Iomega TV With Boxee Pre-Order Oct 24th - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-22-2011, 12:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hanoihazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys posted these over on the Boxee forum.

Amazon UK - http://www.amazon.co.uk/Iomega-Boxee...9268621&sr=8-1

Amazon DE - without storage - http://www.amazon.de/Iomega-Boxee-HD...9268773&sr=8-6

Video From UK Retailer

Video uploaded on Youtube yesterday - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1h2quhCXMo

Pre-Order On French Web Site

For sale on a french website with Pre order date Oct 24th when translated - http://www.fnac.com/Iomega-TV-avec-B...5/a3773963/w-4

German Retailer

Update: Boxee Dev on the Boxee forum confirmed it does play ISO's so it was a typo or confusion on format support.

http://www.preistrend.de/Iomega_TV_m...570037005.html
hanoihazard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-22-2011, 07:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,112
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 642
So is the Iomega box only being released in Europe? Is there still a plan for it to come to the US?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-22-2011, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Bob Olink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I wonder about the firmware for the Iomega. I believe it's using the same intel chip as the Boxee Box. I wonder if Iomega will be using the same sdk as the Boxee Box and have the same HD audio issues. Guess it's too early to know. When I had a pch, Syabas used to provide a base firmware that the vendors would modify to their individual products. I think the chain was Sigma sdk-Syabas base firmware-vendor final firmware and wonder if it will be Intel-Boxee-Iomega? I know there may be licensing considerations depending on what Iomega is willing to pay for audio wise. It will be interesting.
Bob Olink is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-22-2011, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Nice marketing video from the UK retailer

It is a pity Intel is discontinuing their SoC lineup in this area (to be expected, since they are obviously not getting the margins they are used to in their processor lineup).

I hope the HD audio bitstreaming dropouts are fixed. I find it strange that the Sony Blu-ray player with Google TV running on the same SoC is able to bitstream without dropouts while the Boxee Box has the issues.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-22-2012, 09:56 AM
Member
 
vadergr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any feedback,it is launched in Europe.
How it handles dts hd ?
vadergr is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off