onyko receiver. I'm using TVersity to serve media right now, but am open to other alternatives if they can transcode the audio to something the Revue will accept.

I have also read of similar issues with DTS-HD MA on the Roku 2 and WD TV Live boxes. Are there any streaming units that offer full audio passthrough? I don't have the cash to drop on a Dune or HTPC right now, so I'm hoping someone can help me. Thanks in advance.

XBL: Drunkn Joker
Biggrich76 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
popbox v8 and 3D, popcornhour A210 and C200 maybe wait for A300, Dune all models only the small ones with 8670 can't do it, just to name some
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Biggrich76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cHarOn99 View Post

popbox v8 and 3D, popcornhour A210 and C200 maybe wait for A300, Dune all models only the small ones with 8670 can't do it, just to name some

Thanks, it looks like the Popbox 3D is available on Amazon and within my budget. The v8 doesn't appear to be available in the U.S. though. Is there a comparison list between them? I just don't want to be missing any features if I decide to go for the 3D.

XBL: Drunkn Joker
Biggrich76 is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 47
PopBox v1 and v8 both do SBS and top/bottom 3D. Damian (mediasmartserver.net)'s v1 review should be posted soon. His v8 review is already out.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
one thing about the popbox 3d, you should take note that this seems to be there badest product, maybe wait for Damians review on it before you decide, he wrote that he has something up in the next days on http://www.mediasmartserver.net/ you can look also into this thread on AVS

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...63001&page=123

if you are in the US then i would get maybe a A210 or A300 which are in my eyes the better ones and you will get more freedom and options
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 12:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by cHarOn99 View Post

one thing about the popbox 3d, you should take note that this seems to be there badest product, maybe wait for Damians review on it before you decide, he wrote that he has something up in the next days on http://www.mediasmartserver.net/ you can look also into this thread on AVS

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...63001&page=123

if you are in the US then i would get maybe a A210 or A300 which are in my eyes the better ones and you will get more freedom and options

The PopBox 3D has price going for it. Plus you can still run Eversion, a Flash Based YAMJ skin with it.
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2011...or-the-popbox/

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Biggrich76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

The PopBox 3D has price going for it. Plus you can still run Eversion, a Flash Based YAMJ skin with it.
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2011...or-the-popbox/

Yeah, I like the price point and it seems to be the only thing available in the U.S. right now. The Dune boxes are pricey and hard to find here.

I just want to make sure won't be missing any features on the Popbox 3D that I'm looking for (mkv support, DTS-HD/MA, Dolby TrueHD, DD5.1, DTS 5.1, etc.)

XBL: Drunkn Joker
Biggrich76 is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the features are all working according to others, the only thing i heard is that the jukebox in popbox 3d is not really great , but can't comment about that because i have just C200 and A-210, which plays all i need without a issue.
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 47
PopBox's stock jukebox is really a lite version of NMJ v1, which itself is lacking. But, thanks to Eversion/YAMJ, you don't need to use it.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 10-11-2011, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Biggrich76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I ordered the Popbox 3D from Amazon, it should be here tomorrow.

Thanks all.

XBL: Drunkn Joker
Biggrich76 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off