Micca EP600 - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 570 Old 03-13-2013, 06:52 PM
Member
 
rebelspy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK I figure how to access the attached USB drives, they will just show in the network after a reboot and i can copy-move files from my computer.

Any chance that we can add a jukebox or use a program for covert art?
rebelspy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 570 Old 03-17-2013, 02:40 PM
Member
 
rebelspy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Firmware was updated to last one but I have a huge issue now where any MKV with Dolby TRUE HD will NOT play smoothly, it will stutter all the way to the end, If I change that to DD it will play fine but not in HD audio.

Also all MP4 compressed with HandBrake will reboot the Player, after pressing play the screen will go black and the player will reboot itself.

If there is no solution I guess it is going to be returned to Amazon.
rebelspy is offline  
post #543 of 570 Old 06-04-2013, 12:43 PM
Member
 
goodoldman5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

there is no firmware update realease after sept 2012 for ep600 g2. is the support dead????

goodoldman5 is offline  
post #544 of 570 Old 06-04-2013, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
ls1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I hope not. My player has new issues. When playing anything from attached USB storage (I tried several), it always stops after a few minutes. The error message says the drive has been removed (not true!). I restart the movie and then it plays without problems.
ls1115 is offline  
post #545 of 570 Old 06-04-2013, 09:19 PM
Member
 
SiegeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I too have issues with my 600 g2. For some reason it will completely freeze the box when I try to play content through NFS. I have to play it via Network shares for it to work fine. The main reason i purchased the Micca ep600 G2 was because I was fed up with the lack of firmware support/updates for the WDTV; looks like the micca might fall prey to the same fate.
SiegeX is offline  
post #546 of 570 Old 06-04-2013, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiegeX View Post

I too have issues with my 600 g2. For some reason it will completely freeze the box when I try to play content through NFS. I have to play it via Network shares for it to work fine. The main reason i purchased the Micca ep600 G2 was because I was fed up with the lack of firmware support/updates for the WDTV; looks like the micca might fall prey to the same fate.

Micca was done when HiMedia went under.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #547 of 570 Old 06-05-2013, 05:55 AM
Newbie
 
mick16a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The bast-castle firmware works reasonably well on my Himedia 900b. It's slowly being improved.
Might be work giving it a try if you're having problems.

http://code.google.com/p/bast-castle/downloads/detail?name=install_1186_n5.7z&can=2&q=
mick16a is offline  
post #548 of 570 Old 06-05-2013, 01:04 PM
Member
 
SiegeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Micca was done when HiMedia went under.

Perhaps I didn't do enough due-diligence before I purchased the Micca, but can you explain to me how Micca and HiMedia are related? Why did one companies downfall affect the other?
SiegeX is offline  
post #549 of 570 Old 06-05-2013, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiegeX View Post

Perhaps I didn't do enough due-diligence before I purchased the Micca, but can you explain to me how Micca and HiMedia are related? Why did one companies downfall affect the other?

Same hardware and used pretty much the same firmware. That's the reason you won't see any major updates / firmware. Also the same reason why Jack@Micca isn't assisting / helping anymore.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #550 of 570 Old 06-05-2013, 01:38 PM
Member
 
SiegeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Same hardware and used pretty much the same firmware. That's the reason you won't see any major updates / firmware. Also the same reason why Jack@Micca isn't assisting / helping anymore.

Well, that's a bust.

I noticed in other threads (perhaps older posts) that you had recommend the Mede8er as a replacement. If I'm looking for a feature-rich device with continued support, is the Mede8er still the best recommendation? I'm looking for the best value even if it means I have to pay a bit more. I don't need anything with internal hard-drive support as I have a ReadyNAS Pro6 with bonded NICs hooked up to the same gigabit switch that this media player would be hooked up.
SiegeX is offline  
post #551 of 570 Old 06-05-2013, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiegeX View Post

Well, that's a bust.

I noticed in other threads (perhaps older posts) that you had recommend the Mede8er as a replacement. If I'm looking for a feature-rich device with continued support, is the Mede8er still the best recommendation? I'm looking for the best value even if it means I have to pay a bit more. I don't need anything with internal hard-drive support as I have a ReadyNAS Pro6 with bonded NICs hooked up to the same gigabit switch that this media player would be hooked up.

The best 3d media player is the medi8er. The best 2D with full menu support is the Dune Smart Series. Both have issues with Forced subtitles unless embedded correctly. PCH is the 3rd option, which I usually tell people to buy at your own risk.

So yeah Mede8er and Dune are at the top. Mede8er will be cheaper, but I don't like their jukebox. You have to use one program for movies and another for TV Shows. Other than that is good.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #552 of 570 Old 06-05-2013, 09:23 PM
Member
 
SiegeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

So yeah Mede8er and Dune are at the top. Mede8er will be cheaper, but I don't like their jukebox. You have to use one program for movies and another for TV Shows. Other than that is good.

Good to know, I think I can live with the jukebox as is. Before I pull the trigger one one of these devices, are there any next gen 1186 successor SoC's on the horizon that would be worth waiting for?
SiegeX is offline  
post #553 of 570 Old 06-05-2013, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiegeX View Post

Good to know, I think I can live with the jukebox as is. Before I pull the trigger one one of these devices, are there any next gen 1186 successor SoC's on the horizon that would be worth waiting for?

Not that I know of. There were rumors that Realtek was going to pull out of the media players business.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #554 of 570 Old 06-07-2013, 01:32 PM
Member
 
goodoldman5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

so..to sum it all up..there wont be anymore updates...

what a shame..!!!

i had three media boxes in the past and all ended up like this. No more media players for me.

goodoldman5 is offline  
post #555 of 570 Old 06-07-2013, 10:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I bought a himedia 900b and all updates were stopped after a short period
The micca EP950 was EXACTLY the same unit--I think they changed the name because himedia were getting slammed everywhere because of lack of support
It seems many bring out their media players with heaps of promises but dont deliver
I think its wise now to dont buy new players on the market and wait for reviews to see if they actually deliver their promises
So many are being burnt by what many manufacturers are now doing
It would be amazing if a manufacturer brought out a player well designed and well and truly tested and problem free from day one
I will now be staying with my old dunes for quite awhile and they are stable,do what I want problem free and do full full bluray menu's--a pity they are not being made anymore

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #556 of 570 Old 06-09-2013, 05:57 AM
Member
 
theslydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by denass View Post

I bought a himedia 900b and all updates were stopped after a short period/quote]

Himedia is now up to HD900 1.0.6.3 firmware I think there is a 1.0.9.5 beta as well.
theslydog is offline  
post #557 of 570 Old 06-09-2013, 09:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by theslydog View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by denass View Post

I bought a himedia 900b and all updates were stopped after a short period/quote]

Himedia is now up to HD900 1.0.6.3 firmware I think there is a 1.0.9.5 beta as well.

Nope no update since 20th july 2012

http://www.himedia-tech.cn/en/service_firmware_update_list.php?center_id=34&class_name=HD900

there was some asian firmware updates but they didnt fix anything --just cosmetic

stay away from micca and himdeia and return your units if you have just bought them--there not going to get the problems fixed
they promised fixes but never came

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #558 of 570 Old 06-28-2013, 09:29 PM
Member
 
theslydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by denass View Post

Nope no update since 20th july 2012

http://www.himedia-tech.cn/en/service_firmware_update_list.php?center_id=34&class_name=HD900

there was some asian firmware updates but they didnt fix anything --just cosmetic

stay away from micca and himdeia and return your units if you have just bought them--there not going to get the problems fixed
they promised fixes but never came

Try this works for me.
HD900系列 官方標準版 1.0.6.3
http://www.himedia-tw.com/download/8-cn.html

It is listed here
http://www.himedia-tech.cn/service_firmware_update_list.php?center_id=36&class_name=HD900%E7%B3%BB%E5%88%97
theslydog is offline  
post #559 of 570 Old 06-29-2013, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
nope cosmetic fixes really
Doesnt fix the major issues
himedia is a very bad machine including ventilation of an internal drive --as has been stated heaps of times
here below is the firmware you talk about from the asian site--doesnt fix any of the major issues
himedia and micca = POS
THE BIG DIFERENCE WAS VIDEO UPSCALING QUALITY --THE DUNES I HAVE BOTH HAVE ALOT BETTER QUALITY--MORE DETAIL AND EVEN MY GIRL FRIEND NOTICED IT.
THE SIGMA CHIPS ARE NIGHT AND DAY COMPARISON--THIS ALONE IS MAJOR FACTOR FOR ME LET ALONE THE MAJOR BUGS

Gave up himedia long time ago and put it in the cupboard--best place for it--will never use it again

File Name
HD900 Series Official Standard Edition 1.0.6.3
Updated 2013-05-08
Download Click to download
Document describes Hoi Mei Di Gaoqing multimedia player HD900A, HD900B, HD910A firmware 1.0.6.3

Upgrade notes:

Preparation: To ensure a smooth upgrade, do not connect USB, SATA hard disk drives, use the front panel USB port.

Forced upgrade method
1) Download, unzip, get install.img copied to the U disk;
2) to withstand the power and HDMI behind the holes in the middle of the button, and then turn on the power
3) Power-five seconds after the release (no relation at longer time), you will see the boot screen with the upgrade prompt (only in HDMI interface and weight can be displayed, AV no)
4) Wait for the upgrade to complete

Official Standard Edition

2013.04.03 update Version 1.0.6.3
1) increase HLS/M3U8 playback support
2) Integrated HiTV3.0 online video
3) solve some of the online site can not be seamless playback problems

1.0.4.20

New features:
A) support video new zoom mode. (Supports X / Y direction arbitrary scaling)
2) of the second path Bookmarks enhanced support for subtitles.
3) enhanced support for hard disk protection, safety shutdown mode, make sure the hard disk safely uninstall.
4) Music player supports loop key loop mode switch.

Fix the issue:
1) to solve some cases, part of the network video playback, when the fast slow.
2) to solve some cases, 3D video playback causes no picture black and white issue.
3) to solve some cases, 3D video playback will lead to green screen automatically restart issue.
4) to solve some cases, the focus is not home right questions.
5) to solve some cases, some sources can not be selected when the issue.
6) to solve some cases, the switching output will lead to incorrect subtitles issue.
7) to solve some cases, DLNA name display is not the right questions.
8) to solve some cases, DLNA use can lead to panic.
9) YOUTUBE playing overseas customers.

Official Standard Edition 1.0.4.7

New features:
1) HiTV increase in multi-server support.
2) local playback and network SAMBA support my favorite feature. (Via the menu button - add to favorites, does not support NFS and UPNP)
3) Support manually load subtitle files. (Playing the movie, press the Menu - preferred subtitle, the player will automatically display the directory with the following subtitle file)
4) support Arabic subtitle display.

Fix the issue:
1) to solve some cases, file copy unsuccessful.
2) when the solution very fast speeds, the network diagnostic display download speed is 0 issue.
3) part of the solution idx + sub subtitle can not be displayed.
4) to solve some MP4 files online seamless playback problems.
5) solution using the remote control "output keys" to modify the resolution, the issue is not saved after restart
6) to solve some cases, pppoe dial display ** issue.
7) to solve some cases, the media library can not add music playlist and pictures lists.
8) RAW mode selected when the audio, MP3 no sound problems
9) to solve the problem can not login facebook account
10) Blu-ray menu display is not part of the solution right questions
11) fails to solve the problem occasionally hard disk is formatted

Official Standard Edition 1.0.3.8

New features:
1 online platform for seamless playback.
2 Easy navigation support 3D.
3. Deep color default is AUTO.
4 increase in the time zone selection.
5 support Hebrew.
6 support Vietnamese.
7 support Polish.
8 support telnet capabilities.
9 support 3D playback, depth of field settings.
10 support BT function.
11 Support youtubeXL playback.
12 add network diagnostics.
13 increased HD900C support

Fix the problem list:
1 part of the solution TV, 720P to 1080P switch failure.
2 DVD menu cursor does not solve the problem correctly.
3. Solve problems playing some 3D film source playback card problem.
4. Solve some of the sources in the media library can not be loaded subtitles issue.
5 sources for solving the occasional player can not playback problems.
6 solve some audio output is not correct.
7 solve some blue-chip source can not be recalled blue navigation menu simple question.
8 subtitles screenful solve some problems.
9 Elimination of subtitles in {} comments.
10. Solve some sources, Blu-ray 1.0 Navigation playing, playing cards will lead to problems.
11. Solve 900C, turn off security features on the front panel can not be shutdown problems.
12. Solve install too APK, interface display is not working properly.
13. Solve idx + sub subtitles not correct the problem.
14 Resolution 3D playback, left and right eye display is not normal problems.
15. Solve some sources, can not play positive issue.
16 can not add a bookmark to solve the problem.
17 3D and 2D solutions when switching sources for playback problems from the beginning.
18. Solve some cases, the problem can not be found WIFI device.
19 Modify MP4 media type.
20. Automatically remove previously configured DNS.
21 Modify the packet can not be found in the Network Neighborhood equipment problems.
22 to solve the HDMI deep color is set to 12bit, some TV flickering problems

http://v.himedia-tech.cn/himedia/hd900/20120302/HD900_1.0.3.8.tar.gz

1.0.0.26

A) optimize 3D film source compatibility (using the "Direct Playback" mode)
2) optimize the HDMI 7.1 output and the original code compatibility with Pioneer amplifier
3) can not be resolved automatically connect WIFI card boot problem
4) MKV DTS package files, plug-SRT subtitles, if you repeatedly drag the progress bar will cause the system unresponsive
5) solve some of the MP4 file playback crash problem
6) If the TV supports 3D HDMI, experiencing 3D film source, automatically play in 3D 3D film source
7) webkit browser multi-language support, the browser is set to the default Web site HAO123 site navigation.
8) subtitles adjustment step amplitude piecemeal, modify the default location problem of excessive subtitles
9) The increase closed captioning subtitles set menu options
10) HiTV2.0 online play features

http://v.himedia-tech.cn/himedia/hd900/20111108/HD900_1.0.0.26.tar.gz

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is online now  
post #560 of 570 Old 07-27-2013, 04:48 AM
Newbie
 
gaeruskarne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, i installed bast castle v1.03 on my himedia 900b but cldnt seem to figure out how to reflash the firmware if i want to revert back to the original fw. any clues?
gaeruskarne is offline  
post #561 of 570 Old 07-28-2013, 04:26 PM
Member
 
U2Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
This is a longshot and hopefully not too far off topic, but...

Has anyone tried playing an .MKV of "300" in their Micca? The Dolby TrueHD track is nothing but silence when I play it. Every other audio channel works. My receiver can handle it (Pioneer SC-1522-K). I know there is actual audio on that channel in my rip (I personally ripped it from my blu-ray using MakeMKV) because I can hear it if I play the MKV file -- and select the lossless audio track -- on my PC. I've tried re-ripping it and triple checking I have the right box(es) checked -- they are. And if I play my blu-ray of it, I hear it just fine.

I'm using a Micca EP100 (hence the potential of being off topic), but I figured if people had a similar issue on a EP600, that would lead me to believe that something with the audio track and Miccas in general aren't jiving.
U2Edge is offline  
post #562 of 570 Old 09-03-2013, 03:42 PM
Member
 
Hawkboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quick question....
I just bought the Marantz sr5008 AVR!!!!! YAY ME!
Now, I have the Micca ep600 media player streaming HD track flac files off of shared folder on my network. My question is this... my Micca player is configured to send raw audio over the HDMI to my receiver, but when I play a hi-res flac file it just says it is PCM. Is that right? Is the Micca not sending over the raw Data to my AVR to decode? (And yes it plays hi-res FLAC file). Thanks for any help!
Hawkboy is offline  
post #563 of 570 Old 12-12-2013, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post

I was actually referring to the intentional skipping in time you get when you press the left or right arrow keys on the remote while you're watching video. The manual says it will skip by 30 seconds but I was wondering if you can configure this for a different skip amount (e.g. 30s forward, 10s back).

Were the skip forward/back skip times ever made configurable?
crbaldwin is offline  
post #564 of 570 Old 01-03-2014, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
mjmbond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In my theater.
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1115 View Post

I hope not. My player has new issues. When playing anything from attached USB storage (I tried several), it always stops after a few minutes. The error message says the drive has been removed (not true!). I restart the movie and then it plays without problems.

Did you find a solution to this? My EP950 is doing the same thing.

mjmbond is offline  
post #565 of 570 Old 01-03-2014, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
ls1115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I guess I've learned to live with the glitch, as the resume feature works well. Besides, I'm using flash drives more often than disk drives these days and the problem seems to happen less frequently. I'm sticking with this player because I love the timeline search, but with the new Intel processors that offer HD playback without the need for extra video cards, I'm building a small HTPC to eventually take the Micca's place.
ls1115 is offline  
post #566 of 570 Old 01-06-2014, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
mjmbond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: In my theater.
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1115 View Post

I guess I've learned to live with the glitch, as the resume feature works well. Besides, I'm using flash drives more often than disk drives these days and the problem seems to happen less frequently. I'm sticking with this player because I love the timeline search, but with the new Intel processors that offer HD playback without the need for extra video cards, I'm building a small HTPC to eventually take the Micca's place.

 



My external drive(s) continues to eject even after resume. I'll give a flash drive a try. Thanks for the suggestion!
mjmbond is offline  
post #567 of 570 Old 01-13-2014, 10:20 PM
Member
 
SiegeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anybody seen or looked at using a micca as a pattern generator for calibration purposes? I hear some devices mess with the output stream and are not good candidates as a pattern generator, I'm curious if the micca is one of them.
SiegeX is offline  
post #568 of 570 Old 02-06-2014, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
DPEPE1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello everybody. After reading all this pages i am stuck in something with my new ep600 g2

 

I am using a router TL-wdr3600 with dd-wrt and optware, mini dlna and transmission.


The micca get the movie but it only show embedded subtitles, i am brazilian and I am trying to use .srt subtitles with the same name as the file like:

 

carrie2012.mkv

carrie2012.srt

 

If I plug it at the USB I can get all kind of subtitles but the streaming is not working. My mini dlna is 1.0.25 and I read it support subtitles...

 

can someone please halp?

 

thanks

DPEPE1313 is offline  
post #569 of 570 Old 02-06-2014, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPEPE1313 View Post
 

Hello everybody. After reading all this pages i am stuck in something with my new ep600 g2

 

I am using a router TL-wdr3600 with dd-wrt and optware, mini dlna and transmission.


The micca get the movie but it only show embedded subtitles, i am brazilian and I am trying to use .srt subtitles with the same name as the file like:

 

carrie2012.mkv

carrie2012.srt

 

If I plug it at the USB I can get all kind of subtitles but the streaming is not working. My mini dlna is 1.0.25 and I read it support subtitles...

 

can someone please halp?

 

thanks

This seems like it would be a setting of on the DLNA Side and not the player side. With DLNA you are playing what the server is streaming as opposed to playing it from the network directly (through a share) or a USB Drive.

DPEPE1313 likes this.
funhouse69 is online now  
post #570 of 570 Old 02-07-2014, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
DPEPE1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello,


I read in all sites about mini dlna and dd-wrt saying that the subtitles is streamed along with the movie, i sent a Email to micca and thats what I got:

 

 

Hello

External subtitles do not work with DLNA. If the movie is MKV, it's recommended that the you mux the subtitle into the movie itself by using software such as MKVToolnix. 

I apologize for the inconvenience.

 

 

so I asked:

 

Ok, got it.

 
There is anyway to get movie and subtitles over the network? I got a HD with movies and subtitles plugged in a router, if I share with samba or something, it may work with subtitles? What you guys recommend to use over the network (cable) to watch in the player with subtitles from a external file.
 
 
 
If anyone can help me or have anyway to test, i can try. anyway thanks everyone
DPEPE1313 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off