new AppleTV 3 & Siri - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 01:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem13 View Post

All of my material is mp4 and I'm happy with it. And for me, Handbrake rips take about as long as the movie run time, while Make MKV is a little more than half the run time. I use a high RF factor though (19). I sidn't mean Tahoe streaming industry......sorry for the error. I meant a to say the Streamers themselves.

Can you get AnyDVDHd in the U.S. anymore?

Of course, just go to Slysoft and buy a copy.
Kalani is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 03:32 AM
Newbie
 
ibarraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm converting my ripped blu-rays from mkv to mp4. Using handbrake if I don't want any quality loss do I uncheck or check the large file selected box.
ibarraj is offline  
post #123 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibarraj View Post

I'm converting my ripped blu-rays from mkv to mp4. Using handbrake if I don't want any quality loss do I uncheck or check the large file selected box.

There is always a quality loss with hand brake and especially if the goal is to play them on an existing ATV2. If you talking ATV3 its all speculation since no one has one yet. be patient. If you goal is to play blurays at original quality the AT has not been the box. That may change in the future but I doubt it will change much.
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #124 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
^ you can use a tool like subler to just remux mkvs into mp4 containers. Won't get HD audio, but still can get surround sound and it plays natively on the AppleTV and will play on the ATV3 with no video quality loss.
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #125 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrunner529 View Post

^ you can use a tool like subler to just remux mkvs into mp4 containers. Won't get HD audio, but still can get surround sound and it plays natively on the AppleTV and will play on the ATV3 with no video quality loss.

pure speculation as no one has the ATV3 yet.

Curious what does subler do with AVC and Mpeg2 streams. It looks like a cool program but the web page seems to indicate only H.264 support?
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #126 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_w_smith View Post

pure speculation as no one has the ATV3 yet.

Curious what does subler do with AVC and Mpeg2 streams. It looks like a cool program but the web page seems to indicate only H.264 support?

It's not really speculation since the same files play even on the ATV2, just output at 720p.

Subler or some other program WOULD require transcoding then, which I should have been more clear about. I figured most people would have mostly h.264 blurays like I do, but maybe that's not a fair assumption.
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #127 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
bowmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hey gang, just in case this helps, you can use XMedia Recode, software to re-wrap video files (different extensions) without losing video quality. There is a "Copy Video" function.
bowmah is offline  
post #128 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
ibarraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anything i can use that doesn't cause quality loss. Should I wait till the ATV3 presets are out, that can handle 1080p.
ibarraj is offline  
post #129 of 133 Old 03-15-2012, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
bowmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibarraj View Post

Is there anything i can use that doesn't cause quality loss. Should I wait till the ATV3 presets are out, that can handle 1080p.

Did you try XMedia Recode?

New version out today, look under Apple AC3 preset. Outputs at 1920x1080, is that not enough?

Digging around, I see a Blu-Ray compatible option as well.
bowmah is offline  
post #130 of 133 Old 03-24-2012, 02:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Apple universal remote control system, a touchscreen remote that would allow users a to control Apple TV & multiple devices (it may include Siri).

To obtain the IR codes, you to take a picture of an existing device/a remote control (for example), and send it to iCloud to determine the make and model of the device to be controlled & obtain the IR codes for it - article click here.

I wonder how this would compare to AppleTV remote, iPad/iPhone remote Apps or even harmony/universal remote control? & the price range?


Cheers
avf5 is offline  
post #131 of 133 Old 03-24-2012, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by avf5 View Post

Apple universal remote control system, a touchscreen remote that would allow users a to control Apple TV & multiple devices (it may include Siri).

To obtain the IR codes, you to take a picture of an existing device/a remote control (for example), and send it to iCloud to determine the make and model of the device to be controlled & obtain the IR codes for it - article click here.

I wonder how this would compare to AppleTV remote, iPad/iPhone remote Apps or even harmony/universal remote control? & the price range?


Cheers

I guess we will have to wait and see if this means anything. I doubt it. I can
't tell you how many patents we file that are just in case and have nothing to do with products we are building.
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #132 of 133 Old 08-15-2012, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
iCloud DVR service – Apple new Device (set-top box /dvr) – article here.


Apple is in talks with cable television networks to use an Apple TV device as a set-top-box- article here.
avf5 is offline  
post #133 of 133 Old 05-25-2013, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
How Xbox One opens the door for the next Apple TV


(Imagine this)….. So, three things: a cable box, a streaming box, and a game console. Are you getting it? These are not three separate devices. This is one device. And we're calling it iTV." …… article here




When? ATV? ... smile.gif
avf5 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off