Micca EP600 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 570 Old 02-10-2012, 01:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by petereye View Post

On the Network Login on the windows 7 pc entering the correct Net User ID and Net Password always gives me a failed login

...
I connect to the windows 7 PC with the WD live Plus quickly and no login ,maybe it something I am doing wrong.

Do you have a password protected folder share? If you follow the directions in our FAQ and create a public file share with no login requirement, does it work?

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 570 Old 02-10-2012, 06:34 PM
Newbie
 
petereye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No I have no password protected folder share
I have followed the instructions in the FAQ along with the registry changes.
Going to my Xp machine and to the Western Digital Live Plus I can get right in to the shared drive with no login, its seamless. Its only the Windows 7 64bit that's driving me nuts. I can use UPNP and get to the windows 7 machine but I have to go through quite a few folders to get the one shared drive.
There are no passwords set and permissions are set for everyone for the shared folders.
When connecting to the network user ID and password for the windows 7 machine I have entered the login name and password for my main account and still get an error loging in.
I am stuck?
petereye is offline  
post #93 of 570 Old 02-11-2012, 04:17 AM
 
bonapart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

The EP600 is being replaced by the EP600 G2, which is due to arrive at Amazon in the next 2 weeks. The EP600 G2 uses Realtek 1186 and will be priced at $120.

That is a shame. The EP600 was the best of the realtek 1185 class that was easily available in North America. Now, I'll have to resort to getting the HiMedia HD600A/B/C imported from Hong Kong - which takes forever.

The 1186 has a ways to go before I will recommend it to clients.
bonapart is offline  
post #94 of 570 Old 02-11-2012, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
petereye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jack I fixed it
Fixed Found that network shortcut had wrong IP address
Went to network shortcut used red button to modify found IP address off by 1
UPNP did work fine just no network connection
petereye is offline  
post #95 of 570 Old 02-11-2012, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

The EP600 is being replaced by the EP600 G2, which is due to arrive at Amazon in the next 2 weeks. The EP600 G2 uses Realtek 1186 and will be priced at $120.

I saw that Xtreamer was doing the same thing with the sidewinder. That makes me wonder if Realtek has abandoned support for the 1185 chipset or if it's just trying to a mid $100-$150 price range player. I guess we'll see shortly how many others follow suit.
djc11369 is online now  
post #96 of 570 Old 02-11-2012, 09:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We will continue to carry 1185 players that are the EP250 G2 and EP350 G2. I can't speak for other companies, but the EP600 move to the 1186, for us, is to reduce product over-lap. The 1185 is still very much a current chip for Realtek. The current line-up for Realtek is as follows:

1055 - Current stand-alone media player chip-of-choice.
1085 - 1055, plus network capabilities.
1186 - 1185, plus 3D and limited Android.

Realtek should know that their current strength is in the $60-$100 area. As is, they feel a lot of pricing pressure from both below them (F10) and above them (Sigma). The pressure from F10 is a bit more tangible, but the Sigma Designs pressure is what I think they are more worried about since it directly limits their profitability and ability to move up market. Unless they are able to negotiate streaming agreements with premium content providers (Netflix, Amazon, Hulu), their ability go to a higher price will be severely limited.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #97 of 570 Old 02-27-2012, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Hawkboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Soooo with this new 'EP600 G2' regular Ep600 owners can forget seeing future firmware improvements??
Hawkboy is offline  
post #98 of 570 Old 02-29-2012, 09:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We will be releasing a new firmware for the EP600 in the next couple of weeks.

It will continue to be supported, but as a fairly mature product, the firmware release cycle will not be as frequent as newer players like the EP600 G2.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #99 of 570 Old 02-29-2012, 10:17 PM
Member
 
f1shtaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkboy View Post

Soooo with this new 'EP600 G2' regular Ep600 owners can forget seeing future firmware improvements??

I'm afraid that's pretty much the case.
I wouldn't call it a "fairly matured product."
As is, it is fairly buggy.
f1shtaco is offline  
post #100 of 570 Old 03-01-2012, 04:06 AM
Member
 
blimey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1shtaco View Post

As is, it is fairly buggy.

Would you elaborate, say with the top half-dozen or so most severe bugs on the EP-600 specifically?

I've found the EP600 to be at the top of the 1185 class, although I admit that is not saying much really. But I'm able to use it every day like an appliance without very much frustration - though the files I ask it to play aren't very demanding.
blimey is offline  
post #101 of 570 Old 03-01-2012, 06:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As promised, a new firmware has been posted for the EP600, along with release notes, which are copied below:

Firmware Release Notes:
Version 1.0.6.17 - February 2012
- Improved ZOOM feature (1.1x, 1.2x, 1.3x, 1.4x, 2x, 4x, 8x)
- Fixed remote responsiveness issue while loading subtitles
- Added setting for default Subtitle On/Off
- Fixed IDX+SUB subtitle display issues
- Fixed issue where MP4 is shown as a music file type
- Disabled left/right button skip function during music playback

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #102 of 570 Old 03-04-2012, 10:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Vancomycin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

The EP600 is being replaced by the EP600 G2, which is due to arrive at Amazon in the next 2 weeks. The EP600 G2 uses Realtek 1186 and will be priced at $120.

When will the EP600 G2 be released by Amazon?

It is now March and it is about 2 weeks since you made this post. I checked Amazon and it does not even have a pre-order option yet.
Vancomycin is offline  
post #103 of 570 Old 03-05-2012, 12:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vancomycin View Post

When will the EP600 G2 be released by Amazon?

It is now March and it is about 2 weeks since you made this post. I checked Amazon and it does not even have a pre-order option yet.

They probably have not released it yet or have an ETA due to all of the issues the 1186 chip has. If you don't know of these issues to go the EP950 thread and read about them.

Pretty much any player with 1186 has issues. Hopefully, they will be able to fix them soon since I was thinking of buying the EP950.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #104 of 570 Old 03-10-2012, 10:21 PM
Newbie
 
altdel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

They probably have not released it yet or have an ETA due to all of the issues the 1186 chip has. If you don't know of these issues to go the EP950 thread and read about them.

Amazon is showing EP600 again, at @$119.95; however, the description still says Realtek 1185 and no mention of Gen 2. I'm wondering if this is just not updated, or it is some old stock.
altdel is offline  
post #105 of 570 Old 03-10-2012, 11:20 PM
Member
 
blimey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by altdel View Post

Amazon is showing EP600 again, at @$119.95; however, the description still says Realtek 1185 and no mention of Gen 2. I'm wondering if this is just not updated, or it is some old stock.

I'd also like to know if the G2 version w/1186 has a heat-sink or not.

I questioned weather the EP600 (1185 version) could control heat with such little airflow and the fact that the main board is enrobed on a plastic sled, without any heatsink on the CPU. It seemed that the aluminum case had minimal thermal effect since it had no direct contact with any components.

But the EP600 has handled it ok, because the 1185 is a pretty cool chip. The 1186 is a different mug of tea. I'm not sure the 1186 would share the same fortunes in such a tight case with little airflow and no heatsink. An aluminum case can only go so far when it can only conduct heat though the airspace inside the case, without any direct transfer.
blimey is offline  
post #106 of 570 Old 03-11-2012, 11:05 AM
Member
 
daWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dangit! I was about to buy the ep600. I wanted a non 3d media streamer since I had stuttering 3d streaming with the ep950 then it just went and died on me after 2 weeks. The 1186 is a very immature SoC. I'm betting both in HW and SW. Thanks for the warning. Looks like I'll just wait for ivybridge to come out and put together another htpc.

I have yet to find a media player that doesn't have issues unless it's $300+. At that price I just feel like i should build a mITX htpc and flip the bird to the media players all together.
daWill is offline  
post #107 of 570 Old 03-11-2012, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by altdel View Post

Amazon is showing EP600 again, at @$119.95; however, the description still says Realtek 1185 and no mention of Gen 2. I'm wondering if this is just not updated, or it is some old stock.

They must of saw your post, it says 1186 and Gen 2 now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blimey View Post

I'd also like to know if the G2 version w/1186 has a heat-sink or not.

I questioned weather the EP600 (1185 version) could control heat with such little airflow and the fact that the main board is enrobed on a plastic sled, without any heatsink on the CPU. It seemed that the aluminum case had minimal thermal effect since it had no direct contact with any components.

But the EP600 has handled it ok, because the 1185 is a pretty cool chip. The 1186 is a different mug of tea. I'm not sure the 1186 would share the same fortunes in such a tight case with little airflow and no heatsink. An aluminum case can only go so far when it can only conduct heat though the airspace inside the case, without any direct transfer.

Seeming the Micca ep600 G2 is a HiMedia 900A clone you can head over to the Futeko forum as it's been out for a little while to find out the heat issues. Here's the first thread I found on the subject.

http://www.futeko.com/forum/index.ph...thread&id=2451
djc11369 is online now  
post #108 of 570 Old 03-11-2012, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by daWill View Post

Dangit! I was about to buy the ep600. I wanted a non 3d media streamer since I had stuttering 3d streaming with the ep950 then it just went and died on me after 2 weeks. The 1186 is a very immature SoC. I'm betting both in HW and SW. Thanks for the warning. Looks like I'll just wait for ivybridge to come out and put together another htpc.

I have yet to find a media player that doesn't have issues unless it's $300+. At that price I just feel like i should build a mITX htpc and flip the bird to the media players all together.

Have you considered the Pivos Aios or the Micca ep350 G2 players? They both use the 1185 chipset that the original ep600 used. Between the two I'd personally get the Aios as it's in getting frequent updates and you can get it for ~$70 right now ($89.99 - $20 rebate offer right now)

*Edit: I see they added a list of participating retailers for the rebate a couple of days ago and I don't see Amazon on the list...still the better of the two imo http://www.pivosforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=419
djc11369 is online now  
post #109 of 570 Old 03-11-2012, 05:56 PM
Member
 
blimey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post

Seeming the Micca ep600 G2 is a HiMedia 900A clone you can head over to the Futeko forum as it's been out for a little while to find out the heat issues. Here's the first thread I found on the subject.

http://www.futeko.com/forum/index.ph...thread&id=2451

So, it seems from initial reports about the 900A that there is some concern about the heat. Plus, a lot of vagueness still surrounds the 1186 in general.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post

Have you considered the Pivos Aios or the Micca ep350 G2 players? They both use the 1185 chipset that the original ep600 used. Between the two I'd personally get the Aios as it's in getting frequent updates and you can get it for ~$70 right now ($89.99 - $20 rebate offer right now)

Both of those players have exceedingly bad remotes, and much worse GUI than the EP600 G1 - which has the best remote and GUI in the 1185 class.

I'm glad a got a few EP600 G1s before the switchover. They always sold out quickly on Amazon, much more so than the 250/350 or any other micca models. I guess HiMedia discontinued production of the 600A, so micca has no choice but to use the 900A? It gets a little confusing when micca keeps the 6xx class model numbers for the 9xx class HiMedia source.
blimey is offline  
post #110 of 570 Old 03-11-2012, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by blimey View Post

Both of those players have exceedingly bad remotes, and much worse GUI than the EP600 G1 - which has the best remote and GUI in the 1185 class.

I agree that the remotes are horrible, at least what I've read as such about the Aios remote and personal experience from the ep350. As far as GUI it's all a matter of personal opinion I suppose. The ep600 G1 looks pretty bland to me, the Aios out of box is horrendous but the updates make marked improvements but not spectacular, at least you can add the jukebox to it. The ep350 is pretty bare bones and probably the worst out of the three.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blimey View Post

I guess HiMedia discontinued production of the 600A, so micca has no choice but to use the 900A?

Jack answered this a little while ago http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post21629742
On the Xtreamer forum the claim is that Realtek has abandoned the 1185 chipset. "For Sidewinder 2 based on 1185 platform we will stop selling this item on our systems once Sidewinder 3 is out. We will stop developing its platform as well. We cannot keep this product alive as RTL abandoned this platform and focuses on their new 1186." Not exactly a reputable company so it's hard to put a lot of faith in it.
djc11369 is online now  
post #111 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 12:44 AM
Newbie
 
altdel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post

They must of saw your post, it says 1186 and Gen 2 now.

Well, I'm glad that they are monitoring this forum. However, by changing the product description without changing the product ID, they're misleading potential buyers into thinking that all the product reviews (18 of them) associated with the original EP600 are for the G2. I believe they should create another product id (within Amazon) for the G2, which will appear as a new product without any review.
altdel is offline  
post #112 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 04:31 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I've seen Amazon do this with quite a few other products, and I agree that it's misleading, but I don't think it's a Micca decision to do so.
djc11369 is online now  
post #113 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 09:59 AM
Member
 
daWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post

I agree that the remotes are horrible, at least what I've read as such about the Aios remote and personal experience from the ep350. As far as GUI it's all a matter of personal opinion I suppose. The ep600 G1 looks pretty bland to me, the Aios out of box is horrendous but the updates make marked improvements but not spectacular, at least you can add the jukebox to it. The ep350 is pretty bare bones and probably the worst out of the three.



Jack answered this a little while ago http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post21629742
On the Xtreamer forum the claim is that Realtek has abandoned the 1185 chipset. "For Sidewinder 2 based on 1185 platform we will stop selling this item on our systems once Sidewinder 3 is out. We will stop developing its platform as well. We cannot keep this product alive as RTL abandoned this platform and focuses on their new 1186." Not exactly a reputable company so it's hard to put a lot of faith in it.

Ok.. I can deal with a crappy remote, i usually always use a universal anyhow. Micca had a chance for my money, but looks like the AIOS has it for now. If it's crap, I guess it goes back to Amazon. I'll move all my future comments to the AIOS thread. Thanks for the advice.
daWill is offline  
post #114 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Exactly, if you have a Harmony remote or something similar then it's not a real show stopper. You've got to love Amazon for the hassle free/no cost (if there's something wrong with it which I also consider sub standard performance) return shipping. Like all players it has it's issues but depending on how you want to use it then it may or may not be an issue to you. The biggest issue for me for the 1185 and I believe 1186 players is forced subtitles don't automatically display. At least not at last check a few weeks ago.
djc11369 is online now  
post #115 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 10:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blimey View Post

I'd also like to know if the G2 version w/1186 has a heat-sink or not.

I questioned weather the EP600 (1185 version) could control heat with such little airflow and the fact that the main board is enrobed on a plastic sled, without any heatsink on the CPU. It seemed that the aluminum case had minimal thermal effect since it had no direct contact with any components.

But the EP600 has handled it ok, because the 1185 is a pretty cool chip. The 1186 is a different mug of tea. I'm not sure the 1186 would share the same fortunes in such a tight case with little airflow and no heatsink. An aluminum case can only go so far when it can only conduct heat though the airspace inside the case, without any direct transfer.

I have not seen the inside of the EP600 G2, I will investigate and let you guys know.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #116 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post

Exactly, if you have a Harmony remote or something similar then it's not a real show stopper. You've got to love Amazon for the hassle free/no cost (if there's something wrong with it which I also consider sub standard performance) return shipping. Like all players it has it's issues but depending on how you want to use it then it may or may not be an issue to you. The biggest issue for me for the 1185 and I believe 1186 players is forced subtitles don't automatically display. At least not at last check a few weeks ago.

On the forced subtitles issue, correct me if I am wrong, this is only relevant when playing BD-ISO files right?

As for the remote, we are changing the EP350 G2 remote to an updated unit in our next production batch to be available in about 30 days. It will be higher quality, have a much more logical button layout, and be back-lit for low light visibility.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #117 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

On the forced subtitles issue, correct me if I am wrong, this is only relevant when playing BD-ISO files right?

As for the remote, we are changing the EP350 G2 remote to an updated unit in our next production batch to be available in about 30 days. It will be higher quality, have a much more logical button layout, and be back-lit for low light visibility.

Forced subs apply to iso's, mkv's, m2ts' for me. My AIOS and Dune recognizes these.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #118 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:


On the forced subtitles issue, correct me if I am wrong, this is only relevant when playing BD-ISO files right?

No, also MKV. When using MKVMerge to build an MKV, one can specify if the subtitle track is to be 'forced'.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #119 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:


Forced subs apply to iso's, mkv's, m2ts' for me. My AIOS and Dune recognizes these.

Pleasantly surprised to hear the AIOS respects forced subs. There was a general feeling in this forum that none of the Realtek 1185 or 1186 players did.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #120 of 570 Old 03-12-2012, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Pleasantly surprised to hear the AIOS respects forced subs. There was a general feeling in this forum that none of the Realtek 1185 or 1186 players did.

Well, I usually have to turn them on whenever I played a movie such as Avatar. However, last week I updated the FW, and watched Avatar and District 9, and the subs came up only when navi and the other languages were spoken.

So, I am assuming this is fixed!

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off